General Elections 2014- Transition of power & World Reaction

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: General Elections 2014- Largest peaceful transition of p

Expect more gratuitous and patronizing advice from within and without. Imaginary strawmen arguments etc are to be expected. It is mostly going to be a case of people reacting to the paradigm shift. It is mostly going to be struggle of people who are far removed and never had a good understanding of the ground realities, coping to understand and come to terms with what has happened and fearful of what is going to happen.

One more

http://gulfnews.com/opinions/columnists ... -1.1334454
Fears about Modi, a celibate who abandoned his wife to pursue religious devotion, are based not only on revenge killings in Gujarat in 2002 when, as the state’s chief minister, he was accused of standing by while more than 1,000 people, mostly Muslims, died. More fundamentally, many liberal Indians worry about his links with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh, an organisation with its roots in a paramilitary group dedicated to the cause of Hindu nationalism. The BJP manifesto contains a pledge to protect the cow, considered holy by Hindus but eaten by some Muslims. It also seeks to rebuild the temple to the Hindu deity Ram on the site of the Babri Masjid mosque in Uttar Pradesh. The mosque was torn down in 1992 amid much bloodshed by Hindus who believed it was erected on the site of Ram’s birthplace by Mughal invaders in the 16th century.
Manny

Post by Manny »

The Angressie lefti newspapers are now pointificating about what Modi ought to do.. I says, Modi should do the opposite of what these congressies want...The congressies did India in for the last 65 years and all India got was 500 million living in abject poverty!
Last edited by Manny on 18 May 2014 21:44, edited 2 times in total.

This one is better

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/fe ... 6921968714#
India’s game changer
GREG SHERIDAN THE AUSTRALIAN MAY 19, 2014 12:00AM

Indian election officials carry electronic voting machines to a counting centre in RanchiIndian election officials carry electronic voting machines to a counting centre in Ranchi. Picture: AFP Source: AFP < PrevNext >
•••
NARENDRA Modi could be India’s Deng Xiaoping. Modi may turn out to be as big an influence on global history as the legendary Chinese leader. It is of course very early days, with the results of India’s national election only coming through late on Friday.

But already, Modi has changed global history. He may well ­reshape global economic and strat­egic issues, with immense implications for Australia.

India just had the world’s biggest-ever election. About 550 million Indians voted in a turnout of 66 per cent in an orderly and peaceful election. This is a staggering reaffirmation by rank-and-file Indians of their commitment to democracy and self-determination, and of their sense of nation­al identity.

Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party won about 280 seats in a parliament of 543. With its closely aligned coalition partners, it will control about 340 seats in the parliament. No one in India expected as decisive a result as this. It is the first time since 1984 that a single party has won an outright major­ity.

Even optimistic BJP supporters thought the party, and its ­coalition, together would struggle to reach a majority, but if it got close several other regional parties would join it in government. This triumph for Modi, a former tea seller, is the most remarkable in Indian history.

The BJP has established itself as an authentic national party. Even in those states where it didn’t win seats it is a presence and won a fair share of the popular vote.

The flip side is the historic ­demise of the Congress Party, reduced to fewer than 50 seats. Congress, which led the struggle for Indian independence, was one of the big engines of 20th-century history. Now it needs to regroup.

Is the dominance of the Gandhi family — the party is still ruled by Sonia Gandhi, widow of Rajiv Gandhi, and its prime ministerial candidate was Rahul Gandhi, Sonia’s son — now crippling Congress?

It would be premature to write Congress off. Surely Modi cannot live up to expectations, and there must come a time when there is a swing against him. Maybe India now has a conventional two-party system, with the BJP on the Centre -Right and Congress on the Centre-Left.

Modi also brought the most sophisticated modern electoral techniques to India — relying on US Republican pollsters and message creators, using advertising, ­social media and personal profile to devastating effect.
Manny

Post by Manny »

"democracy and self-determination, and of their sense of nation­al identity."

Yes...we Indians are basically Dharmic in nature and that is our collective national identify. Pluralism, capitalism and secularism are just part and parcel of Dharma. Alien culture of marxism, Maosim and communism and religious supremacy of "one true jealous god" are anathema and toxic to the nature of the Dharmic people of India.

http://twocircles.net/2014may18/modi_wa ... 3joh_ldWSo

TwoCircles.net reporter Reyaz found that even Congress and SP workers admitted to voting for the BJP. This vote was across caste line, a Jat woman attending the victory celebrations at BJP headquarters in Delhi on Friday told TCN correspondent that this election was the first time she voted for a non-Jat candidate and it was a vote for Modi. It was a Hindu vote polarization plane and simple, Muslim could have done nothing more to stop this tsunami.
Modi Wave nullified anti-BJP Muslim voting in UP

Submitted by TwoCircles.net on 18 May 2014 - 8:56pm
By Kashif-ul-Huda, TwoCircles.net,

Bihar was a surprise with NDA winning 31 of the 40 seats but it was Modi tsunami in Uttar Pradesh that helped BJP cross the required 272 mark. BJP and Apna Dal won 71 and 2 seats respectively from the state that sends 80 MPs to the Lok Sabha. I find it intriguing that of the seven non-NDA seats in UP two was won by Gandhi family (Sonia & Rahul) and rest five was grabbed by the ruling Yadav clan of Samajwadi Party.

The next big news from the Uttar Pradesh then turn out to be that none of the 80 MPs from this state is a Muslim- another historic record of this Lok Sabha election. So what went wrong? Was it that as some commentators suggested confusion among Muslim voters on which party should get their votes or was it division of Muslim votes because of presence of multiple Muslim candidates in a constituency? To understand this let’s look at the data and let’s start with analyzing 2009 Lok Sabha poll data.

Writing on the wall - for Modi

In 2009, UP sent 7 Muslim MPs to Delhi- four were from the BSP and three from the Congress. In addition there were 11 seats where Muslim candidates came second- 6 from BSP, 4 from SP, and 1 was a Congress candidate. Two of the seats that returned Muslim MPs also had Muslim candidates at the second position- Sambhal & Kheri. Of the eleven seats that saw Muslim candidates finishing second, only two-Amroha & Bijnor- had Muslim candidates at the third position as well. This shows clearly that in 2009 election Muslims (assuming they vote for only Muslim candidates if such a candidate is available in their ballot) vote was not divided and that ensured the victory of seven Muslim MPs. However, division of vote may have resulted in the loss of Shahid Siddiqui(BSP) in Bijnor and Mahboob Ali (SP) in Amroha- two seats where third place were Muslim candidates who polled votes greater than the winning margin.

In 2014, there are 19 Muslim candidates in second position, one more than in 2009 if we combine 7 winners and 11 runner-up seats. If we look at serious Muslim candidates (belonging to major political parties or polling more than 50,000 votes) then we see that 8 had only one candidate, another 8 had two major Muslim candidates, two seats had 3 Muslim candidates and only one seat Moradabad had four major Muslim candidates. Dr. S.T. Hasan of Samajwadi Party lost Moradabad by a margin of 87,504 votes where Hajid Yaqoob of Bahujan Samaj Party polled over 1.6 lakh votes. This is a clear example that vote division helped BJP win Moradabad which was last represented by Mohammad Azharuddin of Congress.

There are two more examples of Muslim candidates losing election because of vote division. Four-time Lok Sabha MP Shafeequr Rahman Barq lost Sambhal by a mere 5174 votes- lowest winning margin in UP. Barq who used to be a BSP MP switched over to SP just before the election. BSP candidate Aqeel-ur-Rahman Khan came in third position with polling over 2.5 lakh votes.

Rampur saw Naseer Ahmad Khan losing the seat with a margin of 23,435 while Nawab Kazim Ali Khan of Congress polled 1.5 lakh votes to be at 3rd position and Akbar Hussain of BSP polled 81 thousand votes for the fourth position.

But in the other 16 seats, it will be difficult to argue that a division of Muslim votes take place. Eight of them had just one Muslim serious candidates (in most cases the ONLY Muslim candidate in the fray). Only two of these seats that candidates at number 3 position is also Muslim but polling vote less than the winning margin on those seats- meaning their presence cannot be blamed for loss of Muslim candidates.

In Domariyaganj, Peace Party president came fourth polling 99 thousand votes. Muhammad Muqeem of BSP lost this seat by a margin of 103,588 votes. Mata Prasad Pandey of SP polled 1.7 lakh votes for the second position.

There were not many close calls in this election in UP. The smallest winning margin is the one in which Shafiqur Rahman Barq lost by 5,174 votes and largest was Raj Babbar of Congress losing by 567,260 votes. The victor was so emphatic that only 20 candidates had winning margin less than one lakh votes. In fact, the average winning margin of all 80 seats was whopping 1.86 lakh votes. Muslim runner-up candidates fared just a bit better by their average losing margin of 1.55 lakh votes.

http://indiablooms.com/ibns_new/news-de ... renzy.html
Modi met Advani at his residence for nearly 40 minutes after earlier meeting BJP general secretaries Amit Shah, J P Nadda former Chief Minister and Karnataka strongman B S Yeddyurappa and party's Bihar chief Dharmendra Pradhan.

BJP ally and National Democratic Alliance (NDA) constituent Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) chief Ram Vilas Paswan also visited Modi along with his wife and son Chirag.

The meetings were seen as the BJP's efforts at kicking off the complicated process of delegating cabinet portfolios.

While Modi held held a series of whirlwind meetings, BJP president Rajnath Singh met senior party leader Arun Jaitley, organisational secretary Ram Lal and Amit Shah.

Meanwhile, BJP leaders Venkaiah Naidu, Kalraj Mishra and Harsh Vardhan visited the offices of the party's ideological mentor Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) in west Delhi, for talks with senior functionaries.

Media reports meanwhile speculated on the possible p

A CNN IBN report said Sushma Swaraj could bag the defence ministry and Arun Jaitley could be the Finance Minister. Former Army Chief General VK Singh is likely to be given a Minister of State post in the Defence Ministry.

While, the BJP chief is eyeing the Home Ministry post, Nitin Gadkari is likely to be given the Railways Ministry or the Infrastructure Ministry, the channel reported quoting sources.

The party's parliamentary board is again set to meet on May 20.

On Saturday, Rajnath Singh had announced that the date for Prime Minister designate Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony will be announced on May 20.

At a meeting of the BJP's Parliamentary Board at the party's headquarters in central Delhi, Singh said Modi will be elected as the Leader of the Parliamentary party on May 20.
rgosain

Post by rgosain »

Manny, lets not forget that India is home to the largest shia and sufi communities many of whose co-religionists are being massacred by Saudi backed terrorism.

Manny wrote:" Reassuring India’s minorities – mainly Muslims and Christians – "

First off Muslims and Christians are the Golaiths of the world. They are not minorities. India's minorities are Skihs, Jains, Parsies, Zorastrians, non converted Tribals., SC/STs, Jews ... Thats it These are the minorities who Modi needs to protect.
does anyone have a clear number of how many "minorities" were involved in the termite queen's govt in Delhi??
KrishnaK

Post by KrishnaK »

shiv wrote: I think you missed the point. What we have been seeing is a media assault on India that is receiving a belated reactive response from those who can see such assaults and understand them. If we had even 25% highly literate Indians, they would be pooping on the world media calling out all the crap that exists outside.
An honest question sir. What percentage of the articles posted in the "Positive News from the USA" is from non western sources, let alone by highly literate Indians ?

X-Post...
chaanakya wrote:Two brfites who were first propounders of Wave theory on BRF were Hanbans ji and Chaanakya ji

Habans ji wrote on 7th September 2013
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 8#p1507428
ABP poll shows a Tidal wave is brewing folks..BJP garnering 36% vote (NDA: 40%) vs Congress 22% and UPA 27%.
COngress was 28.5% in 2009 and BJP 18.8. NM is drawing 47% in favor to RGs 18%..sometime back it was 33 % - 31% remember. So is Mission 272 a low aim? INC got 206 with 28.5% share..so what would 36% or 40% for NDA get? 250 plus?
and Chaanakya ji responded with the following post on the same day
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 7#p1507447
The only analogy that come to my mind id to compare it with Tsunami in the open ocean

"In the open ocean a tsunami is less than a few feet high at the surface, but its wave height increases rapidly in shallow water. Tsunamis wave energy extends from the surface to the bottom in the deepest waters. As the tsunami attacks the coastline, the wave energy is compressed into a much shorter distance creating destructive, live-threatening waves."

As of Now NaMo seems like a Tsunami in the open Ocean. People can hardly read it without sensitive equipments.It reaches Poll ,the NaMo tsunami would attack Congoon with destructive force which might threaten its very existence.

The problem is that wave height seems so small that it is difficult to gauge the energy it packs. People , who are riding tsunami waves now , would hardly feel it.

However one could be mistaken equally. and Congoons are planning to give Mobile and Laptop to all poor, even though it is just a state of mind. After Food and Land it is time for free mobiles and computers to stem the tide of tsunami.

And on 13th September kmkraoind ji coined the word TsuNaMo
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 1#p1510621
Its a FryDay for Congress and rapists.

The way BJP and its cadres strive to get LKA's blessings is really Indic samskurthi. Its far better than how Congress' arrogant Dynasty treated both its former presidents Sitaram Kesari and PVNR is well known. In case of PVNR, he did save both Congress and India at crucial juncture.

TsuNaMo has started, just wait for waves to hit shore (elections).

Last edited by kmkraoind on 13 Sep 2013 06:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
And now it has become buzz word in MSM with Headlines Today using it,

I can in retrospective that many BRFites correctly anticipated the impending doom for Congis. Now it is truly a Rump Party as I described in one post
Saral wrote:

Turn-out, not EVM rigging, will be the story of this election. People who are more enthusiastic and pro-change are more likely to show up to vote. Amazingly, this turn out percentage is set to exceed 1984 where Congress got 400+ based on sympathy wave. This increased turn-out will generally favor NDA and, going purely by macro indicators, there is no reason why NDA cannot get near 300 or even exceed it. For same reasons, IMO, UPA will have hard time breaching 120.

+100000......

Congis will be reduced to rump party with less than three digit figure, will not cross 100.
And Saral hit upon the true story of India It was Turnout.

And here was my earlier explanation
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 0#p1644430
According to Dainik Jagran, "in 2009 about 41 crores voters exercised their voting rights whereas in 2014 after 7th May Poll about 59.7 crore voters have exercised their rights" , approximately 19 crores more than last Parliamentary election.

For 503 seats voting % is 66.2. Overall %age was 64% in 1984 , highest ever, and is likely to be broken. In absolute terms it is a blockbuster General Election.

Election Commission informed that they had added about 10 crores new voters. Assuming that out of 10 crores about 80 % voted that still leaves about 11 crores existing voters who did not exercised their rights in last election and choose to exercise it in 2014.Now if anybody suggests to me that these voters moved their A$$e$ just to vote turd front or UPA-3 in power because of caste factor or blah blah..then I am left speechless.

Last edited by chaanakya on 08 May 2014 03:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
This high Turnout was TsuNaMo.

KrishnaK wrote:
shiv wrote: I think you missed the point. What we have been seeing is a media assault on India that is receiving a belated reactive response from those who can see such assaults and understand them. If we had even 25% highly literate Indians, they would be pooping on the world media calling out all the crap that exists outside.
An honest question sir. What percentage of the articles posted in the "Positive News from the USA" is from non western sources, let alone by highly literate Indians ?
There is already a separate thread for Indiann Media Watch. There wasnt one for US. I am certainly not highly literate indian anymore, to give you a counter example. Shiv says that the word of the western media is taken as a prohecy or sermon. Indians are aping and forming their opinions based on these "khayali pulau". It is entirely reasonable to create a balanced viewpointby presenting contradictions to the groundless negativity (followed in media watch) by presenting ground positive images.

All of this is OT in election thread. But thanks for the motivation.

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/opi ... 269946.cms
India's 2014 elections is the #1 topic for Indian Americans and political experts in the US. Why? Because these are incredible elections given that over 500 million people voted peacefully when so many democracies are floundering; it might have to do with visualizing 100 million new voters and a 65% voting percentage when the US can only manage 55%; it might have to do with the past track record of the US with the next prime minister in terms of denying him a visa and making him look like a pari ..

Awful lot of anti-Modi folk lining up to give unsolicited advice and counsel

An open letter to Narendra Modi

Gerard wrote:Awful lot of anti-Modi folk lining up to give unsolicited advice and counsel

In invoking unity and stability, you have regularly turned to the name and stature of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel. The Sardar, as you would know, chaired the Constituent Assembly’s Committee on Minorities. If the Constitution of India gives crucial guarantees — educational, cultural and religious — to India’s minorities, Sardar Patel has to be thanked, as do other members of that committee, in particular Rajkumari Amrit Kaur, the Christian daughter of Sikh Kapurthala. Adopt, in toto, Mr. Modi, not adapt or modify, dilute or tinker with, the vision of the Constitution on the minorities. You may like to read what the indomitable Sardar said in that committee.
It is good advice. Below is Sardar Patel, in the Constituent Assembly, October 14th 1949.
http://164.100.47.132/LssNew/constituent/vol10p7.html

It is long - should I post it elsewhere on BRF, and put a link here? Moderator, please help. This is with regard to the Sikhs, so it should not raise some reactions that "Muslim" does. I've also chosen to highlight some passages. It is a nice statement against "minorityism" as is commonly played in Indian politics.
The Honourable Sardar Vallabhbhai J. Patel (Bombay : General) : Sir I had no intention to speak on this article, but when I heard that a definite insinuation was made in this House that because the Congress Party has a majority in this House, therefore it does not care for the promises given to the Sikhs and they are breaking the promises given them I have to speak. I am very sorry to hear this charge from the Sikhs or a representative of the Sikhs. Sardar Hukam Singh made this point. At another place on another occasion I had made it clear to him and yet he seems to have raised the same question. Now I wish only to answer that charge for the other things I do not think I need go into discussion or say anything about it. But when it is alleged that Congress is breaking its promises given to the Sikhs, one after another, I wish to understand the position.

We are--he alleges--breaking the promises--broke the promise given in 1929, one in 1946 and another in 1947. I do not know what promises he refers to. If he refers to 1929 and then again to the Partition of India and Pakistan, I wish to point out to him that there was not a single Sikh voice against the Partition; on the other hand they are probably in the forefront in demanding partition of the Punjab. After the butchery and the bloodshed that took place in Rawalpindi and Multan, the Sikhs were terribly upset and naturally distressed and they had considerable sympathy from the Congress. At that time there were other tragedies happening in other parts of the country and then came the conflagration in Lahore, Amritsar and other parts of the Punjab. It was at that time with the concurrence of the Sikhs,--unanimously, with one voice they agreed,--we agreed to the Partition of India. Now to turn round and charge us with a breach of faith is a charge which I cannot understand and it is not right for the Sikh community--a brave community like the Sikhs--to fling these charges at us. Who were we to agree to the Partition of India and partition of the Punjab if the Sikhs were opposed ? We could never have done that. Because they also said that it was best in, the interest of India that we should agree to partition on condition that the Punjab was partitioned--that we agreed to it. Now that is about 1929 promise.

Then again he says about 1946. If he refers to the Minorities Committee recommendations, I can understand it. I propose to explain it in detail as to what has taken place. But I do not know what he means by 1946 promise. If I can have any concrete expression of a promise given by Congress Leaders, I might, and if so I do not think there is any one Congressman who will go against that promise. I have not however understood the psychology of the Sikh leaders--some of them-who often charge everybody with breach of faith, and always complain of minorities being ill-treated.

Look at the army. Are they not very heavily over-weighted ? What have we done ? We are under their protection and we trust them and not a single army officer is disloyal to us. Why do you create this feeling for nothing? What is it that you want ?

When the Minorities Committee in the Advisory Committee passed its first decisions, I was appointed Chairman and I took all the minorities with me and the decisions of the Minorities Committee and the Advisory Committee were almost unanimous. This House appreciated the work of these Committees and congratulated me on that. Time went on and the minorities themselves began to feel that we should reconsider our decision and, headed by the great patriotic Christian leader, they brought in a Resolution that they want to give up the reservations. And what reservations?--Not this Petty reservation of minorities in the services-but the big reservations in the Assemblies, both in the Centre and in the provinces.

They agreed to have joint electorates and to have nothing to do with this communal separatism. When they desired that, I called a meeting of the minorities Committee and the Advisory Committee. At their instance decisions were taken. The Sikh stand has always been that "if all minorities agreed, we are also agreeable. Who do not want any special arrangement. We do not want any advantage. We are able to stand on our own legs". That was their stand throughout, in the Congress and outside the Congress.

When this resolution was brought, and this question was about to be considered, the Sikh representatives of the Punjab came to me and they said that so far as the Scheduled Caste Sikhs are concerned, they should be treated separately and given the same advantage that was being given to the Hindu Scheduled Castes. The Scheduled Castes objected to a man that these are not Scheduled Castes, and if they are Scheduled Castes, then they are not Sikhs. Therefore, they said, "you cannot give them separate treatment. There are forcible conversions being made from the Scheduled Castes to the Sikhs for this purpose". That was their grievance. On the other side, the Sikhs said that they had converted so many and it was not by force. "They have come to our fold", they said, "and if you do not recognise these concessions, then they will all go back to the Scheduled Caste Hindus and we will lose".

Now, it was against our conviction to recognise a separate Sikh caste as untouchables or Scheduled Castes, because untouchability is not recognised in the Sikh religion. A Scheduled Caste Sikh community has never been in the past recognised. But as the Sikhs began to make a grievance continuously against the Congress and against us, I persuaded the Scheduled Caste people with great difficulty to agree to this for the sake of peace. I persuaded the other members of the Advisory Committee on the condition, which is in writing by the representatives of the Sikhs, that they will raise no other question hereafter.

Then in the Advisory Committee, when this question came, Sardar Ujjal Singh raised the question, "What about the Services" ? I said, "Your representatives have given in writing that no other question hereafter is to be raised" Giani Kartar Singh was also in the Advisory Committee, and he got up and said, "No, we will settle it in the Provinces. It is not to be raised here."

What is the use of charging the Congress with having broken promises ? Do not break the promises that you have given, and do not charge others with breach of promises. If you now say, as Sardar Hukam Singh says, that these people were anxious to serve an advantage for the Scheduled Caste Sikhs and they may have agreed to this, but it is a mistake, then if it is a mistake, reconsider your position, and I shall reconsider mine. Take away that concession and remove it, and you get your pound of flesh, if you want it.

What is it that you get in the Services? Even at present, what do the Sikhs do ? What do other communities do ? So far as the Services are concerned, for all major posts or all posts which go by competitive examinations there is no reservation on communal grounds. They go to the Public Service Commission. You are quarrelling or asking for the minor posts--Chaprasis and clerks. Is it the Sikh position now that we have not got enough Sikh Chaprasis and clerks ? Are you going to raise the community in that manner ? If that is so, tell me, and If you leave what you have got for the Scheduled Castes, I shall persuade the Constituent Assembly to give you what you want, but you will repent afterwards.

You say, in PEPSU it is not the arrangement. But this is not the House to hear that complaint. If there is any such complaint, send it to us. We shall consider about it. But do not go behind, your pledged words and charge people with breach of promises or pledges. We are not the people to pledges. Every sympathy and every consideration will be shown to the Sikh community because it is located in a particular area ; it is a small community, and yet it is brave, virile and it can stand on its own against anybody. Do not break that spirit by continuously saying, "We are injured, we are helpless, we are in a minority, we are hopeless, we cannot do anything."

That kind of psychology will injure the community itself and not others, and injuring the community means injuring the nation. It is not as a representative of the majority community that I give this advice, but as a well-wisher of the Sikh community, I advise you not to create this atmosphere by saying continually, "we are badly treated, badly treated". If you do, then it is the Sikh community that will be hurt.

When the Advisory Committee took this decision to give up reservation, we clearly understood the position and all communities clearly understood it. When the decision of the Advisory Committee came before this House for its acceptance, I made it clear that this Constitution of India, of free India, of a secular State will not hereafter be disfigured by any provision on a communal basis. It was accepted with acclamation.

It is said that if you make any arrangements in the Provinces, then the provisions of the Constituent Assembly with regard to fundamental rights will come in the way. Let me tell you, nothing comes in the way where arrangements are made by mutual agreement, and without mental reservations. That provision in the fundamental rights is provided for an individual who is injured. But if you make domestic arrangements in the Punjab between community and community for the small posts, then who is going to question that ? But first create an atmosphere for adjustment of such things in your Province. It is the continued atmosphere of quarrel between two communities that has created distrust among them, and that creates difficulties. You will have our support and sympathy continuously in that Province because that Province has suffered most. It is injured and the wounds have not yet healed. It is for us all, and for you particularly, to help us in healing the wounds. Therefore, let us make a united effort to raise the morale of that Province, the strength of that Province, which really is at the top of India, where the border is. Then you will have no complaint at all.

After all, what is the Sikh community backward in ? Is it backward in trade ? Is it backward in industry, or commerce or in anything ? Why do you consider yourselves to be backward ? Therefore, forget that psychology. If there is any injustice done, then come to us, we will see that no injustice is done.

Sardar Hukam Singh said, "We trust the present leaders. What about the future ?" I say, you must have the courage to trust the future and not the present leaders. What will happen when the present leaders are gone ? Will Sardar Hukam Singh be living here ? Why raise this issue ? We must trust that if the present leaders go, we will have better leaders in the future. If we have trust in the future of our country, we may trust that in the future our country will produce leaders who will make a name in the history of the world. We have shown it today. We will do it in the future. That is India. India produced a Mahatma in a State where slavery was rampant. He went to a country where people would not walk on the foot-path, where people could not travel even in the III class with safety, where we were all treated as untouchables even now we are treated as untouchables there. There he made a name and fame all over the world, and presented a new weapon to the world. Then he came here. Here he raised the Sikhs, the Muslims, the Hindus, Scheduled Castes, everybody. He gave us freedom. Do you think that we are going to raise the morale of our country or the reputation of our country or the fame of our country by breaking promises ? No. We have all agreed that we must trust each other.

I know that the atmosphere so far as the Muslims are concerned is not quite as happy as it should be. But there are reasons for that. The Congress is not responsible for this. If there had been no Partition, perhaps we would have been able to settle our differences. But there was Partition. This Partition by agreement brought about subsequent events. But, since Partition, whatever is being done on the other side is having a reaction here for which we have to struggle day and night.

You do not know the immense difficulties of a secular Slate being governed peacefully in such conditions. Now, the world is in such a condition that we cannot take any independent action of our own accord. Even though there is injustice done, we have to wait, pause, ponder and consider, because there is an Organisation known as the U.N.O., who day and night watch the situation all the world over and try to see how peace could be maintained. I do not wish to say anything about the work of the U.N.O., because I know nothing about it. But the other part of the country known as Pakistan misses no opportunity of defaming and blackmailing us all over the world, whether there is occasion for it or no occasion for it. So we have to be specially careful. They break promises and charge us with breach of faith and yet we cannot solve it without reference to the other countries or without any regard for its reaction in other countries.

Therefore we have to be very careful. Do not add to our difficulties by creating internal difficulties in which there will be disputes between the communities. Help us and it will be to your advantage and it will be to the advantage of the whole country. You will have no cause for regret if you drop the claims for minor provisions for small minorities in regard mainly to service questions. Fight over issues beneficial to the whole country. Let us do that. Let us prepare the ground for that. You have big interests involved in two provinces. Though the problems in Bengal are different, as in the Punjab they have also certain problems. These problems can be settled not by the Centre, but by the provinces themselves. So, for God's sake, those who are interested in the well-being of the country should create a different atmosphere and not an atmosphere of distrust and discord.

My only point in coming to reply here was to meet the charge that has bean levelled against the Congress. I am sorry to hear it. Neither I nor any congressman has done anything here in the Centre to give cause to the Sikh Community to distrust us. We shall never give cause for that in spite of what you may do. Therefore for the last time in this Constituent Assembly, as responsible members of Parliament, I appeal to you. By all means ask for what you want or what you like. But do not blame other people for your own faults, I desire now to give you this undertaking that if you still feel that the advantage that was taken from us is not worth it you throw it away and, if you think this is better, I will give It to you. You consider the matter amongst yourselves, amongst the Sikh community and decide. But do not try to have it both ways. One section first comes and gets certain advantages and gives promises to a certain section of the community and thereafter another section comes and charges us with not having given it certain other advantages which it is anxious to have. That is not the way to do things. You may unite and decide what you want. It is not our fault if you have not done, so. After all, what is it that you want ? You want an insignificant thing, but granting it would mean putting a blot on the Constitution. We agreed about certain things on that day and everybody was pleased with it. Therefore be satisfied with what you have done and there will be no cause for regret. (Applause).
Shankk

Post by Shankk »

chetak wrote:does anyone have a clear number of how many "minorities" were involved in the termite queen's govt in Delhi??
That's very apt description of SG. Just as termite queen compromises the house from within SG played exact same role. Thanks for the term. It should go in BRF dictionary and also popularized on internet.

The "termite Queen" and her family and coterie were so voracious in their appetite,that they started eating up all the supports of their "house",which ultimately collapsed upon their heads in spectacular fashion! Robert Vadra at least should be grateful,as there may be a silver lining in it for him.He is now so well known that he could model for any one of the motorcycle companies,or as a fashion model for any LGBT magazine!

The more favourable foreign reports already compare him already with IG,Mrs.T.,Abe and Putin. The very fact that Mr.M has won with such an overwhelming victory,where half a billion Indians voted,the world's largest and greatest election ever,has stunned the world.The sheer magnitude of it and the implications of India striding the world stage proud and confident once more is a veritable "electoral tsu-namo",whose waves and ripples will be felt on every continent. Already the wizards of Oz and Machaivellis of the West are reeling in shock. Their quslings,stool pigeons and fitfh columnists have been simply castrated,emasculated,decimated and almost exterminated. If the good Dr.SS is given Law,one is confident that many of these looters and scooters will be hanged,drawn,quartered and given a public indecent burial.

When Mr.Modi visits Japan,one respectfully advises that one of his first engagements should be a visit to the Yasukuni shrine honouring Japan's war dead and also Netaji and Justice Pal.Netaji's supposed ashes are in the shrine.He was given a samurai burial.

The potential of this election result is immense beyond the ordinary imagination. With a strong, decisive and nationalist central government in India, it is possible that the mood of the whole nation can be changed into one of serious, effective performance.

IOW, what has always disappointed me in India is how the most brilliant and well-intentioned initiatives are destroyed by sheer laziness, corruption and incompetence. It is just like the situation described in the novel "CONGO": a tremendously advanced civilization decays and the place is taken over by violent lowlife. This is what has happened to Air India, Indian Railways.. most of the posh 5-star hotels, places of worship, and even the Indian Income Tax system.

This can be changed, given a determined and effective leadership. Mrs IG actually showed this during the first part of the "Emergency": suddenly, trains that had never been less than 30 minutes late, became punctual on the dot. Guvrmand daphtars actually had people behind the desk sharp at opening time... etc. Fear Is The Key... But then, again, it all degenerated into Sanjay Gandy's antics, police tortures, and the nation slipped into chaos again.

But it has worked now for 12 years in Gujarat, and there is no reason why it cannot work all over India: a simple end to tolerance of corruption and laziness. An EXPECTATION that things will work as advertised, on time, on schedule, under budget and better than specs. Or else....

OK, given that this is possible, where are the bounds? The nation will be on the move. Already smart people are talking about the Possible. If the EU could be formed inside 50 years after WW2, why should it not be possible to form a Pan Asian Confederation? With mostly open borders? A train service has been mooted, from Delhi to Vladivostok. The Silk Route could become a high-speed trade corridor (Imagine a host of little golden arches and Kentucky Fried Chicken and Udipi restaurants all across Xinjiang and Uzbekistan..).

A streamlined tourist route touching Budh Gaya, Bali, Angkor Wat, Manasarovar, Varanasi?

A common currency supported by all nations in this Confederation?

And then I raise another question: Why does Asia really need the West any more? Exactly what resources does the West provide to Asia, that Asia cannot generate self-sufficiently?

I have this vision of the US Ambassador and SoS and Trade Delegation hanging out in a Dilli hotel, waiting for appointments to see desi Mantris and Babus: but the schedule is simply packed, these people have nothing to convey that competes in value.

Gerard wrote:Awful lot of anti-Modi folk lining up to give unsolicited advice and counsel

In invoking unity and stability, you have regularly turned to the name and stature of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel. The Sardar, as you would know, chaired the Constituent Assembly’s Committee on Minorities. If the Constitution of India gives crucial guarantees — educational, cultural and religious — to India’s minorities, Sardar Patel has to be thanked, as do other members of that committee, in particular Rajkumari Amrit Kaur, the Christian daughter of Sikh Kapurthala. Adopt, in toto, Mr. Modi, not adapt or modify, dilute or tinker with, the vision of the Constitution on the minorities. You may like to read what the indomitable Sardar said in that committee.
It is good advice. Below is Sardar Patel, in the Constituent Assembly, October 14th 1949.
http://164.100.47.132/LssNew/constituent/vol10p7.html

It is long - should I post it elsewhere on BRF, and put a link here? Moderator, please help. This is with regard to the Sikhs, so it should not raise some reactions that "Muslim" does. I've also chosen to highlight some passages. It is a nice statement against "minorityism" as is commonly played in Indian politics.
The Honourable Sardar Vallabhbhai J. Patel (Bombay : General) : Sir ...
Truly giants, these men where, do drafted the constitution and assembled the Indian setup..

Cosmo_R wrote:Then, some young turks will re brand it to become contenders for 2024.
I am sure you do remember the young turks of IG era - one of them became the PM after that backstabber VP Singh usurped the throne with the help of Devi lal (Tau). Bu then this young turk ended up toeing US line with refueling US planes during Op Desert Storm (IIRC).

UlanBatori wrote:The potential of this election result is immense beyond the ordinary imagination. With a strong, decisive and nationalist central government in India, it is possible that the mood of the whole nation can be changed into one of serious, effective performance.

IOW, what has always disappointed me in India is how the most brilliant and well-intentioned initiatives are destroyed by sheer laziness, corruption and incompetence. It is just like the situation described in the novel "CONGO": a tremendously advanced civilization decays and the place is taken over by violent lowlife. This is what has happened to Air India, Indian Railways.. most of the posh 5-star hotels, places of worship, and even the Indian Income Tax system.

This can be changed, given a determined and effective leadership. Mrs IG actually showed this during the first part of the "Emergency": suddenly, trains that had never been less than 30 minutes late, became punctual on the dot. Guvrmand daphtars actually had people behind the desk sharp at opening time... etc. Fear Is The Key... But then, again, it all degenerated into Sanjay Gandy's antics, police tortures, and the nation slipped into chaos again.

But it has worked now for 12 years in Gujarat, and there is no reason why it cannot work all over India: a simple end to tolerance of corruption and laziness. An EXPECTATION that things will work as advertised, on time, on schedule, under budget and better than specs. Or else....

OK, given that this is possible, where are the bounds? The nation will be on the move. Already smart people are talking about the Possible. If the EU could be formed inside 50 years after WW2, why should it not be possible to form a Pan Asian Confederation? With mostly open borders? A train service has been mooted, from Delhi to Vladivostok. The Silk Route could become a high-speed trade corridor (Imagine a host of little golden arches and Kentucky Fried Chicken and Udipi restaurants all across Xinjiang and Uzbekistan..).

A streamlined tourist route touching Budh Gaya, Bali, Angkor Wat, Manasarovar, Varanasi?

A common currency supported by all nations in this Confederation?

And then I raise another question: Why does Asia really need the West any more? Exactly what resources does the West provide to Asia, that Asia cannot generate self-sufficiently?

I have this vision of the US Ambassador and SoS and Trade Delegation hanging out in a Dilli hotel, waiting for appointments to see desi Mantris and Babus: but the schedule is simply packed, these people have nothing to convey that competes in value.
Back on the sauce again, eh? Geez.....I suppose I'll have to endure this for the next few years until everybody realizes that politics is the hand maiden of the silver tongued charletans and their vested interests.
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

ABP News flash citing sources:

Jaitley: Finance
Sushma: Defence
Rajnath: Home
Harshvardhan: Health
Ravi Shankar Prasad: Foreign Ministry
MM Joshi: Agriculture

Track record of "sources" has been quite dismal when it comes to predicting Modi/BJP-internal-discussions. I believe, instead of involuntary leaks, Modi believes in active spread of misinformation, making real leaks unreliable.
SanjayC

Post by SanjayC »

US scientists 'hack' India electronic voting machines

By Julian Siddle Science reporter, BBC News
Scientists at a US university say they have developed a technique to hack into Indian electronic voting machines. After connecting a home-made device to a machine, University of Michigan researchers were able to change results by sending text messages from a mobile.

Why should Sushu Ji get any post in Namo Cabinet. She can sit in the corner and continue to sulk while LKA should wait for 2019 for his next bid to be PM while co-authoring fiction work on Jinnah's secularist thoughts and works with Jassu mithaiwala.

Why work under someone you have opposed so vehemently. Show some self respect and sit out of the govt. Preferably work for the party in Seemandhra (For Sushu) and North East (LKA).

If you could pick the first five countries Modi should visit as part of building up the geo-political and economic agendas, what will they be?

My opinion (not in any particular order): Nepal, Sri Lanka, Singapore, Japan and Afghanistan.

Manny wrote:The most heart warming thing about this election was, the Anti Hindus could not split the Hindus by caste. Hindus of all caste came together for once. I now have high hopes for India and the Hindus!

Modi is a great uniter! Thats for sure!

Benefits could be easily eroded if we are not vigilant
chandrabhan

Post by chandrabhan »

Dr Arun Shourie has been asked to stay back in Delhi for whole week, May be entrusted with Finance. Rajnath Singh has been asked his opinion to continue as party chief....As i mentioned Sangh wants to wrest back Maha & UP. In that case Gadkari may get urban development /Infrastructure..

Moreover, Soni ji said a sentence to me which made me smile and also correct my own enthusiasm, "Modiji to humane Sarkar di Hai, Sanghathan nahin. Tum Sanghathan ke aadmi ho, Party Bhakti bhool Jao, Bahut Kaam hai, UP main wapas aao"
satya

Post by satya »

Rumors at worst speculative rumors . No one has a clue who is going to make it . Good thing for a change . Ready for surprise and few sulken faces during ceremony .

anupmisra wrote:If you could pick the first five countries Modi should visit as part of building up the geo-political and economic agendas, what will they be?

My opinion (not in any particular order): Nepal, Sri Lanka, Singapore, Japan and Afghanistan.
Why would you think India's PM should first visit a country which harasses India's fishermen and committed genocide on 100,000 Tamils with strong roots to India?
In that case, why not Pakistan?

Let me put it another way: If an African country had butchered the Gujaratis there would you suggest Modi visit that country first to build up geo-political and economic agenda?

General Elections 2014- Largest peaceful transition of p

Manny wrote:" Reassuring India’s minorities – mainly Muslims and Christians – "

First off Muslims and Christians are the Golaiths of the world. They are not minorities. India's minorities are Skihs, Jains, Parsies, Zorastrians, non converted Tribals., SC/STs, Jews ... Thats it These are the minorities who Modi needs to protect.
does anyone have a clear number of how many "minorities" were involved in the termite queen's govt in Delhi??
chetak Ji :

AAP KI SEVA MEIN :

1. Cabinet Ministers (as on 03.04.2014)

2. Ministers of State (Independent Charge) (as on 21.12.2013)

3. Ministers of State (as on 11.03.2014)

Last edited by Peregrine on 19 May 2014 20:10, edited 1 time in total.

SanjayC wrote:US scientists 'hack' India electronic voting machines

By Julian Siddle Science reporter, BBC News
Scientists at a US university say they have developed a technique to hack into Indian electronic voting machines. After connecting a home-made device to a machine, University of Michigan researchers were able to change results by sending text messages from a mobile.

What was the purpose of this exercise? it hardly looks academic interest!!!

satya wrote:Rumors at worst speculative rumors . No one has a clue who is going to make it . Good thing for a change . Ready for surprise and few sulken faces during ceremony .

One person would be LKA Advaniji. I have never seen a more glum sour puss face after the NDA win in this elections

SanjayC wrote:ABP News flash citing sources:

Jaitley: Finance
Sushma: Defence
Rajnath: Home
Harshvardhan: Health
Ravi Shankar Prasad: Foreign Ministry
MM Joshi: Agriculture
what exactly would/could aunty sushma bring to Defence?? :-? :-? :-?
Manny

Post by Manny »

India's minorities are the Sikhs, Jains, Parsies, Zorastrians, non converted tribals, SC/Sts. PERIOD!

The Golaiths of the world are Christians followed by Muslims. PERIOD!

The Golaiths claiming to be minorities are like Indians and Chinese migrating enmas to Australia and claiming the benefit that were set for the true minorities..the aboriginals of Australia. There is something very sinister and insidious about that. We need to start speaking out and bring awareness of this simple truth in India.
Last edited by Manny on 19 May 2014 20:20, edited 1 time in total.

+108 :)
SCs are Hindhus as much as any other Hindhu. SC is a caste while the other groups mentioned by you are religious.
Manny

Post by Manny »

True about the SC/Sts as Hindus..but they ought to be given the benefits accorded to minorities IMO. The only Hindu group who deserves that.

We need to keep repeating this truth a million times when the far leftists uses the word "minorities" and expose those sinister people. Again and Again.. Please, lets all do that.
Last edited by Manny on 19 May 2014 20:29, edited 1 time in total.

Manny@Self_goal

How exactly SC's fall under minority definition? They just have a special status among overall Hindu society due to historical reasons.