Indian Education System

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
dinakar

Re: Indian Education System

Post by dinakar »

SwamyG wrote: If there are enough high paying jobs in the science and arts stream, people will pick these readily.
Ya that is true. Thats why still commerce is still in high demand. In the above three colleges if you want to get a seat in B.Com., one should need more than 90% in HSC examination. Most of these students will join either in morning or evening college and in the other part they are preparing for there CA examination and about MCC yes it is good old Madras Christioan College... :mrgreen:

SwamyG wrote: There are certain areas in physics that interested me more than others. But I had to take all the prescribed courses and the system is badly set up.

I would prefer a 4-yr course over the 3-yr system. First six months, a review of physics, chemistry and biology from 9th-12th class material. Next 1.5 yrs introductory classes covering next level of physics. Till now, all courses would be mandatory. Then next and final two years ought to be more flexible with advanced level of material. Students with interest in certain areas would be able to take courses and continue to maintain interest.
Not so easy to do all this in just 4 yrs. It is better to provide for an integrated MS spread over 5 years with the last semester or two having very advanced level courses and project work. The three year degree does not do much justice, it is a leftover from the days when a BSc was required for admission to BE and MBBS courses.

A semester of Resnick&Halliday level physics and equivalent math is probably enough to homogenize the input streams from various boards. At least the variance was large in the old days. Maybe, these days it is getting to be more uniform with CBSE/ICSE all the way to the 12th and hence may not even be needed.

Integrated systems are good too. Back in the 80s not many had it though. Except a few most of the "ordinary" colleges/Universities invited applications again for MSc. It does become not an easy task to determine the number of years. Why is 3years bad? Why 3+2 years instead of say 2+3 ? If it comes to integrated form, I would prefer 2+3 years. Reason being, 2 years is a good time for an individual to determine his or her stream of specialization. 2 years is good enough to conduct introductory classes in many fields.

There are various options; the key is the goal. Why is the knowledge and degree going to be used for. Discounting the obvious and that being it is means to earn money; the kind of job becomes the foremost goal. But as educators, they also have to string the education in tiers so that people can get in and get out with some real benefit.

There is a another reason to cram in as much in 5 yrs (2+3 or 3+2 does not matter for this argument), as lot of the stuff cannot be studied easily once one leaves the madrassa to the real world. So the incentive to put in all the basic and advanced stuff, before one gets really dumbed down doing a 9-5 job.

In a US type university setup, the flexibility to move around and explore exists. Not so in most colleges in desh, hence the need to cram in more.

SwamyG, the 2+3 option will work only if all options are co-located under one college. That is essentially a setup that looks like a US university. It will take India another 25 years in the least to get there. I would say more. Lot of money from private endowments is a must. I do not think GoI can provide for that.

Ideally all Engg and hard sciences(Phys,Chem, Math) at least should be in one college/university. Throw in Biology too if one wants, since a lot of future job prospects will require a smattering of knowledge in that too.

"Half of Silicon Valley is owned by my batchmates from IIT, Kanpur.
Now that is a gross exaggeration :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Bade: Are you saying, to implement flexibility in taking courses in Indian University will take 25 years? If yes, why?

What I meant to say was that if you look at the growth trajectory of any new University (greenfield setup) anywhere in the world, none have made their mark till a few decades into its existence.

If you delve into the history of many of the US ones you will see that many started as small teaching colleges and grew organically. Very few have been planned from day one as large systems, except the newer ones like UC with 9 campuses. To be more than just a tutorial college, it has to attract at least half decent faculty and that takes time. IITs began as just that largely and faculty positions at newer campuses were filled by those graduating from others. It is 50 yrs and it is only now slowly the system is being dragged to move towards a true university like existence.

The university system is very fragmented compared to the IITs. Do all the affiliated colleges have it in them to provide for the flexibility to implement cross-disciplinary courses ? Some do but a large many of them do not. St Stephans, MCC, Presidency etc probably can stand on their own as semi-universities and provide flexibility that is lacking even now. But how to move the rest of the 80%+ colleges along that path.

I don't know. Given the amount of money spent and state patronage received by education in India, at least some of our colleges can pay top dollar to hire faculty from around the world. India doesn't have the ball and chain of athletics departments to deal with, so it'd be a matter of the government creating the right regulations and facilitating visa procedures.

Fee increase formula for IIT autonomy
The Kakodkar committee, formed to suggest a road map for the IITs’ autonomy and growth, will submit its report on Friday at a meeting of the IIT Council, the apex body that decides matters relating to the institutes.

The committee believes that increasing the undergraduate fees would make the IITs more self-sufficient and pave the way for more autonomy. The institutes will no longer depend on government grants for their recurring expenses, and would be able to create faculty and non-faculty posts on their own without having to seek government clearance.

If the government grants that the IITs receive to run their undergraduate courses are divided among the 10,000-plus students, every student will have to pay around Rs 2.5 lakh a year.

In February 2010, IIT Kanpur had proposed raising the tuition fee, suggesting a gradual hike to Rs 4 lakh a year over a period of 10 years. The government had not accepted the report.

The Kakodkar committee is expected to cite the IIM fee structure while pitching its fee-hike formula for the IITs.

Any chance that B+->A- SDREs getting into IITs in the future, them going autonomous and could have more number of institutions spread across the country. The needs of this institution is ever growing!. or the top cream is still have to be distinguished A+ candidates?

Jusht trying to bat for future kids.
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

India's ‘Model Madrassas’ Substitute Tolerance for Orthodoxy

http://www.voanews.com/english/news/asi ... 73959.html

A school in Orgram, in the Indian state of West Bengal, has something unusual to boast about.

It is the only Islamic madrassa in India – and probably in the world – where Muslims are in a minority.

More than 60 percent of the students here are Hindus. Parents from the surrounding village say they prefer the school to other choices for its moderate, inclusive approach to education.

Educational materials and food are provided to the students free of charge and the co-ed curriculum includes plenty of math, science and practical skills like using computers.

Courses in Arabic and basic Islamic theology are core requirements for every student – but that is about as far as religious instruction goes.

This young student says a lot of his Hindu friends tease him, saying, how could a Hindu study at a Muslim madrassa? He says he tells them they are wrong – that this modern madrassa is meant for students of all religions. He tells them he can study in a madrassa and still remain a Hindu.
Vasu

Post by Vasu »

Prof. Amartya Sen's keynote address at the 98th Indian Science Congress in Chennai on 4 Jan 2011. Finally hearing the Prof. talk about the Nalanda re-establishment.

Nalanda and the pursuit of science
Nalanda was violently destroyed in an Afghan attack, led by the ruthless conqueror, Bakhtiyar Khilji, in 1193, shortly after the beginning of Oxford University and shortly before the initiation of Cambridge. Nalanda university, an internationally renowned centre of higher education in India, which was established in the early fifth century, was ending its continuous existence of more than seven hundred years as Oxford and Cambridge were being founded, and even compared with the oldest European university, Bologna, Nalanda was more than six hundred years old, when Bologna was born. Had it not been destroyed and had it managed to survive to our time, Nalanda would be, by a long margin, the oldest university in the world. Another distinguished university, which did not stay in existence continuously either, viz. Al-Azhar University in Cairo, with which Nalanda is often compared, was established at a time, 970 AD, when Nalanda was already more than five hundred years old.

The university is being re-started right now, and since I happen to have the difficult task of chairing its interim governing body, I am finding out how hard it is to re-establish a university after an 800 year hiatus. But we are getting there. This meeting here gives me an opportunity to recollect the pursuit of science in old Nalanda which will inspire and guide our long-run efforts in new Nalanda. I say long run, because mainly for cost reasons — indeed entirely for cost reasons — we cannot start the science faculties immediately (physical and biological sciences cost much more money than the humanities and the social sciences do). The recollection — and more challengingly, assessment — of the scientific tradition in old Nalanda are important right now, partly because we have to start thinking about the long run (even as we try to raise money for initiation and expansion), but also because a scientific attitude and disciplined thought are important for the entire conception of new Nalanda, including the teaching of — and research in — humanities (such as history, languages and linguistics, and comparative religion), as well as the social sciences and the world of practice (such as international relations, management and development, and information technology).

Well, Nalanda was an old centre of learning that attracted students from many countries in the world, particularly China and Tibet, Korea and Japan, and the rest of Asia, but a few also from as far in the west as Turkey.......Incidentally, Nalanda is the only non-Chinese institution in which any Chinese scholar was educated in the history of ancient China.

It is also important to recognise that while Nalanda was very special, it was still a part of a larger tradition of organised higher education that developed in that period in India — in Bihar in particular. In addition to Nalanda, there were in the vicinity other such institutions, such as Vikramshila and Odantapuri. Indeed, Xuangzang wrote about them too, even though he himself studied in Nalanda. There was a larger social culture to which Nalanda belonged, and this is important to recollect in thinking about the tradition of Nalanda.

A third question concerns the subjects that were actually taught in Nalanda. Here we do have a problem, since the documents in Nalanda were indiscriminatingly burnt by Bakhtiyar and his conquering army. We have to rely therefore of the accounts of students of Nalanda who wrote about what they had seen, and given the reticence of Indians to write about history (a subject of interest in itself), we have to rely mostly on the accounts of outsiders who did not share that reticence, such as Xuangzang and Yi Jing. We do know that among the subjects taught, and on which there was on-going research, were medicine, public health, architecture, sculpture, and astronomy, in addition to religion, history, law and linguistics.

There may have been others, in India or China or elsewhere, from Nalanda who were involved in mathematics (a subject that was flourishing in India in this period) and whose documents have been lost.

I end with two final remarks. The first one concerns an aspect of the intellectual life of Nalanda that emerges powerfully from the accounts we do actually have about Nalanda from Chinese as well as Indian scholars. The faculty and the students in Nalanda loved to argue, and very often held argumentative encounters. I have discussed elsewhere how deep this argumentativeness is in Indian intellectual history, but I want to add here that it is a part of the scientific tradition as well, to seek arguments and defences, refusing to accept positions and claims on grounds of faith.

This is just a part of his address. Do read in full, very interesting read from a very reliable source.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Che ... 046004.ece

one comment, the scientist says we lack quality. I agree.

Primary school intake drops, UP prime culprit?
The mysterious decline in enrolment of more than 10 lakh children in class I to V in Uttar Pradesh alone over a year has pulled down India's primary admission by over nine lakh in 2009-10 as compared to 2008-09.
However, there has been an increase in enrolment of Muslim children both at primary (class I-V) level at 13.48% in 2009-10 from 11.03% in 2008-09, and upper primary (class VI-VIII) level 11.89% in 2009-10 from 9.13% in 2008-09.
Karnataka has shown a big improvement from 14.67% in 2008-09 to 35.52% in 2009-10. Muslim girls form nearly 50% of the community's enrolment at both primary/upper primary level. Enrolment of children belonging to Scheduled Caste, Scheduled Tribe, Other Backward Class has seen a marginal decline.
Mid-day meal is being provided in 87.45% schools. Karnataka fared poorly on this count, where the coverage extended to only 45.87% schools.
While Uttar Pradesh made the maximum contribution, marginal decline was noticed in Uttarakhand, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Orissa and a few other states. While maintaining that decline in UP is a cause for concern, experts in NUEPA attribute the marginal decline to stabilization in enrolment at primary level, but point to parallel increase in upper primary (VI-VIII) admissions. "Enrolment at primary level has almost become constant nationally at 1.34/1.33 crore, but at upper primary it will go on increasing," said Arun Mehta of NUEPA.
Bihar and Lakshwadeep have almost 100% enrolment in government schools.
Between 2002-03 and 2009-10, the government added 1.32 lakh primary and 58,720 upper primary schools. More than 40% primary schools have pupil-teacher ratio of more than 30:1 and 33.17% upper primary schools have pupil-teacher ratio of more than 35:1. Survey also showed that 14 days were lost on account of teachers being asked to perform non-teaching jobs.
Long way to go, but definitely signs of improvement.
some good some not so good.

I was at grade-I pre admission counselling at my son's school yesterday. various things like ICSE courses were being talked of. someone asked what 2nd language do you teach. they said "hindi, kannada and french with spanish and mandarin planned for sometime in future".
one chi chi parent asked "why not german also"?

the principal said "dilli and beijing are going to be the capitals of the new world and hindi and mandarin will become absolutely vital to working in these economies; I have expat students here who are learning hindi and doing very well. german/french are dying out; spanish is increasing in importance due to latin american growth and immigration"

dead silence :twisted:

we decided to put our son into yindi since my wife was from KVs all over india due to transferrable job for her father :D

^^No Sanskrit??? Sanskrit used to be the highest scoring 3rd language in CBSE during my time - Hindi would be the worst. iirc we were taught Hindi till class 8th, 3rd language from class 5th or 6th till class 10th and English till class 12th.

Spanish is a fairly easy language to learn actually.

Singha wrote:I was at grade-I pre admission counselling at my son's school yesterday. various things like ICSE courses were being talked of. someone asked what 2nd language do you teach. they said "hindi, kannada and french with spanish and mandarin planned for sometime in future".
one chi chi parent asked "why not german also"?
Seriously which Madrassa is this which offers Phrench, Spanish for 2nd language from grade I. Is it that Dilli "Public" School ?

My kid managed to get into Kumaran's , CBSE for 1st std. I am actually very surprised they even called us. SHQ called NPS and asked them about the admission process , they replied, oh, there are tons of criteria and you will in all probablity not even qualify , so dont bother (this was without even knowing anything whatsoever about us). Kumaran's said, oh, no meeting any principal /faculty/shackulty whatever, and we have changed our admission procedure, you need to apply online and we will call you if we want to speak with you further.

I was skeptical about that online business, but hey,I could do it from my desk and not have to go there and pay some ridiculous Rs500 whatever for an "application form" and fill it and go back . I had nothing to lose. I filled that form online. They wanted to know everything , including the size of my shoe. I did that and forgot about it.

Then we got an sms saying that we need to go for an interview with the Principal! I was in a tizzy. I always heard Kumaran's was into a JEE type screening test for 1st std, and my daughter has been so let loose that she can barely sit for 10mins at one place and I was wondering what to do. I decided sc*ew it, lets see what happens. It turned out that it really was not a "kid's" interview , but the parent's interview. SHQ couldn't come , so the kid and I went alone, SHQ immediately got cute and said, if she didn't get in , we know who flunked the interview!

Luckily , the Principal and I got along well, we talked about the Madrassa in Bangalore I went to, the one for YinJin Ear Ring , the one in the Yeasth Koasht, SHQ's job, how we will manage the kid and the career (red lights flashed.. woot ..woot.. we were told that they dont like working mothers, esp high powered career ones like SHQ with soup-e-rear EyeEyeYum degrees) . However, we got through and I get to brag to SHQ, that the kid goes to Kumaran's because of me ! :rotfl: :rotfl: .

For language choices, I think we will fill out Hindi and Kannada in addition to English. Basic Tamil, alphabets etc, I can teach at home (whatever I can manage) I guess.She speaks the language anyways.

NPS doesnt like working mothers too.

I am not sure when this 2nd language will start in ICSE, maybe from 5th grade...but since school is a long term decision, parents were asking. probably 90% will take hindi or spanish when the time comes.

kumaran's should work nicely for you given your upcoming apartment.

Singha wrote:kumaran's should work nicely for you given your upcoming apartment.
Yeah. That was the reasons we focused exclusively on the schools in South Bangalore.

You know, the school I liked most was the "Valley School" in Kanakpura road. It was a totally spaced out, no tension, all round development chi-chi school. The kind I would have liked to go to.

And contrary to popular expectations, some of those kids are pretty competitive acads wise as well. I called up my pal from the Madrassa who went to their sister school in Chennai, the J.Krishnamurthi Foundation school in the Theosophical society and asked him about what he thought of the scene there. His answer was it was all upto the individual , and their teaching style makes you fit in better with the US kind of system and gives you lot of scope for self discovery rather than focus of engg/medicine kind of rat race. That said, he did make it to the Madrassa, went to Stanford for a Masters in Comp Sci and is now an Eye Panker in Manhattan !

It was a really cool , spaced out school with large open areas and no hassles. Only problem was that they were absolutely insistent on the data of birth. My daughter was 3 weeks short of their cut off date and they basically said, even if it is 1 day short we cant take the kid in and refused to give the application form :(( :(( .

RB that was the case in our times, CBSE's Sanskrit was KG level :oops: and from what I get to hear from a current batch in a KV it continues to be a high scoring subject. :)

Good work by Cisco in Karnataka ....

Breaching the reach barrier
Four higher primary schools at Bichchali, Talamari and Tungabhadra villages of Raichur taluk have overcome their resource handicap, putting to use networking technology. It’s a common sight these days in these schools of students in classes VI, VII and VIII wishing their teachers and conversing among themselves in English.

Networking major Cisco, which has built 1,000 homes out of the 3,750 it had promised for the flood-affected in the taluk, has now come forward to build the lives of the underprivileged children, under Project Samudaya as part of its Cisco Education Enabled Development (CEED) programme, launched on August 27, 2010.

The programme aims at providing quality healthcare facilities for the children, besides state-of-the-art education facilities. Cisco volunteers have installed computers, besides a projector, a web camera, audio speaker and microphone in each of the 11 schools that it has adopted in five villages.

The company has taken on board teachers of Evronn educational institution in Chennai, who teach the rudimentaries of English, through Kannada, to the children from Chennai.
Aravind Seetharaman of Cisco told Deccan Herald that the firm had plans to extend this project to other parts of the State.

Discussions were on with the government on plans to train teachers.

negi wrote:RB that was the case in our times, CBSE's Sanskrit was KG level :oops: and from what I get to hear from a current batch in a KV it continues to be a high scoring subject. :)
If Sanskrit is not high scoring subject people will stop taking even those rudimentary lessons in Sanskrit. I have also heard that the people who teach Sanskrit give generous marks to encourage more people take Sanskrit classes.

Sanskrit is comparatively an easy language to figure out once you get the basics correct. Unfortunately it is also an easy language to forget as I discovered :oops: :oops: Was surprised to see similarities between Latin and Sanskrit when we were taught Latin by a visiting Oxbridge fella during one of our Sanskrit classes.

Tribune, reports

LINK
Now, study engineering sitting at home
Aditi Tandon/TNS

New Delhi, February 9
You no longer need to be a student of a private or government technical institute to access courses and lectures delivered at the said institutes, including the premier Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs).

In a major leap forward in the use of ICT (information, communication and technology) in education, the IITs have, in collaboration with the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, have developed 135 video and 125 web-based courses (in technology, engineering and sciences) that comprehensively cover the curricula being taught at all the AICTE-approved institutions. Each such course comprises 40 hours of lectures delivered by the IIT and IISc faculty.

Close to 1,000 courses will be added to the pool by 2010. Already available for free downloads at http://www.nptel.ac.in are the courses in the following branches - civil, computer science, electrical, electronics, mechanical, ocean, biotechnology, mining, and metallurgy. Anyone, from among students, faculty or industry, can access these contents, the largest such repository of virtual knowledge in the world. So far, certain such courses were available for downloads from You Tube and Google, but the IITs now have their own server located at the IIT, Madras, from where free downloads are possible. Copies of courses are also available in CDs, DVDs etc at a cost of Rs 200 per course (40 hours of lectures).

The effort is part of the National Programme on Technology-Enhanced Learning initiative launched across India under the National Mission on Education through ICT today. Gradually, the IITs and the IISs will work with the HRD Ministry to develop 150 virtual laboratories across India to allow students accessing courses to also have practical training and do experiments. “We are moving towards a virtual university system where we will try to ensure that every student accessing our contents gets some sort of certification after taking a certain examination,” IIT Roorkee’s Professor Bikas Mohanty said. The website already has 4.9 million hits.
Good job. Especially some sort of certification to allow credit.

There are similarities between German and Sanskrit as well.
VenkataS

Post by VenkataS »

There are similarities between Sanskrit, German, and Latin because they all fall under the Indo-European family of languages.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indo-European_languages

It is believed that most major languages of Europe, Iranian plateau and northern India have a common ancestor language called Proto-Indo-European. Note that this common origin theory is for languages not for the people.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

We have to create world class institutions with a soul: Mukesh Ambani
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/busi ... 603614.cms

Great man with great heart - i hope this is genuine and so hope he will invest in such institution/s in India

The educational system in India is quite bizarre. Even in the much maligned socialist state down south the asking donation (for development) rate for a private College Faculty position with PhD from reputed places, a smattering of post-doc experience is at Rs 10-20 lakh depending on whether it is a tier-ii or tier-iii institution.

This is irrespective of whether it is a fully aided college, or partially aided one. I still have not figured out what the differences are. I am told that in Kerala at least the large majority of the UG degree programs are aided (if the tuition is subsidized). For PG level courses some are aided, especially the older programs/colleges whereas the newer ones being granted permission to start PG courses, charge full tuition even for traditional disciplines. Following this trend, the course syllabus is getting tailored to address the new skill sets required by the job market even for traditional Biology/Zoology degree courses. It would be hard to find takers otherwise for these courses.

I have a niece doing MSc Biotechnology( or Biochemistry) who has to pay Rs 30,000 as tuition per semester is what I heard.

Yesterday, spotted a humble hawai-chappal clad, book laden SDRE shuffling in quiet contemplation along the footpath leading to the Phacepook apphice as opposed to the boisterous beer-swigging juveniles who usually get noticed - I wonder if he is one of the Eye Eye Tea SDREs who got selected last Nov./Dec.? :mrgreen:

United Nations has come out with a report 'The hidden crisis: Armed conflict and education"

This is a rather long report - almost 300 pages. There are lot of interesting statistics in this. India has long, long way to go before it can educate its masses. Our literacy rate inspite of all the increase is still woefully low and gender disparity is still large. The only thing we can be happy about is that India is not one of the countries whose defense expenditure exceeds that spent on education while our failed state next door takes the cake -- it spends nearly 7 times on defense than on education.

There is a damning comment about India in that while the income has more than doubled during the last decade the malnutrition amongst children is not going down. Time our netas woke up and did something about education. Atleast by 2020 we should have 100% amongst those that are below 50 at that time.

http://www.ungei.org/files/gmr2011-UNESDOC.pdf

dinakar wrote:
SwamyG wrote: If there are enough high paying jobs in the science and arts stream, people will pick these readily.
Ya that is true. Thats why still commerce is still in high demand. In the above three colleges if you want to get a seat in B.Com., one should need more than 90% in HSC examination. Most of these students will join either in morning or evening college and in the other part they are preparing for there CA examination and about MCC yes it is good old Madras Christioan College... :mrgreen:
Losers wasting thier life joing a course where supply is aldready too High.

Aditya_V wrote:Losers wasting thier life joing a course where supply is aldready too High.
:D. Is this true? At least during my graduation days Chartered Accountancy was a much desired profession. And the wide spread belief was that the exams were too tough, and only the strong and mighty can get through that (and if he can pass in the very first chance, he should be God!).

At least in my college, the trend was:-
1. Folks interested in science, or planning to write Engineering/Medical entrances go for the B.Sc stuff.
2. Folks who are generally good in studies, but prefer a non-technical line, goes for the commerce batch. And within the first year, they slowly started getting a all-mighty attitude, since all of them planned to become CAs.
3. Then there are the B.A types. Not too brilliant, many of them plan to write the PSC exams to get into government jobs. Most of the upcoming politicians (student unions etc.) take up such courses. And some of them go for MA, or LLB. But one thing I noticed was that since these people dont have high hopes of becoming a CA or a Doctor or Engineer, they have their course pretty much set.

Among the #2 group mentioned, the hopes slowly start shattering when they repeateadly start flunking in these exams. I know folks who slogged along for 3-5 years. The all-mighty attitude too goes for a rapid change, and then they have no recourse but to follow the foot steps of #3.

Sachin wrote:quote="Aditya_V"]Losers wasting thier life joing a course where supply is aldready too High./quote]
:D. Is this true? At least during my graduation days Chartered Accountancy was a much desired profession. And the wide spread belief was that the exams were too tough, and only the strong and mighty can get through that (and if he can pass in the very first chance, he should be God!).

At least in my college, the trend was:-
1. Folks interested in science, or planning to write Engineering/Medical entrances go for the B.Sc stuff.
2. Folks who are generally good in studies, but prefer a non-technical line, goes for the commerce batch. And within the first year, they slowly started getting a all-mighty attitude, since all of them planned to become CAs.
3. Then there are the B.A types. Not too brilliant, many of them plan to write the PSC exams to get into government jobs. Most of the upcoming politicians (student unions etc.) take up such courses. And some of them go for MA, or LLB. But one thing I noticed was that since these people dont have high hopes of becoming a CA or a Doctor or Engineer, they have their course pretty much set.

Among the #2 group mentioned, the hopes slowly start shattering when they repeateadly start flunking in these exams. I know folks who slogged along for 3-5 years. The all-mighty attitude too goes for a rapid change, and then they have no recourse but to follow the foot steps of #3.
Took an extra year to complete CA, passed when I was 24, even today the CA's get treated in the market, it is not career option I would advise to anyone. If can do CA after School and use it for getting into IIM, XLRI etc. and be one of those Highly paid MBA execs , only then this course would be very useful to you.

CA is no picnic. having to absorb reams of thick tax law books is a scary prospect. my uncle is a CA, my aunt tried for a few yrs but failed to pass the exam. one of their daughter however passed CA on first attempt, but took a govt job in psu finance dept for ease of family life and less stress.

nothing is picnic if taken seriously and pursued for sake of gaining expertise. however the shortcut is learn something and then leverage that to build contacts and networks, shmooze and let others do the crap work that makes things run.
somnath

Post by somnath »

Aditya_V wrote:Took an extra year to complete CA, passed when I was 24, even today the CA's get treated in the market, it is not career option I would advise to anyone. If can do CA after School and use it for getting into IIM, XLRI etc. and be one of those Highly paid MBA execs , only then this course would be very useful to you.
Without getting into personal specifics, CAs are pretty well regarded in the industry...The "accounting industry" itself is now huge - the big 4 firms, plus a few more international firms employ literally thousands of CAs..Enough senior bankers I know are also CAs...I would recommend it for anyone with a knack for accountancy...

Aditya_V wrote:Took an extra year to complete CA, passed when I was 24, even today the CA's get treated in the market, it is not career option I would advise to anyone. If can do CA after School and use it for getting into IIM, XLRI etc. and be one of those Highly paid MBA execs , only then this course would be very useful to you.
This is generally the case for any profession within India. Too many people chasing the few organised sector jobs. The dynamics mentioned in the interview below are true for every other field.

Days of huge wage increases are over

Not sure if this link is viewable without institutional subscription an no better thread to put this in.
Big Increase for Indian Research Is Not Good Enough, Say Scientists
NEW DELHI—The Indian government plans to spend 21% more this year on science and technology, Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee announced today. But some scientists think the government, which finances about 80% of the country's investment in research and development, should take advantage of a booming economy to enact even larger increases.

The allocation for the Indian Ministry of Science and Technology goes up by 17% over last year's total of $1.42 billion. The newly created National Science and Engineering Board will receive $75 million to support basic research following the model of the U.S. National Science Foundation, while the Indian Council of Agricultural Research will launch a $38 million project to continue developing climate resilient crops.

In contrast, India's human space program has been cut by one-third, to $25 million. And funding for Chandrayaan-2, a collaboration with Russia for a moon lander and rover in 2013, has shrunk by $5 million. Officials at the Indian Space Research Organization, which receives a 14% increase over its current budget of $1.4 billion, declined comment on the reductions.

"I am not very happy with these small increases' says C. N. R. Rao, a chemist at Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research in Bangalore and science adviser to the prime minister. The new science board needs at least $250 million to get up and running, says Rao, who promises to lobby for a large increase in the next budget. "It seems science is generally not respected in this country," he says. "India just can't grow without doing good science."