vina wrote:a shock troop like force of BJP nutters and their sectarian hate baggage could have accomplished.

Only one kind of hate is visible here.
vina wrote:a shock troop like force of BJP nutters and their sectarian hate baggage could have accomplished.
amit wrote:I think it is useful to remember that the National Flag will be raised in Srinagar on Wednesday. The question/argument/view (take your pick) is BJP's decision to hold a party function at Lal Chowk to raise the Tricolour.AbhishekD wrote:The liberal establishment needs an excuse to shift the blame towards the hindu right. BJP's yatra is not the cause of the problem in Kashmir. Just to lets liberals know that. This problem is a product of 60 years of a misguided policy followed by the liberal establishment.
Kashmir is an integral part of India and their is no difference between kashmir and other parts of India. Kashmiris once they decided to accede to India have to abide by India's constitution. The accession was done under special conditions but that does not take away from the fact of under pakistani attack kashmiris decided to join India and not join pakistan or defend itself till the last man. I am sure that if kashmiris would not have signed the accession treaty and fought the pakistani army till the last man no nation in the world could have subjugated them with the largest army at hand.
After acceding they cannot change the status. Period
Of course this is not say that the BJP or any other party or Indian does not have the right to hoist the Tricolour. But IMO it is wrong to imply that if the BJP is prevented from raising the flag at Lal Chowk, no Tricolour will be unfurled in Srinagar.
This is better, the islamists were exposed already, this is exposing their backers in New Delhi.Pranav wrote:As it's said, Vaade Vaade Jayate Tattva Bodha.
One point which I agree with is that there would have been an advantage in having this be a Pandit-led initiative, with the BJP less visible. That would have neutralized the regional sentiment factor, thereby exposing the opposition as being based purely on Islamist fanaticism and Islamist separatism.
It is more interesting when you see that people like Yasin Malik and Geelani are against the yatra. We are trying to be sensitive to their concerns. We should put balm on their injuries.Sanku wrote:If people hate BJP how does BJP becomes a party which hates? Ah well must be something Chankian.
Exactly! Now, look at the first thing the Islamist nutters want to target. Music, dance, personal freedoms, an open mind and an open society (exactly the things the BJP nutters seem to get their chaddies into a twist as well, remember valentine's day? jeans?). The way to fight those Islamist nutters is to bring back the things that they are mortally afraid of and know that they cannot win against in a free environment where there is no coercion. Now that they cant coerce, cut the ground under the feet!.Pranav wrote: a Pandit-led initiative, with the BJP less visible. That would have neutralized the regional sentiment factor, thereby exposing the opposition as being based purely on Islamist fanaticism and Islamist separatism.
It would have also neutralized the "victimhood" factor, since there is no community that has been victimized more than the Pandits.
Actually the folks on this forum can actually use their brains and do have something between their ears other than vacuum.Sanku wrote:You seem to be in the wrong place anyway.
No one is asking you to turn the other cheek. When there is the gun, you use the gun. Now the gun is out. Now do something different.This board consists of people who dont quite believe that turning the other cheek is a legitimate Rakshak tactic.
I am glad you could figure that out. That is precisely why you are in the wrong place though.vina wrote:Actually the folks on this forum can actually use their brains and do have something between their ears other than vacuum.Sanku wrote:You seem to be in the wrong place anyway.
No you are NOT. You are trying to put that old stiff and that semi literate dead ender out of business.abhishek_sharma wrote:It is more interesting when you see that people like Yasin Malik and Geelani are against the yatra. We are trying to be sensitive to their concerns.
Indeed!. I would be very careful if I were you before posing such questions comparing the stone pelters and the BJP, given the riots that followed the Advani Rath yatra and Babri demolition and the Gujarat events a decade ago and the trauma that convulsed this nation.Who has killed more people: BJP or Yasin Malik and his stone-pelting followers in Sopore and Srinagar?
Ah by feeding snake milk and looking the other way you hope the snakes will die?vina wrote: No you are NOT. You are trying to put that old stiff and that semi literate dead ender out of business.
When we Indians feel tormented about our glorious country suffering so much through history despite all positives; we must remember the chief reasons.Marten wrote:Yeah, that's what all of India was waiting for... an == with Babri.
Sigh!
With some DVDs back-up onlee, a Hindustan Times journalist to write on this sharing of culture and a NDTV type to broadcast the Sufism.... But those Bolly DVDs might end up, up back as they might not be to the taste of the Talibs, andaz apna apna i guess..Sanku wrote:I really and fervently wish that people who cant differentiate between Taliban and Indian nationalists spend some time up close and personal with Taliban.
But not in my country please.
From the Times of IndiaI just pity him. He visualises no threat to peace by the activities of separatists and anti-national elements which he dreads to rein in. He finds no threat to peace when Hurriyat leaders openly preach secession and exercise their freedom of speech and expression enshrined in the Indian Constitution to challenge the Constitution which recognises J&K as a State of the Indian Union. But he feels threatened by our wish to unfurl the National Flag in Srinagar in a most peaceful manner. Congress-NC government in J&K and UPA government at the Centre extend to secessionists the freedom to preach sedition in any part of India, including Delhi but wish to deny us the freedom to show our respect to the National Flag in Srinagar.
JAMMU: In addition to disallowing vehicular traffic to Srinagar from Jammu on January 25 and 26, the Jammu and Kashmir government has deployed 4000 CRPF men besides 40 companies of Jammu and Kashmir police and Haryana police to stop the BJP from hoisting the national flag at Lal Chowk in Srinagar on January 26 at the end of the party's Ekta Yatra.
The state government also deployed forces at the entrance of the state at Lakhanpur which borders Punjab.
The state government has also imposed prohibitory orders across the state including Kathua, Jammu and Samba. Similarly prohibitory orders were also imposed in Srinagar , Bugdam and Anantnag districts in Kashmir valley to scuttle the BJP plan of hoisting the national flag, police sources said.
Look at it another way, it seems that indeed Ramjanmbhooi == tiranga for those who detest both equally. Think of what it means.Marten wrote:Yeah, that's what all of India was waiting for... an == with Babri.
Sigh!
I disagree. It is hard to say that they are weakened when we accept all their demands. If Geelani dies, someone else will take his place. The assembly line never ends. Omar Abdullah talks like his grandfather.vina wrote: No you are NOT. You are trying to put that old stiff and that semi literate dead ender out of business.
But what the BJP is doing will surely give them a fresh lease of life and help them keep their shop open much longer than they otherwise can.
I am very careful. I did not just say "stone pelters", I was talking about the number of civilians killed by terrorists since 1989 in J&K. My claim is accurate.Indeed!. I would be very careful if I were you before posing such questions comparing the stone pelters and the BJP, given the riots that followed the Advani Rath yatra and Babri demolition and the Gujarat events a decade ago and the trauma that convulsed this nation.
You took the words out of my mouth Sir!Sachin wrote:. When I see such meticulous planning and the 'bandobust', it really makes me wonder. Will all these worthies take the same efforts if the nation is in danger? (external or internal problems). If the J&K state security agencies show the same grit and determination to stop terrorists from out side entering India, that itself would be a great achievement.
Why saar? Don't we want to encourage "people-to-people" contacts? What about GoI's plan to bring back people who "have gone to the other side"? Given this direction, J&K police has to look south, not north/west.Sachin wrote:If the J&K state security agencies show the same grit and determination to stop terrorists from out side entering India, that itself would be a great achievement.
vina wrote:That is the sanest argument I have heard in this entire thread. What you and your fellow pundits should have done is to put together a group and put in a formal application to the Govt of J&K and the GOI for security and permission for raising the flag on Jan26th at Lal Chowk and got together some 1000 strong group , shot off a copy to TOI (let ), Al-Hundi , Undie TV, Times Now etc and every TV channel and given some tag line such as "Kashmiris, going home to raise the flag on Republic day" ,.VikasRaina wrote:Would all those who are having trouble with BJP hoisting tricolor in Lal chowk be happy and dandy and support us if Jamwal ji and me hoist national flag in Lal chowk.
After all we cannot be construed as invading force ( Whatever that meant vina ji ).
Dont you know, Muslims have the first right over land, water, kaffir wimmens ... convert yourself before you raise a voice ..Baba wrote:Vina,
I have a small house in small town India. I want to hoist a green flag over it.
I also demand a plebiscite to declare that 135 sq yd territory as sovereign nation. It is my right as a I live in a democracy. Please help my cause in the way you are helping that of J&K peace lovers.
Mind you, I am a Hindu.
Any source? Didn't know about this. TIA.Ajatshatru wrote:Yasin Malik - the same bastar* who is accused of, among other things, killing of 4 unarmed Air Force officers in the past....Is this sort of scumbag/aantakwaadi's feelings OA is concerned about when OA is trying to prevent the Indian flag being hoisted at Lal Chowk?
The only people who have a true right to raise the Indian flag in Kashmir are Kashmiri's themselves. Sure you can march in there and do it, but it does not speak well of us, the other states. Anyone doing so uninvited is violating someones home. This is the meaning of the Indian Federation. We are not an Empire or the Domain of a God King.
Exactly the correct way to think about this....All the sound and fury with the anti-hoisting brigade spluttering in rage, counts for zilch.Neilz wrote:Just thinking on a different note... If say NC-INC succeed to stop BJP from hosting national flag >> Will it be possible to make a JK govt answerable to court why instead of facilitating a flag hosting by Indian on Indian territory, JK govt uses state machinery to oppose/prohibit it (hosting national flag is fundamental right of every Indian)
And say to save the face, CRPF or who ever host a flag ... case still has a merit >> instead of provide protection to Indian to hoist national flag JK govd prohibiting Indian from their fundamental right. I am sure JK govt can not hide under the facade of volatile situation/greater interest of people of JK/maintain law and order etc.. logic.
That is what it should appear to be. In the realm of symbolism and psy-ops, appearances matter.saket wrote:Watch this NDTV report on the falling population of Kashmiri Pandits
http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/news/a ... ers/188807
Someone called Vina expects these marginalized Kashmiri Pandits to to march towards the valley, on their own without any help. Thats like mocking their current predicament.
Sushma Swaraj tweets from Jammu airport wrote: DGP and other senior officials have arrived.
Arun Jaitley and Anant Kr with me.
We have been taken to the Terminal. Those accompanying us held at the tarmac. DM came.
Just see - we are being deported because we want to fly the national flag.
Arun Jaitley & Anant trying to reason with the. You cant do this under Section 144 ?
The plane is not allowed to leave.
Terminal gates are locked. We are not allowed there.
Bharat Mata ki jai. Vande Maatram - Vande Maatram. Bs hamein jaane do.
Lo suno - Hum jhanda fahrayeinge. Aur Bharat ka jhanda fahrayeinge. Bs hamein physically pahunchne do.
Kahte hain 'dekhte hain kaun jhanda fahrata hai aur kiska jhanda fahrata hai'. Arre hamari mayon ne kaayar jane hain kya ?
I am reminded of what poet Faiz wrote 'Nisar main teri galiyon pe ae watan ki jahan chali hai rasam ki koi na sar utha ke chale'.
What is our offence ? We only want to hoist our national flag.
What is this ? They are not allowing the plane to leave without us.
We are determined to go and hoist the national flag at the Lal Chowk. The Government should allow us to go there at our risk.
We are at the tarmac.
They have the power to arrest us. How can they deport us.
They are not allowing the plane to fly back. They are asking us to go back in the Plane. We have refused.
Initially they were not allowing us to deplane. Now we have come out. We are sitting at the tarmac.
They have served us an Order under S.144 CrPC. They want us to fly back.
We have landed in Jammu. It appears they have locked the Terminal gates. Not being allowed to go out.