Internal Security Watch

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
milindc

Re: Internal Security Watch

Post by milindc »

somnath wrote:Stan-ji

2. Re binayak sen, I had taken the trouble of reading the (Hindi) judgement and background that had come out in copious detail before criticising the judgement. And a lot people have done so as well. Let's see what the high court has to say.
You are lying again... You didn't read it before spouting your opinion
Check this http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 5#p1000875
somnath

Post by somnath »

milindc wrote: You are lying again... You didn't read it before spouting your opinion
You might want to comprehend the context of a comment before shooting off..I dont intend gettinginto a slanging match - it adds no value...But the ISI letter WAS presented by prosecution as evidence - it has been widely recorded, and I took the trouble of going through not just the judgement but also the background info...there are several inconsistencies in the judgement itself, which I have pointed out (and many others with greater "legal" gravitas - like Ram Jethmalani)...some of the self-proclaimed legal eagles, incl on BRF, took refuge under purported statements of the state DGP about "holistic view of all evidence to conclude Dr Sen is an empathiser" as well - sort of rubbish that doesnt stand even elementary scrutiny...dont remember who that was, and dont have the patience to go trhough the thread again...

But, there is really no point here - the man has been convicted, the judgement has been criticqued by many, and he has appealed...Thats where the matter ends...For now...at least at a a legal level...

If you simply want to get into a personal slanging battle, I am not interested - if you have anything substantive either on the judgement or on the case, I am....But I guess you arent interested in the latter...

Somnath, some quotes from your earlier posts-
somnath wrote:Go to the raw data - read the judgement (its not very long, about 90 pages I think)...Even to a non-legal mind like me, grounds for conviction look amazingly thin (evidence includes a letter from Ilina Sen referrgin to ISI :-o , btw, she was referring to the Indian Sociological Institute)
somnath wrote:Again, your knowledge of basic tenets of jurisprudence seems even lesser than mine...When studying a judgement and commenting on it, one does not need to go back to proceedings during the trial to analyse the reasons for the judge's opinion..The judgement encapsulates all rationale of why the judge has arrived at a particular conclusion..the judgement is availabel on the net, and I (and others who are commenting on it) base their opinions on the same.
I don't have a bone in this matter & have absolutely no wish to be spending my time on irrelevent matters - but am digging this up since you have specifically dredged this issue up again by claiming that you had read the judgement.

Just admit that you had not in fact read the judgement, and lets move on and not waste any more time on this matter.
somnath

Post by somnath »

^^^I did not "dredge this matter back"..and given your diligent scrawling through of earlier posts, not sure what your intentions are..

The prosecution DID include the ISI letter in its case, there is no doubt about that..And there were numerous holes in the judgement itself, which have been discussed here and everywhere else many times before...

In any case, this isnt a legal adjudication forum that needs to "prove" anything..If you want to believe that I didnt go through the judgement, be my guest - makes no difference to me, or the fundamental points on the critique of the judgement, which has in turn been echoed by people as diverse in their ideological backgrounds as Shiv Vishwanathan and Ajai Shukla, not to mention lawyers like Ram Jethmalani...If you go by the fantastic axiom (claimed here by some "legal luminaries") that critiques of legal judgements are illegal, well you are free to adhere to that! Beyond the critique, already made, I have nothing to add..

The prosecution DID include the ISI letter in its case, there is no doubt about that..And there were numerous holes in the judgement itself, which has been discussed here and everywhere else many times before...

In any case, this isnt a legal adjudication forum that needs to "prove" anything..If you want to believe that I didnt go through the judgement, be my guest - makes no difference to me, or the fundamental point on the critique of the judgement...
You had denounced the judgement in itself, not the prosecution & one of your highlighted points in denouncing the judgement was the ISI letter.

The rest of the merits of the case are not the issue being discussed now - simply whether you are right or wrong on a claim that you have made on this page.

This is a purely objective issue - no question of my 'wanting to believe' anything. Just don't make the claim in the future, that unlike others you do read judgements. :wink:
somnath

Post by somnath »

Arjun wrote:This is a purely objective issue - no question of my 'wanting to believe' anything. Just don't make the claim in the future, that unlike others you do read judgements. :wink:
Well, not sure how you can decide which claims can be made and which ones not..

And in case you have never gone through any critique of a judgement (maybe you belong to the "critiqing is illegal club" :wink: ) - bringing out facts that prosecution has presented is standard procedure in critiquing judgements, espeically if the judgement itself is perceived to be walking on "thin grounds"...But really, this is cavilling over semantics, a bit juvenile - I would rather worry myself with the substantive issues...

somnath wrote:Well, not sure how you can decide which claims can be made and which ones not..
True...I cannot stop you from claiming the earth is not round, or that the sun rises in the west.
But really, this is cavilling over semantics, a bit juvenile - I would rather worry myself with the substantive issues...
I would too. Wonder why you specifically brought up the somewhat juvenile point of your reading judgements and implying that Stan had not, in your reply to Stan on this page.
somnath

Post by somnath »

^^^Arjun-ji,

If you go through the conversation fuly, you can perhaps "comprehend"...And about juvenility or earth going round, well a lot of it abounds generally..Including those linking macro policy succeses/failures to trends in PE investments... :wink: Try to keep to the larger point, most of the time at least!

somnath wrote:If you go through the conversation fuly, you can perhaps "comprehend"
Aah, why did I have a feeling the c-word would be brandished? This is getting somewhat juvenile, but why don't you report after polling some experts as to how many 'comprehend' your point?
Try to keep to the larger point, most of the time at least!
One responds to the kind of point one sees being made.

Lets not waste any more time and posts on this matter. Am done on this issue.

Good decision Arjun ji...:lol: ..you may make buffaloes understand and recite vedas....but not Somnathji...he is beyond infinity....

Pioneer quotes PTI
NIA takes over probe in three blast cases
April 07, 2011 9:58:25 PM

PTI | New Delhi

Launching its probe into suspected role of right-wing groups in terror acts, a Central probe agency has taken over investigation of three blast cases -- Mecca Masjid, Ajmer Sharif and Malegaon -- in which the cadres of Abhinav Bharat are alleged to be involved.

The cases were registered by the National Investigation Agency after the CBI and Rajasthan Government gave their consent to the Union Home Ministry for handing over the probe.

NIA officials said the three cases -- Mecca Masjid, Ajmer Sharif and Malegaon 2006 -- have been registered and others including Malegaon 2008 blast case, which actually brought the alleged role of Abhinav Bharat on the forefront, would be registered later.

However, Madhya Pradesh Government has put a spanner in the efforts of the Home Ministry to have a combined investigation of all cases related to Hindu terror groups by refusing to hand over the murder case of RSS activist Sunil Joshi, an accused in Samjhauta blast case, to it.

The Centre had asked the Madhya Pradesh Government to handover the probe of Joshi murder case to the NIA to which the state government said that the investigations into the case had been completed and a charge sheet filed in the court.

Union Home Minister P Chidambaram had told reporters earlier here after presenting his monthly report that "..Sunil Joshi is not a case to be transferred. That is a little more complicated...They (NIA) have to apply in the court under different sections of the NIA Act. They will apply to the court."

The Home Ministry issued notification in the three cases, where right-wing terror groups' alleged involvement has surfaced, to be investigated by the NIA, which is already probing the blast in Samjhauta Express -- rail link between India and Pakistan -- in which more than 65 people were killed.

A chargesheet has been filed in the Malegaon 2006 case by the ATS of Mumbai Police in 2006 itself naming nine accused and had pinned the blame on Lashker-e-Taiba and banned SIMI.

However, the confession of right-wing activist Swami Aseemanand before a magistrate claiming that the blast in the power loom township of Maharashtra was a handiwork of Hindu groups left the ATS red faced. :oops:

Following this, the CBI, which had remained silent on the Malegaon probe for four years, had also formed a fresh team to re-investigate the case. :oops:

There has been no headway in Mecca Masjid case while the Rajasthan ATS had carried out pain-staking investigations in Ajmer blast case and has arrested four people including Aseemanand.

On Madhya Pradesh's reluctance to hand over the Sunil Joshi probe to the Centre, the Home Ministry has already sent a proposal to the Law Ministry seeking its legal opinion in the wake of absence of a nod from the BJP government in the state, official sources said. :mrgreen:

Madhya Pradesh government has filed a charge sheet against certain persons, including Sadhvi Praghya Thakur, an accused in the Malegaon 2008 case, in connection with the murder of Joshi, an accused in Samjhauta Express blast case and three other cases.

The NIA Act empowers the Centre to unilaterally hand over any terror case to the agency and does not require the state government's consent. :lol: However, the Madhya Pradesh government contends that there was no terror angle in the murder of Joshi.

Joshi was shot dead at Dewas, Madhya Pradesh, in December 2007. Samjhauta blast accused Swami Aseemanand, who is currently in jail, had in his confessional statement named Joshi as one of the key conspirators in the right-wing extremist network.

NIA is already probing the February 2007 Samjhauta Express blast and September 2008 Modasa blast cases.
Looks like prepartion for general elections are underway. PC is using the NIA as his personal ticket to PMship.
milindc

Post by milindc »

somnath wrote:
milindc wrote: You are lying again... You didn't read it before spouting your opinion
You might want to comprehend the context of a comment before shooting off..I dont intend gettinginto a slanging match - it adds no value...But the ISI letter WAS presented by prosecution as evidence - it has been widely recorded, and I took the trouble of going through not just the judgement but also the background info...there are several inconsistencies in the judgement itself, which I have pointed out (and many others with greater "legal" gravitas - like Ram Jethmalani)...some of the self-proclaimed legal eagles, incl on BRF, took refuge under purported statements of the state DGP about "holistic view of all evidence to conclude Dr Sen is an empathiser" as well - sort of rubbish that doesnt stand even elementary scrutiny...dont remember who that was, and dont have the patience to go trhough the thread again...

But, there is really no point here - the man has been convicted, the judgement has been criticqued by many, and he has appealed...Thats where the matter ends...For now...at least at a a legal level...

If you simply want to get into a personal slanging battle, I am not interested - if you have anything substantive either on the judgement or on the case, I am....But I guess you arent interested in the latter...
The ISI letter (in fact it is an e-mail) thing was brought up by prosecutor during his closing arguments, and after Binayak Sen's lawyer objected. Prosecutor withdrew that remark and as I noted it is never mentioned in Judgement or any evidence appendix.
This ISI letter thing was turned into a media bite by Elina Sen and the Tehelka media, and came into MSM as well.
And then as a Gospel, I saw you spouting the same media bite while claiming it was evidence and part of the Judgement.
I asked you a simple question, while fully knowing that you never read the Hindi judgement, and without question caught you lying with your pants down.

And stop the crap about 'comprehend the context'. I took pain to read the Hindi Judgement as soon as it was available, even though the last text I read in Hindi was about 12 years back.
Asked my wife to interpret some portions which I couldn't understand.

Stop dumb 'Elina Sen' argument about not standing up to elementary scrutiny. What else do you think Elina Sen will say, the evidence was strong?

Sonia blames BJP-AGP for infiltration problem

Biggest joke of this decade.
“I heard today and saw on TV that these parties have raised the Bangladeshi migrants problem as a poll issue. They are going from place to place talking about it,” Ms. Gandhi told an assembly election rally here.

“But I want to ask them when their (BJP) government was in power at the Centre why did they not take any measure to stop infiltration even though our Chief Minister had raised the issue before the then union home minister. Do they now have any authority to raise a finger on us on the issue,” she asked.

Ms. Gandhi asserted, “When the BJP government was in power at the Centre it never did anything for Assam. Now both our central and State governments have taken measures to stop infiltration from Bangladesh.”

^^ The sad thing is that the DDM will not go after their paymasters( SG and ilk) for such blatant BS being peddled in public...

Imagine the number of editorials and venom poured if NaMo had mentioned that Gujarat riots had happened due to INC ( INC corporator was main accused in bogie burning case)
sol

Post by sol »

This might not seem to be a topic for this forum (maybe/maybe not). We've read a lot about post-Godhra riots. Do we have a thread dedicated to riots before Godhra and the 92-93 ones? It would be quite interesting to read about them.

Badaruddin and the Kashmir worries
Published April 5, 2011 ISI , Lashkar-e-Tayiba , Terrorism 1 Comment

Badaruddin Sirajuddin Haqqani will be the new face of the Al-Qaeda according to reports from Islamabad. The reports also suggested that he would emerge as a household name in the world of terror and he will be the most feared Al-Qaeda leader till date.
Badaruddin is one of the sons of Maulana Jalaluddin Haqqani of the Afghan Taliban which is closely associated with the Al-Qaeda. Indian intelligence agencies see this as a surprising move since the Al-Qaeda appears to be springing up some new names to head their organizational and operational activities.
Sources in the intelligence bureau say that this is something that they had been discussing for quite sometime and the fact that a member of the Haqqani network has been roped in to head the Al-Qaeda is only an indication that the group is planning on splitting into splinter groups. When groups are bifurcated into splinter groups it is an indication that the focus would be on particular targets and this would include India as well.
Under Badarrudin who is lethal, young and is being groomed into a full fledged terrorist, the Al-Qaeda would see a lot of changes. Badarrudin has been in the fray for quite sometime now and he has been trained under his father a fierce warrior himself who has been battling US troops in Afghanistan.
The IB says that the plan to split into splinter groups would be confusing for very many security agencies since these would report to one head, but would fight independent battles. Moreover Baddarudin is a surprise factor and popping up such a name would only confuse security agencies. Moreover springing up new names would also mean that security agencies would take a while to commence their chase since a whole load of new information needs to be derived on this man.
Coming to the Indian problem, a group under Baddarudin would be in charge of Kashmir. Under the joint operation of both the Al-Qaeda and the Afghan Taliban, Baddaruddin has managed to recruit nearly 26000 persons to wage a battle in Kashmir. In addition to this they have also formed 30 suicide squads for Kashmir alone. However the IB adds that this new faction would not restrict itself just to Kashmir and there is every possibility of it spilling into the rest of the country.
The entry of Baddaruddin into the main fray would not necessarily mean the end of the likes of Osama Bin Laden, Mullah Omar or Jalaluddin Haqqani. These men would continue to play a prominent part in the operations, but the introduction of young blood would only boost the two outfits, the IB points out.
Another dangerous ploy which can be witnessed in this is that most of these developments have taken place without the blessings of the Pakistan establishment. The reason why these groups decided to go aggressive against India is because they felt that the Pakistan establishment was going soft on the Kashmir issue. Moreover they felt that the groups such as the Lashkar-e-Tayiba which is completely under the control of the ISI was walking away with pie. The Afghan Taliban and the Al-Qaeda feel that the Lashkar acted only on the instructions of the ISI and they feel that being a toy in the hands of an establishment was not allowing them to wage their battle effectively. These groups want a solution while the ISI wants an issue alive is what the Al-Qaeda feels. Unfortunately for the ISI too this thought process appears to be catching up among the cadres of the Lashkar as well and they are finding it difficult to keep the group united.
The IB says that in the days to come one could find a more aggressive approach from the Al-Qaeda both in Kashmir as well as Afghanistan due to this revamp within the jihadi forces.

With shades of Graham Staines story, Harvey Keitel is in town

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/with- ... wn/774488/

Pioneer

IC814 hijack conspirator nabbed in Chile?
Suspected conspirator in IC-814 hijack nabbed?
April 12, 2011 1:47:48 AM

PTI | New Delhi

A person suspected to be a key conspirator in the hijacking of Indian Airlines plane(IC-814) has been detained in Chile and the CBI will be despatching a team to the South American nation soon to verify whether he is the same person wanted in this country.

Highly-placed sources in the Government and the probe agency said today that the Chilean police informed the CBI that they had detained a person identified as Abdul Rauf and that there was also an Interpol Red Corner notice pending against him.

The sources said that the Chilean police had also sent his finger prints for verification but the CBI expressed its inability as neither Rauf's picture nor his finger prints was available with the investigation agency.

A team would be soon going to Chile to ascertain his identity as well as question him, the sources said, adding some help from western friendly intelligence agencies was likely to be taken in this connection.

Abdul Rauf wanted by the CBI is the brother-in-law of Jaish-e-Mohammed Chief Maulana Masood Azhar and was among the main conspirators in the hijacking of Indian Airlines plane from Kathmandu on December 24, 1999.

The Jaish chief was among the three terrorists exchanged for the plane and over 160 passenger after eight-days of negotations carried out at Kandhahar, a city in Southern Afghanistan.

According to the confessional statement of Abdul Latif, one of the conspirators who is in jail at present, Abdul Rauf and Yusuf Azhar, brother of Azhar, criss-crossed India and Nepal several times.

It was is July 1999 that the hijack plot took concrete shape and the conspirators held several secret meetings in Dhaka and Mumbai.

In August, Ibrahim Attar (or Chief), the second brother of Maulana Masood Azhar, informed Abdul Latif about the plan and the forged passports and travel documents for the five hijackers were arranged.

Dilip Bhujel had already delivered the guns and grenades via the Kalingpong route. A crucial meeting between the gang took place in the Kathmandu Zoo on December 13, where Latif was told he would not be on the hijacked plane but should remain as the gang's point-man in Mumbai.

Thereafter, the hijackers moved to their base in Kathmandu but kept in touch with Abdul Latif, who, in turn, relayed the messages to Abdul Rauf in Karachi. On the fateful day too, the hijackers kept informing him when they cleared security for boarding IC-814 or when they were in the waiting lounge.

It was the telephone call made by Abdul Rauf to Abdul Latif, asking him to call up the BBC offices in London and give details of the hijacking, which were intercepted and the arrests were made.

Breaking India: Western Interventions
in Dravidian and Dalit Faultlines

Review by Dr. Prema Nandakumar
http://www.boloji.com/index.cfm?md=Cont ... leID=10807

Post by Klaus »

Report states that since India does not have an extradition treaty in place with Chile, getting the suspect to India is a difficult task.

Reports also state that TSP could make matters worse for India.

The catch in Chile seems to be important. Per Zeenews the guy was arrested two months ago and only now GOI decided to get cracking and is sending a team out to Chile. Essentially GOI has the other guy in custody and wants to clsoe the loop. Wonder what makes Chile so attractive to TSP terrorists and GOI should consider a treaty or an operating/laison office there.

The IB guy in visa section should be more pro-active instead of just sipping grape juice.

The IBN news report already lays groundwork for very low expectations. WOnder why these people work for govt at all?

http://www.telegraphindia.com/1110326/j ... 767421.jsp
Calcutta, March 25: Chilean commerce minister Jorge Bunster will visit India within two weeks to meet minister of state for commerce Jyotiraditya Scindia and thrash out the modalities of a free trade agreement, which could expand the portfolio of items traded between the two countries to 10,000.

At present, trade between India and Chile is governed by a preferential trade agreement (PTA) covering 320 items.

“We also want to take the number of items covered in the PTA from 320 to 5,000,” said Nestor Riveros, minister counsellor (commercial), embassy of the Republic of Chile.
Slightly dated, may be we can negotiate business deals with Chileans in return for those inbred b-turds. :-?

Post by Klaus »

ramana wrote:Wonder what makes Chile so attractive to TSP terrorists
It has to be related to proliferation only, Chile is a leading phosphate producer, some phosphate compounds are used in the spent fuel enrichment process, to separate out the maal. Moreover, there seems to be a dulling down in Chile as first-world standard OH&S systems are being installed across many of the production facilities in the country, so if this India-Chile extradition treaty is signed, it would be nipping the TSP attempts in the bud.

Pioneer reports:

LINK
Govt sat over Rauf arrest info for three monthsApril 13, 2011 8:39:45 PM

Rakesh K Singh | New Delhi

The 1999 Kandahar hijack mastermind is among 40 most wanted terrorists

The two-member team of the CBI and IB may have left for Chile on Tuesday to ascertain the identity of one Abdul Rauf — arrested in the South American country on suspicion of his involvement in the 1999 Kandahar hijack case — but it turns out, the agencies made the move three months after being informed about the development by Chilean authorities.

The security agencies knew about Rauf being in custody of Chilean police since January but sat over it thus showing utter lack of seriousness on their part in the investigation of such an important case of terror.

A top CBI official confirmed that the Chilean authorities had indeed informed the agency about Rauf’s arrest in January itself. “We were trying to authenticate if he was the Abdul Rauf wanted in the 1999 Indian Airlines plane hijacking case. The details do not match but since we have no photograph or fingerprints, a team is now going to make sure,” he said without elaborating further.

Sources, however, admitted to the considerable delay and also conceded that it would be a challenging task to ascertain the identity of the person in the absence of any fingerprints or his photograph. The team includes SP Joginder Singh Naik — who was one of the CBI investigators in the IC-814 hijack case.

The Interpol Red Corner Notice (RCN) against Rauf (Number A-566/6-2000) says that physical traits like height, colour of eyes, colour of hair and distinguishing marks of Interpol wanted suspect are unknown.

Bahawalpur-born Pakistani terrorist Rauf has been listed in the RCN for offences of hijacking, kidnapping and murder. He is one of the 40 most wanted terrorists that India has asked Pakistan to be handed over for prosecution in the hijack case.

Sources said that even if he is identified as the ‘wanted’ Rauf, his extradition process could compound if Pakistan lays claim to his nationality. In such an instance, Pakistan would have the first right to seek his custody.

{Very defeatist asttitude. Wonder how they can live with themselves as police officers who throw up theri hands even before the fight? I would have the picture of Rupin Katyal and his distraught wife on my desk to remind me of the unfinished business.}

“I have no doubt that if the identity of Rauf is established, Pakistan will render him every possible legal assistance to block his extradition to India. We will then have to see how the legal proceedings go,” former diplomat and security analyst G Parthasarthy told The Pioneer.

{Him too! Abdul Rauf has not committed any crime in TSP. So how can TSP have first rights on him? If that is so how come Canada hasn't demanded its "first rights" over Rana in Chicago?The RCN is from India not TSP. :twisted: }

“But we have to first ascertain and establish whether the person under custody is the same Abdul Rauf for whom there is a RCN. We then have to establish to legal authorities in Chile that there is a valid basis for our seeking his extradition to India. In view of the RCN we do not need a formal extradition treaty to seek his extradition to India.”

As things stand, the Chilean police had informed the CBI that they had detained a person identified as Abdul Rauf and that there was also a RCN pending against him. They had also sent his finger prints for verification.

Rauf is the brother-in-law of Jaish-e-Mohammed chief Maulana Masood Azhar and was among the main conspirators in the hijack case. The Jaish chief was among the three terrorists exchanged for the plane and over 160 passengers after week-long negotiations with the hijackers and the Taliban at Kandahar in Afghanistan. According to the confessional statement of Abdul Latif, one of the conspirators at present in jail, Rauf and Yusuf Azhar, brother of Azhar, crisscrossed India and Nepal several times before the audacious hijacking.

Another accused Dilip Bhujel had delivered the guns and grenades to the hijackers via the Kalingpong route. A crucial meeting by the gang members was held in Kathmandu Zoo on December 13, 1999 where Latif was told he would not be on the hijacked plane but should remain as the gang’s point-person in Mumbai.

{Is this guy atleast arrested or is he still scot free in TSP!}

The hijackers moved to their base in Kathmandu but kept in touch with Latif, who, in turn, relayed the messages to Rauf in Karachi. On the fateful day too, the hijackers kept Rauf in the loop when they cleared security for boarding IC-814 or when they were waiting in the waiting lounge prior to departure.

It was the telephone call made by Rauf to Latif, asking him to call up the BBC offices in London and give details of the hijacking, which were intercepted and the arrests were made.

Zeenews was reporting that the Chilean Ambassador said if Rauf is identified without doubt, treaty or not they would send him over to India.

If there is so much hullaboo about Indians verifying whether this guy in Chile is Abdul Rauf, how did the Chileans arrest him in first place on basis of an Interpol notice? Didn't the notice have the necessary details that led them to arrest him? If so what more do they want or is it they got the worng Abdul Rauf? The notice must have age, appearance etc?

Anyway the press is saying by Monday they will complete the identification step in Chile.

Post by Klaus »

^^^ It is biometric/medical data which needs to be cross-checked, most likely laboratory samples which need 2-3 days to be verified.

This makes me laugh/cry:

"Bollywood actress Preity Zinta, co-owner of the Kings XI Punjab IPL team, was engaged in a tiff with Chandigarh airport officials on Thursday when she was stopped for a security check, an official said."

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Preity-ha ... 85584.aspx

I can imagine what 'netas' expect when they stoop to going through the airport..

I wonder if these guys still expect to be waved through in their white ambys at Parliament or whether they've learned something after 15/12. Not that I care, a pox on both the houses...:)

I dont know if this was posted on BRF.

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/comma ... no/491269/

An NSG commando who was part of Advani's security detail died in a hit-and-run accident in 2009. The Karnataka police claimed there was no foul play and mucho equal-equal between religious terror.

Yet in 2010, DNA India published a report saying he was killed on orders of some terrorist gang becoz he was approached for compromising Advani's security and refused to go along with their plan.
http://www.dnaindia.com/bangalore/repor ... ad_1480971

And now in 2011 the Karnataka police are claiming that is not true. Something is real fishy here.

http://www.allvoices.com/s/event-777606 ... Q4OTU0MA==

Something is rotten in Denmark!!!

From Pioneer:

Danish Crew detained for dumping AK-47s off Mumbai coast

Reminds you of Purilia arms drop!!!
FRONT PAGE | Wednesday, April 20, 2011 | Email | Print | | Back

Danish ship crew detained for dumping AK-47s off Mumbai coast
April 20, 2011 1:14:52 AM

TN RAGHUNATHA | Mumbai

A joint team of sleuths belonging to Maharashtra’s Anti-Terrorism Squad (ATS), Intelligence Bureau, the Navy, the Coast Guard, city crime branch and Customs department is interrogating eight detained crew members of an intercepted Denmark-flagged vessel — including two retired British Royal Army soldiers — in connection with a case of suspected arms dropping.

Though the intensive search of MV Danica Sunrise had not resulted in any seizure of firearms and ammunition till Tuesday evening, official sources said that it was the admission of some of the crew members — particularly the two retired British Army soldiers — that they had “dumped” two AK-47 rifles in the Arabian Sea, had prompted the investigators to continue their joint interrogation of the crew members.

The crew had reportedly “dumped” the two AK-47s in the sea, after apprehending that they might be picked up for questioning, if they were found with rifles, sources said.

MV Danica Sunrise is being searched off the Mumbai coast following intelligence inputs that a Pakistani national was on board the merchant vessel and was carrying arms and ammunitions.

Apart from the admission of arms dumping by the vessel's crew members, what has made the Indian investigators suspicious is why MV Danica Sunrise was heading towards Mumbai and why it was not carrying any cargo when it arrived here.

One of the explanations offered by the crew members is that they wanted to disembark two of their crew members, both security guards and retired Royal British Army soldiers, whose tenure on board was getting terminated on Monday, while another explanation given was that the crew members were heading to Mumbai to carry out repair of some snags that the vessel had developed earlier.

On Sunday evening (1800 hrs), an intelligence input was received that a ship possibly carrying arms and ammunition, is heading towards Mumbai for offloading off Mumbai coast. Immediately, Indian Coast Guard ship (ICGS) Subhadra Kumari Chauhan which was on patrol off Maharashtra coast was diverted to undertake search.

No vessel was located in the identified position. However, officers from ICGS Subhadra Kumari Chauhan commenced interrogating crew of all vessels anchored. "MV Danica Sunrise a Denmark flag vessel reported positively that two safety guards on board vessel have similar name. An armed boarding party of ICGS Subhadra Kumari Chauhan boarded the suspected vessel anchored two km from Gateway of India and commenced interrogation," officials said. While six of the crew are Danish, two security guards are British who served in the British Royal Army as soldiers.
So they knew that carying the rifles was illegal.

Likely that they were decoys

The new ResoruceSat is supposed to carry a Canadian payload(AIM?) to idenify ships at sea. Let see if that helps.

There is a twitter buzz that Sadhvi Praghya has been subjected to 17 narco tests as opposed to 4 narco tests allowed by the courts. No news covered on this by our 'secular' media but went orgasmic over Binayak Sen's bail news. Here is her latest photu in which she seems to be very weak.

Yeah she's in bad shape. Wonder how things are going on the "saffon terror" front...Haven't heard much from our media. Perhaps b/c there is nothing there, but then again who knows?

From twitter:

>>NDFB vice president G Rifikhang arrested in Dhaka. Likely to be pushed back to India
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

More on the above:
NDFB top gun in NIA custody
http://www.telegraphindia.com/1110421/j ... 880891.jsp
“Rifikhang was arrested in Bangladesh almost two months back,” said a senior government official today.
There you go, silence till the wanted is in India.
While Rifikhang’s arrest practically puts the entire NDFB anti-talks faction top brass behind bars, the development in no way ends the threat of militancy. One more militant leader who has been challenging and killing security forces with impunity is still at large. “Bidai is dangerous and now hiding in Bhutan,” said a source.
Further:

Thick forest and the inability of the Indian troops to operate in Bhutan ensures Bidai is free in his camp.

Inability is the word, not impossibility. It will be impossible if you have never been there and can never be there. You are unable to do something because of terrain, because of over-reaching into another sovereign territory, because of log kya kahenge, because of a need to maintain strategies under wrap, etc. I think I parsed anglais right, that is inability. To add:
The CBI released photographs of nine NDFB militants, who were accused in the October 30, 2008 serial blasts in Assam. The CBI has announced a cash reward of INR 0.5 million for anyone giving information about the militants - Arun Borgoyary alias Dinthilang, George Boro alias John alias B Jwangkhang, Khargeswar Basumatary alias Rahul Brahma, Tensu Narzary, Uttam Sargiary alias S Ulafat, Jitu Daimary, Tarun Sargiyari, Bishnu Gayari alias Bidai and Mudai alias Muthu Brahma.

Of these, George Boro was arrested on Dec 13, 2010. With the arrest of B. Rifikhang, it is the turn of the trio that leads the ATF: Arun Borgoyary.

Anyhooo....
Abdul Rauf not IC-814 hijacker, says CBI
According to media reports, CBI sources said Rauf is not the IC-814 hijacker they are looking for, but is a mere visa offender.

The CBI group comprising of two members is meeting the Chilean authorities to verify the suspicions and later India might seek extradition of Rauf.
Rauf was arrested in human trafficking charges and fake visa cases in January in Chile. He was allegedly trying to push Pakistanis to North America through Chile.

Then who was the Abdul Rauf who was the contact person for the guy arrested in Mumbai?
aditya

Post by aditya »

^^ This news is filling the airwaves, as expected. Seems INC's dirty tricks departemnt decided to open a new front other than Amar Singh to take some heat off ( the officer in question is puzzled as to how his sealed affidavit got leaked) :

Senior Gujarat officer implicates Narendra Modi in 2002 riots
The post-Godhra riots have come back to haunt Narendra Modi with a senior IPS officer alleging the Gujarat Chief Minister had allowed Hindus to "vent their anger" during the 2002 clashes.

"In his affidavit in the Supreme Court, IPS officer Sanjeev Bhatt has said the Chief Minister in a meeting held on February 27, 2002 expressed the view that Hindus be allowed to vent their anger," sources close to him said here today referring to the affidavit in the Zakia Jaffery case.

"I filed an affidavit in the Supreme Court on April 14. This is regarding the investigation being done by the Special Investigation Team (SIT)," Bhatt told PTI, but declined to divulge its contents.

The officer, who was posted as DCP at the State Intelligence Bureau (SIB) during the 2002 riots, said in the affidavit that he had attended the February 27 meeting called by Modi where he asked officers to be "indifferent" to rioters.

In his testimony before the SIT, Modi, however, said Bhatt being a junior officer at that time was not present in the February 27 meeting where the Chief Minister had allegedly asked police officers to go soft on rioters.

The officer also expressed surprise over how his affidavit, which is likely to be taken up by the Supreme Court on April 27 along with other matters relating to the 2002 communal riots, got leaked to the media.
Only Q is as to how more than 200 rioters( would assume the highest ever police firing toll in independent India) were shot dead if the police were indifferent?