Radar - Specs & Discussions

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Radar - Specs & Discussions

From Outlook:

Again why does Outlook say" Isreali Made Radar" ?

vic wrote:The rough & tough looks of Radar clearly shows it is Indian, clearly no smooth lines of imported maal!
a SDRE way to explain this.. I like it!!!

Aditya_V wrote:Again why does Outlook say" Isreali Made Radar" ?
Because ELTA Systems, Israel manufactured it.

Aditya_V wrote:Again why does Outlook say" Isreali Made Radar" ?
This discussion will never end till the IAF itself comes out and says it is Israeli. Till they say this, even if ELTA comes out and says it is not ours and is an Indian RADAR, DDM wont beleive it and would quote each other and keep saying it is Yehudi.

There is some CT value directed against Pakis, their Salwar browning would be more if they beleive IAF has Yehudi Maal.
manum

Post by manum »

The Arudhra medium-power radar is after all the ELTA Systems-built EL/M-2084 MMR, whose full-scale replica was displayed at the Aero India 2011 expo in Bengaluru last February. The two visuals above (Arudhra on top, followed by the EL/M-2084 shown in Bengaluru) clearly confirm that. Thus far, neither the DRDO nor BEL have claimed that the Arudhra is a product developed and made in India.

manum wrote:link
The Arudhra medium-power radar is after all the ELTA Systems-built EL/M-2084 MMR, whose full-scale replica was displayed at the Aero India 2011 expo in Bengaluru last February. The two visuals above (Arudhra on top, followed by the EL/M-2084 shown in Bengaluru) clearly confirm that. Thus far, neither the DRDO nor BEL have claimed that the Arudhra is a product developed and made in India.
Comparing both these pictures, the Arudra picture from Naliya is a larger Radar than what ELTA displayed in Feb 2011. If ELTA had sold or was in a JV with BEL/DRDO, they would have tom-tomd it.

Also there is no reason for DRDO-BEL to claim it is theirs when they are doing half a dozen JVs with Yehudis. relax and enjoy the Salwar Shiver across the border!!!
jaladipc

Post by jaladipc »

Not sure abt the reports.
But can't simply cross them when they say MPR is a spinoff of LRTR. They say that there was a lot of commanility wit the systems used.
manum

Post by manum »

cheenum wrote:Comparing both these pictures, the Arudra picture from Naliya is a larger Radar than what ELTA displayed in Feb 2011. If ELTA had sold or was in a JV with BEL/DRDO, they would have tom-tomd it.

Also there is no reason for DRDO-BEL to claim it is theirs when they are doing half a dozen JVs with Yehudis. relax and enjoy the Salwar Shiver across the border!!!
^^ yeah, yeah it's larger...its fatter, rougher and definitely something is Indian about it in form of JV...and since we are so much into these with Israel we need not announce it...I totally agree with you...
and I was definitely thinking about Paki word, when I was thinking about Arudhra being Indian or not...and fetisizing about shivering salwar...

considering neither ERDE (DRDO) nor BEL site mention about Arudhra, it is possible it may be israeli one.

Israeli technicians were present there.
Ryan Maguire

Post by Ryan Maguire »

actually, senior IAF brass presence enforces the idea that MPR above is foreign version and not home-made.

IAF mindset is still very royally driven - love and adore mighty foreign products, skin, personnal but deep contempt and bias towards Indian counterparts. I would be surprised if someone proves me wrong on this point.

gobarganeshml wrote:actually, senior IAF brass presence enforces the idea that MPR above is foreign version and not home-made.

IAF mindset is still very royally driven - love and adore mighty foreign products, skin, personnal but deep contempt and bias towards Indian counterparts. I would be surprised if someone proves me wrong on this point.
Did you think twice before writing the above BS?

pragnya wrote:considering neither ERDE (DRDO) nor BEL site mention about Arudhra, it is possible it may be israeli one.
LRDE doesn't use the word "Arudhra" but does mention the Medium Power Radar and that too for the Air Force! What else could it be apart from the Arudhra?

LRDE: Areas of work
LRDE wrote:Air Force
- Multifunction Phased Array Radar and 3D Surveillance Radar for Akash Missile
Weapon System
- Active Phased Array Radar for AEW&C
- Low level 2D radar and 3D Short & Medium Range Surveillance Radar for Air Defence
- Medium Power Radar (MPR)
- Low Level Transportable Radar (LLTR)
- Active Electronically Scanned Array Radar (AESA)
Congratulations LRDE and IAF!
Ryan Maguire

Post by Ryan Maguire »

rohitvats wrote:Did you think twice before writing the above BS?
Can you show me one or more incidents where IAF speaks negatively or with contempt about foreign products?

We can discuss this on OT thread if you like.

gobarganeshml wrote:
Can you show me one or more incidents where IAF speaks negatively or with contempt about foreign products?

Dude, don't defend that bull-sh*t with more bull-sh*t and try and pretend that there was some deep intellectual thought that you'd penned.....The discussion is about the origin of the radar - that is, till you decided to post using your musharraf and not brains.

Now, for a change, please let everyone know that you've brains that you can use and tell me, how is the discussion about origin for the said radar and your idiotic comment related? Is there even a statement from IAF about the radar? This time, think before you write.

PratikDas wrote:
pragnya wrote:considering neither ERDE (DRDO) nor BEL site mention about Arudhra, it is possible it may be israeli one.
LRDE doesn't use the word "Arudhra" but does mention the Medium Power Radar and that too for the Air Force! What else could it be apart from the Arudhra?

LRDE: Areas of work
isn't 'area of work' refers to work in progress.

the completed ones come under Achievements.

there has been no official statement from drdo too.

ofc many times the drdo sites are not updated regularly and may be you are right and i would be only too happy to be corrected.
Gurinder P

Post by Gurinder P »

gobarganeshml wrote:

No soldier, sailor or airmen will complain to the public about the equipment they are given. They will put a smile on and say "Jai Hind" and move on.

Behind the scene, they will tell the brass, scientist and/or bureaucrat about the pro's/con's of materials/equipment and the public finds about that through official published docs that the government releases or the press achieves through freedom of information acts (I do not know if India has FIA laws or not).

pragnya wrote: isn't 'area of work' refers to work in progress.

the completed ones come under Achievements.

there has been no official statement from drdo too.

ofc many times the drdo sites are not updated regularly and may be you are right and i would be only too happy to be corrected.
See this link from IAI-EL/M-2084:http://www.iai.co.il/sip_storage/files/8/36888.pdf

Having said that, we know DRDO has been working (and has worked in the past) or collaborated with foreign vendors to leverage domestic and foreign technologies to come out with products suited for our environment. However, there always seems to be a controversy about 'origin' or 'indigeniousness' of the said system. You'll find the usual suspects peddling these theories.

I remember sengupta getting his musharraf handed to him when he claimed that one of the radard DRDO developed (IIRC 3C-CAR for Akash) was a Polish system. A fellow who may have worked on the system gave the details of how the existing Polish tech was leveraged and new things developed domesticaly to greatly improve the system to a point where they are not even similar. Same goes for Green Pine where it was claimed that LRTR is nothing but Green Pine or souped up version. There is an explanation by anonymous source in comments section of 2009 article by Ajai Shukla which gives details of how LRTR is way superior to Green Pine.

So, even in this case, there might be Yehudi angle but expect the DRDO to have chipped in with great deal of inhouse expertise.

From Suman Sharma's blog:
The event was attended by large number of Air Force officers from Air Headquarters, Headquarters South Western Air Command including the representatives of original equipment manufacturer ELTA Systems Ltd, from Israel. The IAF fighters conducted a fly past brilliantly synchronised with the induction of radar by Chief of the Air Staff.
Full text here: http://chhindits.blogspot.com/2011/06/i ... radar.html
Ryan Maguire

Post by Ryan Maguire »

rohitvats wrote:Dude, don't defend that bull-sh*t with more bull-sh*t and try and pretend that there was some deep intellectual thought that you'd penned.....The discussion is about the origin of the radar - that is, till you decided to post using your musharraf and not brains.

Now, for a change, please let everyone know that you've brains that you can use and tell me, how is the discussion about origin for the said radar and your idiotic comment related? Is there even a statement from IAF about the radar? This time, think before you write.
You misunderstood my post.

My point is simple - MoD as well as IAF top brass is living under mohmaaya of foreign technology and products.

Even Ex-IAF chief has admitted on this. Why we fight then?

A simple fact is, our armed forces were not technically advanced during 1947 and we have regularly taken foreign training to train them. But now question is, were we unable to build our own army, airforce training schools even in 60 years? or we simply lacked focus in doing that? or it is just lack of confidence we have in our own teachers, that even now we send our Service chiefs to videsh for training? Do you know that Army chief got training from USA?

Let't not dig this more because we know where this will end up and you won't like it. And my original argument still stands - we have long way to go before we clean up this system of glorification of imported maal.

Back to topic.

gobarganeshml wrote:
rohitvats wrote:Dude, don't defend that bull-sh*t with more bull-sh*t and try and pretend that there was some deep intellectual thought that you'd penned.....The discussion is about the origin of the radar - that is, till you decided to post using your musharraf and not brains.

You misunderstood my post.

My point is simple - MoD as well as IAF top brass is living under mohmaaya of foreign technology and products.

A simple fact is, our armed forces were not technically advanced during 1947 and we have regularly taken foreign training to train them. But now question is, were we unable to build our own army, airforce training schools even in 60 years? or we simply lacked focus in doing that? or it is just lack of confidence we have in our own teachers, that even now we send our Service chiefs to videsh for training? Do you know that Army chief got training from USA?

Let't not dig this more because we know where this will end up and you won't like it. And my original argument still stands - we have long way to go before we clean up this system of glorification of imported maal.

Back to topic.
Gobar Ganesh, you don't know Rohit, he is from a services family and is intimately aware of Indian Army ops, ORBAT and chiefs.
On the Training front, IA chiefs going to US war college etc for courses has got nothing to do with the quality of training in India. It is all part of an exchange program. US troops come to India and train in our schools (CIJWS, Parvath Ghatak, HAWSS etc). This shows the quality of our schools, it does not meen they don't have anything like that or their schools have lesser quality. Please research further. We are going OT from the Radar discussion.
Ryan Maguire

Post by Ryan Maguire »

Point taken cheenum ji, thanks.

So, even in this case, there might be Yehudi angle but expect the DRDO to have chipped in with great deal of inhouse expertise.
Exactly! As long as all the SW code was written & verified inhouse to ensure that no bugs or back door entries were left uncheck this should be a welcome move for the IAF. In the event, they failed to do this then there is a cause of concern as one might be surprised to find "mis-leading" data being displayed on the C2 or worst magically develops a "technical" problem. Sure hope that the Yehudi's have been kept only for supplying the Aesa modules and the rest of the SYS/SW integration has been done by LRDE and their SDREs so one doesn't have a situation on hand like Iran, Syria, Libya, or heck who knows even Pakistan!

Craig Alpert wrote:
Exactly! As long as all the SW code was written & verified inhouse to ensure that no bugs or back door entries were left uncheck this should be a welcome move for the IAF. In the event, they failed to do this then there is a cause of concern as one might be surprised to find "mis-leading" data being displayed on the C2 or worst magically develops a "technical" problem. Sure hope that the Yehudi's have been kept only for supplying the Aesa modules and the rest of the SYS/SW integration has been done by LRDE and their SDREs so one doesn't have a situation on hand like Iran, Syria, Libya, or heck who knows even Pakistan!
Good point. Radars (along with various equipments for SIGINT/ELINT and others in C4ISR & communication domain) is one area where we have grown tremendously over the years - to the extent I forsee all our requirements in this aspect to met in house. Just check the range of products already developed and inducted into the service here:

http://www.drdo.gov.in/drdo/labs/LRDE/E ... chieve.jsp

It is phenomenal.

gobarganeshml wrote: You misunderstood my post.

Back to topic.
Dude, I give up. You have no hope.
babbupandey

Post by babbupandey »

gobarganeshml wrote: You misunderstood my post.

Back to topic.
Dude, I give up. You have no hope.
Please don't feed the trolls, this is not 4chan. Mods, how come you allowed someone to keep username like this?

The LRDE does have its own MPR program called the Arudra. The IAF ordered 15 MPR from ELTA and also asked DRDO to develop a local capability in this critical arena, ordering 8 radars from them. These are initial orders. As seen with the Rohini (7 orders and then 30 more), the orders can and will in all likelihood be increased.

The Israeli MPRs were due from August 2010 onwards & its entirely possible they have been delayed and delivered now. The DRDO project was launched in November 2008, with a timeframe of ~ 3 years for system realization. By last year they already had a prototype array for demonstration. It could well be that the DRDO has collaborated with Israel in the project and sped it up, but even if so, its unlikely that BEL would not be the designated manufacturer. DRDO goes to substantial lengths to source critical assemblies for local partners, whether they be processing boards or signal generators or of course, the critical Transmit/Receive modules.

So even if the first Indian input radar was from ELTA & hence the IAF named it Arudra, same as the LRDE project name (which I doubt, and think that whats more possible is that these are the Israeli MPRs contracted for) it will ultimately be made by BEL, and with assemblies from private partners in India.
Good point. Radars (along with various equipments for SIGINT/ELINT and others in C4ISR & communication domain) is one area where we have grown tremendously over the years - to the extent I forsee all our requirements in this aspect to met in house. Just check the range of products already developed and inducted into the service here:

http://www.drdo.gov.in/drdo/labs/LRDE/E ... chieve.jsp

It is phenomenal.
Indeed. The DRDO has managed to make a substantial ecosystem of private and public partners that help it achieve its aims.
I refer to:
http://indiadefenceonline.com/1484/drdo ... -projects/
The partners referred to in the above article are the private and public firms involved in programs like the Rohini 3D radar, Rajendra radar and are well established in competency.

I think per IAF terminology, the only type of radars for which local programs are not yet available are airborne AESAs on aerostats. Otherwise, even the LRTR class radars can be used/modified for HPR purposes (THD1955) which are along with aerostats, the backbone of our AD network. The IAF will of course split the orders possibly, but otherwise, there are programs/systems for every segment. This means that there will be JVs undoubtedly, but we will absorb the technology in most cases, and even advance it. For LRTR for instance, there was a clear focus on making all core components like Tx/Rx modules in India. Also, the signal processing was done inhouse. So at best, they consulted for the overall architecture & then adapted it for higher power Indian requirements.

This DRDO link covers pretty much all radar types essential to the forces, apart from the program AD systems which are not mentioned here:
http://drdo.gov.in/drdo/labs/LRDE/Engli ... asWork.jsp

Design and Development of Radar Systems
Army
Weapon System
- Low Level 2D Radar for Fire Control and Air Defence
- Short Range Battle Field Surveillance Radar
- Weapon Locating Radar
-3D Tactical Control Radar
Air Force
Weapon System
- Active Phased Array Radar for AEW&C
- Low level 2D radar and 3D Short & Medium Range Surveillance Radar for Air
Defence
- Medium Power Radar (MPR)
- Low Level Transportable Radar (LLTR)
- Active Electronically Scanned Array Radar (AESA)
Navy
- Maritime Patrol Radar for fixed and Rotary Wing Aircraft
- Maritime Patrol Radar with SAR & ISAR
- 3D Medium Range Surveillance Radar for ASW Corvettes
Each of the above is a specific project and the latest awards function press release noted interestingly, that the Low level 2D radar and 3D Short range radars for Army and AF had also cleared trials, and the 3D Medium Range Surveillance Radar for ASW Corvettes as well. Once programs like the MPR are completed, the next emphasis will be clearly on naval systems to overcome our current dependence on Russian/Israeli radars. The Navy, continues to rely heavily on imports for radars.

The same project names would have caused the confusion.
New Delhi, May 31 (IANS) In a bid to strengthen its air defence over Gujarat's airspace, India will Friday induct Israeli medium-power radars with a range of 300 km at the Naliya air base, an official said Tuesday.

The Indian Air Force (IAF) chief, Air Chief Marshal P.V. Naik, will do the honours and induct the medium-power radars from Israeli firm Elta Systems, the official said. The IAF has named the new radar Arudhra, the official added.

The Electronics and Radar Development Establishment of the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) too is developing an indigenous medium-power radar with the same name.

The radars would be inducted on the sidelines of the three-day commanders conference of the Gandhinagar-based South Western Air Command (SWAC) beginning Wednesday.

'This state-of-the-art radar is being inducted for strengthening the air defence in the Surashtara-Kutch region and forms an important component of the IAF's plans to achieve network-centric operations,' the official said.

With the operationalisation of the Integrated Air Command and Control Systems (IACCS), an automated command and control system of the IAF, the overall air defence of the country would achieve a quantum leap. The Arudhra radar, along with the legacy radars, would all be networked in this system.

http://newshopper.sulekha.com/iaf-to-in ... 308959.htm

As I said, the MPR were due by August 2010. Looks like the Israelis also had an issue when it came to meeting Indian requirements.
jaladipc

Post by jaladipc »

^^^ Karan,

Then it clears my doubts.

Then the Indian MPR is basically a spin-off on the work involved with LRTR. If it uses the same sub-systems as said earlier, then its range should be in excess of 300km, means should be over 500km for detection/surveillance.

As per the naval radars, DRDO is making leaps these days and navy too is clearly pushing DRDO to its limits. With phase-II of ABM supposedly going naval as well,there is a clear indication that Swordfish will be navalised. If its the case, then both IN and MODs motive of having next gen destroyers (after kolkata class) having ABM capabilities is a clear indication of that. And the delay in the freezing up of the design also indicates that DRDO has not even done the first flight of Phase-II yet.

rohit

thank your stars there wasn;t mention of why the system code was not written in an Indian language :((

Note one thing, all these DRDO RADARs, Rohini, Revati, Bharani, Ashlesha, Arudra (except Indra) are all named after Astrological stars in the tamil language. Arudra & Ashlesha are Sanscritised names and this might imply some videshi influence. my 0.00002 cents.

they can call them adriana if they want, but a desi phased array replacement of the big 1000km range radars for AD purposes would be good to have - both for land and sea. ie our own S1850/SMART-L seen in type45/de zeven provincien. the ability to track LEO satellites and take them out directly using ABM weapons (AAD2)...the germany navy says the SMART-L easily tracks 150km orbit satellites.

cheenum wrote:Note one thing, all these DRDO RADARs, Rohini, Revati, Bharani, Ashlesha, Arudra (except Indra) are all named after Astrological stars in the tamil language. Arudra & Ashlesha are Sanscritised names and this might imply some videshi influence. my 0.00002 cents.
where did you get that from ? :lol: all those are vedic nakshatra names and common to all Indian languages, with minor variations in pronunciation and spelling.

Surya wrote:rohit

thank your stars there wasn;t mention of why the system code was not written in an Indian language :((
And I thought, I'd seen it all. :((

Karan M, thanks for the great post and clarifying the issue.

In all this focus on MBTs/MMRCA/Destroyers, somehwere, the import of quite revolution in Indian defence environment in the field of C4ISR is being missed by us jingoes. I mean, those 37 Rohini radars are not replacing existing units (at least not on 1-1 basis)....they represent a net increment in the AD capability. As does the massive induction of Akash SAM squadrons. And now this large planned induction of MPR plus, I'm some HPR project is also underway. Combine all this with AFNet+AWACS+aerostats and one realizes, that the airspace is becoming that much more difficult to penetrate for the adversary.

Good going DRDO.

rohitvats wrote:Karan M, thanks for the great post and clarifying the issue.

In all this focus on MBTs/MMRCA/Destroyers, somehwere, the import of quite revolution in Indian defence environment in the field of C4ISR is being missed by us jingoes..........
Indeed...it'd be fair to say that India is moving mucho away from the point defence network of yore to a long range track and surveillance area defence network with newer more capable multifunction radars accompanied with more advanced sam systems like akash, spyder, maitri, barak 8 ityadi. The added benefit I see is that it will give the IAF a bit more room to free up some of a/cs that had to act has dedicated interceptors before. Also this is goiing to give a lot more teeth to base defenses around the Eastern and Western frontiers.....The Tinshields and the THDs have served well its time for the next gen to take over the Vanguard! By 2020 we will inshallah have one of the most comprehensive multi layered AD systems ever seen onlee and to that you can add the added surveillance capabilities of Phalcon, DRDO AEW, Aersostat, etc...pretty friggiin dandy if you ask me.

Karan M thanks for clarifying so it seems there will be two lines of MPR coming online soon...good we need for east and west both so its a good idea and will make induction faster onlee.

cheenum wrote:Shiv Aroor has posted pictures of Arudra Medium Powered Radar in Livefist!!!!
ACM P V Naik, Inaugurated this MPR in Naliya AFB, Gujarat. Audra is an indigenous MPR with a 300KM range developed by LRDE.
http://livefist.blogspot.com/2011/06/ph ... udhra.html
now shiv aroor has modified the link to - PHOTOS: IAF Inducts Israel-built Medium Power Radar

Karan M, thanks for the detailed post.
koti

Post by koti »

Do we have any ground based IRST capable systems that can help other Radar systems?

I believe the Spyder batteries might come with some EO thing for their own use only. the SA15 Tor also allegedly has a EO engagement mode.
generally from ground level the presense of dust, cloud , hot air might make a OLS type IRST far less effective than in the cold clear air high above