The Jan Lokpal Bill, Anna Hazare, and Baba Ramdev

Re: The Jan Lokpal Bill, Anna Hazare, and Baba Ramdev

harbans wrote: Swamy Ji, indeed people are angry. But what better means to remove corruption than reformation of tax structures as mentioned, regulatory mechanisms that prevent Ministers from 'doing as they wish'.
I am all for institutional reforms to increase productivity, efficiency and reduce corruption.
It should be lack of these necessary reforms that should be highlighted by people in Public life who want to better things.
Where I differ from Somnath and you is that you seem to be of the opinion that ONLY these reforms are necessary. I agree and I add INC should go. The political party that is presiding over such massive corruption scams should be punished, and in a democratic system, it means they get thrown out by the people in the General Elections.
This should not be about revenge, getting even, hangings or floggings. This is a systemic fault due to lack of reform etc.
One man's justice is another man's revenge. Do you agree that under the aegis of INC we have seen unprecedented corruption? If a residential colony's association hires a security agency for security services, and every night some theft occurs in the colony. Either the personnel are accomplices of the thieves or simply incompetent. Isn't it time that the contract be given to a new agency?
Last edited by SwamyG on 16 Jun 2011 23:28, edited 2 times in total.

I think the INCs biggest and perpetual problem is this - in their heart they know RG Yuvaraj does not look good standing up as the electoral candidate for PM . they cannot enter a general election without projecting a PM candidate. they keep trying through staged media soap operas to project his credentials but somehow it does not come off.

imo his elder sister would have made a better choice, but was apparently asked to stay out to clear Yuvaraj's path.

Yuvaraj does not come across as having a strong grasp of any issue facing the nation. he has never held a paying job in all his 40 yrs and has not even taken responsibility to raise a family. it is somehow not a convincing picture to show the nation. how if he were a family man, had served some time in the corporate world independent of the party before entering politics and taken up a junior ministers job in a clean area like science n technology or cottage industries his credentials would be so much better. now he just looks like a undeserving pretender who cannot handle any accountable work or slog and learn like every veteran politician has to do.

and he truly needs to work under a seasoned mentor someone like MMS who can teach him and broaden his worldview on everything from history to society to economy. sitting around with a charmed circle of childhood friends, mayo/doon politicial scions and the likes of diggy raja is not a high quality education.

to ascend the peacock throne one needs great mentors : chandragupta maurya - chanakya, alexander - aristotle, akbar - bayram khan...

Singha wrote:Yuvaraj does not come across as having a strong grasp of any issue facing the nation. he has never held a paying job in all his 40 yrs and has not even taken responsibility to raise a family. it is somehow not a convincing picture to show the nation. how if he were a family man, had served some time in the corporate world independent of the party before entering politics and taken up a junior ministers job in a clean area like science n technology or cottage industries his credentials would be so much better. now he just looks like a undeserving pretender who cannot handle any accountable work or slog and learn like every veteran politician has to do.
Well, Yuvraj too will flaunt his Haahvud Ejjukashun and also his stint at MuckNSee as "Karporate" credentials whatever, not that any of that made much sense. But Yuvraj comes across as a total lightweight with a large vacuum in the upper stories and no real thoughts or policies or anything in the nature of IEDology or anything. Just another pretty face /handsome face that services companies (Banks, Con-sultans, Law firms etc hire to be office wallflowers) hire and swoon clients.
sitting around with a charmed circle of childhood friends, mayo/doon politicial scions and the likes of diggy raja is not a high quality education.

to ascend the peacock throne one needs great mentors : chandragupta maurya - chanakya, alexander - aristotle, akbar - bayram khan...
That Diggy Raja, just like his colleague Arjun Singh were absolute disasters in MP. Pathetic infra, abysmal in any metric, clearly brings out the M in biMaru in bold. In think between him and Arjun Singh, their collective 20 years or so in power were a disaster like what Lalu's was to Bihar. Just mouthing platitudes on "social justice" delivered neither social justice or actual growth and development. I doubt he can win anything in MP now. He is a lost cause and is best told to fade out. I wonder what the Kangress High Kammand see in him to keep him as a Gen Sec.

I have to say that I am quite disappointed with the "civil society" folks. With Kiran Bedi and some eminent legal folks around, I thought they could have been a bit savvier, more realistic and come up with workable proposals. But no, but came across as totally idealistic well meaning ingenues , even country bumpkins , good at agitation, but zero in actually getting something workable.

^ Good post Singha ji.

Where I differ from Somnath and you is that you seem to be of the opinion that ONLY these reforms are necessary. I agree and I add INC should go.

Removing corruption is about that. What else way is there to remove it? Removing INC is not a permanent cure to corruption. And i don't mind INC being dumped in the coming or mid term elections. But i do mind the most important aspects to reducing/ removing corruption not being paid heed to. If a system can only be run by genius and dedicated people, then something is wrong in the system. The system should be such, that even if a duffer comes, it should manage because of the checks and balances within it. The test of a good system is indeed ironically putting a lot of corrupt people on top and seeing what they can do..the checks and balances within should either catch them while they do something stupid or they are unable to do it at all. (Not that i imply it's good to put such people there).That's why people express (or used to) puzzle why Indians do so well in the US and not in India (this was pretty much a cliched observation before India changed too and Indians started to do well in India too). In one system a person can shine and and the same in another rot.

In addition i would like some sort of compulsory educational program in schools to develop civic and social responsibility in Schools. Why it's inconsiderate to drive on high beam, honk excessively, more respect towards fellow citizenry etc. That in addition to TV spots dedicated to increasing civic responsibility. One big success story in India that has been missed is India's forestation program. Children were educated about that aspect and today India's forest cover is going up. A very interesting read is in the police reform thread by Rahulm to go through.
Sushants

Post by Sushants »

edited
Last edited by Sushants on 16 Jun 2011 21:34, edited 2 times in total.

Sushants,

go easy on the colours,

^^Shushants:
Here on BR we rarely use colors. The orange highlight is unreadable.
Sushants

Post by Sushants »

^ok done

When I was a kid , I often heard words like' these politicians will sell the country', but then I could not understand whats that all about ,and who r the buyers-sellers of A WHOLE COUNTRY :eek: .but now I know , Indians allow themselves to be sold and enslaved..
how? Well I think the 'how' changes everytime, but the 'why' remains the same ie. 90 % of the population lacks basic commonsense , here I would quote Thomas paine (a right wing christian :) ) specially for those who are christian and support congress
"To the evil of monarchy we have added that of hereditary succession; and as the first is a degradation and lessening of ourselves, so the second, claimed as a matter of right, is an insult and an imposition on posterity. For all men being originally equals, no ONE by BIRTH could have a right to set up his own family in perpetual preference to all others for ever, and though himself might deserve SOME decent degree of honours of his contemporaries, yet his descendants might be far too unworthy to inherit them. One of the strongest NATURAL proofs of the folly of hereditary right in kings, is, that nature disapproves it, otherwise she would not so frequently turn it into ridicule by giving mankind an ASS FOR A LION." (JUNIOR G)

"Secondly, as no man at first could possess any other public honours than were bestowed upon him, so the givers of those honours could have no power to give away the right of posterity. And though they might say, "We choose you for OUR head," they could not, without manifest injustice to their children, say, "that your children and your children's children shall reign over OURS for ever." Because such an unwise, unjust, unnatural compact might (perhaps) in the next succession put them under the government of a rogue or a fool. Most wise men, in their private sentiments, have ever treated hereditary right with contempt; yet it is one of those evils, which when once established is not easily removed; many submit from fear , others from superstition , and the more powerful part shares with the king the plunder of the rest ."
"One of the strongest NATURAL proofs of the folly of hereditary right in kings, is, that nature disapproves it, otherwise"= we never understood that the Mahabharata had shown us the core problem, but our intellectuals could not get it, so we are"
many submit from fear =Of a bad economy, hindus,vote,brand,money,black money
others from superstition= The gandhi sirname,etc,. India is still a superstitious country.
and the more powerful part shares with the king the plunder of the rest= 2G,IPL,3G,Stamp,hawala...now KG Basin and mny more to come.
from wikipedia:
Born in Thetford, in the English county of Norfolk, Paine emigrated to the British American colonies in 1774 in time to participate in the American Revolution. His principal contributions were the powerful, widely read pamphlet Common Sense (1776), the all-time best-selling American book that advocated colonial America's independence from the Kingdom of Great Britain, and The American Crisis (1776–1783), a pro-revolutionary pamphlet series. His writing of "Common Sense" was so influential that John Adams reportedly said, "Without the pen of the author of 'Common Sense,' the sword of Washington would have been raised in vain
We need to follow Thomas Paine even more than gandhi or any other partial -intellectual.. because a true intellectual changes the tide and shows light.
for all those who fight against injustice
"These are the times that try men's souls: The summer soldier and the sunshine patriot will, in this crisis, shrink from the service of their country; but he that stands it now, deserves the love and thanks of man and woman. Tyranny, like hell, is not easily conquered; yet we have this consolation with us, that the harder the conflict, the more glorious the triumph. What we obtain too cheap, we esteem too lightly: it is dearness only that gives every thing its value. Heaven knows how to put a proper price upon its goods; and it would be strange indeed if so celestial an article as freedom should not be highly rated.
Our independence from corrupt politicians and their corrupt systems aint so easy either

harbans wrote: If a system can only be run by genius and dedicated people, then something is wrong in the system. The system should be such, that even if a duffer comes, it should manage because of the checks and balances within it.
Harbans ji, how realistic is that? IMHO not very much. Governance is a "system" of people after all, and if the people implementing the system are crooked, there will be problems no matter how good the "system" looks on paper. I think it has to be both, a strong system with checks and balances AND dedicated people to implement it. A flaw in either one or the other is problematic.

Some Mainovadi shills on this thread have sought to reduce the argument to an absurd assertion that "bad policy" is the sole reason behind the problems of corruption that India is facing. That is about as realistic as saying "Kashmir is the root cause" of problems with Pakistan, and ignoring the role of successive generations of Pakistani vested interests in keeping the hostility alive.

Policy instruments are but tools and materials, after all. You can have the best policy instruments in the world, but if their implementation is flawed... and worse still, flawed because the people implementing them are crooked... then the instruments themselves become useless.

It is like saying, we must have the best brick and mortar to build a wall around our house to prevent thieves from entering. Of course, brick and mortar are important. When a hole appears in the wall we should get the best quality of brick and mortar to fill it up.

But what is the use of even the best bricks and mortar if they are just going to lie in a heap in our backyard, if nobody actually takes them and fixes the wall?

Worse than that, what is the use if our chowkidar is in league with thieves, and allows them to simply jump over the wall and enter the house? Does having the best materials, or having a system of ideal policy instruments per the analogy, help us at all in that situation?

There are many more problems than the unavailability of policy instruments. However, the Mainovadi shills on this thread repeatedly attempt to divert the attention towards "bad policy" and only "bad policy"... distracting us from the multitude of other problems by fixating on the details and minutiae of suggested policy instruments like the Lok Pal bill.

The shills argue that only certain types of popular actions or suggestions are valid in dealing with the problem of systemic corruption... like bills submitted by the likes of Prashant Bhushan or Arvind Kejriwal. These, even at best, can only turn into policy instruments for the Maino Regime to subvert and ignore when convenient.

That is like saying that only the percentage of limestone in the mortar, or only the temperature of the kiln used to manufacture the bricks, is relevant to the problem of securing your house from thieves.

Meanwhile, discussing anything else, by anybody else, is characterized as motivated, or "political game playing", or "vengeful." This is completely spurious. If someone points out the fact that your chowkidar is a crook acting in league with the thieves, should he be made to shut up while the details of bricks and mortar are discussed? If the chowkidar is punished for his crime, is that "vengeful", or is it merely justice that will serve as a disincentive to future chowkidars with crooked ambitions? Either way, why are only the bricks and mortar considered "legitimate" topics of discussion?

Yet, in the view of some on this thread, such things as "the role of the chowkidar" must not be discussed, and the identities of the persons engaging in such inconvenient discussions are to be slandered.

Emphasizing a few select matters of partial relevance, to the extent of crowding out or distracting from other (inconvenient) matters of equal or greater relevance, is intellectually dishonest. A clear pointer to the motivations of those who float such red herrings, if you ask me.
Last edited by Rudradev on 16 Jun 2011 23:15, edited 1 time in total.

I have Thomas Paine's Common Sense and other writings. I agree with John Adams on TP's influence. Soon after Independence TP ran into trouble in America and Europe. However, we should not compare our domestic leaders and Thomas Paine. MKG played a role in our Independence struggle; and you claim him to be a "partial intellectual". TP was in an era where the forms of governments were different. MKG motivated people across the land in the freedom movement. In the time of MKG's era democratic forms of government were considered to be better than others. So MKG had to work to free Indians from British, he was not responsible for shaping a drastically new form of government. It is good to get inspiration from people around the globe, and bring in new ideas and adapt them locally, but not good to disparage our own leaders. Thomas Paine never carried the responsibilities of MKG. One can dismiss TP as just an author of essays sitting in comfy easy chairs. Gandhi whereas traveled the vast country and inspired people at a different level. It is apples vs oranges comparison. In order to praise Thomas Pain, we don't have to bring down MKG.

harbans wrote: Removing corruption is about that. What else way is there to remove it? Removing INC is not a permanent cure to corruption. And i don't mind INC being dumped in the coming or mid term elections.
Good so we are in agreement there. Both of us do not mind INC being dumped in the general elections. Yet, you do not think it is important to remove them from power. Why? In a democracy when a political party does not perform to the satisfaction, they can be thrown out, no?
In one system a person can shine and and the same in another rot.
I understand and agree. But what is system. It is nothing but institutions and society created by people. It is as good as the people who create them. Do you see no difference between the corruption that involves lakhs of crores vs thousands?
In addition i would like some sort of compulsory educational program in schools to develop civic and social responsibility in Schools. Why it's inconsiderate to drive on high beam, honk excessively, more respect towards fellow citizenry etc.
Ah..glad to see you write that. When would we respect each other? When we have self-respect and pride in who we are. When we have a good narrative of who we are, what we are and where we want to go; then these habits will be easily sorted out.
Last edited by SwamyG on 17 Jun 2011 18:07, edited 1 time in total.

Harbans ji, how realistic is that? IMHO not very much. Governance is a "system" of people after all, and if the people implementing the system are crooked, there will be problems no matter how good the "system" looks on paper. I think it has to be both, a strong system with checks and balances AND dedicated people to implement it. A flaw in either one or the other is problematic.

Rudradev Ji, i used that term to define how solid the system of checks and balances should be. if the system was good and reformed, most scams should not have happened. There is a quote i forget by whom, but it goes like this: If you require a genius to run your organization, then it's severely flawed. Because if a person of average skills comes over the organization is doomed, since it requires only a genius to run things. So any organization must be such that even if it has to deal with a person of less than average intellect, it must hold. Ideal i agree an no one will dispute is good policies and dedicated people running it, strengthening the system further.

Some Mainovadi shills on this thread have sought to reduce the argument to an absurd assertion that "bad policy" is the sole reason behind the problems of corruption that India is facing. That is about as realistic as saying "Kashmir is the root cause" of problems with Pakistan, and ignoring the role of successive generations of Pakistani vested interests in keeping the hostility alive.

I think that's a bit of a stretch linking Kashmir as root problem and lack of reform/ bad policy being responsible for corruption. We know K is not the root problem as we have gone deeper into paks psyche and the 2 nation theory and stuff. But the truth is many problems as illustrated by many examples over the last few pages do clearly indicate that the root cause of corruption is lack of reform/ bad policy. The lack of reform is attracting crooks into politics is known to us all. They know they can make fast money because as before 90's they used to dole out licenses and favors, now they have with them discretionary and other powers they can misuse. Simply put, IF there's a chance of making money by crook in the system, it is going to be exploited. Thus we have to correct things such that those who go into politics don't do so to generate income for themselves and their cronies but do so for really making a difference. That i am sorry is the truth.

You can have the best policy instruments in the world, but if their implementation is flawed... and worse still, flawed because the people implementing them are crooked... then the instruments themselves become useless.

Examples illustrated earlier don't indicate this. The system is no longer functioning with the best policy instruments if it cannot withstand someone with crooked instincts getting exposed. To that extent scams getting exposed by Govt policy instruments themselves is a big positive. If you notice the big scams started surfacing only when the system started getting more open. Late 80's onwards.

But what is the use of even the best bricks and mortar if they are just going to lie in a heap in our backyard, if nobody actually takes them and fixes the wall?

So obviously the above example is where a system does not have adequate implementation, methods to discover breaches etc. Some flaw in it. Problem is in the system responsible for that.

Meanwhile, discussing anything else, by anybody else, is characterized as motivated, or "political game playing", or "vengeful." This is completely spurious. If someone points out the fact that your chowkidar is a crook acting in league with the thieves, should he be made to shut up while the details of bricks and mortar are discussed? If the chowkidar is punished for his crime, is that "vengeful", or is it merely justice that will serve as a disincentive to future chowkidars with crooked ambitions? Either way, why are only the bricks and mortar considered "legitimate" topics of discussion?

Rudradev Ji, i think no one is saying there must not be punishment. But vengeance or floggings and executions will alone not solve these problems. One has to look beyond the political party thing in this case. Fact is systemic reform is key to solving the corruption problem. Too many examples have been given in the last few pages.

Yet, you do not think it is important to remove them from power. Why? In a democracy when a political party does not perform to the satisfaction, they can be thrown out, no?

Swamy Ji, remove them, i don't care. But if you think just removing INC and getting BJP in will solve the problem, you are mistaken. The problem will remain.

If you think that just educating people about civic sense and respect towards fellow citizenry is enough, you still will keep having scams.

I understand and agree. But what is system. It is nothing but institutions and society created by people. It is as good as the people who create them.

Disagree. You leave a good system behind for other generations to reap it's benefits. MKG's generation fought their battles and bequeathed us a free democratic nation. You did'nt create it. Systemic evolution is an ongoing process. It involves civilizational values and generations at times. When you create a mechanism it works for people who don"t even understand the mechanism

The system should be able to cope up with flawed people in it>
nikkap

Post by nikkap »

harbans wrote:

MKG's generation fought their battles and bequeathed us a free democratic nation. You did'nt create it. Systemic evolution is an ongoing process. It involves civilizational values and generations at times. When you create a mechanism it works for people who don"t even understand the mechanism

The system should be able to cope up with flawed people in it>

i am sorry to say harbans ji our freedom fighter didn't fought for a democractic nation it was something else.all of you guys are eons ahead of me debating at any given topic but somehow in this topic basic understanding of the system is missing.

i am sorry to say harbans ji our freedom fighter didn't fought for a democractic nation it was something else

They fought for freedom. It was well known the freedoms we possess manifested in a democratic process. I don't know what else you imply or see in my statement.

but somehow in this topic basic understanding of the system is missing.

Please state what understanding is missing. It's been stated clearly that without further reform you cannot eliminate or reduce corruption. Examples have been given towards that.

For that matter these scam after scam show a very positive thing. Most exposed by Govt instruments and institutions themselves, CAG for example. Pre-reform era there were hardly any exposed scams, did you notice?

The next improvement is obviously is to be able to nip it in the bud, or better let professional institutions or independent regulators handle things.

Floggings, executions, changing governments, civic education etc is not going to change it alone. Alone reform only will do the trick.

harbans wrote:Harbans ji, how realistic is that? IMHO not very much. Governance is a "system" of people after all, and if the people implementing the system are crooked, there will be problems no matter how good the "system" looks on paper. I think it has to be both, a strong system with checks and balances AND dedicated people to implement it. A flaw in either one or the other is problematic.

Rudradev Ji, i used that term to define how solid the system of checks and balances should be. if the system was good and reformed, most scams should not have happened. There is a quote i forget by whom, but it goes like this: If you require a genius to run your organization, then it's severely flawed. Because if a person of average skills comes over the organization is doomed, since it requires only a genius to run things. So any organization must be such that even if it has to deal with a person of less than average intellect, it must hold. Ideal i agree an no one will dispute is good policies and dedicated people running it, strengthening the system further.
Harbans ji, forgive me but I see a flaw in your argument. You are categorizing human beings (working within a system) as one of two types; geniuses or duffers. This does not take into account a third category... crooks.

There is no system or organization devised thus far in history, which is so solid that it cannot be subverted by motivated crooks (even if it is perfectly proof against mere duffers or average intellects.) I cannot even imagine what such a system would look like... maybe an artificial intelligence with absolute authority! But that's science fiction.

Hence there have to be provisions for taking out and punishing crooks, over and above any improvements one might make to the system in terms of policy instruments per se. Popular movements that are aimed at getting justice against crooks who have subverted the system, must be recognized for what they are. People who shout down those popular movements and insist that only systemic policy flaws need to be examined in detail... seem to be on the side of the crooks!

I think that's a bit of a stretch linking Kashmir as root problem and lack of reform/ bad policy being responsible for corruption. We know K is not the root problem as we have gone deeper into paks psyche and the 2 nation theory and stuff. But the truth is many problems as illustrated by many examples over the last few pages do clearly indicate that the root cause of corruption is lack of reform/ bad policy. The lack of reform is attracting crooks into politics is known to us all. They know they can make fast money because as before 90's they used to dole out licenses and favors, now they have with them discretionary and other powers they can misuse. Simply put, IF there's a chance of making money by crook in the system, it is going to be exploited. Thus we have to correct things such that those who go into politics don't do so to generate income for themselves and their cronies but do so for really making a difference. That i am sorry is the truth.
I was not linking Kashmir per se to corruption. The link is this: some individuals insist that bad policy and only bad policy is responsible for corruption (rather than the deliberate subversion of adequate policy instruments by motivated crooks.) Such an argument is as disingenuous as the Paki argument that Kashmir and only Kashmir is responsible for India-Pakistan tensions.

As you correctly point out, We have gone deeper into Pak's psyche and 2-nation theory to determine that the Kashmir-only argument is bogus. What needs to be done now, as demanded by popular mass movements, is a sustained study and indictment of the crooks subverting existing policy regimes to profit from corruption. This should not be put aside in favour of diversionary arguments to the effect that the whole problem is one of bad policy and flawed policy instruments... that would be just as bad as accepting the Paki argument that "Kashmir is the root cause."
You can have the best policy instruments in the world, but if their implementation is flawed... and worse still, flawed because the people implementing them are crooked... then the instruments themselves become useless.

Examples illustrated earlier don't indicate this. The system is no longer functioning with the best policy instruments if it cannot withstand someone with crooked instincts getting exposed. To that extent scams getting exposed by Govt policy instruments themselves is a big positive. If you notice the big scams started surfacing only when the system started getting more open. Late 80's onwards.

So obviously the above example is where a system does not have adequate implementation, methods to discover breaches etc. Some flaw in it. Problem is in the system responsible for that.
On the contrary Harbans-ji. There are plenty of examples wherein existing policy instruments have been subverted (successfully) by crooks in order to commit crimes against the nation, or cover up those crimes. Consider this:
Vasu wrote:Not only has she returned the report, the CONgress won't allow it to be discussed again either.

Cong won't allow PAC to discuss 2G again
With Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar returning the controversial Public Accounts Committee (PAC) report on 2G spectrum allocations to the panel's chairman Murli Manohar Joshi , the Congress looks determined not to allow the issue to be taken up again in the reconstituted panel. Though the Congress has not reacted formally to the rejection of the report submitted by Joshi, its members on the panel said there was no chance of the issue being taken up again.

"The matter is over. There is a new committee now and it will discuss other issues," a Congress MP on the panel said. Congress sources said the Speaker had rejected the report on procedural grounds, pointing out that a majority had not adopted the report. With the report being sent back, the committee has a choice to consider the issue again if a majority of members present and voting agree with the move.

The controversial report, submitted by Joshi a day before his previous term as chairman ended on April 30, had scathing remarks on Prime Minister's Office, Home Minister P Chidambaram and former telecom minister A Raja. The party would obviously not want to revisit the issue and expose itself to more embarrassment .
The PAC and JPC are policy instruments formulated with good intentions, exactly for the purpose of inquiring into such situations as governmental corruption in the 2G scam. On the face of it, nothing is wrong with such institutions as the PAC.

But motivated crooks like the Maino regime, can invariably find a way to make these policy instruments useless... as they have done in the above situation. In fact that is exactly a case of "bricks and mortar lying in a useless heap because no one is using them to fix the wall!" Criminal subversion is preventing these policy instruments from being used to the effect that was intended.

I agree with you that greater transparency in the system is at least exposing SOME of the scams and corruption that have been taking place (though one has to wonder, what all might have gone on that was not exposed.)

Apart from Lokpal Bill type mechanisms, there have to be severe repercussions for any government... in this case the Maino Regime... which is subverting policy mechanisms that already exist to achieve their criminal ends. Otherwise the Lokpal Bill can be made useless, just as the PAC has been made useless, no?

Rudradev Ji, i think no one is saying there must not be punishment. But vengeance or floggings and executions will alone not solve these problems. One has to look beyond the political party thing in this case. Fact is systemic reform is key to solving the corruption problem. Too many examples have been given in the last few pages.
Harbans ji, for every example of reform, there can be an example of how the policy instrument formulated by that reform was subsequently subverted in future. See again the case with the PAC and Meira Kumar.

The criminals (especially if they are in power, as the Maino Regime is) can always stay one step ahead of any solution that is purely predicated on systemic reform... because they are already on top of the system.

Nothing stops them from subverting something like the Lokpal Bill, the very instant that it is introduced. In fact, that is exactly what they have been trying to do with the Lokpal Bill since their apparent acceptance of the terms of Anna Hazare's Jantar Mantar agitation (diluting the provisions, trying to exempt the PM, etc.)

And that is why, it will never be sufficient to simply try and implement reforms by working within a system whose implementation is already controlled and subverted by criminals. They will subvert any reform or policy instrument before it even gets off the ground. Apart from such reforms, political mechanisms and popular actions to bring down and punish the criminals who are already on top of the system, are an absolute pre-requisite if systemic reforms are going to be at all meaningful.

harbans wrote:Swamy Ji, remove them, i don't care. But if you think just removing INC and getting BJP in will solve the problem, you are mistaken. The problem will remain.
Both views - the one from Harbans ji, as well as from SwamyG / Rudradevji are correct.

It is important that the system / underlying cause of corruption be fixed by whichever government /s lands up holding fort over the next several years.

At the same time - given the scale of the scams that have emerged, it would send out a very wrong message were the INC to remain in power.

The INC needs to be booted out. Also a Lokpal or alternate system for ensuring tough action on corruption needs to be instituted in the short term. In the medium to long-term, Harbans ji's point relating to underlying systemic issues that give rise to corruption needs to be tackled.

Arjun-ji, absolutely. Harbans ji is perfectly on the mark about the need to reform underlying systemic issues. I am only pointing out that achieving this is impossible, while the system itself is being sabotaged by those who currently control it.

Bricks and mortar are, of course, important to build your wall. No one denies that. But the FIRST order of business is to take care of the crooked chowkidar who helps his accomplices to climb over your wall... even the best bricks and mortar will not save you otherwise!

Rudradev, Arjun and Swami Ji first this is the kind of discussion that should have been happening pretty much earlier on the thread. Let me be clear though, that i take the public view of outrage. What has been happening is outrageous. And the public is compromised of people that don't know specifics of economics, laws, systems etc. But they do and very aware that they have been taken for a ride and as Rudradev Ji correctly mentions:
there have to be severe repercussions for any government... in this case the Maino Regime... which is subverting policy mechanisms that already exist to achieve their criminal ends.
No qualms about that. I'm all for life sentences for all of the top crooks to set an example. However my sense of vengeance doesn't end with punishing the crooks or INC for that matter. It's looking into how to make sure it doesn't happen even if a person with a crooked bent of mind enters the system. That can be done. It's not an impossibility. It's not that rare at all in organizations of today.

What needs to be done now, as demanded by popular mass movements, is a sustained study and indictment of the crooks subverting existing policy regimes to profit from corruption.

Not clear about this though: You want to study the crooks? I agree with you on the indictment part. As far as crooks go, when we design institutional policies we must take into account a crooked person somehow entering into the system. Shouldn't happen but there will always be the possibility even if one removes the INC.

This should not be put aside in favour of diversionary arguments to the effect that the whole problem is one of bad policy and flawed policy instruments..

But Rudradev Ji it is precisely that. What else. No one has said it's not anything but that! Not one thing has been pointed yet if it's anything but that. Indians by nature don't have a share of extra crooks. Fact is in countries like the US, Hindu's have the lowest crime rate as a percentage among different ethnic religious groups.Same applies to UK and other countries where Indians have migrated and work. So we are really not a nation of crooks.

So hence we do have to see why the crooks are exploiting our system and not where they migrate. Viola, we have had massive loopholes, discretionary powers to ministers first time on the job, License Raj, 95% wealth tax, Prohibitions, shortage economies all these years that have attracted crooks to make a quick buck from within the system. We are in the evolutionary process of eliminating these very loopholes in the system. 2 lines of regulation and reform finished 2 decades of the gold smuggling racket and black market in foreign exchange..and of course Ajit's stereotypical career in Hindi movies.

I think after we are done with retributions on all those that have degraded whatever of the present system and made quick loot, including the INC and MMS, we do have to look into devising solutions on these loopholes that still exist.

Harbans ji, can we agree that

"Policy" = = (Policy Instruments) + (Implementation of those instruments)

If we agree to this, then there is no question that policy instruments per se are important, and need to be the best that they can be.

But the other term is implementation of those instruments. Which depends entirely on the people implementing them. Not "people" as in Indian people, Hindu people etc. but specifically the government in charge (plus whatever extra-constitutional elements are somehow exercising authority without responsibility over that government.)

As long as the people in charge are criminals, they can negate good policy instruments as effectively as they can take advantage of pre-existing bad policy! We are not a nation of crooks but we have allowed the system of government to be usurped by crooks. The bunch of crooks today are arguably the worst we have ever seen; and yet, that may be a blessing in disguise in terms of catalysing a substantive cleansing of the whole system.

So we have now decided that this thread should have been discussing, "systems" versus "policy", policy versus penalizing institutions from the beginning? But earlier did we not decide to go into detailed discussion of the Lokpal draft, as well as individuals mentioned in the title of this thread and all their hypothesized motivations - as the prime focus of the discussion?

I think there were several questions raised about the draft as yet unanswered, and the analysis of the individuals remain incomplete - one or two pages back - the intensely important and relevant to this discussion of one individual's supposed position against homosexualism was again raised. This must be an outstanding issue, and given the persistent demand that certain individuals must be "discussed", we appear to be veering off from the thread topic!

We have now transformed this claimed focus on the ubiquitous "draft" and the "individuals" and their relevant or irrelevant cranks into fantastic explorations of "bad policy" leads to "bad outcomes", and we should try to develop a "perfect system" that leaves no "incentive" towards "corruption".

Before exploring what absurdities both of the latter statements lead to [these are actually very old debates, and sharper intellects have landed up in slippery grounds by trying to ski along such routes], can we have a real-life/implemented example provided of a perfect "system" that completely or "substantially" discourages "corruption" in public life? Assuming that one of these "bad outcomes" is "corruption in public life" - are people confident that "good policies" in contradiction or deviant from supposed "bad policies" [which should be spelled out concretely - so that we then know what would be deviations from such "bad policies"!] also do not lead to identical "bad outcomes"? If some positive answers are forthcoming, we can seriously take it up. It will be very interesting because there is almost a century or even more of material in debates over exactly these two issues - and sufficient cumulative modern historical experience to discount both of these absolutist and prescriptive hypotheses.

My guesses as to what "systems" will be put up as examples of the near perfect or ideal or better, etc., will also bring up some very interesting issues about claimed institutional change. Especially what are the processes by which turnarounds may take place, the political nature of the distribution of forces and the state, all have some significant features.

But I will wait for concrete examples. Because unless we have examples of already implemented even if not perfect but at least near-perfect systems - it will be like discussing fantastic or utopian constructs. Something otherwise usually dissed as hot-air if the proposed constructs are not to our liking!

"Policy" = = (Policy Instruments) + (Implementation of those instruments)

I do agree that any management system and that also includes how the GOI and different ministries under it, must have policy instruments, implementation and a system of checks and balances.

But the other term is implementation of those instruments. Which depends entirely on the people implementing them. Not "people" as in Indian people, Hindu people etc. but specifically the government in charge

Indeed, and there has been significant discussion on that aspect and specific queries on it too.

As long as the people in charge are criminals, they can negate good policy instruments as effectively as they can take advantage of pre-existing bad policy!

This is where i am genuinely feeling we are not connecting completely.

First: If systemic loopholes prevail: It attracts criminals. I acknowledge that. And our political system is full of them, including many that run there constituencies from Tihar or elsewhere.

Second: If that's happening (which i agree with you is), we have to take a cold and very dispassionate look at why our political institutions are attracting criminal minded people.

Third: It becomes extremely imperative that the sort of loopholes that exist are plugged by improving on sensible legislation, sensible economic policies both which i categorize as needed loophole plugging reform and retribution at any time for violation/ loot in the existing system.

Fourth: Focus on continual reform and plugging holes is imperative. That focus must not be shifted one bit. There are too many vested interests that may try and take advantage of the shift in focus and enter with their own parochial political, economic or social agendas.

Fifth: I agree we will always have crooks trying to undermine the system. But it's different from having crooks attracted to the system. While you are focusing on the former, i am trying to focus on the latter. That's where if i am correct the differences in our analysis lies.

It's like security. Criminals try to breach it. The systems covers up breaches in the loopholes. It keeps happening, till where the sophistication levels of those motivated and those plugging breaches continue, till the average Joe, Shyam, Abdul ceases to have interest, and normal day to day life is basically peaceful. This has happened in Punjab. It's amongst the safest states in India today. This is a continual fight to evolve the system and reform it to be as free of breaches as possible.

harbans wrote: So hence we do have to see why the crooks are exploiting our system and not where they migrate. Viola, we have had massive loopholes, discretionary powers to ministers first time on the job, License Raj, 95% wealth tax, Prohibitions, shortage economies all these years that have attracted crooks to make a quick buck from within the system. We are in the evolutionary process of eliminating these very loopholes in the system. 2 lines of regulation and reform finished 2 decades of the gold smuggling racket and black market in foreign exchange..and of course Ajit's stereotypical career in Hindi movies.
Regulations around gold are an interesting case study.

It was in 1947 that the import of gold was officially banned by the GOI. Why? Because of many factors.

Commodity-based money does not allow the government to control the flow of commerce within their own dominion with the same ease as standardized, representative currency. Yet, our standard currency at that stage was embryonic... just like our country itself. The new Indian Rupee could very plausibly have been undermined by the free availability of gold, as people might have preferred to trade in gold. It was a time of much apprehension about the very future and stability of India herself.

For a newly independent nation, this was something very important to consider; because establishing as much governmental autonomy as possible over the economic system was critical in maintaining freedom from external interference. Gold imports and exports by private individuals and corporations could have been used by foreign powers to manipulate the Indian economy... in 1947, we had very good reasons to be fearful of the colonial experience we had fought so hard to overcome.

So it could be argued that, at the time gold imports were banned, this was in fact a good policy measure.

The problem began when the ban remained in place despite changing realities. Demand for gold did not die out in India. So it was serviced by smuggling. Many vested interests in the GOI in the '60s-'80s were profiting handsomely from their association with gold smuggling... so of course they did not want the ban overturned.

So we have a case of a "good" policy instrument being subverted for bad purposes... because criminal vested interests were taking advantage of existing policy directives that had been formulated under different ground-realities.

In 1991, the change in gold regulation came about as part of a larger process of liberalization and economic reform. Why did this happen? Because the ground reality had changed so much that we had no money left, and we were forced to liberalize by the IMF. MMS was not some kind of capitalist visionary who voluntarily enacted liberalization of his own accord. He was very much a socialist economist in his earlier days. However, he (and PV Narasimha Rao) saw that there was no option but to get rid of license raj and associated regulation... otherwise India would have been bankrupt.

Were there vested interests who wanted to keep the license raj, even after 1991, because they were profiting handsomely from the corruption it allowed? Of course, there were. But the magnitude of the '91 crisis was so great that it crushed the aspirations of these vested interests.

Liberalization led to a decline in smuggled gold even while there was an increase in gold demand. However, this was a measure enacted by the PVNR government with an IMF gun to its head... NOT a measure intended to bring about beneficial systemic reform for the good of the country by ending the ban on gold imports.

In fact, it was only in July 1997 (NOT under an INC government!) that Indian banks were actually authorized by the RBI to import gold for commercial purposes. This was the step that actually led to the development of the gold market in India, and to attribute it to some deregulation by MMS is inaccurate (he was not on the scene at the time.)

So, I find it hard to accept the idea that a government in the normal course of things, enacts systemic reform measures simply for the benefit of the country. More often than not it is a result of some crisis or other, such that the threatened pain of NOT enacting reform (for the government) becomes worse than the pain caused to vested interests by enacting reform.

The appearance of such crises as inflection points that trigger or catalyse systemic reform, is perhaps more important than the voluntary actions of any government per se in our Indian system. Absent such crises, things go on as usual, the vested interests get their stomachs filled and everything is OK for those in charge.

Today, the Anna Hazare and Baba Ramdev movements are important... and desirable... because they threaten to precipitate a political crisis that will cause MORE pain to the government in charge, than the pain caused to corrupt Mainovadi interests if the system is reformed. Bashing Baba Ramdev or anyone else who makes such a crisis imminent, only serves the interests of corrupt Mainovadis who would prefer the system to continue without substantial reforms.

That is the big picture, and diving into minute details about this or that proposed bill only distracts us from it.

One more thing of note. During the PVNR regime, we had a Congress govt. with outside support from the Left. There was no extra-constitutional authority. Even though the government depended on Left Front support, they still went ahead and conducted the reforms of liberalization, because they had no choice when faced with the 1991 crisis. The pain of not reforming was greater than the pain of reforming.

That is not the situation today. The GOI is under heavy, overbearing influence from an extra-constitutional authority... Sonia Maino... who wields immense power without any responsibility. Accordingly, the crisis needed to force systemic reform in today's government may have to be much more severe than the one in 1991 (which was after all run by a PM answerable to the people.) Sonia Maino wields power without responsibility... so she feels less pain than PVNR did in 1991. That is the reality of our "Growth Story", like it or not... and if the "Growth Story" must suffer for the sake of substantive, non-fictional, systemic reform... so be it.

I think after we are done with retributions on all those that have degraded whatever of the present system and made quick loot, including the INC and MMS, we do have to look into devising solutions on these loopholes that still exist.
Totally agree!

The problem began when the ban remained in place despite changing realities.

While reading your first 2 para's on this, i concluded the same. The GOI instruments should have been adaptive enough to understand and change the requisite strictures in time. But you also gave the same reason i would arrive at:

Demand for gold did not die out in India. So it was serviced by smuggling. Many vested interests in the GOI in the '60s-'80s were profiting handsomely from their association with gold smuggling

Were there vested interests who wanted to keep the license raj, even after 1991, because they were profiting handsomely from the corruption it allowed? Of course, there were. But the magnitude of the '91 crisis was so great that it crushed the aspirations of these vested interests.

Let me put it this way..with significant reform post 91 the aspirations of the vested interests were crushed. But not fully. Loopholes remained, forces against reform remain. Emotional rhetoric on swadeshi, prohibition etc remain at large. Many still feel vengeance and executions will alone solve the problem. That school of thought belongs to deff and dumb.

With more open and transparent systems, more scams will be exposed. NASA has a very good accident theory. They maintain that risks will always be there. It's minimizing risk that they work towards. Towards that they encourage operational organizations like nuclear plants etc putting forward something called 'near misses'. Near misses are something that may result in serious situations. X amount of near misses give rise to Y=X/200 serious situations. nxY serious situations give rise to say 1 fatal situation. Encouraging reporting and problem solving through management adaptiveness at near miss level of operations for example will lead to lesser fatalities. This is a standard across many industries and has held extremely positive results. It holds for Government functioning too.

More often than not it is a result of some crisis or other, such that the threatened pain of NOT enacting reform (for the government) becomes worse than the pain caused to vested interests by enacting reform.

Agree, and that is a sad part. That's why amongst my first posts here i gave 5/5 to BR for creating awareness against corruption and forcing something to happen for the positive. But that's where we can learn from NASA and other operations industries which have through adaptive management have almost got incident and fatality levels to zero.
Last edited by harbans on 17 Jun 2011 03:33, edited 1 time in total.
nataraja

Post by nataraja »

Hello Folks!

Greetings. Namaskar, Sat Sri Akal.

I have been reading with interest the debate here. I see that certain people have been able to redirect the debate towards the absurd. I see perfectly intelligent people basically saying, corruption cannot be stopped. Therefore, Indians have no choice but to continue with the status quo. We should simply give it a few years, enjoy the absolute certain 9% growth every year, become a super power and then corruption will take care of itself. Another decade of 9% growth, and the Chinese problem will take care of itself. Pakistan problem ? No problem. A decade of 9% growth, and the only problem we will have is how to "manage the disintegration of Pakistan". If you are a buddhist and want to attain Nirvana, Buddha's way is outdated. Now follow the "9% growth path". Oh, you are not a buddhist, but a Jain, you say, and you want to attain, Moksha. Forget Mahavira. "Do the 9% growth".

1) I wonder who these people are who think that corruption is not a big problem in India.

2) I wonder who these people are , who deny the right of any Indian citizen, even incarcerated ones, to protest against corruption.

3) I wonder who these people are, who think that any illiterate, any buffoon, any idiot, any murderer, any rapist, any fool, any thief, any scamster, any sicko can be qualified to be a political leader in this country as long as he is elected and that in order to protest against corruption, one needs some mystical and mythical "special" qualifications.

4) I wonder who these people are who think that one has to be first elected to lead a protest movement and if one has not been elected, one is not qualified to lead a protest movement.

5) I wonder who these people are, regardless of anything else they may think, who dont get outraged at breaking up of a peaceful protest, who dont get outraged at brutalizing unarmed and helpless women and children and who dont get outraged when an Indian citizen, any citizen is denied the right to peacefully visit any Indian city.

Then I stop wondering. The answer finally dawned on me. "9%...." Nawww. The answer to all the questions above is

"The corrupt".

ranjbe

Post by ranjbe »

nataraja wrote:Hello Folks!

Greetings. Namaskar, Sat Sri Akal.

I have been reading with interest the debate here. I see that certain people have been able to redirect the debate towards the absurd. I see perfectly intelligent people basically saying, corruption cannot be stopped. Therefore, Indians have no choice but to continue with the status quo. We should simply give it a few years, enjoy the absolute certain 9% growth every year, become a super power and then corruption will take care of itself. Another decade of 9% growth, and the Chinese problem will take care of itself. Pakistan problem ? No problem. A decade of 9% growth, and the only problem we will have is how to "manage the disintegration of Pakistan". If you are a buddhist and want to attain Nirvana, Buddha's way is outdated. Now follow the "9% growth path". Oh, you are not a buddhist, but a Jain, you say, and you want to attain, Moksha. Forget Mahavira. "Do the 9% growth".

1) I wonder who these people are who think that corruption is not a big problem in India.

2) I wonder who these people are , who deny the right of any Indian citizen, even incarcerated ones, to protest against corruption.

3) I wonder who these people are, who think that any illiterate, any buffoon, any idiot, any murderer, any rapist, any fool, any thief, any scamster, any sicko can be qualified to be a political leader in this country as long as he is elected and that in order to protest against corruption, one needs some mystical and mythical "special" qualifications.

4) I wonder who these people are who think that one has to be first elected to lead a protest movement and if one has not been elected, one is not qualified to lead a protest movement.

5) I wonder who these people are, regardless of anything else they may think, who dont get outraged at breaking up of a peaceful protest, who dont get outraged at brutalizing unarmed and helpless women and children and who dont get outraged when an Indian citizen, any citizen is denied the right to peacefully visit any Indian city.

Then I stop wondering. The answer finally dawned on me. "9%...." Nawww. The answer to all the questions above is

"The corrupt".
+1, good post

Welcome and well done Nataraja! You will have a good time dueling with 9%-tis of the Indian kind (of course pakis being 10%-tis are more tfta than us).
Last edited by munna on 17 Jun 2011 09:00, edited 1 time in total.

Nataraja talk about entering with a bang ; :D as they used to say in school 'le li guru'.
nataraja

Post by nataraja »

Ranjbe, Munna, Negi,

Thank you very much for the welcome, Sirs. Very kind.

Looking forward to sharing views and facts with you on this forum.

Thanks again.

The age old question of 'what's the fun to gain all the wealth and loose the soul". We must have both and if it comes to choosing then Soul must be the primary and money secondary.
somnath

Post by somnath »

SwamyG wrote:What is required is reform of humans. There are many who will not commit a crime, even if they know for sure they will not be caught and punished. Why? Because they have a clear drawing of what is right and wrong in their minds. And they do not cross the boundaries not because of policy or institutions. It is this sort of behavior that needs to spread epidemically, breaking the barriers of being an endemic behavior
To be honest, to me this line of thought is somewhat like the narrative that says "the previous generation was "better" than the current"....There is nothing to believe that politicians of the 60s and 70s were any less venal than politicians today...Or that politicians of a particular ideological persuasion are genetically programmed to be more honest...Were the Congress worthies in the late '70s any more "idealistic" than the Kalmadis? Or did Pramod Mahajan behave significantly differently to Raja?

On the other hand, are chaps like Vilarao Deshmukh "cleaner" than the Congress ministers of 1977? Why dont we have cement or steel quota scams today? Simple..Policy...

Why can the same individual in the same capacity (PC, as Finance Minister) be under cloud for indiscretions in one area (telecom) and not for another (banking licenses)?

The answer to all of that is existance of good policy...

It has become a bit of an urban legend in India that we have too many laws and too little implementation...It is correct to a point...However, in many others it is a bit like a situation where instead of the Constitution we had Arthashastra today and proclaimed we have enough laws, only implementation is tardy...In sector after sector, the laws are obsolete, or even absent...Land Acquisition, Mineral rights, the entire gamut of natural resources in fact, telecom - the laws have not kept pace with demand, times, and technology...Which is why there are opporunities for people to indulge in "rent seeking"..therefore, we do have a deficit of good policies....

I see that the "master of nationalist invectives" has marshalled a bunch of half-facts and non-facts and facts to arrive at a profound conclusion, ie, "policies good at a point in time are not so 20 years later"...Whoever knew that, isnt it? If a set of mechanical rules were good enough, what was the need to have a legislature 24/7? One that is re-elected every 5 years? Might as well adopt Arthashastra and Manusmriti, and be done with it?!

One wuld have thought that the point of polciies having to change with times would be tautological...

Civil society intervention, to be effective, needs to therefore focus on the big picture of policy...Else, mere gunnign for blood makes for absolutely no difference to outcomes...Telecom again is a classic example...The original scamster in the sector was Sukhram (remember?)...The original mobile telecom auctions, widely suspected of being rigged...There was an outcry, investigations followed, and the chap was sent to jail as well...Then we had Pramod Mahajan, CDMA to GSM migration, completely in favour of one company, RCOM....again we had an outcry, while he didnt go to jail for wahtever reason, but had to be replaced in a juffy...then we had Raja, again 2G auctions, outcry, jail....

Ergo, these blood curdling "outcries" are delivering a bit of blood, but not solving the problem...We are shifting the issue from one generation to the other....

It is easier for everyone, media, politicians, of course internet warriors, to be dealing in the mentally easier option of asking for someon'e head..It is more difficult to assess and impart material to that demand....

Last, slightly unrelated point - we have been told that the entire 1991 reform effort was a result of IMF-guns on our heads..Nothing could be farther from the truth...The immediate crisis had passed away by the middle of 1992, and we had started repaying the loan from 1993 onwards....A number of reforms came much after that, simply because there was conviction in the policy-making team that they were direly required...People with an inside view of those days, Shankar Acharya, Bimal Jalan have written extensively about this...
Last edited by somnath on 17 Jun 2011 09:16, edited 1 time in total.
nataraja

Post by nataraja »

But what if one never had a soul and is "physically" incapable of ever acquiring one.....then all you got left with is..............MONEY.

If I cant have a soul, you expect me to stay without money too ?

No matter what "policies" you put in place, if there is no enforcement against it, no oversight and no societal taboo against it, I will take any amount of risk (actually there will be no risk) and figure out a way to break the system and perpetuate a scam. After all, I am an Indian. I am the master of "Jugad", remember.......
Last edited by nataraja on 17 Jun 2011 09:19, edited 1 time in total.

Wah wah; I find it amusing that Somanth makes such a big post which is completly irrelevant to SwamyG's line he quoted; may be I am high but where did he say or imply "the previous generation was "better" than the current" ? :rotfl: What has Pramod Mahajan got to do with current series of scams ? :roll: At least he never claimed that he is some Mr. Interity or honest man of India.

Coming to the point you raised about this not being about individuals but some golgappa i.e.'policy making'; hey why don't you preach this to boot lickers of INC who think that anyone with a Gandhi surname is PM material. Hack Patooth. :evil:

nataraja wrote:But what if one never had a soul and is "physically" incapable of ever acquiring one.....then all you got left with is..............MONEY.

If I cant have a soul, you expect me to stay without money too ?

No matter what "policies" you put in place, if there is no enforcement against it, no oversight and no societal taboo against it, I will take any amount of risk (actually there will be no risk) and figure out a way to break the system and perpetuate a scam. After all, I am an Indian. I am the master of "Jugad", remember.......
Natarajaji,

Fantastic posts after a long time!

A departure from the theatre of the absurd was required. Keep it up.

Cheers
somnath

Post by somnath »

nataraja wrote:No matter what "policies" you put in place, if there is no enforcement against it, no oversight and no societal taboo against it, I will take any amount of risk (actually there will be no risk) and figure out a way to break the system and perpetuate a scam
"Enforcement & oversight" is part of the policy framework...Which is why the Lokpal is so important, and I hope Arvind K and Co dont lose the plot on this...

About the rest, "societal taboo" etc - its not about anything "innate" or genetic to us Indians, othewise all that we would require are moral education courses....It is about putting people in a framework where they know the incentives of compliance and disincentives of not, clearly...And institutional structures that perpetuate this over the years and decades...I quoted this example earlier - the same babu, venal corrupt and kowtowing to the mohalla neta, when deputed for election duty to the EC, becomes an unsparingly tough "monitor" for the biggest netas around...Why? Does he undergo a spiritual transformation? Or is it that he is aware of his responsiblities, his authorities and the incentives/disincentives clearly, and hence acts accordingly? Being part of an instittuion that brooks no nonsense about its mandate?
nataraja

Post by nataraja »

somnath wrote:
nataraja wrote:No matter what "policies" you put in place, if there is no enforcement against it, no oversight and no societal taboo against it, I will take any amount of risk (actually there will be no risk) and figure out a way to break the system and perpetuate a scam
"Enforcement & oversight" is part of the policy framework...Which is why the Lokpal is so important, and I hope Arvind K and Co dont lose the plot on this...

About the rest, "societal taboo" etc - its not about anything "innate" or genetic to us Indians, othewise all that we would require are moral education courses....It is about putting people in a framework where they know the incentives of compliance and disincentives of not, clearly...And institutional structures that perpetuate this over the years and decades...I quoted this example earlier - the same babu, venal corrupt and kowtowing to the mohalla neta, when deputed for election duty to the EC, becomes an unsparingly tough "monitor" for the biggest netas around...Why? Does he undergo a spiritual transformation? Or is it that he is aware of his responsiblities, his authorities and the incentives/disincentives clearly, and hence acts accordingly? Being part of an instittuion that brooks no nonsense about its mandate?

I perform acrobats. I twist and turn. I tie myself up in knots. No matter how much I obfuscate or use twisted logic, I cannot make

A = (not)A

and similarly I cant make

Corruption = (not) Corruption

and similarly I cant make

INC = (NOT) Corrupt or INC = (NOT) Criminals

and I grant you, I cant also make

BJP = (NOT) Corrupt

Have you ever wondered why Digvijay Singh spews venom against RSS and blames everything on them. For him, everything is RSS's fault. Terrorism is RSS's fault. China taking our territory, while Sonia and company "EATS", "DRINKS" and "Farts" while attempting to play the fiddle, is RSS's fault. INC's corruption is RSS's fault. Why do you think Digvijay makes these seemingly juvenile and vile statements?

Because thats what Sonia, Rahul and Digvijay talk about in private. Digvijay echos what Sonia and Rahul think. Sonia and Rahul are too smart to say it, Digvijay says it for them, so that Sonia and Rahul can have their "bodily gratifications", just hearing Digvijay talk dirty.