Indian Interests

Re: Indian Interests

kmkraoind wrote: the Hindus are reaping what they have done to Buddhists some millennium ago.
Historically inaccurate btw.

It might actually be the other way around, Hinduism is reaping because it lost the Kshatirya dharma part of purusharth.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

The contribution of Sikhs,Khalsa,Marathas,Rajputs,Dogras in the north and west, and of so many others in various regions of India,should not be forgotten.All their actions provided great karma value.
We are safe today because they did not let those invaders do much, opposed them thoroughly,as strongly as possible,and kept the moral high grounds too.Ever heard of cruel Sikh or Maratha Emperors? Even if Dr Man Mohan Singh decides to wage war with Pakistan, he would be called the "meek" Sikh Emperor of India.Surely anyone who decided to be aggressive in Asia today would become a sort of Emperor, and his kingdom would flourish.We are just losing this wonderful chance to inaction.India is a country of brave people, but I don't want the brave to die in a nuke holucast initiated by the Paki b********* Instead it would be awesome if we engaged them in a heads on battle and kicked their butt before they can think of launching a nuke.The strategies for covert warfare are surely going to developed at a war footing now.

kmkraoind wrote:
the Hindus are reaping what they have done to Buddhists some millennium ago.
:roll: Which Marxist history book did you read that in?
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

The Hindus and Buddhists are non-different in basics, and I have not heard of any conflict between Hindus and Buddhists yet, although they may not share the same goal of worship in terms of deity and form. Buddha's form is eventually worshipped, although form worship has not been encouraged in Buddhism.In fact there is a closer unity between Buddhists and Hindus now, so I do not see any truth in the statement that we Hindus did anything negative to them Buddhists. Kmkraoind I feel you need to explain the source of your comment.

kmkraoind wrote:
nachiket wrote:Ok for all those expecting another Avatar of Lord Vishnu to appear, our people have been in far worse situations in the past without an avatar appearing. Like when muslim rulers were indulging in indiscriminate killing and plunder across the country or when hundreds of thousands were dying in British engineered famines. We had to extricate ourselves out of that and we will have to do the same thing now. So vote for the right people. Fight against corruption. Do whatever you can. That is the only way.
The Karma is great balancer of the world, no one can escape the Karma. IMO, the Hindus are reaping what they have done to Buddhists some millennium ago. The remarkable thing of Hinduism is that, it stood like a giant pillar and stood the onslaught of Muslim hoards (brutal power) and Christianity (money power). No other regions could withstand such an onslaught.
But then by that logic, the Buddhists must have done something to someone else to reap what were done to them - no?

kmkraoind wrote:
the Hindus are reaping what they have done to Buddhists some millennium ago.
:roll: Which Marxist history book did you read that in?

Most probably Romila Thapar or panicker.

kmkraoind wrote:IMO, the Hindus are reaping what they have done to Buddhists some millennium ago.
May be you should do a little bit of research before you make a statement like that. But i dont blame you. There are many people in India who are ignorant about reasons why Buddhism relatively declined in India.

Reasons for decline of Buddhism in India
This article is primarily to refute a piece by Vir Sanghvi’s entitled “Ayodhya for dummies” which, according to him, was further to “younger readers’” having “annoyed by the refusal of journalists to tell them what Liberhan Report was all about.” In the very same article Mr Sanghvi states that “…Hindu kings destroyed Buddhist monasteries, more or less throwing Buddhism out of India.”

Before I begin, I may have to stress that I am neither a historian nor do I have any academic pretensions. My response to Sanghvi is therefore based on a diligent search of publicly available material – mostly over the internet.

Mr Sanghvi makes two distinct points: first that “Hindu kings destroyed Buddhist monasteries (as a consequence)” and second, “throwing Buddhism out of India.”

Let’s, first, examine the basis for asserting that “Hindu kings” destroyed Buddhist monasteries.

In his article, Sanghvi (somewhat predictably) has been careful not to mention any names of “Hindu kings” who were actually involved in destruction of monasteries. But what does history tell us?

From a Wikipedia entry, we learn that: “The Buddhism of Magadha was finally swept away by the Islamic invasion under Muhammad Bin Bakhtiar Khilji, during which many of the Viharas and the famed universities of Nalanda and Vikramshila were destroyed, and thousands of Buddhist monks were massacred in 12th century C.E.”

“History of Magadha” by L.L.S. Omalley; J.F.W. James (Veena Publication, Delhi, 2005, pp. 35) mentions that: “The Buddhism of Magadha was finally swept away by the Muhammadan invasion under Bakhtiyar Khilji. In 1197 the capital, Bihar, was seized by a small party of two hundred horsemen, who rushed the postern gate, and sacked the town.” Further, the slaughter of the “shaven-headed Brahmans,” as the Muslim chronicler calls the Buddhist monks, “was so complete that when the victor searched for a competent person to explain the contents of the library not a soul was alive.”

A similar fate befell upon the other Buddhist institutions, against which the combined intolerance and rapacity of the invaders was directed. The monasteries were sacked and the monks were slain, many of the temples were ruthlessly destroyed or desecrated, and countless idols were broken and trodden under their foot. Those monks who escaped the sword fled to Tibet, Nepal and southern India; and Buddhism was finally destroyed and those areas then came under these Muslim rulers.

But what about the Hindu kings? Here is what Alexander Berzin states in his book “The Historical Interaction between the Buddhist and Islamic Cultures before the Mongol Empire“: “Although the Mithila rulers were Shaivite Hindus, they continued the Pala patronage of Buddhism and offered strong resistance against the Ghurids. They stopped, for example, an attempted drive to take Tibet in 1206.” Further he also states that “The Sena king (a Hindu) installed defensive garrisons at Odantapuri and Vikramashila Monasteries, which were imposing walled citadels directly on the Ghurids’ line of advance.”

While Berzin believes that “Nalanda escaped the fate of Odantapuri and Vikramshila monasteries,” he notes that “When the Tibetan translator, Chag Lotsawa Dharmasvamin (Chag Lo-tsa-ba, 1197 – 1264), visited northern India in 1235, he found it (Nalanda) damaged, looted, and largely deserted, but still standing and functioning with seventy students.”

Invariable some questions are bound to arise: Who were those 70 students? How did they survive the massacre? Parshu Narayanan has some details. From “The last lesson at Nalanda”: “As I browsed, a terribly poignant account of the last lesson at Nalanda emerged. Incredibly, it was by Nalanda’s last student: A Tibetan monk called Dharmaswamin. He visited Nalanda in 1235, nearly forty years after its sack, and found a small class still conducted in the ruins by a ninety-year old monk, Rahul Sribhadra. Weak and old, the teacher was kept fed and alive by a local Brahmin, Jayadeva. Warned of a roving band of 300 Turks, the class dispersed, with Dharmaswamin carrying his nonagenarian teacher on his back into hiding. Only the two of them came back, and after the last lesson (it was Sanskrit grammar) Rahul Sribhadra told his Tibetan student that he had taught him all he knew and in spite of his entreaties asked him to go home. Packing a raggedy bundle of surviving manuscripts under his robe, Dharmaswamin left the old monk sitting calmly amidst the ruins. And both he and the Dharma of Sakyamuni made their exit from India.”

But what about those monks? Where did they disappear? Alexander Berzin has some answers: “Despite the possibility of accepting protected subject status (under the Muslim rulers), many Buddhist monks fled Bihar and parts of northern Bengal, seeking asylum in monastic universities and centres in modern-day Orissa, southern Bangladesh, Arakan on the western coast of Burma, southern Burma, and northern Thailand. The majority, however, together with numerous Buddhist lay followers, went to the Kathmandu Valley of Nepal, bringing with them many manuscripts from the vast monastic libraries that had been destroyed.”

Buddhism was in a strong position in Kathmandu at the time. The Hindu kings of the Thakuri Dynasties (750 – 1200) had supported the Buddhist monasteries, and there were several monastic universities. Since the end of the tenth century, numerous Tibetan translators had been visiting these centres on their way to India, and Nepalese masters from them had been instrumental in the revival of Buddhism in central and western Tibet. The early Hindu rulers of the Malla Period (1200 – 1768) continued the policies of their Thakuri predecessors.

As one digs deeper, more facts come to light. This is Dr B R Ambedkar writing about what happened to the monasteries: “The Musalman invaders sacked the Buddhist Universities of Nalanda, Vikramshila, Jagaddala, Odantapuri to name only a few. They raised (sic) to the ground Buddhist monasteries with which the country was studded. The monks fled away in thousands to Nepal, Tibet and other places outside India. A very large number were killed outright by the Muslim commanders. How the Buddhist priesthood perished by the sword of the Muslim invaders has been recorded by the Muslim historians themselves.”

Summarizing the evidence relating to the slaughter of the Buddhist Monks perpetrated by the Musalman General in the course of his invasion of Bihar in 1197 AD, Mr. Vincent Smith says, “….Great quantities of plunder were obtained, and the slaughter of the ’shaven headed Brahmans’, that is to say the Buddhist monks, was so thoroughly completed, that when the victor sought for someone capable of explaining the contents of the books in the libraries of the monasteries, not a living man could be found who was able to read them. ‘It was discovered,’ we are told, ‘that the whole of that fortress and city was a college, and in the Hindi tongue they call a college Bihar.’ Such was the slaughter of the Buddhist.

I disagree on comments about Buddhism Vs Hinduism. In my view buddhism is the real reason for the fall of India. The variant of the Buddhism that was in India as opposed to what is currently there in Japan, east and China is the real reason for fall of India. The variant of India postulated vegetarianism, to live without ambitions and wants in order to get nirvana.

This fundamentally shifted the foreign affairs, strategic affairs and defence postures of the massive Hindu kingdoms of that times. That was the real start of the end of India's superpower.

Buddhism to India is same as Christianity to Roman Empire. Both are nature praying cultures of those eras.

Budddism in India is same as current EJ in that times. About 50% of the area that was called as Satavahana Empire was converted to Buddhism. It took a lot of amendments to way the kingdoms have to operate inorder to reconvert back to the hindu fold. By the times the souls are reharvested the damage was complete we are onto new threats such as Islam.

I consider Buddhism is a conspiracy on India of that time. It has killed the Kshatra Dharam of that timeline.

In summary Buddhism brought a death blow to India. Period.
My 2 cents :)

BTW, There is lot of research that the Christian doctrine fed of Buddhism. In fact Buddah is one of the saints of the Catholic Church.

St. Josephat.

IMO, the Hindus are reaping what they have done to Buddhists some millennium ago.

Ahh the benefits of a madrassah education.
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

I found this letter written by Swami A C Bhaktivedanta Srila Prabhupada to Indira Gandhi, in 1973. The link to the original letter is here http://www.prabhupadaconnect.com/Letters54.html
I quote a portion of the letter-
SRILA PRABHUPADA: So we in our humble way are trying to spread this cult of Bhagavad-gita all over the world, and my American and European disciples, two samples of them are meeting with you, are helping me in this connection. After all, Bhagavad-gita is the sublime cultural knowledge, and of course religion is included there, but it is not fanaticism or sentimental religion. It is based on pure science, philosophy, and logic.
I wish that our Indian government will be proud to take up this cultural movement very seriously, so that the whole world will be benefited, and India will be glorified.
Such were his humble intentions.

I do not know what happened to the letter, perhaps it wasn't even placed before Indira Gandhi, or she did not read it seriously enough.My point is that the rot in Congress led governments was evident from day 1 after Independence and showed up each time they sidelined mainstream Hinduism.They kept harping on insipid secular stuff, and kept sidelining any attempt to bring in the Bhagvad Gita into the mainstream. it would have done wonders if it had been promoted.Central Schools (Kendriya Vidyalayas) however had Gita as a textbook in Sanskrit classes all the way upto class XI.Those who benefitted must be really benefitting even today, after reading the Gita in school itself.I began reading it in college, as I was not a Sanskrit student.Swami Chinmayananda introduced this great book to our college, and many of us took it seriously.It is by far the best book I have ever come across and should be promoted in schools as an essential textbook.

A copy of Gita was found under the pillow of the French revolutionary Jean-Jacques Rousseau.it is well know that Rousseau's philosophy influenced the French Revolution greatly,and perhaps his success can be attributed to lessons he learnt from Gita. Unfortunately in the very country where Gita is revered by the Hindus,it still has to find national acceptance.

However, today,undaunted,there are thousands of Krishna warriors all over the world, spreading this beautiful message, in Africa,even in the Middle East.One disciple of Srila Prabhupada-Swami Lokanath Maharaj from Maharashtra, has spent years spreading this message in remote European towns and villages, as well as of course in India, in his famous Padayatras. A history of his famed Padayatras is outlined here http://www.padayatra.com/history.php

Avatar is about the Elements .Imho, the predominance of active Sato and Raj Guna in Indic collective consciousness (ICC) can be cosidered Avatar. Instead of small storms of no big consequence , teh colelctive action become like a Tsunami and act like Avatar.When billion Indics get rolling, Mlecch Paappis get the deserving treatment, we can say Kalki has arrived.

The "Hindus" bashed up the "Buddhists" is pure BS - with little or no or dubious archaeological/narrative support. If they Hindus had really acted so already - the Islamic armies could not have had the chance to destroy the large Buddhist university towns and Viaharas. Do look up the Islamic narratives - please do! By the way - I still do not have answer to my pointer - that by the karma logic - the Buddhists must then have done something to others to reap what happened to them!
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

:) wisely said, indeed, Brihaspati ji.

Thanks Sanjeevpunj ji! It just does get the goat to read of such thoughtless comments. Is it that difficult to see the logical inconsistencies before throwing them out into public?!!
sanjeevpunj

Post by sanjeevpunj »

Most welcome, Brihaspati ji.

brihaspati wrote:The "Hindus" bashed up the "Buddhists" is pure BS - with little or no or dubious archaeological/narrative support. If they Hindus had really acted so already - the Islamic armies could not have had the chance to destroy the large Buddhist university towns and Viaharas. Do look up the Islamic narratives - please do! By the way - I still do not have answer to my pointer - that by the karma logic - the Buddhists must then have done something to others to reap what happened to them!
brihaspati garu,

When in Europe or States one goes to some Indian Restaurant or Chinese Restaurant or Thai Restaurant, the food is always different than what one would get in India, or China or Thailand. The food has been prepared to suit the taste buds of the Europeans or Americans.

I also often hear, that in Japan, they bring out the best gizmos first, and later on they are introduced to the rest of the world.

Similarly Buddhism was probably Hinduism Light prepared for dissemination to the wider world, something the world could digest better. Probably Sanatana Dharma was too Indian Subcontinent specific, and would not have taken root so easily. Or may be we just decided to keep the real thing for ourselves. Or may be the Buddhists were supposed to be our Sufis.

Just musing!

The worst enemy one can have is the one who put you on the wrong path thus wasting your life away in pursuit of tasteless pumpkins instead of priceless Jawahars(not the Lal type). PSers/ Congress fit perfectly well in this class of enemy harming India that is Bharat .
vishnua

Post by vishnua »

kk,

If that is true then what stopped Hinduism to do the same to Islam starting 8 th century if not at least from 11 th century. Is it same as Islam did to Zoroastrianism in Persia?

I am really curious. Maybe there is an oppurtunity to learn and correct. If that is the case there would have been no need for Khalsa. The lives of Guru Nanak and all the way upto 10th Guru would have been different but still great and divine.

Muppala garu,

I used to think the same way. But now I am not sure the was the primary reason especially from Ashoka to 6th century. I think India needs to study more about this peroid and can learn from those lessons and need to apply correct actions globally. May be India was way too "ahead" in the game as a society hence became too "soft" and lost the "primitive and survival concepts". I am not sure .

But I agree that Buddihsm was the last straw that broke the camel. Other counties who adopted Buddhism seesm have to done excatly opposite. For Example: Japan and Thailand. They kept the Kshtriya character of society in tact.

I think the drawbacks of thought process of reconversion from Buddihsm to Hinduism were never considered when there was an external threat in a diff form. It was too figging peaceful which was totally alien to upcoming new theological ideas...especially to the west of India.

we all should read Savarkar's Glorious Epochs. especially the part where he analyzes Ashoka's fanatical policies to spread Buddhism. one simple metric: Chandragupta Maurya and his chaturanga army from all over India ruthlessly defeated and crushed the Greeks all the way up to Persia. about 90 years later Ashoka inherits an army that was, at the time, the most powerful fighting force in all of the world. 40 years later, meaning 125 years after C'gupta Maurya, the Bharatiya armies are non-existent, and there is absolutely no resistance to the invasion by Bactrian Greeks.

think about that for a second: Ashoka inherited the most powerful army in the world and gave his immediate successor a nation that put up absolutely no resistance to the invaders, right up until they got to Ayodhya.

Buddhism destroyed all traces of Kshatriya culture that India had. in an alternate universe where Ashoka wasn't a fanatical Buddhist, Bharat varsha would have fought to the last man, if required, against Islamic invaders, which would have let to the extinction of that genocidal religion within a matter of few 100 years (Islam cannot thrive without forward momentum).

AFAIK, Swami Vivekanada came to the same conclusion about Bhaudda Matt destroying Kstraiya elements of indian society. He said great Bhuddha made Great Mistake , the impact of which will last for long time. OTOH, i heard that this was the very same reason Guru Gobind Singh took birth in Patliputra, the centre of Bhuddism , to revive the Ksatriya elements/ arms thrown in Ganges by Bodhis. This was one correction done on "prophetic"level.

I'm not clear on what the nonsense about Hinduism persecuting Buddhists and throwing them out and the similar nonsense about Buddhism destroying Kshatriya characteristics is doing in the Indian interests thread...

Stick to topic please, or don't post.

http://www.businessinsider.com/500-mill ... rld-2011-7
A $500 Million Sardar Patel Monument In India Will Be The World's Largest Statue
The Chief Minister of Gujarat (the home state of Vallabh-bhai Patel, and the state that is building the statue) noted that not only would this be twice the size of the Statue of Liberty at 182 meters, but it would also be four times the size of Brazil’s Christ the Redeemer statue overlooking Rio de Janeiro harbor.The statue will be on a little island downstream of the Sardar Sarovar Dam on the Narmada River.The $500 million project will involve building the statue, a hotel and convention center, a bridge to connect the island to the mainland, and a highway to a nearby town. The statue would likely be placed atop a 20-story building that could house a museum as well as a hotel and convention center.
The accompanying video which is more of an infographic on the statue (towards the latter half) is a must watch for anyone wanting to know more about the Iron Man of India and this tribute to him.
[youtube]rUsnJ2yISEA&feature=player_embedded[/youtube]
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rUsnJ2yI ... r_embedded

Prem wrote:http://www.businessinsider.com/500-mill ... rld-2011-7
A $500 Million Sardar Patel Monument In India Will Be The World's Largest Statue
Youtube
This is BOWWMMMBAAASTIC!!! The Statue of Unity!

The eclipse of the dynasty! :lol: Considering that Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru was originally a Kashmiri Pandit, one should also build a huge statue of him in Srinagar. :D

[quote="RajeshA
The eclipse of the dynasty! :lol: Considering that Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru was originally a Kashmiri Pandit, one should also build a huge statue of him in Srinagar. :D
Let Paki do the Lungi test on Sardar's statue . Guarranteed, they dont even have to leave Karachi to do such test.

tejas

Post by tejas »

Surprised Kangress doesn't ban this on environmental grounds.

The statue for some reason reminded me of the statues of the Kings of Gondor in Lord of the Rings I.

JEM:

I would like to know how Buddhism destroying Kshatriya character is "nonsense?" especially in the Indian context....history says otherwise.

INC tried its best to destroy Sardar's legacy. it is high time he comes to the forefront again. it will become a national attraction when it comes up. the focus will be back on him again. a monument like that leads to questions being asked and self reflection. a very good development.

next step: have a statue of Pamulaparthi Venkata Narasimha Rao in Hyderabad, which eclipses the Char Minar and the Buddha statue. a towering PVNR would be a good addition on Hyd and AP.

devesh wrote:JEM:

I would like to know how Buddhism destroying Kshatriya character is "nonsense?" especially in the Indian context....history says otherwise.
Please to join us here Sir.

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 1#p1129101

Done

devesh wrote:we all should read Savarkar's Glorious Epochs. especially the part where he analyzes Ashoka's fanatical policies to spread Buddhism. one simple metric: Chandragupta Maurya and his chaturanga army from all over India ruthlessly defeated and crushed the Greeks all the way up to Persia. about 90 years later Ashoka inherits an army that was, at the time, the most powerful fighting force in all of the world. 40 years later, meaning 125 years after C'gupta Maurya, the Bharatiya armies are non-existent, and there is absolutely no resistance to the invasion by Bactrian Greeks.

think about that for a second: Ashoka inherited the most powerful army in the world and gave his immediate successor a nation that put up absolutely no resistance to the invaders, right up until they got to Ayodhya.

Buddhism destroyed all traces of Kshatriya culture that India had. in an alternate universe where Ashoka wasn't a fanatical Buddhist, Bharat varsha would have fought to the last man, if required, against Islamic invaders, which would have let to the extinction of that genocidal religion within a matter of few 100 years (Islam cannot thrive without forward momentum).
In summary they behave like the so called Seculars today who equivally want to negate any kind of miltary structures progress and have become some sort of self hating group where in every case it is India's fault.

P.S I dont agree that we should spend INR 2250 crore ( I think this number is Psy-ops) on a Statue of Sarder patel.

Boss, who is "we" here... From what I understand, it is to be sourced through donations. If Indians want to contribute towards the building of a statue for one of the greatest men in India's modern history, why not? This is what I meant by resurgence. Things like this will happen, even if this particular one does not (though I see no reason why not), and it will be pretty much unstoppable. Expect some truly grandiose temples etc to materialise in the coming decades, provided our economic trajectory is maintained at more or less the current levels. Everything is interlinked, and that is why our economic wellbeing is so crucial, and that is why the basturds are attacking Mumbai (among other things), and that is why we must end this state of cowardice and respond violently and precisely if a clear redline is to be established. Now they are pushing the envelope to see how far it will go.

Dictionary definition:

Basturd - noun; illegitimate piece of sh1t. Not comparable to, but draws from, Ba$tard and Turd. Turd is American slang for a piece of sh1t. A Ba$tard is an illegitimate offspring, but may be a good human being. A basturd, on the other hand, is exactly as described.

Oh, I forgot to mention: this term is specifically applicable to Pakisatan which is both illegitimate and has proven over time irredeemably to be a PoS.

Aditya_V wrote:I dont agree that we should spend INR 2250 crore ( I think this number is Psy-ops) on a Statue of Sarder patel.
JE Menon wrote:Boss, who is "we" here... From what I understand, it is to be sourced through donations. If Indians want to contribute towards the building of a statue for one of the greatest men in India's modern history, why not? This is what I meant by resurgence. Things like this will happen, even if this particular one does not (though I see no reason why not), and it will be pretty much unstoppable. Expect some truly grandiose temples etc to materialise in the coming decades, provided our economic trajectory is maintained at more or less the current levels. Everything is interlinked, and that is why our economic wellbeing is so crucial, and that is why the basturds are attacking Mumbai (among other things), and that is why we must end this state of cowardice and respond violently and precisely if a clear redline is to be established. Now they are pushing the envelope to see how far it will go.

Dictionary definition:

Basturd - noun; illegitimate piece of sh1t.
JE Menon saar,

well said. If the world was in awe in Bollywood and Sitar-Vadan at a time, when we were still poor, wait till they see when Indian culture really explodes on the world scene in a couple of decades. Countries which had little cultural depth have been able to create Harry Potters and Disney Theme Parks out of very little. When Indian fiction writers, painters, sculptors, architects, fashion designers, classical musicians, composers, film directors, singers, dancers, really have the wind of a 1.5 quadrillion rupee economy behind them, and can tap into the depth of Indian culture, they will dominate the world culturescape like no other power before them.

Sardar Patel's Statue of Unity is just going to tell the world, we have arrived. There would be more statues like these, possibly of Bal Gangadhar Tilak in Maharashtra, Lala Lajpat Rai in Punjab, Subhash Chandra Bose and Bipin Chandra Pal in West Bengal, and many more.

However I think, the height of the statues should be restricted to 182 meters. We don't want a competition on which leader was a more high-profile figure.

As one of the most advanced states in India, it is important that Gujarat wants to assert that it stands for unity of the country, and not "we don't want to be supporting other much less developed parts of the country"!

+400%

JE Menon saab: you have not commented on that Ambalam in God's own country. Even nautch girls were discussed here in that discussion.

Must have missed it boss... Did not see.

Post by Klaus »

RajeshA wrote: There would be more statues like these, possibly of Bal Gangadhar Tilak in Maharashtra, Lala Lajpat Rai in Punjab, Subhash Chandra Bose and Bipin Chandra Pal in West Bengal, and many more.
Need to have Lal-Bal-Pal installed at the same location, the 'togetherness' factor of the trio needs to be emphasized.

Klaus wrote:
RajeshA wrote: There would be more statues like these, possibly of Bal Gangadhar Tilak in Maharashtra, Lala Lajpat Rai in Punjab, Subhash Chandra Bose and Bipin Chandra Pal in West Bengal, and many more.
Need to have Lal-Bal-Pal installed at the same location, the 'togetherness' factor of the trio needs to be emphasized.
True, but every Indian state would try to emulate Gujarat, and when each state reaches the GDP per capita of Gujarat they too would announce that they have arrived on the scene! It will become a statement of having arrived. It would also push states to compete with each other as well in being able to make that statement.

Every state would be competing to make a statement on its cultural, historical and political contribution to Indian Civilization and State, and they will want to make such statements on the strength of their economies.

So in a way Sardar Vallabhai Patel's statue would invigorate the whole country.