Out-of-India - From Theory to Truth

Re: Out-of-India - From Theory to Truth

:rotfl: I saw the funniest thing in that 1910 race book in my possession. I was just checking to see if anything has changed with regard to the "Aryan Invasion" in 100 years. You see, when all those tribes from Central Asia invaded India the were going south and east. So the Deccan was to their right side. That is why the name "Deccan" came - it was to the right side you see - "dakshin" - right side. Just goes to show the tradition of "scholarship" that current day "scholars" have inherited over the last century in the name of "science"

My brainless, black, heathen indian mind asks, if "deccan = dakshin because it was on the right side of the central Asian horse, wheel and chariot hordes, why is east called "purva" (before/earlier)? Maybe this is in the genre of frigid/freeze=Sanskrit for boiling hot.

I tell ya folks, it's not them "experts". It's us who are the morons.
ManishH
Location: Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democractic republic

Post by ManishH »

venug wrote:Rajesh ji, for some reason I am of the view that educating people and make them understand why AIT/AMT is fiction is akin to religious realignment. In fact I would say that AIT/AMT has taken a religious tone in India.
It's unfortunate that a topic of historical development of languages is mixed with politics and propoganda.

One example of this kind of cheap propaganda tactics is to call anyone who argues for an Indian origin as hindutva-protagonists. Whereas I know of people who are irreligious and apolitical in real life passionately argue about an Indian origin.

This happens the other way too - calling anyone who argues for an outside-India origin as an agent of the church etc. etc.
ManishH

Post by ManishH »

shiv wrote:You see, when all those tribes from Central Asia invaded India the were going south and east. So the Deccan was to their right side. That is why the name "Deccan" came - it was to the right side you see - "dakshin" - right side.
This has nothing to do with "invasion". Facing the rising sun, south is on the right side, so it's called dakṣiṇa. The association of right hand with Latin 'dexter', Greek 'deksios', Lithuaninan dešinas or Sanskrit dakṣiṇa goes back to pre IE dispersal time.

Whereas pūrva/apara (east/west) are overloaded with additional meanings like earlier/latter.

Compare to Kannda 'balagaḍe'.

ManishH wrote: It's unfortunate that a topic of historical development of languages is mixed with politics and propoganda.

One example of this kind of cheap propaganda tactics is to call anyone who argues for an Indian origin as hindutva-protagonists. Whereas I know of people who are irreligious and apolitical in real life passionately argue about an Indian origin.

This happens the other way too - calling anyone who argues for an outside-India origin as an agent of the church etc. etc.
This is a fair statement to make. But there is a huge dead albatross that "Indo-European" linguistics carries that will keep it mixed with identity politics forever, or until the nomenclature is changed because the name "Indo-European" arises out of a closed biased mindset that existed 100 years ago.

The name itself creates the borders and in fact excludes India south of the Vindhyas, but cheerfully embraces 8000 km of territory beyond the Indus and Hindu Kush and puts India, where evidence of the oldest language has been found at one periphery of a PIE "isogloss" in an act of fertile imagination. And archealogical evidence is sought, and produced for this pre-conceived notion. A language is found in one place and archaeological evidence 2000 away and they are linked to one people and a timeline is created from a pre conceived notion conjured up by 19th century "scholars".

If politics does not get involved the "scholars" who created and perpetuared this stinking mess will never be made accountable. There is more cookery than science here.

ManishH wrote:
shiv wrote:You see, when all those tribes from Central Asia invaded India the were going south and east. So the Deccan was to their right side. That is why the name "Deccan" came - it was to the right side you see - "dakshin" - right side.
This has nothing to do with "invasion". Facing the rising sun, south is on the right side, so it's called dakṣiṇa. The association of right hand with Latin 'dexter', Greek 'deksios', Lithuaninan dešinas or Sanskrit dakṣiṇa goes back to pre IE dispersal time.

Whereas pūrva/apara (east/west) are overloaded with additional meanings like earlier/latter.

You are so knowledgeable sir.

I am sure you will now want to see proof, which I will provide in the form of a scan of that 1910 book that says that the Aryan Invaders had the Deccan to their right side as they invaded and therefore called it Deccan/Dakshin. I will put it up soon for your viewing pleasure. This is the pathetic level of buffoonery passed off as "scholarship" that gave rise to the Aryan Invasion theory of migrants from Europe that "scholars" are still trying to defend.

I will post that scan later today.

===============
You are so knowledgeable sir.

I am sure you will now want to see proof, which I will provide in the form of a scan of that 1910 book that says that the Aryan Invaders had the Deccan to their right side as they invaded and therefore called it Deccan/Dakshin. I will put it up soon for your viewing pleasure. This is the pathetic level of buffoonery passed off as "scholarship" that gave rise to the Aryan Invasion theory of migrants from Europe that "scholars" are still trying to defend.

I will post that scan later today.
This may be the single big reason why the textbooks in India will do the right interpretations of Indian texts and Indian sanskrit and will be used in India.

It may even be against the international norms but it will be logical and not this kind of hogwash
ManishH

Post by ManishH »

ravi_g wrote:Can someone attest to the authenticity of this?

Book 7 Hymn 6, RV.
http://www.sacred-texts.com/hin/rigveda/rv07006.htm
3 The foolish, faithless, rudely-speaking niggards, without belief or sacrifice or worship,—
Far far sway hath Agni chased those Dasytis, and, in the cast, hath turned the godless westward.
4 Him who brought eastward, manliest with his prowess, the Maids rejoicing in the western darkness,
That Agni I extol, the Lord of riches, unyielding tamer of assailing foemen.
-Rig Veda, tr. by Ralph T.H. Griffith
The original has 'pūrva' and 'apara' which Griffith translates to east and west. Whereas these two words are heavily overloaded...

pūrva : earlier/preceding/east
apara : latter/following/west

From the overloading, one can safely say, the cardinal directions were named so looking at the rising Sun.

PS: Even the hindi translation doesn't choose east/west here.
Last edited by ManishH on 18 Jun 2012 10:30, edited 1 time in total.
ManishH

Post by ManishH »

shiv wrote: I am sure you will now want to see proof, which I will provide in the form of a scan of that 1910 book that says that the Aryan Invaders had the Deccan to their right side as they invaded and therefore called it Deccan/Dakshin.
I'm sure in 1910 racists and supremacist views were widely written and read. But we are in 2012 now. If you want to claim scholars subscribe to such petty beliefs, why not show excerpts from current linguistic papers and textbooks.

ManishH wrote:It's unfortunate that a topic of historical development of languages is mixed with politics and propoganda.

Isn't it the case that AIT/AMT has inherent divisive implications for Indian society, whereas OIT and other hypothesis do not? If you agree the former has divisive implications for current society, why is it a surprise when politics gets involved? Wouldn't that be the first thing you would expect?

ManishH wrote:
shiv wrote: I am sure you will now want to see proof, which I will provide in the form of a scan of that 1910 book that says that the Aryan Invaders had the Deccan to their right side as they invaded and therefore called it Deccan/Dakshin.
I'm sure in 1910 racists and supremacist views were widely written and read. But we are in 2012 now. If you want to claim scholars subscribe to such petty beliefs, why not show excerpts from current linguistic papers and textbooks.
Sir it was the same racists of 1910 who set up an Aryan-Dravidian divide in race and language. Are you now claiming that the linguists of today DO NOT subscibe to the Aryan-Dravidian divide conjured up by the 1910 racists?

Current linguists cannot the disown the 'scholarship' of 1900 or the one in 1868.
All the current 'progress' in the topic is based on the cumulative work done over the last century.
ManishH

Post by ManishH »

This is what Dr. Hans Henrich Hock has to say about 1910 brand of Indology ...

"Whose Past is it ? Linguistic pre- and early History and self-identification in modern South Asia", Studies in the Linguistic Sciences, Fall 2000

Link to full paper
The misuse of linguistic prehistory and early history in the Europe of the 19th and early 20th centuries is well known. A racial interpretation of the earliest stages of Vedic Sanskrit, projected back to Proto-Indo-European, formed fertile ground for the racist 'Aryan' ideology whose most terrible consequence consisted in the genocide of Jews, Gypsies or Roma, and other so-called 'inferior' races committed by the Nazis, in the name of Germany.

It is also true that a somewhat milder racism characterizes a large part of all of the Indology of the 19th and early 20th centuries. This racism has led Indians of the most varied backgrounds to reject as racist all of western Indology and the theory of an Indo-Aryan invasion or immigration to South Asia, proposed by most western Indologists. Significantly, this rejection is not limited to partisans of Hindutva, the exclusionary Hindu nationalist movement.
Dr. Hock is the author of textbooks used in studying Historical Linguistics - which deals with the development and evolution of languages.
ManishH

Post by ManishH »

shiv wrote: Sir it was the same racists of 1910 who set up an Aryan-Dravidian divide in race and language. Are you now claiming that the linguists of today DO NOT subscibe to the Aryan-Dravidian divide conjured up by the 1910 racists?
Yes. If you read Hock's paper, it has a good summary on modern scholarly opinion viz. speakers of IE branch that entered India did not displace speakers of Dravidian languages.

No one any longer believes fables of conflict between 'aryan' (sic) and 'dravidian'. Therefore, all attempts at political misuse between this imagined pre-historic conflict are just that.

Also important is to read in the paper how 1910 era racist interpretations of ṛgveda texts (like conflict between black and white skin) are incorrect.

I advise people to use Hock's paper to judge modern scholarly opinion. I have no issues if you find even modern scholarly opinion wrong. But please, do not take a 1910 text and say current scholars subscribe to that.

Unfortunately, popular opinion thinks Witzel is a representative of linguists, whereas people like Hock are unheard of outside their specialist field. BTW, Dr. Hock was the chair of session on Vedic Literature at World Sanskrit Conference earlier this year in New Delhi.
ManishH

Post by ManishH »

Arjun wrote: Isn't it the case that AIT/AMT has inherent divisive implications for Indian society,
This assumes that Indian society is incapable of dealing with diversity of languages and origins. Which is not the case. It also assumes that Indians can easily get hoodwinked by politicians and start seeing imaginary divisions - which is also not the case.

ManishH wrote:Unfortunately, popular opinion thinks Witzel is a representative of linguists, whereas people like Hock are unheard of outside their specialist field. BTW, Dr. Hock was the chair of session on Vedic Literature at World Sanskrit Conference earlier this year in New Delhi.
That is what I mean by giving Westerners the custody of Sanskrit, at least in the secular sphere. Westerners should be allowed in such conferences and in any seminar, given the last row only!

ManishH wrote:This assumes that Indian society is incapable of dealing with diversity of languages and origins. Which is not the case. It also assumes that Indians can easily get hoodwinked by politicians and start seeing imaginary divisions - which is also not the case.
You are implying the Hutus/Tutsis of Rwanda did get easily hoodwinked on the basis of precisely similar racially divisive theories, but Indians are not likely to fall for the same tactics ? Isn't that assumption a bit racist ? 8)

Here's what French anthropologist Jean-Pierre Langellier has to say:
The idea that the Hutus and the Tutsis were physically different was first aired in the 1860s by the British explorer John Speke. The history of Rwanda (like that of much of Africa) has been distorted by missionaries, academics and colonial administrators. They made the Tutsis out to be a superior race, which had conquered the region and enslaved the Hutus. Missionaries taught the Hutus that historical fallacy, which was the result of racist European concepts being applied to an African reality. At the end of the fifties, the Hutus used that discourse to react against the Tutsis.
The horrific ethnic cleansing that occurred in Rwanda in the early 90s, can be directly attributed to a mindset of racial superiority engendered by Christian missionary-scholars.

Besides, you are surely not unaware of the history of Dravidianism in India...and AIT and race theories have been traced by many scholars as the source of the tragic Sinhala-Tamil conflict in Sri Lanka.

Arjun wrote:
Besides, you are surely not unaware of the history of Dravidianism in India...and AIT and race theories have been traced by many scholars as the source of the tragic Sinhala-Tamil conflict in Sri Lanka.
For 100 years the dravidian parties have been using this false theories to divide people and create political divisions. They have used violence based on these theories and created class warfare based on fals assumptions.

all because somebody could not interpret the sanskrit correctly

I am trying to put together a summary of Shrikant Talageri's Out-of-India Theory

The whole Rigvedic history of India needs to be seen from the lens of the composer (RSi) families:
  1. ANgiRases (Prominent Pre-Rigvedic RSis being Brihaspati, Rbhu, VAja, Vibhvan)
  2. BhRigus aka AtharvaNas (Prominent Pre-Rigvedic RSis being AtharvaNa, Dadhyanc and USanA KAvya, famous for fire-ritual)
  3. ViShvAmitras
  4. VasiSThas
  5. Atris
  6. KaNvas
  7. etc.
- Early Rigvedic Tribes (Lunar Dynasty)
  1. Yadus,
  2. TurvaSas,
  3. Druhyus,
  4. Anus,
  5. PUrus
Initially
ANgiRases were the priests of the PUrus (Vedic Aryans).
BhRgus were the priests of Anus (Iranians).
--- Spitamas subset of BRigus were the priests of Anus
---- KAvis subset of BRigus moved over to the PuRus

Geography of these tribes in Pre-Rigvedic Period
  1. PUrus - in the centre (i.e. Haryana-Uttar Pradesh),
  2. Anus to their north (i.e. Kashmir),
  3. Druhyus to their west (i.e. Punjab),
  4. Yadus to their south-west (i.e. Rajasthan and western Madhya Pradesh, perhaps extending as far south as Gujarat and Maharashtra),
  5. TurvaSas to their south-east (to the east of the Yadus),
  6. IkSvAku or Solar race to the northeast.
Geography of these tribes at start of Early Rigvedic Period
  1. PUrus - in the centre (i.e. Haryana-Uttar Pradesh),
  2. Anus to their west (i.e. Punjab <- migration from Kashmir) PUrus and Anus cooperate against Yadus and TurvaSas when the later attack from the south.
  3. Druhyus pushed out further into the west
  4. Yadus to their south-west
  5. TurvaSas to their south-east
Geography of these tribes at end of Early Rigvedic Period
  1. PUrus - in the centre (i.e. Punjab-Haryana),
  2. Anus to their west (i.e. Western Punjab, Eastern Afghanistan <- migration from Punjab) PUrus at war with Anus
  3. Druhyus pushed out further into the west
Geography of these tribes during Middle Rigvedic Period
  1. PUrus - in the centre (i.e. Punjab),
  2. Anus to their west (i.e. Afghanistan <- migration from Punjab) PUrus and Anus again on friendly terms
  3. Druhyus pushed out further to the North
Geography of these tribes during Late Rigvedic Period
  1. PUrus - in the centre (i.e. Punjab),
  2. Anus to their west (Afghanistan, Central Asia) PUrus and Anus are friendly and have contacts
  3. Druhyus pushed out further into thenorth
Anu Tribes
  1. PRthus or PArthavas (VII.83.1): Parthians.
  2. ParSus or ParSavas (VII.83.1): Persians.
  3. Pakthas (VII.18.7): Pakhtoons.
  4. BhalAnas (VII.18.7): Baluchis.
  5. Sivas (VII.18.7): Khivas.
  6. ViSANins (VII.18.7): Pishachas (Dards).
  7. Madras: (not named in the Rigveda,): Medes.
  8. Simyus (VII.18.5): Sarmatians (Avesta = Sairimas) > Albanians.
  9. Alinas (VII.18.7): Alans. > Greeks
  10. BhRgus (VII.18.6): Phrygians > Armenians.
Druhyu Tribes
  1. Hittite.
  2. Tocharian.
  3. Italic.
  4. Celtic.
  5. Germanic.
  6. Baltic.
  7. Slavonic.
Migration of Druhyu Tribes to Europe (except Tocharian) taking the Northern route over the Caspian Sea.
Migration of Anu Tribes to Europe taking the Southern route south of the Caspian Sea.

The myth of Aryan Invasion is not something that is just an internal subject of debate. If the story is not crushed, other misinformed (non-Western) people around the world are going to pass some pretty hard judgments on Indians and thus dent our soft-power.

Here is a taste of it from an African PoV.

The social implications of the AMT theory need to be explicitly understood, more so by those involved in academic research in this area:

1. Most directly, it deepens internal fissures and fault-lines between Indian communities. The situation may seem to be manageable now - but once missionary-led conversions (often justified using AIT) reach a certain scale, a Rwanda-type situation 'engineered' in India cannot be ruled out

2. The external implications on Indian soft-power (touched upon by RajeshA)

3. Creates hurdles to a true Indian Renaissance in the Sciences, and extends the old Colonial game of appropriating India's wealth to the intellectual domain

The last point may need further elaboration... Sanskrit is the key to much of India's heritage of original ideation both in the metaphysical and secular domains. And yet, Sanskrit has not found its pride of place even to this date in Indian academic circles. The rediscovery of Sanskrit philosophy, metaphysics and secular science explorations has not had a similar effect on Indian science as the rediscovery of Aristotle, Plato and Greek heritage had on the Enlightenment and Renaissance in Western Science... The primary bottleneck has been the culture of Anti-Brahminism (with Sanskrit being collateral damage) engendered by clearly manipulative European theories such as AMT and others.

'Greek Reason' was fraudulently conjoined to Christian dogma to present a souped-up facade for what was to be termed as 'Western Civilization' - when Christian dogma was itself the cause of the eradication of the once-mighty Greek civilization. This was the start of the copy-book Western manoeuvre of destroying the source civilization while simultaneously appropriating its intellectual wealth.

Western Indologists & 'historical linguists'- the intellectual equivalents of the British East India Co - clearly hope to use AMT to similar effect. Facilitate the decline of the source Indian civilization - while they use PIE as the lever for appropriating the wealth of Sanskrit as part of its own heritage. Once Indics are reduced to a harmless minority - we would probably see talk of Western civilization being a composite of Christian base + 'Greek Reason' + 'Sanskritic free-thinking Inner Science'....The appropriation would then be complete.

Re. Rig Veda, tr. by Ralph T.H. Griffith
3 The foolish, faithless, rudely-speaking niggards, without belief or sacrifice or worship,—
Far far sway hath Agni chased those Dasytis, and, in the cast, hath turned the godless westward.
4 Him who brought eastward, manliest with his prowess, the Maids rejoicing in the western darkness,
That Agni I extol, the Lord of riches, unyielding tamer of assailing foemen.

ManishH ji –
The original has 'pūrva' and 'apara' which Griffith translates to east and west. Whereas these two words are heavily overloaded...

pūrva : earlier/preceding/east
apara : latter/following/west

From the overloading, one can safely say, the cardinal directions were named so looking at the rising Sun.

PS: Even the hindi translation doesn't choose east/west here.

Manishji, I agree your rationale but find it hard to see how the translation will be any different if I choose to substitute:
1. ‘eastward’ with ‘earlier’
2. ‘westward’ with ‘later’

Agni basically turned the godless in a direction that is to fall ‘later’ in the direction of Sun’s apparent movement and himself turned in the direction which fell ‘earlier’ in the direction of the Sun’s apparent movement.

Also I hope apart from the overloads you have highlighted you would also agree with the following overload:

apara : darkness

Further request you to provide your translation of this verse in the light of Linguistics.

Also ManishH ji, let me acknowledge my gratitude to you. I may not agree with you and I may be following Guru Brahaspati ji, in his yellow robes, but to me of the Hindu stock, Guru Shukracharya in his white robes is also very worthy of respect, alas only in the wrong camp.

Ramana ji, somebody has already done a contextual translation of SIVC script. To me it sounded very convincing. That translation effort was however rejected by the people you & I want to fight against. The reasoning for the rejection was that the translation carried too many assumptions (as if!) and not being the ‘consensus’ (yeh I am holding my breath!). The Mittanis dated to 1500 BC are already a big challenge to the squatters and robbers of Vedic culture. But it is ignored as a ‘tolerance zone’ by ‘consensus builders’. That is why I strongly wonder how, more of the same kind is going to be any different.

Ramana ji, you are amongst the few people placed in a position of influencing the direction of debate and even inviting new people who can influence a proper debate. Hence I request you to kindly be with me as I address Shiv ji and venug ji.

Shiv ji & venug ji,

To my mind what needs to be proved by OIT are a bunch of things:
1) There is no substantial genetic movement from west to east (genetic did that but this is sought to be undermined)
2) There is a continuity between the Ancient and Contemporary within India. Ramana ji’s idea regarding Pasupati Seal falls here (Ramana ji – “All I am saying is use the names of Shiva to see if they can be used to fit the seals.”). The name ‘Pasupati’ itself shows what it is. How much stronger can it be linked to God Shiva. I mean a picture is way more relevant than a lot of words. Also one gent has posted the Yamalarjuna Krishna Tablet. Vedas have and have almost always been one of the biggest thing in our identity. A skeleton of a man buried in a Padmaasna identified as that of a Leprosy patient has already been found (see note 2 below). The Sindoor that every women carries on her head is also there on the head of the ‘dancing girl from Mohan-jo-daro’. And her famed full arm bangles, the less said the better. And many many more such instances are more than enough to establish continuity.
3) There is no substantial movement of ideas from west to east. This is where RV comes in as it is the oldest known record of any real value. A civilization that throws up thought like Nasadiya Sukta & Purusha Sukta, will leave traceable evidence of development in concomitant mathematics and science and culture. If not concomitant then at least succeeding. This is where the battle lines are drawn at present. And so far as I can see the evidence will have to be presented by RV itself, related literature and some entirely new methodologies (reverse calculations of astrological observations). Till at least we can find something else like some evidence of origin of ‘sunyavaad’ and usage of ‘zero’ and ‘decimals’. A very fruitful exercise for us Indians and one that I believe will require less of data and more of understanding.

You see ‘they’ have already begun denying at places most Indians like myself have not even reached yet and negotiating at places where ‘they’ have been challenged (see note 1). To my view we need to study the history of mathematics and scientific philosophy and usage of geometry, not just poetry. This is where people capable of providing at least circumstantial evidence (in the absence of direct evidence) will come in. This cannot be done by a humanities heavy education structure of which we already have more than enough. For this we will need a maths and science heavy education structure. The culture that we have grown into, that of special respect for ‘Engineers and Doctors’ is our real strength as it comes out of our real need to do ‘useful mathematics’ eg. ‘algebra’ instead of doing ‘mathematics for proofs’ and for being useful for ‘our people’ who are need of ‘healing’. This is after all the ‘real civilization’. Humanities is a fit scholarship for those who have a use for it. Mind you Humans are not dictated by Humanities. It is Humanities that wants to study Humans, that too only the human left after his science and vocation.

Shiv ji, you want “a lot of ….plain slogging and building databases and making comparisons, referencing existing work”, then all you need is a few Million USD, 5-6 assistants and 10-12 typists in the hands of mavericks like Brihaspati ji. People like him will demolish 3 centuries worth of Uro-Scholarship in about half an year. And even millions would be insufficient on people who have decided to ignore the obvious.

Humanities student are not exactly known for accepting cross fertilization. They are much too busy in important things like politics. A mathematician will instantly know why the old timers could not have reverse calculated the nightsky. How will a humanities student ever know that.

Seems like you are trying to fight the Uro-scholars using their tactics on a battlefield and time of their choosing with the added handicap of having all your Senapati (humanities departments) already compromised.

Also Shiv ji I am not asking for a reliance on ‘sparks of brilliance alone’. I am asking for a reliance on the general populace which will in time produce so many sparks that they will begin to re-establish Agni in the Havan Kund of our civilization. I am asking you to rely on the Taxila model of education. Where a large number of private institutions build up the education system. The government model will only sap the educated minds of all energy by simply making them rely on monthly salaries and yearly increments.

Note (1) –
While most of us are concentrating on point 2 look what ‘they’ are doing:
(a) Their negotiation – http://bakerjd99.wordpress.com/2010/08/ ... nk-part-1/ and http://ontogenyphylogenyepigenetcs.word ... niversity/

(b) Their denial – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dahae#Possible_confusion

Note (2) –
To my mind the following, when combined with the Mulabandanaasna Pasupati seal, shows both the historic continuity. Ritual usage of Cow dung and fitness regimen comprising Yoga and its concomitant philosophy were there at least within Harappan times if not prior to it. And it also shows temporal continuity in that yoga went across cultural boundaries with clear possibility of going into other unnamed cultures to the south. To my mind the division of India into several cultures is merely a sleight of hand. The evidence points to a smooth amorphous culture. Part of the reason why our people cling on to their respective ‘cultures’ is because we are all just too much like each other.

Credit - http://varnam.nationalinterest.in/2009/ ... pers-tale/
This skeleton, of a man who probably was 35+/-10 years and 5’10″, was found in a settlement which flourished from 3700 – 1820 BCE; the people there had pottery and copper and cultivated barley as well as wheat. He was buried between 2500 – 2000 BCE — much before the decline of the Harappan civilization — and was a leper. In fact, this skeleton is the oldest example of leprosy in the world.

But he was not Harappan: he belonged to the Ahar-Banas culture. In the Mewar region of Rajasthan, hunter-gatherers developed farming communities in the middle of the fifth millennium BCE, independent of the Harappan culture. By around 2500 BCE, they became prosperous and had fortified settlements, roads, and lanes. Also, the earliest burned brick (4000 BCE) was found in Gilund at this site[2].

By 2500 BCE, Ahars had trade relations with the Harappans to the north. They also had trade relations with their contemporaries in South and Central India and the skeleton confirms it. This skeleton was buried with vitrified ash from cow dung. So far the Southern Neolithic ash mounds found in South Deccan and North Dharwar were believed to be cattle settlements or the result of cow dung disposal. Now we can speculate that they were the result of funeral activities of a shared tradition.

Arjun ji, not just the Hutu-Tutsi and Aryan-Dravid case. Even within the Christien world the distinction between Eastern Christianity and Western Christianity was mainly supported by scholarship that had something to do with a bindi here and a bindi there and the words in lost in translations.

In fact the very idea of East and West are to begin with the very idea of Orthodoxy and Catholicism. This nonsense went on to start world wars and genocides and cold wars.

You are dead right if you feel that an essentially stochastic process of vocalization cannot be reverse calculated that to hundreds of years and thousands of kilometers and millions of minds and billions of vocalizations later. If at all it is then the modern linguist should be asked to repeat the same in stock market with his family silver. Else a lighter version can also be attempted, that of re-producing the poetry of RV in Esparanto which is an IE language in the meter of their choice. This later one should be possible since they know the syntax and semantics of the two languages & also the minds of people around. In fact just one Sukta will do. In fact leave RV even a gazal by Gulzaar will do.

arjun
i think you have to factor in the influence of the roman church and latin in the intellectual development of the west and that until about 200 years ago, the church pretty much controlled all structured thinking. from this root, it is only logical that the mental framework of the early western investigators would have been biased with latin as the 'core of civilisation' and that the precursor to latin (being greek), was therefore clearly fathered by greece. if they believed themselves to be superior, then clearly their origins have to be superior to any one elses, particularly any conquered or dominated nations. so they would seek to substantiate the hypothesis that alexander was superior, etc., etc.

everyone approaches the world from their own frame of reference. it is not until the time that the indian reference frame is rebuilt that any change in the 'way things are' will happen

sadly the temple and monastery burnings of the early middle ages in india thanks to the iconoclastic jehadis has probably erased vast amounts of evidence and/or reference materials that would have been taken for granted in those times, but has lost its impact in modern times

the material/knowledge is out there somewhere, only solid scholastic effort will bring it to life once again

what was the oldest ship/boat travel on the sea known to man?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maritime_history
The earliest known reference to an organization devoted to ships in ancient India is to the Mauryan Empire from the 4th century BC. It is believed that the navigation as a science originated on the river Indus some 5000 years ago.[citation needed/wikipedia]
i am sure, we had boat travels from the south of India prior to that.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ancient_maritime_history
In the Indian maritime history, the world's first tidal dock was built in Lothal around 2500 BC during the Harappan civilisation at Lothal near the present day Mangrol harbour on the Gujarat coast[citation needed]. Other ports were probably at Balakot and Dwarka. However, it is probable that many small-scale ports, and not massive ports, were used for the Harappan maritime trade.[15] Ships from the harbour at these ancient port cities established trade with Mesopotamia,[16] where the Indus Valley was known as Meluhha.

And Hans H. Hock is the epitome of political neutrality?

From the quote : he declares that "Hindutva" is "exclusionary". Excludes "what"? So in his subconscious, there are elements in "his" India/"south Asia" that is "Indian/South Asian" but not "Hindutva".

He gives out a curious reflection even in the short quote by ManishH ji : he notes that this perception of racist bias - from the viewpoint of Indians - has motivated a spectrum of Indians to reject "all of Western Indology".

By default, it is a very twisted and cautious academic way of saying - "we need not be so harsh on western Indology - it might still have elements that can be salvaged and not rejected forever".

The compromising tone in some from the western camp, is because historical linguistics has increasingly faced challenges to their dogma - even from the tools they early used to justofy their own assumptions, like phonetics, neurology, archeology, and genetics. In turn they have been forced to try and save the day by trying to engage and carve out their versions of these "other tools" in such shadow "hot-topics" like archeo-astronomy. This was to counter "non-specialists" exploring linguistic dogma and coming up with what can only be described as immense fraudulent behaviour or "gross academic negligence" on the part of linguists.

But to a great extent, the faults in historical linguists seem to come from a lack of balance between empiricism and theorizing, and not being introspective enough to observe their own logical processes for fallacies. Not many are trained to use logic in a systematic way, which is often obvious as one begins to read their papers.

I was not interested in PIE, and am more conversant with European languages, which I pursued without the preconceptions of PIE [which is what is the trend in modern European language origins studies]. There are several languages of Europe I can deal with - even on a native speaker level, [obviously perhaps with accents: :mrgreen: ] but it has helped me understand language processes a lot. I am working with linguists, especially anthropologists of "language" - but my expertise here is more on the strategies and tactics adopted in communication, looked at from the mathematical modelling viewpoint. I have very close connections with German, Greek, Spanish and Hungarian "linguists". From that interaction that has developed over the last two years, my conclusions so far is

(1) language use is strategic behaviour on the part of humans. Communication protocols used are a part of human signalling of a complex array of information : not just what is being spoken or written. It carries identity information, and sometime dynamic modifications to signal political, economic or other social cues.

(2) There is as much need to compromise on both the sender of the signal as well as the receiver side.

(3) language spread is not so straightforward as adaptation, bilingualism, political and cultural dominance etc. There is tremendous resistance to language change, and the results of that change leaves traces of the resistance - most strongly in spoken versions, and not so easily decipherable in written or reconstructed versions from epigraphy of a few dozen or hundred bits and pieces of inscriptions.

Among Indologists, Sanskritists in the West, there is an all-pervasive culture of abuse and putting down other people using all sorts of labels.

Here is one such thread on this to and fro: Review of Talageri (2008) by S. Kalyanaraman. It starts with Michael Witzel.

Actually the vocabulary and tone they use to put down other people deserves as a subject its university degree in its own right to study it and to learn its application.

ramana ji and ravi_g garu,

I had started thinking in terms of a "proto-language" called lets say "saraswati", originating in India, from which both Tamil as well as PIE derived. But then, being practised in observing my own observation process - I saw that it was actually following the same argumentation model as proposed by the "west". This is not physics - hence we need not have paradigm shifts incrementally edging towards the truth in a Kuhnian way. There need not be a single truth in language dynamics.

The thinsg is : it is entirely possible that there were languages apart from those used by early modern humans who apparently colonized the whole of Asia-Europe from a small group that successfully migrated out of Africa some 80 kya. There is for example a west-east cline in the so-called spectrum between modern African-origin homos and other homos like Neanderthals or Denisovans. There is speculations based on skeletal considerations - that language could have eveolved in these other archaic humans too.

Starting from that multipolar origins world, if India was the largest hotspot and refuge for deep ice age humans, there could be lots of different languages being used in a relatively sparsely populated India of those times.

So instead of a proto-language, a language process involving various population concentrations in India evolved on a compromise system - with "interfaces" [computer scientists will perhaps understand my analogy better - the various interfaces you can have to the same object] that could have been more attuned to their respective pre-existing versions.

In this scheme of things I would tentatively propose a single interactional language process with multiple threads in ice-age India - one of which over time gave itself a distinct identity claim of "Tamil" while the other evolved into an identity of proto-Sanskrit. The identity is given by interested ruling systems but reality is not so changeable as the rulers want them to be and hence we still have traces of overlap from the earlier processual compromise.

I guess the ancients used "saraswati" - the one who [has speed] flows, as a synonym for language process itself [saraswati is the generator the giver of language - and men have only 1/4th part] : as a dynamic process which merges many different streams/threads.

ManishH wrote:
shiv wrote: Sir it was the same racists of 1910 who set up an Aryan-Dravidian divide in race and language. Are you now claiming that the linguists of today DO NOT subscibe to the Aryan-Dravidian divide conjured up by the 1910 racists?
I advise people to use Hock's paper to judge modern scholarly opinion. I have no issues if you find even modern scholarly opinion wrong. But please, do not take a 1910 text and say current scholars subscribe to that.

Unfortunately, popular opinion thinks Witzel is a representative of linguists, whereas people like Hock are unheard of outside their specialist field. BTW, Dr. Hock was the chair of session on Vedic Literature at World Sanskrit Conference earlier this year in New Delhi.
Manishji, your advice is patronizing. I read the paper. All that Hock does is to take sides and resort to a pathetic trick where he tries to set up "Hindutvadis" versus "Dravidianists", saying that accepting one theory will help the other and that all need to shut up. Some of his rhetorical arguments can be turned around using the same rhetoric, an unnecessary act as it turns out because Hock says nothing other than the other viewpoint with no new information.

You say this man is an authority? And he represents "modern scholarly opinion"? It only strengthens my view that these people have been bullshitting at will, a view that hilariously is expressed by Hock himself in that paper where he expresses surprise that unrestrained bullshitting with rhetorical and semantic arguments replacing absent facts could lead to a blowback. It is exactly as I said - linguists thought that making things up would have no consequences ( I had used examples of medicine and aviation. Hock says nuclear physics). From the "horse's" mouth

Quoting from the page marked as 52 in that pdf
Developments of this type raise doubts about the comfortable assumption that linguistics and philology are "harmless" in contrast to other sciences and do not have the potential for horrible consequences as eg. nuclear physics.
Amazing. So this "authority" has assumed up until controversies arose that they could pretty much say anything they saw fit and call it "science" because it is "harmless" unlike nuclear physics. I have not seen such a ridiculous excuse in any paper being passed off as a scientific work. The very fact that he understands that manufacturing by linguists and philologists may be harmless (unlike nuclear bomb manufacture) illustrates that he community can be "bold and inventive" about what they manucfacture without fear of consequences.

And your protestation about Witzel is hardly credible when you say it with a link to Hock's paper. Hock himself has Witzel as one of the people whose works he quotes as support for the arguments he makes. He uses Witzel's work to support his views.

No sir. The argument that Sanskrit may well have arisen in India and moved out is hardly a settled claim even as Hock makes the veiled threat that this view might give the Dravidianists ammunition, as if to try and scare the Hindutvadis. What a silly strawman to set up. And he is surprised at the reaction and imagined that this kind of rabble rousing is "harmless"? And you say this is the state of the art scholarly opinion? He could have kept out of politics and stuck to known facts. All that this paper has done is to jump right into politics.
Last edited by shiv on 18 Jun 2012 18:38, edited 1 time in total.

The AIT proponents highlight any reading of some evidence which they can use to support their theory, and try to downgrade the quality of evidence which they think does not help. They introduce all sorts of words expressing doubt, irrelevance, multiple meaning, etc. in all such evidence or simply ignore it, regardless of how many times one tries to push it into their faces.

Secondly what I find glaring is their use of abuse for those who propose an Indigenist view of Indo-Aryans. They start using words like nationalistic, chauvinistic, fundamentalist Hindutva, amateurish absurdity, bank-clerks, rehashing tired fantasies, ridiculous, pseudo-science, 18th century positions, "can it get worse?", "Sarasvati canard is long exposed!", "only for weekend amusement", etc. etc.

Instead of dealing with evidence, here is how they respond.
Michael Witzel wrote:"US-based engineer turned historian, Dr Vepa" says it all...

Like our long time friends mathematician Rajaram, bank employees Dr. K. and Talageri, electric engineering Prof. S. Kak, medical technician V. Agarwal (M.Sc.), astrologers like David Fawley ("Vamedeva") etc. etc. Likewise, K. Vepa: he has a PhD of the University of Waterloo in Engineering Sciences & applied mechanics, studied there 1968 — 1972.

*Anybody* in the Indian orbit can turn historian overnight, at the drop of a hat. Preferably, after retirement...
I think just like they use 'Hindutvadi' to beat Indians with, who disagree with their position, we too should use something similar. I propose "AIT Nazi"! After all, the Nazis too were of the opinion, that the Urheimat does not lie in India. These guys are just continuing their stance. Hence AIT Nazis!

So Michael Witzel, why are you a 'AIT Nazi'?

Arjun wrote:The social implications of the AMT theory need to be explicitly understood, more so by those involved in academic research in this area:
Well the scholar Hock himself admits that the community of linguists and philologists were "harmless' unlike the nuclear physicists (whose work has "horrible consequences") and that the former could go right ahead and say what they want without any accountability. Can you believe the chutzpah in that assertion?

They must be brought to account. Instead of behaving like the scholars they purport to be, they jump right into partsan politics, assuming safety in their professorial tenures.

Respected Guru Jan,

I see that a lot of us are arriving at pretty much the similar ideas about the language scene in Ancient India.

Using PIE constructs lets see how it works:

Proto Sanskrit + Indo Iranian + Uropain languages < = > PIE < = > Modern Sanskrit + ? …+n?

The incomplete equation is as much an intellectual dishonesty reeking of incompetence & spinelessness as it is a signal for us Indians to get into the act of defining our selves.

If we are able to define our part of the equation properly, I can see even the Uropains getting to an intellectually more rigorous stand in their own studies of their selves. There is no reason to fear the creation of OIT. OIT is not the same thing as AIT in reverse gear.

B ji just the way you have arrived at the conclusion of a linguistic multiverse in ancient Indian space, in much the same random manner it is entirely possible that different types of OIT happened at different points in Time.

Genetic movement could have happened independent of the linguistic and knowledge seeding.

Sanskrit Linguistics could even have dovetailed the trade and knowledge seeding instead of leading it. And perhaps the west knows this that is why the equivocation in matters of Mathematics. And perhaps ex-BRF guys like Kaushal Vepa knew this that is why during the recent Delhi BR meet he wanted to show us the plagiarism committed on Leelavati. The Uropains have had this habit going till recently. PIE conjecture is just one more extension thereof. Now Vepa ji was trained in technical subjects and he knew what it takes to develop knowledge and where exactly he should have looked for evidence.

To understand the movement of Sanskrit linguistics we have to understand first why there would be a need to link up to Sanskrit. Esp. in the light of similar processes in present day India, where English has more support than Hindi for reasons economic and technological. Fortunately we know Sanskrit was much bigger on knowledge then on Trade matters. So we are basically left with movement and development of Philosophy. Also we know Persians were big both in trade with both Europe and India as also big guns in knowledge. The link perhaps should be studied in a Persian backdrop and in knowledge transfers.

Also Brihaspati ji by referring me as Garu you are breaching the Guru-Shishya Parampara which is bigger than all of us. This could lead new people into wrong avenues. Right now I wish to be a good Shishya. Missed out on being one during school time.

brihaspati wrote: I had started thinking in terms of a "proto-language" called lets say "saraswati", originating in India, from which both Tamil as well as PIE derived. But then,..s.
I have heard a story that is something similar to this notion. well the originator was not saraswati, but shiv. but you may be right in the sense, that saraswati restored sanity after shiv's (bhairav) terror that unleashed on nipping brahma's 5th head.

The story is these two languages came out through shiv's damaru. shiva taught tamil to agastya and sanskrit to panini.

shiv here, meaning lord shiv and not our esteeemed hakim ji
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

Please look at the tone of this Witzel here, oh BTW, this expert I read elsewhere can't speak in Sanskrit and he also is a 'Vedic expert' seems like except Indians, everyone is a vedic expert these days and they alone can have a say in Indian history and regarding matters of who and where Rg Veda was written, you decide if your blood doesn't boil and why we should invite these people to India and make then 'chairs' as Rajesh ji rightly pointed out.
One may think of a 19th c. German professor, not a 21st c. writer (who is, BTW, not a specialist but a bank clerk... What is it about Indian bank employees like Dr. (Manila) K. and retired mathematicians/science people like Rajaram to become 'historians' and ‘linguists' at the drop of a hat?)
Look at the tone and see how condescending this guy is. Who made him a specialist in the first place? why give a linguist so much preference? so what he means to say is a linguist like him alone has a say in matters of India and Indian history? one need study and have a phd to show by logic how shallow one's reasoning is, which Talageri tried to show and this Witzel guy went after him. and see below how anyone and everyone who goes against AIT/AMT is being portrayed as a Hindutva vadi, not that it is a sin, but there is a tendency which I fear can be very bad, these guys are actually undermining Indian unity as many for Dravidians, WItzel is a force to recon with.
This is a "book review" of a new book by the "Out of India" proponent S. Talageri by our old friend, the ardent Hindutva proponent, Dr. K.
Now we want Hock guy to be the final authority on Rg Veda now? why are we handing our future and history to these guys to be raped? we need Indians in these positions, Indians alone should have a final say in the matters of Indian history and heritage, not some 'Tom', 'Dick' and 'Harry' from the west. pun intended.

All it takes for the tom, dick and harry is to become minorities in desh. They don't have to become citizens, btw. conceptually SOLD!.. and enough to be in school textbooks.
member_22872

Post by member_22872 »

Intellectual slavery redux.

A man called Bhadiraju Krishnamurti has published a 575 page book on the Dravidian languages. He has no particular reason to contest the Aryan Invasion Theory which he assumes as being correct. His work and his refs are about Dravidian languages. He is apolitical insofar as I have checked out his book.

It is downloadable as a pdf from here
http://www.turuz.info/Dil/0411-The%20Dr ... -2003).pdf

Krishamurthi has devoted several pages to what Sanskrit got from Dravidian languages. he calls that a Dravidian "subsrratum" which Hock, mentioned above, has opposed.

This is what Krishnamurti has to say about Hock.
Hock (1975, 1982, 1996) has persistently questioned the theory of a Dravidian sub-
stratum in Indo-Aryan from pre-historic times. This is questioning over one-and-a-half
centuries of scholarship in comparative studies. While Kuiper has provided evidence for
the integration of some accomplished Dravidians into the Aryan fold (see section 1.7.1),
Hock (1996: 57–8) uses this evidence to suggest that Rgvedic Aryans and non-Aryans
̊met as ‘near-equals’. There is no such implication from the way that non-Aryans were
described as ‘dark-skinned’, ‘indistinct speakers’ and ‘godless’. In conformity with his
line of thinking, Hock calls the substratum theory a ‘subversion’ and supporters of it
‘subversionists’. His approach ignores both the history and geography of Aryan and
Dravidian contact, and the fact that the evolution of Middle and Modern Indo-Aryan
has been a slow and unconscious process and is not the consequence of the Dravidian
natives deliberately ‘subverting’ the structure and system of Indo-Aryan. The scenario
with three Dravidian languages scattered at distant points on the northern periphery,
with several islands in central India, and with thick concentration in the south indicates
that most of the early native Dravidian speakers in the north and centre had merged with
local speech communities within Indo-Aryan. Constraints of space prevent me from
countering his arguments, which sound clearly strained and biased.
Clearly no one agrees with anyone else here :D

But one thing that the Aryan Invasion Theory did was to concentrate everyone on the "Indo-European" connection while ignoring the connections the other way where "Out of India" went off to the east. In fact, as Krishnamurti laments a lot more work is needed on the "Dravidian" languages.

One of the things I have seen about linguists arguing about history and throwing archaeology at each other and curses when that fails is as follows.

Where languages are available, there is little archaeological back up. This is particularly true of Sanskrit. For this reason Archaeological evidence that happens to be available 3000 km away is assumed to fit with the Rig Veda.

Where archaeological evidence exists, there is little correlation with language. This is exactly true of the Harappan civilization.

Both are in India (Sanskrit and Harappa). Both are very old and nobody has a frickin clue.

Because Sanskrit has few clues in Harappa, they look for clues in central Asia. We accept that the Rig Veda dates from 1500 BC or so. Why? Why is it not older than that? The Harappan civilization "interferes" . That has been dated as 3000 BC. The assumption here is that Rig Veda is younger than that. One person (maybe Frawley or Elst, can't recall) has proposed that Rig Veda is older than Harappa. The argument used by Hock against this is "No Horse remains have ben found in Harappa so Rig Veda comes after Harappa"

It is entirely possible that Rig Veda Sanskrit itself was centered around Western India/current shitistan. There is very little proof that it did not spread to Iran and instead that it came from Iran. There is even less proof that it did not spread. further from Iran. Only linguists dispute that, but they have no dates. Archaeologists have no proof either way.

i am told that Greeks also think that Greek is the mother of all languages. I can live with that, but all available evidence evidence puts Sanskrit as older than all other IE languages. Greek itself could have spread from Western Iran. You see, the theory that Sanskrit may be the mother language was knocked down by saying that it has Dravidian influences (as per Hock's paper), making it a sister language to Latin, not mother. But Hock himself dismisses that and that reopens the possibility that Sanskrit may be the PIE mother language.

now the greeks do claim that they are descended from the dorians (golden people) who came out of the northern wilds...

I think one has to look at times, when language script did not existed to even baseline any theory for out of India.

Also, if one looks at origins of sesame seeds, it is out of India.
The earliest recorded cultivation was within India beginning c.2250 (Zohary, Hopf 2000). [13] although charred sesame were recovered from excavations, dated as 3500-3050 (Bedigian,Harlan 1986). [14] The use of sesame within human populations derives from the first cultivation made by people belonging to the western Indian peninsula, or the Punjab and parts of Pakistan; and traded or migrated to Mesopotamia by 2000 BC (Fuller 2003). [15]
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sesame