Shooting in Wisconsin Sikh Gurudwara

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Shooting in Wisconsin Sikh Gurudwara

A paki under the skin.

As it is said,greater love hath no man than laying down his life for his friends.
SS Kaleka died in the finest traditions of the Sikh tradition.May he truly find peace in the afterlife.

Sikh hero fought neo-Nazi Wisconsin gunman to lay down his own life for others
A Sikh hero sacrificed his own life by fighting off a neo-Nazi gunman with a blunt ceremonial knife to save dozens of women, children and other worshippers from being shot down.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldne ... thers.html
By Mark Hughes, New York
8:06AM BST 07 Aug 2012
Sadwant Singh Kaleka, 65, the head of the Wisconsin temple's unequal battle did not last long before he was gunned down by the racist killer but his heroism has been praised for giving vital time for other Sikhs to flee or hide.

Mr Kaleka tried to stab Wade Michael Page, the white supremacist gunman before being shot twice and dieing of his injuries during the Sunday morning attack on the Sikh temple he had dedicated his life to.

Amardeep Kaleka son of Sadwant Singh Kaleka, the president of the Sikh Temple of Wisconsin (AP)

Amardeep Singh Kaleka, his son, said on Monday at vigil outside the temple, that FBI agents had embraced him after the attack, in which six people were mudered by Wade, shook his hand and said, "Your dad's a hero".

"Whatever time he spent in that struggle gave the women time to get cover," said Kaleka said.

"He was a hero through and through. There couldn't have been a better place for him to lay to rest."

One of the women who had time to flee was Amardeep's mother, who called the police using her mobile phone while hiding from the gunman in cupboard.

Relatives said Mr Kaleka was widely regarded as the founder of the Oak Creek temple that was attacked by Page, a disgraced former US army soldier and racist, who is widely thought to mistaken bearded and turban-wearing Sikhs for Muslims.

Mr Kaleka's resistance slowed the attacker just long enough for the women preparing the temple's traditional post-worship afternoon meal to hide in a pantry and for the children attending Sunday school downstairs to escape the massacre.

The gunman had already shot at least one person in the temple's car park. He then went on to kill six Sikh worshippers - including Sadwant Singh Kaleka - before going back outside to ambush the police when he heard approaching sirens.

He was then "put down" in a gunfight after severely wounding one police officer.

Mr Kaleka and his family came to the United States from India in 1982. He built a successful business, and devoted every extra dollar he earned into building the Oak Creek temple.

Parishioners described him as the kind of man who, if you called him at two in the morning to say a light had gone out at the temple, would be there at 2:15 am to change the bulb.

"As I saw the picture of the man who took away my father's life - you look at his face and it's full of hollow emptiness - a dark void," Amandeep Kaleka said after police released the photo of Wade.

"I feel a lot of sadness towards that individual. I'm not going to replace it with anger."

In stark contrast, Page, 40, was a disgraced soldier, in the army from 1992 to 1998, before being discharged for a "pattern" of misconduct including drunkenness and going Awol

Pictures show him heavily tattooed. Neighbours said that he had a tattoo commemorating the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks on his right arm, a common indicator of far-Right and anti-Muslim affiliations.

On Monday, the police said that they were seeking a second "person of interest". Officers want to speak to a man who was seen filming groups of Sikhs outside the temple after the attack. The man was captured on film by local news media and he too has a "9/11/01" tattoo on his upper right arm.

Mourners cry outside the scene of a mass shooting in Oak Creek, Wisconsin (Reuters)

Wade shot dead six people and injured three others, including a police officer, before he was shot dead by armed police.

Officially no motive has been disclosed, but yesterday it emerged that Page, whose name was released by US Attorney James A. Santelle, is a former army officer who fronted a neo-Nazi white supremacist band.

Page's band was called End Apathy and had recently given an interview to a local record label website in which he spoke about his "frustration that we have the potential to accomplish so much more as individuals and a society in whole [sic]."

Page's rampage comes just two weeks after James Holmes murdered 12 people and injured 51 others after opening fire in a cinema in Aurora, Colorado during a screening of new Batman film The Dark Knight Rises.

It was reported that he had purchased the 9mm handgun used in the rampage legally from a store in Wisconsin.

I would urge all Indian-Americans on BRF to contact their whatever Hindu, Indian, Indian-American or Indian professional organizations they may be aligned to and urge their leadership and representatives to take part in the grievance of the Gurudwara and the families of the dead, to write to them, to visit the place if possible, to take a public stand against this violence, and to demand a proper inquiry into this crime.

If 9/11 can have multiple commissions, then this hate crime also deserves a proper inquiry!

A forensic examination of the bullets fired, casings, sites of injuries should conclusively prove if more than one gunman was involved. Generally this sort of deductive work is trivial and will not be missed in Yamrika. If they say one gunman, then its one gunman.

Philip wrote: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldne ... thers.html

On Monday, the police said that they were seeking a second "person of interest". Officers want to speak to a man who was seen filming groups of Sikhs outside the temple after the attack. The man was captured on film by local news media and he too has a "9/11/01" tattoo on his upper right arm.
another indicator against the "lone nut" hypothesis.

shiv wrote:A forensic examination of the bullets fired, casings, sites of injuries should conclusively prove if more than one gunman was involved. Generally this sort of deductive work is trivial and will not be missed in Yamrika. If they say one gunman, then its one gunman.
Now doc ji puts his faith in the American system.

Whatever, this a heart renching crime and my condolenses to the relatives of the dead. I hope this is a one off and all those guilty are punished.

shiv wrote:A forensic examination of the bullets fired, casings, sites of injuries should conclusively prove if more than one gunman was involved. Generally this sort of deductive work is trivial and will not be missed in Yamrika. If they say one gunman, then its one gunman.
Why are you so sure of that ? Aren't these guys the same folks who misplaced the grenade timer and gave Pakistan a clean chit. They are only as honest as they are allowed to be, as is the case elsewhere in the world.

Is the insinuation that somehow Govt agencies were involved in this hence they are trying to save the 2nd gunman ?

Aditya_V wrote:
Now doc ji puts his faith in the American system.
Aditya, pinning it on one gunman (which I believe is the truth) is actually worse. That one guy who is now dead will be called an aberration and no effort will be expended on networks that promote this sort of hatred. He was after all an ex fauji. For the US that may be the biggest hate generating organization. I suppose I will mention lack of gun control again knowing that if the US ever becomes a failed state sometime in future, those 200 million plus guns will play a role in "wars to come" because I don't foresee the US being able to put a check on guns, and its relative peace is only because people still remain happy and law abiding enough not to make the US a Pakistan. No guarantee that this will last even for 50 years.

Nothing will actually change and conspiracy theories will only take the focus away from existing issues that are serious enough.

Anindya wrote:
Sikhs were probably in North America long before any other Indians were allowed in.
This is not strictly true - East Indians were brought to US shores starting as long back as 375 years ago - initially as slaves.
Yes, I read somewhere that the first Sikhs came in 1780s or so to work in fields in CA and inter married with the local Mexican women. I wonder what their descendents look like now.

kshatriya wrote:
When the news of the shootout broke out, CNN's breaking news had something like
"Shooting at Gurudwara.......

Sikhism was formed from Hinduism rejecting its caste system and Hindu scriptures" -Not sure how many people caught it. It was completely unnecessary.

In North America I've seen billboards about 1984 and money being collected for 1984.. Not sure really where it ends up
I don't think CNN used the word 'Gurdwara'. They said "temple" in text and mentioned the word "church" a few times. I think the Sikh gentleman might have said something about negating caste system (not sure), this is something that CNN loves to hear.

Hmm. So the killer at the Gurudwara had a "valid" gun license, with a character vouched by the local sherrif!

shiv wrote:Nothing will actually change and conspiracy theories will only take the focus away from existing issues that are serious enough.
Sir, these are two different issues. Existing social issues will continue to exist but when it comes to the question of 'motives behind murders' it's a completely different issue. As far as I have seen FBI has played no significant role than to cover-up the role of the other 3 suspect shooters and erase them from official narrative. This same trend can be seen crime-after-crime and shooting-after-random shooting, and from hereon I suspect that it is going to be more coverup to hide the intent and motive of the original incident. My theory is that in all these random shootings, there is a specific target and a lot of other people are also killed alongside to hide the original intent of the crime and show it up as an act by a 'white supremacist' or a 'charsi', both kinds of which are evidently available in US aplenty. The specific target may be a close relative of someone who is sought to be intimidated into not bearing witness to whatever.

Mind you the shooters are always 'white supremacist nutjobs' or 'charsi' nutjobs. This is like the Americans officialy looking upto the Egyptian civilization, Aztecs, Mayans and Babylonians for inspiration since well ... they are all dead. They would never ever make the mistake of looking upto a living civilization like the Hindus for instance. In somewhat similar mode, the defeated swastika symbol dhaari 'white supremacist' or 'charsi' is the root of all evil. The 'Christian supremacist' for instance until now has never been caught on a mass-killing spree though there are plenty of them there. Now all this is a matter of conspiracy & personal opinion and drags one down into low-caste level of an internet conspiracy theorist. But that is part of the routine and a natural consequence of speaking out in a way that deviates from mainstream. Just a ramble, so take it fwiw.

VikasRaina wrote:Is the insinuation that somehow Govt agencies were involved in this hence they are trying to save the 2nd gunman ?
What we have is a pattern of behavior in which authorities cover up the full truth about incidents. Take for example the so called "Underwear bomber", a well documented case. The Wiki page is well worth reading. A small excerpt -
On Christmas Day 2009, Abdulmutallab traveled from Ghana to Amsterdam, where he boarded Northwest Airlines Flight 253 en route to Detroit. He had purchased his ticket with cash in Ghana on December 16.[117] Eyewitnesses Kurt Haskell and Lori Haskell told the Detroit News that prior to boarding the plane they witnessed a "smartly dressed man" possibly of Indian descent, around 50 years old, and who spoke "in an American accent similar to my own." helping Abdulmutallab onto the plane.[118][119] They also testify that the ticket agent refused to allow Abdulmutallab on the plane because he did not have his own passport.[120] These circumstances underlie some of the passengers' speculations that the U.S. government supplied a defective device to the perpetrator and a man in a tan suit with an American accent intervened, the matter was referred to a manager, and Abdulmutallab was then able to board the plane, presumably still without a passport.[121]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Umar_Farouk_Abdulmutallab
The elephant in the room is of course the 9/11 attack itself, which was certainly staged, as is well known to any moderately well informed observer.

The elephant in the room is of course the 9/11 attack itself, which was certainly staged, as is well known to any moderately well informed observer

sigh

Pranav,
Can we give those theories a rest in this thread please? You have a whole thread in GDF for that.

Thnaks, ramana

Most likely the killer mistook the Sikhs for Muslims and attacked the temple during Ramzan month. Since the aftermath of 911 when a Sikh gas station owner was shot with that being treated as isolated issue a number of incidents have happened all over the US where Sikhs were attacked. Is there a wiki page on this issue?

over the last decade the US army has really scrapped the bottom of the barrel for its recruits and this is one of the results
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

Thank you surya ji
I wanted to post the same but with so much deviations in this thread refrained my self.

Absolutely the standards have been compromised and individuals with criminal background / convictions drug abuse have been inducted. There were CBS 60 minutes, ABC 20 20 programmes which highlighted these issues in 2004 2005. Also the recruiting teams had quotas to fill.

I was wondering if the WW II veterans had this much PTSD and indulged in crimes like this.

One reason for not being so could be that WW II was a just war.

The current wars are all blow back wars for US

Sorry for OT

pentaiah wrote:I was wondering if the WW II veterans had this much PTSD and indulged in crimes like this.
Sorry for OT
Slight OT, but was talking to a doctor on that day. She opined that WWII veterans are quite at peace. Most of the PTSD cases that come to her are Vietnam veterans. Veterans of the latest wars probably are in the pipeline and will surface in large numbers in a few years.
habal (raju?) is at it again, I see :)

ramana wrote:Pranav,
Can we give those theories a rest in this thread please? You have a whole thread in GDF for that.

Thnaks, ramana
One has be aware of context ...

Link to relevant thread, covering such issues and their historical background - http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... =24&t=5525
Johann

Post by Johann »

Surya wrote:over the last decade the US army has really scrapped the bottom of the barrel for its recruits and this is one of the results
There was a wave of high quality enlistments after 9/11, but the loss of trust and faith after Iraq reversed all of that.

I was talking to an American SF chap the other day that if he had been a couple of years younger and had come of age after 2003 he probably would have never joined at all given how profoundly he disagreed with the war.
Last edited by Johann on 08 Aug 2012 06:46, edited 1 time in total.

matrimc wrote:
pentaiah wrote:I was wondering if the WW II veterans had this much PTSD and indulged in crimes like this.
Sorry for OT
Slight OT, but was talking to a doctor on that day. She opined that WWII veterans are quite at peace. Most of the PTSD cases that come to her are Vietnam veterans.
The reasons are well documented and have even been discussed on BRF from time to time. But people who suffer from PTSD do not necessarily go on killing sprees. But those who go on killing sprees find it much easier with guns as opposed to any other weapon.

If you take the period 1900 to 2012 and plot the number of firearms available per capita in the world it tells a story that should serve as chapter 1 of the world in future.

This event is a double edged sword which can be used both to praise the US and criticise. The man shot and killed only 6 people. The police had an antiterrorist unit on the spot within minutes it seems. I am guessing here but the status of Milwaukee in the US is like say Nagpur or Mysore in India - a tier 3 city, and the response was creditable.

But praising the response takes away from the fact that the US has too many guns. The number of guns exceeds the number of civil people. It is easier for sociologists to point out that aggressive dog breeds like Rottweilers are more likely to be owned by sociopaths or criminals. The same holds true for guns I am sure. And there is no cure, within sight or out of sight.

KJoishy wrote: Yes, I read somewhere that the first Sikhs came in 1780s or so to work in fields in CA and inter married with the local Mexican women. I wonder what their descendents look like now.
OT but I believe it was Khushwant Singh who wrote that those Sikhs who survived the Pacific crossing in British bilges and landed in California were stunned not only to find women who looked familiar but also food--rajma (frijoles), roti (tortilla), mirchi (jalapeno) and onions. Even the spices were familiar--dhaniya and jeera. They settled in Yuba City, CA, a Sikh city even today.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

Shiv Saar
You are absolutely on dot in you analysis and causes that you discussed for the current situation. Some times what you write is "bluntly pointed" and in addition truth hurts.
I am not disputing your assertion on the availability of guns not just bolt action hunting rifle but assault rifles with unlimited ammo.

Legislating against guns in US is like abolishing reservations in Indian system and or like abolishing article 360of Indian constitution, in India we keep adding new laws to add to reservations, in US they pass new laws to legitimize even more powerful guns.

Sorry I am going OT here again

Victor,

That is correct. The first Indian origin congressman to be elected was Dalip Singh Saund in 1957 from California. He was a Sikh born in Delhi, but shorn of hair. He had a stroke in 1962 that kept him from running again.

http://www.politico.com/news/stories/08 ... html?hp=r7
Hillary Clinton eases Indian anger over Sikhs

Secretary of State Hillary Clinton called India’s foreign minister Monday after he criticized the United States for failing to protect religious minorities in the wake of Sunday’s massacre at a Sikh temple in Wisconsin.Clinton called S.M. Krishna while in South Africa, a State Department spokesman said at a press briefing yesterday. In New Delhi, the American ambassador met with Sikh leaders to express her condolences and visited the city’s largest Sikh temple. In Washington, Undersecretary of State for Political Affairs Wendy Sherman met with India’s ambassador to the U.S. to express her condolences.have seen messages of condolence from President [Barack] Obama and others,” Krishna said, according to The Associated Press. “They’ve emphasized protection of all faiths. The U.S. government will have to take a comprehensive look at this kind of tendency which certainly is not going to bring credit to the United States of America.”
he chief minister of Punjab province, where Sikhism was founded, sent a letter to India’s prime minister, Manmohan Singh, asking him to pressure the federal government to do more to protect American Sikhs.There is a growing feeling in the minds of the people of Punjabis in general and Sikhs in particular that the Government of India must get more actively and vigorously involved in getting the U.S. administration to address this issue in right earnest,” Parkash SinghBadal, the chief minister, wrote in his letter, according to a Punjabi news site.“There is also a strong feeling among the Sikhs masses about the need for a comprehensive awareness campaign by the U.S. government about the identity and highly constructive role of the Sikh community in that country. Such an initiative should have been taken immediately after violent attacks against members of the Sikh community in the wake of 9/11.”

Victor, The main Sikh immigration to North America was after Queen Victoria's jubilee celebrations. A large number of Sikhs visited Canada (Dominion) and settled down. Some of them went south and settled in Imperial Valley California. Due to the immigration policy of US at that time, which forbade immigration of women, some of them married Hispanics and settled down.

I have a book on Indian immigration written as PhD thesis from Uty of Berlin by S. Das who did the field surveys in mid 1920s. He later became a civl magistrate in Dacca.

Immigration policy really changed during the Johnson Great Society decade of the mid 60s.

Currently rural farm trucks are driven by Sikhs in CA.

Was watching "Body of Lies" last night and it struck me that not all CT on BRF are really CT. There might be some bit of truth in them.
Not every incident is just an "incident". Maybe there is bigger plan in motion. To give a analogy from cricket,sometimes a bowler sets up the batsman with
a dummy ball and then comes the sucker punch.
Who knows if the shooting incidents in Colorado and now in Milwaukee maybe pointers to something more sinister which we may never be aware of on regular news channels.

matrimc wrote:
Sorry for OT
Slight OT, but was talking to a doctor on that day. She opined that WWII veterans are quite at peace. Most of the PTSD cases that come to her are Vietnam veterans. Veterans of the latest wars probably are in the pipeline and will surface in large numbers in a few years.
habal (raju?) is at it again, I see :)
Just one small thing to point out against the PTSD angle. This nutjob wasn't in a frontline unit that would have seen combat, he served in a missile unit as a repairman and later in a psyops unit, which are both jobs that don't see combat exposure generally. Second, he never served in a war anyway. He was enlisted from 1992-1998, a time when USA was not at war.

Mort Walker wrote:Victor,

That is correct. The first Indian origin congressman to be elected was Dalip Singh Saund in 1957 from California. He was a Sikh born in Delhi, but shorn of hair. He had a stroke in 1962 that kept him from running again.
In the elections, he beat Jacqueline Cochrane, the loudmouth flying diva who was a favourite of that other loudmouth Chuck Yeager (of getting-bombed-by-Arun-Prakash-during-1971 fame). Apparently she never got over that defeat.
pentaiah

Post by pentaiah »

1992 -1998 Overt Not. but yes covert wars (one such was Bosnia and Chechnya).

Also time for extensive video / CCTV cameras at all entry exit and prayer halls inside Gurudwaras and temples. They are so cheap to buy and install (from SAms or BJs) every Indian store has them not to mention Korean Liquor stores 7-11 stores
member_23687

Post by member_23687 »

Carl wrote:
BobbyP wrote:Over the last 25 years or so, I have noticed that the Sikh community in North America has socially withdrawn from the other Indian communities, at least in large cities and towns where Sikhs have sizable populations. I would like to urge all our Sikh brothers to come back and join the rest of us Indians back to form one strong and powerful community.
Well then "other Indian communities" should also step forward in this time of tragedy and come out in support of estranged Sikhs. The Council of Hindu Temples of NA and other Indic orgs should come out and condemn the incident, and other Indians in the neighborhood could come out to support the bereaved, and demonstrate solidarity in front of the media.

Ever since I came to the US I've been a regular at Gurudwaras, and always felt welcome. Yes, at times I do run into the Khalistan types, but even with them I have a heart-to-heart pretty quickly. A lot of their grievance is purely human - without any Pakiness about being TFTA versus SDRE, as is sometimes portrayed. One Sikh professor I knew organized a program on campus with videos of the 1984 riots, etc. I (accompanied by another Indian Sikh friend and a Hare Krishna brahmachari!) were in the audience and during question time we asked what was the need to have such a conference in front of some suspicious looking Americans. Did they think that we didn't feel for the widows of that ugly riot, or that we are Indira Gandhis supporters? The professor (and some younger US-born Sikhs) answered that they constantly felt insulted, humiliated and patronized by Hindus, for quite some time. They quotes folks like Swami Dayananda, and even Gandhi, who supposedly opined that Punjabi was an uncivilized language, and that meat-eating in Sikhism makes them less dharmic. Also, the Hindu-Sikh politics during British rule is well-known, and Punjabi identity itself has been under attack, with Hindus choosing Hindi and Moslems choosing Urdu, and Sikhs being the sole repository of Punjabi culture. So in many ways they have grievances, and the Briturds added their own Macauliff mischief.

So its just another slap when, in a time of tragedy, other Indians sit and sanctimoniously preach to Sikhs that this is their karmic retribution for becoming estranged from the rest of us. These are not the instinctive reactions of people connected by the womb. Instead, it may help to show some warmth, some fellow-feeling and outrage at what has happened.

Please see the link below. This has also been posted elsewhere on this thread or others, I think by Acharya.

http://www.hafsite.org/Dharma_community ... _Americans

I know people in Hindu American Foundation and have been a member, albeit, not a very active one, I am afraid. But I spoke to a few people in this organization a couple of days ago and they said that they have already contacted the Sikh temple of Wisconsin through the national Sikh organizations in North America offering help and support and were in the process of issuing a press communique. It seems that it has come out.

I say again, not only this, but many many other Hindu organizations in North America have come out with heartfelt and unconditional support (as it should be) for the Sikhs in Noth America and around the world in this hour of tragedy and grief.

Now once things calm down, everyone including the Sikhs in North America should use this tragedy to introspect about how "peaceful" (the American airwaves are inundated with Sikhs proclaiming they are a peaceful people and a peaceful religion) they have been vis-a-vis their brothers - the Hindus. The Sikhs like to claim that there are only 5% Khalistanis among them, the rest are all normal, peace loving and Indians. Then I urge the mainstream Sikhs to come out more forcefully against the Khalistanis, speak out against them, fight them within the religious councils and Sikhs religious and social organizations and expel this element, banishing them into scrap heap of history. The mainstream Sikhs should declare these elements who collaborate with the Pakis, who put up pictures of terrorists and scum in their Gurudwaras, Temples and places of worship, who celebrate their death anniversaries with more violence, who foolishly think that the Pakis and Muslims who have demonstrated that they cannot co-exist with anybody, be it Hindu, Christian, Jews or Zorastrians, Bahais, Buddhists, or anyone else, will not only co-exist but help Khalistan be a proud, self respecting nation, the mainstream Sikhs should declare them a disgrace to Sikhism and all of humanity. I urge the mainstream Sikhs to stop concealing their Indian identity in North America by claiming to be from Punjab. I also urge the mainstream Sikhs to purge all Gurudwaras and places of worship and congregations of this Khalistani scourge. I also urge the mainstream Sikhs to ex-communicate these bottom feeders from the Sikh religion. Lastly, I urge all mainstream Sikhs to socially boycott these less than humans who falsely call themselves "Sikhs" and perpetuate monstrosities in the name of a genuinely peace loving religion.

I urge the mainstream Sikhs to do all the above in their own interest. I say this as a brother and as a brother, I urge them to use common sense. The Sikhs should do it not because it is morally right, which it is, but because in practical terms their security and the rest of Indians' too, all over the world, but particularly in the "yet again race radicalized" West including the US depends on all of us being a large ocean, rather than small muddy puddles. A larger Pan-Indian community will be far more difficult to attack by our enemies than small entities, which can be picked off one by one and dispatched in pretty short order.

And lastly, Carl......for you to bring up Swami Dayanand's and Gandhi's isolated and out of context statements to justify terrorism and indulge in hate mongering, is frankly pathetic. They may have many other flaws, as all individuals do, but only an idiot will brand Swami Dayanand and Gandhi intolerant.

Forgiveness and peace is the theme:
http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/au ... reek-vigil

AJC.org spokeman David Harris, mentioned all the six dead by name and shared the grief in the Osgood radio show.

I have not yet seen one Indian origin publication which names all the people.

NPR had an interview with an older Sikh professor on the changing life in US since he first came in 1972.
Very illuminating. He didn't face any issues in Wisconsin but in Texas after the Tehran Embassy hostage crisis he was threatened with a gun.
member_23367

Post by member_23367 »

Film being shot by Amardeep Kaleka,Son of Satwant Singh Kaleka,Who was shot at the Temple.This documentary relates to UFO's and promises massive coverups by GOTUS.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/261360616/sirius
member_23687

Post by member_23687 »

ramana wrote:AJC.org spokeman David Harris, mentioned all the six dead by name and shared the grief in the Osgood radio show.

I have not yet seen one Indian origin publication which names all the people.
For what it is worth, I just sent an email to Hindu American Foundation stating that as a member I strongly feel that your communique, which otherwise was very strong, clear, supportive and sensitive to this tragedy, should have included names of the murdered individuals and remembered each one of them.

http://i.imgur.com/MqXhi.jpg

liked this fb pic post from somebody

BobbyP, I knew your heart is good. I needed to shock you to let it overrule the mind.
member_23687

Post by member_23687 »

ramana wrote:BobbyP, I knew your heart is good. I needed to shock you to let it overrule the mind.

Thanks Ramana and thanks for questioning me.

We all have demons inside of us. While it is important for us to stand our ground (which I try to do, as a son, as a husband, as a father, in my work, as an Indian, as a human being and yes, even as a Hindu), it is very important that in standing our ground we dont cross that line into hate. I am very aware of my own demons and try to fight them consciously, to the extent that is humanly possible. Any help from you or anyone else in fighting my own demons is appreciated.

But I still standby a lot of the points I made up there. I made those points with no hate, but regrets and I standby them with no hate, but regrets and also hope.