The 2012 Olympics Thread

Re: The 2012 Olympics Thread

^^ Yup...the wrestling seems most efficient since 2 medals out of 5 whereas boxing delivered 1/7 and shooting 2/10 or 12!!

Well done Sushil Kumar. Isn't he railway ministry chap? Hope they give him and others more support. He'll definitely be awarded for his success.

congrats ! first Indian to have individual medals in 2 consecutive olympics.

^^ Dang, so my dream of having the anthem played in London remains a dream.... Hope we get to hear the same in Rio.

Btw, even Mongolia had their most succesful Oly ever this edition

Meanwhile, Birtannia marches onto 62 medals with 28 gold :eek: :eek:
Comer

Post by Comer »

Great going Sushil!
Har Har Mahadev! Best olympics ever and the momentum looks good!

what's good to see is the cont. improvement. from zero to 1B,1B,1S,1G-2B to this.

predictions from 2008. :wink:
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 10#p528210

time to start predictions for 2016 Rio.
I will start. 12 medals overall with at least 2 golds.

only after we get 30+ medals (and 10G) in consecutive OG should the idea of hosting this event even be discussed.

until then let us just develop sports and get the overall country fitter.

Sushil Kumar, shabaash! Well done!

^^ The Uzbek and kazakh wrestlers look like they have walked out of some mafia movies...cant even imagine how people are ready to even stand iin front of them, forget about wrestling with gorillas like these!!

Meanwhile, kazakhs lap up one more gold in boxing by demolishing the British boxer in finals of 69 kg boxing match

Wrestler Sushil Kumar was unwell before the final and it affected him in the gold medal bout, says team manager Raj Singh.

"He ate something before the final. He vomitted three times and was down with a bad stomach. So the dehydration affected him big time before the final and was unable to give his best in the final."

Sushil also injured his shoulder in the semis but his bad stomach affected him more.
Not sure if it was required to give these excuses since he still fought very well and there is nothing to be apolegitic about

How did our Indian subcontinental "brothers" PAK and BD perform?
TFTA Pak should be hauling in truckloads of Golds because they are fair, strong and good-looking. :)

sum wrote:^^ The Uzbek and kazakh wrestlers look like they have walked out of some mafia movies...cant even imagine how people are ready to even stand iin front of them, forget about wrestling with gorillas like these!!
sum, the Uzbek and Kazakh wrestlers you refer to looked upto this man. The original beast.

do you remember the clip from Rocky series where Rocky goes to Russia and trains by practicing hauling a log behind him in foot deep snow. He was copying what Karelin used to do everyday during the Siberian winter.

Saturday night, Taymazov won his third Olympic gold in the 264.5-pound class of freestyle wrestling. He also won a silver medal at the 2000 Olympics.
"When I was young, I saw pictures of Karalin, and I wanted to be like him," said Taymazov.
http://www.visaliatimesdelta.com/usatod ... Sports%7Cp
Ardeshir

Post by Ardeshir »

KJoishy wrote:How did our Indian subcontinental "brothers" PAK and BD perform?
TFTA Pak should be hauling in truckloads of Golds because they are fair, strong and good-looking. :)
I was lurking on the deaf and dumb forum, precisely for this. A lot of takleef that Bakistanis didn't win in mardana tfta sports like wrestling, shooting and archery. :rotfl:

Singha wrote:yadav ram singh finished 78th in 2:30:06

our NR is 2:12 set by Shivnath singh way back in 1978 , 35 yrs ago - goes to show nobody has been seriously pursing this line of work, hard as it is.

our next oldest NR is the 3000m steeplechase record of Gopal Saini set in 1981. didnt he win AG gold in delhi 1982 ?

bahadur prasad holds the NR in 1500m and 5000m set in 1995 and 1992.

just goes to show how weak our pipeline is. there is no pipeline. here and there some brilliant individuals emerge but are helpless due to the tactical pack attacks of the more pipeline oriented teams in matchplay competition.

on women side PT Usha 400m hurdles OG time , 3000m Molly chacko in 1994 and Marathon record of vally satyabhama in 1995 still stand.
I though you are part of the pipeline :)

only for the senior citizens OG sire. this time next yr I will be past the 40 mark and as you know will be auto-classified in ranking both in general and O40 category....hence my ranking would definitely improve :)

Congratulations! Sushil for standing up to the media hype!! You are the MAN!!

So the dehydration affected him big time before the final and was unable to give his best in the final.
Had somebody given him gatorade(not water) about 15+ minutes before match it would have made a lot of difference.

We are on the right track!!! All we need to do is

1. Reward and advertise these athletes on the same scale as Tendulkar, etc. Tendulkar gets to play everyday while these guys/gals only play once every six months or so.

2. Instead of ditching other sports (like Hockey) We should fix the administration issues between IHF and HI. Fire all the managers (including Batra and his ilks) and start over. Indian players are not bad and they can come back easily! Hockey infrastructure with astroturf at all major cities plus smaller cities like Chandigarh, mohali, jalandhar, ludhiana, kanpur, lucknow! is right there to advance to next level (on the brink). There is way too much experimentation going on ! I didn't understood the hype behind Walmiki (selected and then dropped) and Uthappa (who was really really bad) and the forwards (Khandekar, Sunil, Raghunath) are not able to convert or step up to the big stage but are good enough for Asian games level. Administration is making blunders again and again. Field Hockey has a long history in Olympics and without support of Indian masses (like they do with Cricket) field hockey won't survive in 25+ years. India is a big enough country to
diversify sports and instead of ditching one for another it should be all march forward.

3. We are right there among the top in Shooting, Wrestling, Boxing, Archery!! We would have done much better but for the idiotic media hype and mental pressure that our players (shooting, Archery) could not handle. Media and Audience need to be kept away from such concentration sports., while I saw our audience cheering and yelling in both Archery and Shooting competition where pin drop silence is needed for concentration and people only cheer during the Podium.

4. The small town athletes like Dipika kumari/Kashyap/Ikram should be cheered and given at least 1 crore but qualifying and getting there almost!! She will sure win a medal at Rio!!!

5. This is the best every Olympic haul by India!! let's celebrate! I was predicting 5 medals and we got 6!!

I predict 12 medals for Rio with at least 4 Golds in Badminton, Shooting, Archery, Wrestling and Boxing and Silvers/Bronzes in Rowing, Athletics, Hockey, and may be we can hope that some of our athletes qualified (not through quota but by competition) in sports like Gymnastics, Judo, Taekwondo, Swimming!! At least start getting people ready for these medal rich sports.

Yadav's time of 2:30 is pretty disappointing. London is normally considered a fast course. I know the Olympic course would be different than the one they normally use to hold the annual marathons, which is probably the reason the Gold medallist is around 4 min slower than normal. Yadv's time is equal to the women's 30 the position! We have a long, long way to go in long distance running.

well the fact our natl record has stood for so long tells its own tale.
kenya gambled on absolute latest form by selecting the winners of this yrs london and rotterdam marathons one of whom was later injured and replaced...left out geoffrey mutai .. only to have the ugandan lad steal the gold they thought they had sewn up!

goes to show in OG nothing is 100%.

imo at that level, even the top guns seem to vary within a range of around 7-10min from event to event....nobody wins all the time unlike say in 100m or 200m like bolt or blake does...its a kind of rotation among around 10 people based on which phase cycle of the 10 minute window they are in on any given day....10m is like 3-4km for such people. and nobody seems to last at the top for more than 5 yrs...the 4th guy Meb is in that sense a very freakishly long lived person at the top...he won a silver in 2004, which is 8 yrs ago.
the demands on the body must be fairly brutal even for the best of best.

Singha: There is still hope for you. This guy is 37 yrs old from massa land and he finished fourth! :D He is 5'5" and 126 lb and not at all TFTA! Born in Eritrea.

Wrestling is really the only discipline in which we really showed fighting spirit, to repeatedly come back from behind and win. Both Yogeshwar Dutt and Sushil Kumar did what our boxers, archers and shooters could not do - thrive under pressure. Are there any learnings from our wrestling preparation, for other sports ?

Singha - You're spot on in saying that the gap between the top 10 in most events is statistically insignificant. Just because someone was world's no X, or a medalist from the last Olympics means little. Only way we can be more sure of medals, is to have a much larger pool of players with 3-4 people providing close competition to our Olympic qualifier and our representatives themselves having a higher no of recent performances of medal winning standard.

SBajwa wrote: 1. Reward and advertise these athletes on the same scale as Tendulkar, etc. Tendulkar gets to play everyday while these guys/gals only play once every six months or so.

Wonder how that can be possible? Are we looking at sport communism :p
Who is the 'we' that pays Sachin Tendulkar? He is the top guy in the most popular sport and gets remunerated from various sources accordingly.
It is like saying we need to make sure a great theatre artist needs t be paid on par with Amitabh or Salman Khan.
It's like this : the more people you are able to entertain, the more you get rich.

Prasant wrote:
KJoishy wrote:How did our Indian subcontinental "brothers" PAK and BD perform?
I was lurking on the deaf and dumb forum, precisely for this. A lot of takleef that Bakistanis didn't win in mardana tfta sports like wrestling, shooting and archery. :rotfl:
linky please. I went to see bhuka nanga krikit phorum. and what do I see, typical underestimation of desh. :mrgreen:

^^^Why the comparison of India with garbage?
I kindly ask that we not post links to terroristan sites.
Should not the comparison be with at least South Korea and Japan in medal counts?

mort saheb, there were specific reasons for not linking D&D fora (to stop shadow discussions between BR and those fora) that are not applicable in this case. we allow linking paki fora in specific threads and situations.

and nobody is comparing India with any country.

Sorely disappointed to see Sushil lose the final :( Congratulations to him, nevertheless. Clearly wrestling is not getting its due attention here - along with shooting it is now our most successful Olympic sport.

I fancied his chances against Yonemitsu, after that inspiring semifinal come-from-behind performance against Tanatarov. The Japanese was like the Kazakh - fast and agile, while Sushil was like a boa constrictor. As the firstpost article about him noted - he almost always made a throwdown count, scoring more than one point each time. On the other hand, he frequently got away when at the receiving end. The reason was his significantly greater strength to hold down his opponents. It flies in the face of the earlier suggestion that we avoid sports where strength is the main arbitrator.

even yogeshwar showed that he was much stronger than his opponent.

wrestling used to be a favorite game in Indian villeges. Perhaps it still is but pressures of economy and earning ones livelihood becoming difficult in villages, it is on the wane. This is rooted in Indic system. If you recall stories from Ramayana and mahabharata, wrestling was a must and several competitions were mentioned. Bhim and Suyodhan were great wrestlers and Krishna and Balram , Jarashandh as well.
Perhaps Anglic education with its emphasis on bookish learning and earning has taken its toll on Indic roots.

Prasant wrote: I was lurking on the deaf and dumb forum, precisely for this. A lot of takleef that Bakistanis didn't win in mardana tfta sports like wrestling, shooting and archery. :rotfl:
Just imagine the heights the Pakis would have reached if they had sent their top-flight world beating shooting team.
What form. What poise. What delicate balance.

Poor guys, done in by cunning Hindooo baniya paaltiks. :(( :((

Early impressions:

Boxing: Improve training systems. Sandhu is a legend as a coach, but still old school. I don't agree with his 'north Indians are aggressive but not smart, southies are smart but lack killer instinct' silliness. These mindsets need to go. He's retiring after these games. I hope the newer coaches teach versatility to deal with new scoring systems, and help the 5 boxers we have who are all 19-20 now, to at least AG medaling standard.

Wrestling: Not getting it's due. It gave us 2 Olympic medals in 2 days, and 3 from the last 2 Olympics. Our coaches and players looked poorly equipped in threadbare jackets and accessories. It felt a bit bad seeing two obviously happy SDRE coaches on the sidelines wearing training apparel that's seen better days - even the NoKos seemed like they funded their team better.

Shooting: We lack depth in the men's categories, and don't have even AG standard women, much less OG standard. Coach Sunny Thomas was good for the purposes of creating this foundation, but by his own admission, he lacks the coaching and training technical expertise of peers elsewhere. Lacking in large bore events - we have folks like Manavjit and Ronjan, but they have to do most of the training on their own time and dime.

Tennis: Punked by Bhup/Bop. At least Paes/Bhupathi or Sania/Bhupathi were strong contenders. We could create neither team. No medal potential for Rio - not enough depth.

Hockey: Sorry, no chance in either 2016 or 2020 unless the hockey league unearths some great TFTA-built talent.

Archery: Overall, I'll just say we performed to potential, which was not much. WC rankings are misleading. Our teams lacked depth and performance at this level. However, the foundation is present, with Deepika being the first of a new generation of archers from Tata Archery Academy. Needs more talent spotting and rigorous training. We need at least 2 people per men's and women's team capable of medaling at individual AG level, to be real contenders at OG level.

Badminton: Give Gopichand whatever he needs. Everything else needed to build around Saina's accomplishments is already there. Potential singles medal for Saina or Sindhu in Rio. We need at multiple top 20 ranked doubles teams - MD, WD and XD. The Koreans made this their SOP - avoid the Chinese depth in singles by focusing on doubles.

There are many other medal rich sports we can target:
* rowing, canoeing, kayaking (the Army program has already made us AG gold medal standard)
* weightlifting (yes doping is almost certain, but do it properly, like the Chinese, and don't get caught)
* judo and taekwondo (those too agile for wrestling can be trained in judo. Those who are too MMA for boxing might be good training bets for taekwondo)
* diving (the yanks and brits have shown the Chinese aren't impregnable here)

It boils down to improving upon the existing standard of training professionalism. There's only so much money can do. There's really no substitute for training standards. One can have all the raw talent needed, like the East Africans in running, but it takes hard training ultimately.
Ardeshir

Post by Ardeshir »

Rahul M wrote: linky please. I went to see bhuka nanga krikit phorum. and what do I see, typical underestimation of desh. :mrgreen:
Enjoy! :mrgreen:

http://forum.pakistanidefence.com/index.php?showtopic=99670

Pakistan has great friends in the form of Turkey, Iran and obviously China. These guys have the expert coaching in sports like wrestling, boxing, weight lifting and yet we have never asked for their help. 

Although i think we can put somebody in boxing and weightlifting at least, and get a SSG in marathon! 

And its crazy that those little chinese people have more athletes than us 

Pakistan Army have quite alot of sports team like Basketball, swimming and Football etc.. I wonder why don't they partcipate in it as individuals or group represent the country 
:((
Fidel Guevara

Post by Fidel Guevara »

sum wrote:Meanwhile, Birtannia marches onto 62 medals with 28 gold :eek: :eek:
After all events and analysis and joy and heartbreak and "we came THIS close" recriminations coming from 200 nations, immigration-friendly capitalist Anglo-Saxon nations top the chart (88 Gold and 235 total medals from 438 million people), with the 1.4 billion people controlled by a Nazi-esque sports machine acting as a keeda. Just as the USSR and GDR were a keeda for 40 years, this keeda shall also (eventually) pass into the dustbin of history.

One or two talented youths identified early and given special coaching will do more for our medal count, than all of BRF presenting the most well-thought-out and cogent analyses. Sorry for the downbeat tone, but now I'll go back to kirket. I am tired of doing my Olympics research and analysis every evening.

Cheers to all, and congrats to our valiant medal winners.
Last edited by Fidel Guevara on 12 Aug 2012 22:59, edited 1 time in total.

thx Prashant. some much needed entertainment after watching those blood boiling pics from mumbai.
Fidel Guevara

Post by Fidel Guevara »

Rahul M wrote:thx Prashant. some much needed entertainment after watching those blood boiling pics from mumbai.
Yes, let's get back to reality. Jihadists and MNCs and MICs and CPC are not taking a 2 week Olympic break! :D

(EDIT - well, maybe CPC is taking an Olympic break, but certainly not the others)

Pakistan Army have quite alot of sports team like Basketball, swimming and Football etc.. I wonder why don't they partcipate in it as individuals or group represent the country 
:((

That's very simple! None of the olympic sports like basketball, swimming and football allow unarmed wimmen and children to participate against the mighty paki army teams.

what pics from mumbai

what did I miss?

ok i missed it and yes got my blood boiling ..

thanks Marten and Rahul

I found the opening ceremonies to be pretty childish and badly done. The closing ceremony is as bad or worse. The stars of the show are 70-something pop stars from the 60s and 70s. Our CWG ceremonies were far, far better IMO.