Hero Sarabjit Singh

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Hero Sarabjit Singh

Knew what ? What will a thread in a little known forum do ?

It is hypocritical to have waited till this helpless man was murdered to declare him a hero - as hypocritical as putting the full weight of a state funeral for him. He was yet another Indian killed by Pakis and even yesterday when TV channels got bored of showing his funeral pyre and mourning relatives, they went back to IPL where a Pakis was telling us about the game.

As an OT aside, those who think that anything is going to change with a change of government (if any) please wake me up when that change ocurs.

How about you ignore this thread and keep away as you font appreciate it?
Karan Dixit

Post by Karan Dixit »

My prayers are with Sarabjeet's family. May he attain Nirvana. He was indeed a hero.

ramana wrote:How about you ignore this thread and keep away as you font appreciate it?
How about you doing a better job of forum administration and keeping all off topic posts and political whinery out? These forums have always reflected the preferences of the admins and it is no different now.
Karan Dixit

Post by Karan Dixit »

SBajwa wrote:Sarabjit Singh's sister Dalbir kaur on media (in Hindi)

http://khabar.ndtv.com/video/show/news/273160
She is a brave woman. I just wish entire India could watch this tape. There was an unmatched gravity in her speech.

Dalbir kaur has taken up initiative to save all her "brothers" languishing in pakistani jails. Jamwal We should support her! There are 54 identified Indian prisoners in Pakistani jails and we don't know how many more are there. There are some POWs from 1971 war still there (in their 60s now if surviving) .
Karan Dixit

Post by Karan Dixit »

Some members on this forum can certainly learn a thing or two from Dalbir Kaur on what to say and what not to say in a moment of hardship. What a great woman she is. God bless her.

ramana wrote:How about you ignore this thread and keep away as you font appreciate it?
How about you doing a better job of forum administration and keeping all off topic posts and political whinery out? These forums have always reflected the preferences of the admins and it is no different now.

Each and every aspect of Indian stare is constitutionally subservient to the elected civilian govts and the (supposedly) wise want to discuss Indian interests without questioning those political masters.

Cognitive dissonance at work!
Karan Dixit

Post by Karan Dixit »

RamaY,

I take it that you did not hear the plea of Dalbir Kaur. She asked entire Hindustan to unite behind MMS. She said this is not the time to be BJP or Congress. This is the time to be a Hindustani.

Do you think it is appropriate to be rolling on the floor laughing on a thread which is supposed to be homage to Sarabjeet Singh?
Last edited by Karan Dixit on 04 May 2013 07:56, edited 1 time in total.

Karanji,

I an not that patriotic to standby the enemies of Bharat. I am sorry.
sadhana

Post by sadhana »

RIP. Terrible to think of what he must have endured (on India and Indians' behalf). Brave and classy family.
Last edited by sadhana on 04 May 2013 21:49, edited 1 time in total.
member_26011

Post by member_26011 »

Karan Dixit wrote:

She is a brave woman. I just wish entire India could watch this tape. There was an unmatched gravity in her speech.
I seethe with her and wish for her call to catch like wildfire across India.

Ok. This thread has claimed one member already. Who wants to join?

KJoishy wrote:Being jailed does not make one a hero. It makes one more of a victim. I don't know what Sarabjit Singh did, but to be a hero in my book, he has to have killed 10 Pakis.

Either way, bhagwan unke aatma ko shaanti de.
Kjo if you don't have something good to say in a
memorial thread its a good idea to not say anything.

You have two reports on this aspect.

Warning issued.

Inshallah!!!May a 1000 Pakis die screaming for every Sarabjit..

Best way of giving shradhanjali is to show as much of this photo on facebook, via emails to as many fellow bharatvasis as possible, go on IPL facebook addresses and lodge protests against porki commentators, artists:

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 3#p1451951

We should start taking Pakistani hostages - relatives of Jernails and Feudals, Navy ships, pieces of land, etc. as a currency for exchange of prisoners with Pakistan!

It is sad that India has not developed the national strength to have secured Sarbjit Singh's release.
India did fail Sarbjit Singh. All Indians feel the shame of dereliction of this duty.

Dilbu wrote:RIP brother. We failed you. :(

Only way to avenge this is a bomb the sh!t out of that Kot Lakhpat craphole and all the small bits & pieces of that should be taken as momentos back to India.

farewell thee well Sarabjit sir, you were a true hero.

feel like ripping out the testicles off Kayani and shoving it into Imran's mouth.

habal wrote:feel like ripping out the testicles off Kayani and shoving it into Imran's mouth.
too many assumptions!

Guys this is a homage thread for Sarabjit Singh, not to put forward violent fantasies about what you will do to Paks or to blame the "traitorous" government... Once again, do not bring your political leanings into each and every thread.
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

A superb article by the former ambassador. Worth reading in full.

Chronicle of a death foretold - Rajiv Dogra
As in Delhi, so in Lahore, the leaves on trees are in their green shiny splendour when they burst out in February. By April their bloom is gone and in May they are plain dull. If he could see a tree from his death cell, Sarabjit may have watched its leaves wither with a sense of foreboding.

His death was certain.

Its intimations hung in the Kot Lakhpat air like a bad omen. The vile behaviour of the assigned killer squad, his fellow death-row inmates, their ugly jostling, their abuses and their warnings that they would get him soon, were all meant to make him die a thousand deaths before the inevitable.[/b]

Sarabjit knew he was a marked man. That’s why he wrote to his sister that he saw death dancing over his head.
Death orchestrates a range of emotions. Its certainty must have made Sarabjit cogitate.

His life was short, the actual liveable life was just a score plus years, another score were spent in the Kot Lakhpat. And every night he must have thought of the two young daughters whom he had cradled in his arms as children, but missed out seeing them blossom.

His eyes must have misted over as he thought of his family, especially his sister who was championing his case like a fearless lioness.

He was a helpless man in chains. Otherwise, he had felled many a foe in the fields of his village, They were, of course, playful challenges of a village wrestling match, their memory brought a smile to his parched lips every time he thought of his youth and of his joy at pinning down yet another friend.

Presently, there was the reality of a cramped cell and its putrid smell. There were the noises too; the shouts and the taunts of the assigned killers who were staying in the cells around him. Sarabjit must have found sleep difficult till exhaustion forced his eyelids shut.

But just before sleeping he must have nodded sadly to himself and repeated what he had been telling himself for the last 23 years in Kot Lakhpat; ‘This is hell.’

When they came, they were accompanied by the state. Two armed prison guards were standing by just in case things got unruly; after all Sarabjit was strong of body. But the guns were not needed.

The iron rods were enough. The blows were surgically delivered with the sure hand of professionals who knew which part of the brain to attack, and what length of spine to rupture.

They did their job competently and dragged him to his cell to bleed. In the two hours before his death and before he was pro-forma taken to the hospital, Sarabjit must have wondered about the irony of his situation. With a name like Sarabjit he was meant to conquer all. But here he was; lying defeated and prostrate on the ground.

Would he have felt relieved at this final release? Or would he have raged impotently at his cruel fate? Perhaps, in his last moments, he felt betrayed by the country he loved. He may even have thought bitterly that his was a ‘chronicle of a death foretold’. Yet he was not saved. Before closing his eyes one last time, he would surely have thanked his family; his sister, his wife and his daughters who wailed for him loudly and often to the nation.

Sarabjit’s was not a long journey; most of it was spent anyway in the Kot Lakhpat jail. He had not planned it to be so, circumstances had contrived it that way. But he had one regret all through his incarceration; if only he could rewind time and see his daughters grow up. For the rest he was resigned to what the fate had slated for him.

Still, if by some miracle the dead could come back to life and Sarabjit was there to see the crowds at his funeral, their vast numbers may have brought a smile to his lips.

Perhaps he may even have thought that his sacrifice had been worth this moment.

On the other hand, on seeing the leaders push ahead of the crowd, he might have cynically shaken his head and said to himself, ‘they are jostling for political advantage even as my body is being consigned to flames.’

And then, he would have wondered whether anyone would visit his family once his ashes had been scattered in the village wind.

Indeed, death opens many wounds. Sarabjit may even have whispered angrily to the politicians among the mourners, “Why mourn from a distance? If you are serious, come close to me and say in my ear that you are sorry. Had you really tried, I could have lived.”

Sarabjit has gone. His memory too will fade away. That’s the way it is. But even as he was dying, the nation died many deaths with him. For a week Pakistan kept up the charade that prayers could revive him.

We in India believed them. We didn’t even ask for the medical report which would have told us that our prayers might bring relief to his soul, not to his butchered body. But even as the nation grieved believingly, it asked itself questions. What do we do to prevent future Sarabjits from happening?

How do you deal with a neighbour like Pakistan?

There are no easy answers to the questions that we have been asking for the last 65 years. The real challenge for Indians is whether we must be tolerant of a neighbour so murderously intolerant of us.

Karan Dixit wrote:

She is an amazing woman. It is worth pondering that she is not exceptional in India.

Sarabjit could have avoided the torture by taking the paki offer to turn traitor, but stood fast. Does that qualify him to be a hero?

He could have converted.

is Kot Lakhpat Named after Traitor Lakhpat Rai ?

Sanallah insulted the Prisoner and the religion/country (read Hindu/India) who assaulted him in turn.

Sarabjit Singh:

nainam chindhanthi sasthraani nainan dhahathi paavakah
na ch'ainam kle'dhayanthy aapo' na so'sayathi maarutah

No weapon can cleave him; nor the fire burn him,
no waters can make him wet, nor the wind dry him up

Shaheed Ki Vidayee

Sarabjit Singh's lawyer, Owais Sheikh and his son Shahrukh kidnapped in Lahore.

by Jujhar

is Kot Lakhpat Named after Traitor Lakhpat Rai ?
Not that one!! There is another Lakhpat Rai (along with his brother Jaspat Rai) who were "Diwan" of Lahore under Mughals.

Actually it was during Maharaja Ranjit Singh Period. Maharaja Ranjit Singh's father Mahan singh died when Ranjit Singh was only 12 years old. The Diwan of his estate was Diwan Lakhpat Rai. Diwan Lakhpat Rai helped Ranjit Singh during his early teen age years. When Ranjit Singh became Maharaja of Lahore he granted Jagir to Diwan Lakhpat Rai's around Lahore. This Kot Lakhpat Rai is that jagir.

Just like Heera Mandi in Lahore is the name of the another Jagir granted to the son of Raja Dhian Singh (Dogra) named Heera Singh.

Just like Jalianwala Bagh in Amritsar was a Jagir granted to one "Pandit Jalla" of Benaras by Maharaja Ranjit singh. Pundit ji actually created a "Bagh" in that Jagir and retired somewhere in Himalayas. So the Bagh or "Garden" became from "Jalla da Bagh" to "Jalianwala Bagh" in later years.

The area around Lahore's "Sheranwala Gate" was also give as a jagir to some prominent Punjabi Hindus along with the construction of the Gate.

There are lots of areas in Lahore (not like Qadaffi Stadium) for which research is needed.