TheIn a dig at BJP, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Wednesday alleged that "divisive forces" were using social media as tool for "character assassination" and spread of intolerance towards things they did not like.
"When famous economist Amrtya Sen praised Bihar model of development, divisive forces hailing from a party led a campaign on social media to assassinate his character," he said at a book release function.
"Their intolerance towards things they do not like reminds of days of Emergency in 1975 when freedom of speech was throttled," Kumar said.
Noting that this was "misuse" of social media to create a "certain type of environment", he asked in which era 'they' want to take the country?
"If one does not agree with an opinion one can counter it with a counter argument. But when you have no answer you resort to character assassination with the help of social media," he said.
Went to http://www.bjpelectionmanifesto.com/ and requested that the BJP, under administrative reforms, free all temples, their assets and charitable trusts from *all* govt control - no more govt nominees on their boards, no more govt interference in their affairs. That way they'll have a free hand to do social work and prosletyze (reconvert, hopefully) souls lost to imported ideologies.The BJP now wants voters' suggestions for preparing the party's manifesto for the 2014 general elections.
The appeal came on a tweet from the party's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, with a link to the website recording people's views.
"Your voice, your manifesto! Urging you to share ideas for 2014 BJP manifesto. Let us work together for a better India!"
The link to manifesto website is http://www.bjpelectionmanifesto.com/#.
The message on website said the party's manifesto should reflect aspirations of the masse, especially the youth. It should also redefine the way the country was being governed currently.
"Narendra Modi has called for the transformation of representative democracy into participatory democracy. As the first step towards your participation, we seek your suggestions and ideas to make our manifesto more meaningful and purposeful."
For recoding their suggestions, visitors will have to click on the dropbox at the top of the screen, fill in details, select a category and post their views.
The party said it "will consider each suggestion with care".
Read more at: http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/modi ... 17437.html
True. I request all to add a paragraph on what solution they propose to reduce the mess. The solution can be --prahaar wrote:I agree, there is a high degree of anger and a feeling of victim-hood amongst Hindutva-vaadis on SM. The funny thing is that most of this is original and not planned. Smooth, Soft, Pleasant messaging about Hindutva is almost absent.
Not really. Much of the anger on social media has little to do with Hindutva. Its more to do with the realization that while the world has moved on - Indian politics is still stuck in the dark ages where dynastic buffoons with empty heads and puke-inducing rhetoric are still in with a chance of leading the country.prahaar wrote:I agree, there is a high degree of anger and a feeling of victim-hood amongst Hindutva-vaadis on SM. The funny thing is that most of this is original and not planned. Smooth, Soft, Pleasant messaging about Hindutva is almost absent.
It is a fragile phenomenon. One more round of EVM management and Hindus will go into a shell for the next 2 or 3 decades. I view it as Darwin's law, the unfit have no right to live.Atri wrote:NaMo is bringing in a much needed "Evangelical streak" among Hindus..I am glad.. this should translate into actual Hindu evangelism. Will be useful in the process of assimilation in future..
Those in their 20s, 30s and 40s should remember this streak and sharpen it.. mata is going to need it 2-3 decades from today.
This time it is different, indians have tasted the Garroor to do anymore Ji Hazoor.Pranav wrote:It is a fragile phenomenon. One more round of EVM management and Hindus will go into a shell for the next 2 or 3 decades. I view it as Darwin's law, the unfit have no right to live.Atri wrote:NaMo is bringing in a much needed "Evangelical streak" among Hindus..I am glad.. this should translate into actual Hindu evangelism. Will be useful in the process of assimilation in future..
Those in their 20s, 30s and 40s should remember this streak and sharpen it.. mata is going to need it 2-3 decades from today.
The anger is not about Hindutva causes per se. The anger is expressed by the pre-dominantly Anti-Congress Anti-Left leaning individuals. On twitter, these people are branded as Hindutva-vaadis by default, since supporting Army is branded jingoistic, Vande Maataram as Hindutva, UCC as Majoritarianism. With such low thresholds, any Anti-Cong Anti-Left Pro-Modi Pro-Hindu Pro-BJP Pro-RSS is all is interpreted as Hindutva voices, such is the state of affairs. Very soon, journalists like Shashi Shekhar will be branded Sanghi. Kanchan Gupta due to his long history and previous background is treated with a modicum of respect.Arjun wrote:Not really. Much of the anger on social media has little to do with Hindutva. Its more to do with the realization that while the world has moved on - Indian politics is still stuck in the dark ages where dynastic buffoons with empty heads and puke-inducing rhetoric are still in with a chance of leading the country.prahaar wrote:I agree, there is a high degree of anger and a feeling of victim-hood amongst Hindutva-vaadis on SM. The funny thing is that most of this is original and not planned. Smooth, Soft, Pleasant messaging about Hindutva is almost absent.
If anything, I am concerned that there is not enough anger from Indian citizens given the extent of disrepair.
Atri ji,Atri wrote:NaMo is bringing in a much needed "Evangelical streak" among Hindus..I am glad.. this should translate into actual Hindu evangelism. Will be useful in the process of assimilation in future..
These people are limited in number and in reality do not matter. yes they are everywhere in the media makes it a bit harder. But the beast depends on it being given the importance. The social media like twitter is useful but I believe the use of this media is past its use by date. Now that congress is trying to make in roads, its time to move to the next level. I believe the 3 guys who are helping NaMo and thus the BJP are doing the right thing. The MSM is completely out of touch and will never get any semblance of credibility. Before social media goes down that route of high rhetoric and victimhood, its time to move on from it into something more tangible. I do not know what exactly. But in my personal manthan I feel twitter/FB are not useful going forward.RajeshA wrote:So I think it is the Macaulayite Indian's issues with articulation and awe at Western literary work and perhaps even insufficient knowledge of his own Bharatiya Sanskritic classicism that turns him into a rebel.
Because the newer arrivals to SM need to draw attention to themselves to make themselves more popular. As Agnimitra ji says its a downward spiral.prahaar wrote:I agree, there is a high degree of anger and a feeling of victim-hood amongst Hindutva-vaadis on SM. The funny thing is that most of this is original and not planned. Smooth, Soft, Pleasant messaging about Hindutva is almost absent.
Saar, wishful thinking is not a substitute for a concrete, practical action plan.Jhujar wrote:This time it is different, indians have tasted the Garroor to do anymore Ji Hazoor.Pranav wrote: It is a fragile phenomenon. One more round of EVM management and Hindus will go into a shell for the next 2 or 3 decades. I view it as Darwin's law, the unfit have no right to live.
Even the Ex Faui are now itching to fix the PSecular Twitching .Moditva is not going away without having impact on present Non Governing system.
This represents progress. Ram is grudgingly moving towards admitting '84 into the conversation. Still a far cry from objective look at each event.Sushupti wrote:WoW!!
Anger is fine but it is wiser to channel the anger instead of simply venting it. The powers-that-be are waiting for an excuse to criminalize free expression in social media and in real life. Words like "misuse " are code for this. Now is not the time to give them that excuse.Arjun wrote:Not really. Much of the anger on social media has little to do with Hindutva. Its more to do with the realization that while the world has moved on - Indian politics is still stuck in the dark ages where dynastic buffoons with empty heads and puke-inducing rhetoric are still in with a chance of leading the country.prahaar wrote:I agree, there is a high degree of anger and a feeling of victim-hood amongst Hindutva-vaadis on SM. The funny thing is that most of this is original and not planned. Smooth, Soft, Pleasant messaging about Hindutva is almost absent.
If anything, I am concerned that there is not enough anger from Indian citizens given the extent of disrepair.
Love it when Modi gets all these seculars to chant absolute BSLyricist and Rajya Sabha MP Javed Akhtar on Thursday said Narendra Modi can never be a good prime minister, alleging that the BJP’s PM aspirant was not only tainted of communal riots but was also “undemocratic”. “Besides, all talks of involvement in Gujarat riots of 2002 which are before the courts, this man (Modi) is not democratic,” Akhtar told reporters on the sidelines of a school function in Patna. Lyricist and Rajya Sabha MP Javed Akhtar. Lyricist and Rajya Sabha MP Javed Akhtar.
“Amid chants of registering hat-trick in Gujarat one thing is glossed over – that he has given a damn to democracy in the state… His rise is a challenge to democracy,” Akhtar, Padma Bhusan awardee, poet and well known script writer of Bollywood said. Alleging that Modi treated ministers in Gujarat like ‘chaprasis’ (peons), Akhtar asked “How can he run the country with this mindset?”
The podium banner says indore shaher kans-gress commitee. kans? like in mama kans of mbh.freudian slip?Sushupti wrote:
This is after 60 years of various literacy drives by Congress.
Saar,arvin wrote:Probably skeleton in the cupboard effect. Isnt this guy(JA) on the board of some gulf airline? Another 6 months and we might see the secular hoard selling their wares on olx and quikr and heading out for a permanent haj.
In less than a month, Rahul Gandhi has re-written the entire script. Pappu has metamorphosed into an Angry Young Man, ready to avenge all the wrongs, real or imagined, on behalf of his family, party, the poor and country. In retrospect, we can now confirm that his “nonsense” moment on the ordinance to set aside the disqualification of convicted politicians was the release date of his new thriller, Sholay 2, when he shed his confused bumpkin image and emerged from the chrysalis as the new Amitabh Bachchan in the politics of feigned anger.
Grandma Indira and Dad Rajiv – are murdered by enemies of the people. To save the young son Pappu from being targeted by blood-thirsty villains, the all-trusting widow places an old family retainer, Mannu Singh as caretaker of the estate while her tender-hearted son is busy saving tribals here and Dalits there.
Mannu Dadu, our hero’s erstwhile Guru and mentor, has allowed himself to be influenced by bad people. Instead of keeping up the family’s good work he is busy hatching plots with wicked and rapacious businessmen and allowing the family wealth to be looted. Pawan Uncle and Ashwani Kaka are deemed to be evil influences on once-trusted Mannu, and soon the old man is seen to be consorting with True Evil. Why, he even wants to pass an ordinance to protect bad people and crooks.
The young Prince, till recently playing cameo roles of do-gooding in the Odisha hills and UP and Maharashtra villages, recently returned to the castle and not only finds it in ruins, but discovers that his mother is ailing. But even in this bad condition she is thinking of feeding the poor, and as the son returns to bring her life-saving medicine, she tells him that power is poison. But the son who always abhorred power and pelf, except for the odd Rs 1,600 crore castle in Nayi Dilli belonging to a defunct company started by his grandad, finds he can no longer contain his long-suppressed anger against his family’s murderers and the enemies of the poor.
Phata poster, nikla hero.
But the biggest fight is against Gabbar “NaMo”, the all-powerful bandit from the Badlands of Gujarat, a man whose name is whispered by mothers to scare little minority children and who is taking advantage of Mannu Dadu’s descent into bad ways to threaten the kingdom and the poor. Worse, Gabbar NaMo is C-o-m-m-u-n-a-l, exactly the cause for which our hero is willing to fight to the finish. In one memorable line in the script, he said “woh mujhe bhi mar denge“. So, as the screen displays “Intermission”, we are left with images of our Angry and Determined Young Man now willing to sacrifice his life, like his Granny and Dad, ready to fight both the Old Retainer gone bad and the Bigger Villain NaMo. He takes this pledge to defeat Evil on his mother’s sickbed.
Even Salim-Javed could not have written a better script. It works in Bollywood. In seven months we will know if it works in real life.
As funny as this this sounds, this is the strategy of PAPPU and his QUEEN BEE mommy.Rahul’s Bollywood script is a journey in reverse: a real life politican widely written off as an incompetent, wants us to believe that what you have seen so far is the film, and what’s ahead is the real thing. When it may be the reverse. Ho-hum. The critic rating so far: One-and-a-half stars. Category: U
Well, I did not mean the 'rageboy' type anger either ! I rather see it as the responsibility of citizens to make their views known through the media, if they have strong feelings on any public-policy issue (till such time as we don't have an issue-based referendum mechanism). I would like to see more Indians exercise this responsibility.KLNMurthy wrote:Anger is fine but it is wiser to channel the anger instead of simply venting it. The powers-that-be are waiting for an excuse to criminalize free expression in social media and in real life. Words like "misuse " are code for this. Now is not the time to give them that excuse.