Person of the year 2014 - Your vote

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Person of the year 2014 - Your vote

As you know, at present NaMo is leading the viewer's poll at Time person of the year by a huge margin.

Admins - Please let this dhaga run till December 10 (I have allowed 2 votes per person - I have casted one vote for brf moderators :)

Please also vote at: (Poll will run till December 6, 2014)

Vote Now: Who Should Be TIME’s Person of the Year?

And people can discuss their own choice here too -
Last edited by Amber G. on 23 Nov 2014 09:02, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Person of the year 2014 - Your vote

AmberJi, I don't give a flying f(ck for Time magazine rag's person of the year BS, but I wonder why you excluded Kailash Satyarthi from the poll? After all, the condescending west did an equal equal with Malala. Or is it the case that you did not want to dignify that equal equal by doing the same?

Since 2 votes are allowed I did for Modi and Gandhi, as one could not have the former without the other. :-)

I say pappu, is the person of the year. As NaMo, could not have pulled off his impressive poll performance without Pappu. So my vote goes to him.

may he remain the person of the year for the next 50 year's.

CramS - Obivious question: If you don't care, as you say, why are you commenting, criticizing and getting bothered here in this thread? :roll:

I voted for the one and only noteworthy :-)

Kerry, Rahul, Bilwal, Malala, Putin .....? Who are these people.?
member_24684

Post by member_24684 »

tat guy who placed the bill board in his Lawn ..AIDS EBOLA OBAMA Thanks you Africa

no offense

Amber G. wrote:CramS - Obivious question: If you don't care, as you say, why are you commenting, criticizing and getting bothered here in this thread? :roll:
AmberJi, I don't care what Time magazine thinks, but I care what you think. Thats why I asked why no Satyarthi. And you didn't answer that question.

SwamyG wrote:
Kerry, Rahul, Bilwal, Malala, Putin .....? Who are these people.?
Don't know most of them too...(sirji - I was just cutting and pasting from the other list... I just take poll - do not endorse or claim to know who they are :mrgreen:
But I do think you can know more about Bilwal here..

CRamS wrote:[, but I care what you think...
Really? 8) (I didn't think many give much weight to what I think here in brf :) and in any case I wasn't putting my views, just try to listen to others.. (That's why I thought discussion about "others" will be interesting...
Thats why I asked why no Satyarthi. And you didn't answer that question.
I thought names like "Bilwal" will make it very obvious about the seriousness of the choices given there.. if those were indeed my choice..:)

(If you care what I think - please read:
The Time poll is just a poll, it is asking its readers to "vote".
In my view, people (or at least those who are readers of Time, or interested in its views) should vote..at least it is better than cursing the darkness).
All are free to decide how serious or significant those results are (or are not).
Last edited by Amber G. on 23 Nov 2014 08:35, edited 1 time in total.

I did look at the poll results... Yes/No for individuals is fairly interesting... except for Modi, EVERYONE has HUGE negative votes... most of the order of 90% NO (Like Obama, Kerry etc). Please check it out, it is really interesting to see actual numbers..

ONLY Modi has Yes 85% and No 15%.... virtually everyone else's NO voting is VERY high.. (and that includes people like Malala etc)

Also in "face-off" Modi beats Indonesian president by landslide.. (No other face off is that one-sided)

What a difference one year make..

In Time 2013 poll this is how NaMo was described...
The controversial Hindu nationalist and Chief Minister of the Indian state of Gujarat is the most likely candidate to unseat India’s ruling Congress party in the world’s largest democracy.
And his name (from what i can see now) does not appear in top 40 people-- so I can not see his poll result..

In 2014 poll, change is dramatic.

BTW, Another result, I think people know here...

India’s Mangalyaan is among the 25 'Best Inventions of 2014' listed by Time magazine
For making the world better, smarter and-in some cases-a little more fun
The Supersmart Spacecraft Mangalyaan
Developed by the Indian Space Research Organization

If Modi is trying to increase his and India's profile in the West, for whatever he has in mind, then it is incumbent that we all help out and vote for Time Person of the Year.

From India's perspective we don't need to know what Time thinks, but for marketing purposes in the West, it can be helpful. So please do go and vote!

Ooops - " I misunderstood the purpose of the poll as "Person of Least significance' and voted Bilawal Bhutto

Rahul and Blowall.

I voted for Modi and Arvind Keriwal. Kejriwal is the man who single handedly destroyed the credibility of the Congress during the election campaign for Delhi, and then singlehandedly destroyed his own credibility by resigning after a 49 day tamasha - thus paving the way for Modi to become the only credible contestant in the Battle for India 2014.

I don't give a flying f(ck for Time magazine rag's person of the year BS,
+100

me too. My vote to his Highness, Lord of Morons, Shrimann Beelawaal Shitto :wink:

abhischekcc wrote:I voted for Modi and Arvind Keriwal. Kejriwal is the man who single handedly destroyed the credibility of the Congress during the election campaign for Delhi, and then singlehandedly destroyed his own credibility by resigning after a 49 day tamasha - thus paving the way for Modi to become the only credible contestant in the Battle for India 2014.

The AAP is distraught and angry at BRF.Why hasn't "Jokeriwalla" not been on the list when losers like Rahulji are? After all did not Jokeriwalla aka "AK-47" (or was it 49 days?) storm the gaddi in Dilli?

My vote for Ombaba and Putin - it is increasingly looking like Tom & Jerry act...

Narendra Modi emerged as the winner of the reader’s polls for 2014 TIME Person of the Year. With 16%+ of the total votes. (Protesters who took to the streets in Ferguson, Mo., after the police shooting of an unarmed black teenager finished second with 9%. Hong Kong protest leader Joshua Wong, Nobel Peace Prize-winner Malala Yousafzai and the doctors and nurses treating Ebola rounded out the top five.
<link>

But, of course, Time's editors were not impressed. :eek: NaMo is not going to be their choice...
He is not on the shortlist

The short-list, if anyone cares is:

The Ferguson protesters.
The Ebola caregivers.
Vladimir Putin.
Taylor Swift.
Jack Ma.
Tim Cook.
Masoud Barzani.
Roger Goodell.

Interesting is that since 1930 (with Mahatma Gandhi), no Indian was selected by Time's editors.