Indian Military Aviation - 21 Sept 2015

Re: Indian Military Aviation - 21 Sept 2015

Indranil wrote:Hakim, and more recently the involuntary popping chairs on our Sukhois.
The IAF C17 crash also was blamed on human error IIRC, despite there were reports of substandard parts.
C-17 crash? We haven't lost one of those have we god forbid.

We had a C-130 accident that was due to wind shear from wake penetration

JayS wrote: This what OEMs always try to do to save their own skin as their reputation in on the line and the modifications are expensive. Every time some accident is blamed on human error, I take it with pinch of salt.
But I have rarely seen any Indians come up in support of HAL when it came to the Dhruv accidents in Ecuador. Across the board - including people on BRF were blaming HAL. Funny isn't it - I mean our attitudes.

Indranil wrote:Hakim, and more recently the involuntary popping chairs on our Sukhois.
OT post /
There are two words, in persian :
हाकिम = Hakim (means authoriatian)
हकीम = Hakeem (Doctor)

So Hakeem would be better to use. :)

JayS wrote: The IAF C17 crash also was blamed on human error IIRC, despite there were reports of substandard parts.
C-17 crash? We haven't lost one of those have we god forbid.

Ahh..My bad. C130 It is. My memory is sketchy. But I do remember to have read some articles about the sub-standard parts for the plane already. Anyway.
JayS wrote: This what OEMs always try to do to save their own skin as their reputation in on the line and the modifications are expensive. Every time some accident is blamed on human error, I take it with pinch of salt.
But I have rarely seen any Indians come up in support of HAL when it came to the Dhruv accidents in Ecuador. Across the board - including people on BRF were blaming HAL. Funny isn't it - I mean our attitudes.
True. In general, we (Indians) first bash our own and then ask what was wrong rather than first asking what was wrong and then bashing only if needed. If the thing that happened with HAL had happened with say Boeing, USG would have arm-twisted Ecuador govt into hushing up the matter, whereas GOI did zilch, even though they own HAL. In addition US PR machinery would have sprung into action pointing how Ecuadorians are pathetic users.

Why should they come to the defence of HAL hair ji...the urban middle class is in a blissful stupor and has little sense of national pride....the rest are too busy making ends meet....

Hakeem I did give a talk to MEG & Centre, in my previous talk as a journalist, wherein I said to the officers do expect the media to be your friend - they are too busy playing politics.....manage then like how you manage and operation. So I suppose if HAL is serious about media management then it can fight its battles...but typical babugiri....

shiv wrote: C-17 crash? We haven't lost one of those have we god forbid.

Ahh..My bad. C130 It is. My memory is sketchy. But I do remember to have read some articles about the sub-standard parts for the plane already. Anyway.
The sub-standard parts story was associated with the first BAe Hawk crash - built at HAL from BAe parts IIRC

I distinctly remember the debate around this point of sub-standard/fake parts and so much so that even the final outcome was expected, that it will be pushed to human error to hush up the matter (Not to say there was no pilot error, I do not know, but a probability that there was not, and indeed such doubtful cases are there as already pointed out).

Just a quick Google to give sample -
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 977838.cms

OT, from the Marut community where I'm trying to learn more about it, Nagrota Martyr Major Akshay Girish Kumar happens to be the son of an Officer of the Marut community.

This is what a lionheart looks like in real life

^^A thousand pranaams for giving up his life for Mother India & his fellow citizens and condolences to his family. Although the image is cropped, looks like he is holding a child. May god give his family strength to carry on. Hopefully, we will finally learn from this incident about securing our bases further and Army with blessings of GoI, give it back to these TSP Mofos 10x.

although I did not know him, I knew his brother quite well. This one hits close to home.

Manish_Sharma wrote:
OT post /
There are two words, in persian :
हाकिम = Hakim (means authoriatian)
हकीम = Hakeem (Doctor)

So Hakeem would be better to use. :)

'Hakim' is person of authority over an area.

'Hakeem' is the Doctor. We have been addressing Hakeem Shiv Saheb incorrectly. :)

In of his post sometime back on this thread, Shiv had mentioned that we should not get into blame-game mode; Marut not having reached its potential is a collective failure. While I agree with him, I think it is important to ascertain what went wrong where. A collective failure is a sum-total of individual failure(s) by participants.

For a very long time, I've repeatedly heard the assertion that IAF killed the Marut aircraft. And I've seriously tried to understand what went wrong. By all accounts, especially by those who have flown the aircraft, it was obvious that it was a very good design. And in spite of serious short-fall in engine department, it did its assigned job well.

During this search, there is one point which has stuck me as odd - GTRE had developed a reheat version of the Orpheus 703 engine and aircraft with this engine was termed as HF-24 Mk1R.

This is what Group Captain Kapil Bhargava (who was a test pilot) wrote about this version [these excerpts are from two different articles by him]:
He was (Group Captain Suranjan Das) the greatest supporter of the HF-24 Mk IR with reheated Orpheus engines. It had the prospect of being earlier and better than the Jaguar. Its performance was less than it would have been if the rear fuselage had not simply been enlarged by HAL to house the larger engines and their nozzles. The nice area rule of the original design had been vitiated badly. All the same, the performance of the aircraft was impressive. All it needed was to get the right avionics. According to me, the other design work should have been for the addition of a second hydraulic system, and of course streamlining the fuselage a lot better than the fat end.
Meanwhile, for the MkIR, and earlier MkIA, the aft fuselage had just been fattened to accommodate the larger diameter of the engines with reheat. The after body drag was very high. In a personal duel between HAL’s chief engine designer and Director GTRE, both accused each other of doing poor scientific work. HAL alleged that the engines were losing too much thrust in the installation while GTRE said the loss of performance was due to excessive drag resulting from the poor design of the after body. The project was in dire trouble and had been carrying on only because of the unwavering support of Groupie Das, His death killed the project.
I've always wondered whatever happened to this effort? And if the performance of the aircraft was better despite the area-rule being vitiated, why did we not see further development in this regard.

And this is what I found; but first, I need to thank Maitya :mrgreen: for mentioning details about some development work done by GTRE, especially the GTX-37-14U engine. So, I went looking into this aspect and stumbled upon a book written by guess who? S N R Chaudhury :twisted: - the person responsible for establishing and nurturing GTRE and under whose watch most of these developments happened.

The name of the book is 'Restoration of Split Milk'. Available on Amazon and other book stores.

I'm copying here some pages from Google Books which are available as part of preview. Please read them and see for yourself why aeronautical development in the country has been stymied. It also gives a glimpse into other efforts which went nowhere.

The book excerpts copied above mention that one prototype with reheat engines trialled. The prototype number is mentioned in the book as BD-884.

Here are pics of BD-884 - compare the tail section of fuselage with operational Mk1 Models.

BD-884:

HF-24 Mk1

nachiket wrote:<SNIP>Rohitvats, your comment on the excerpt is also interesting: "This is the kind of 'support' which IAF gets from HAL." From what I read, HAL never said they wouldn't fix the problem. The IAF decided that it would take too long so they came up with a solution to circumvent it. So how exactly did HAL not provide 'support'?
It is a comment on competence of HAL to deliver result to its sole customer. It shows lack of faith of the customer in the OEM. To the extent that they would well do without the OEM involvement. It is no surprise that IAF wants to retain BRD to sort out as many issues as possible at their end and not go to HAL.

This is the link to Google Books preview of the book mentioned above:

https://books.google.co.in/books?id=CYw ... &q&f=false

I request people to read through whatever open sections are available. And see the level of missed opportunities.

And reading whatever I could in the available sections I've come to believe that reason for lot of things which went wrong from start till now rests solely at the door of HAL and politics associated with it.

The book mentions about the HF-24 Mk1R variant (BD-886) which Group Captain Suranjan Das was flying and which crashed at the time of take-off in 1970. This aircraft engine had even higher modification compared to baseline Orpheus 703 engine and it was surmised that Marut could go supersonic with two engines IF tail section was modified

The author even hits at conspiracy induce a crash to ensure this development program fails. He talks about efforts at HAL to blame engine failure as reason for crash and use it as an excuse to close the program and import Jaguar aircraft.

Page 425 in the above book link has the details.

Interestingly, this is what Group Captain Kapil says about same crash:
Groupie Suranjan Das' crash was perhaps partially pilot error. He was the greatest supporter of the HF-24 Mk IR with reheated Orpheus engines. It had the prospect of being earlier and better than the Jaguar. Its performance was less than it would have been if the rear fuselage had not simply been enlarged by HAL to house the larger engines and their nozzles. The nice area rule of the original design had been vitiated badly. All the same, the performance of the aircraft was impressive. All it needed was to get the right avionics. According to me, the other design work should have been for the addition of a second hydraulic system, and of course streamlining the fuselage a lot better than the fat end.

While taxiing out to the take-off, Groupie Das used to keep the clam shell canopy unlocked and hold it up slightly to get some fresh air. There was no retaining lever. It seems that on the fateful day, he forgot to lock it prior to beginning the take-off run. The canopy opened during the ground roll. The hinges were too strong for it to fly off. Ejection through the canopy, as in all Maruts, would almost certainly have led to killing the pilot. Hence, the canopy had to be jettisoned. Ejection, till the canopy was not in the way, was prevented by a locking pin. This pin was pulled out by a lanyard which would be extracted during jettisoning of the canopy.

For Groupie Das, with the canopy already open, its jettisoning was no longer possible. Ejection was also impossible as the seat was not armed till the pin was pulled out. The drag from the canopy was large and the aircraft did not get airborne. There was a debatable possible failure of the reheat of one engine. In short Groupie Das had no options left and died in the crash.
Even the author above confirms that Marut Mk-1R held great potential. But ended up going nowhere because HAL would not work to modify the tail section and restore area rule.

Excellent find. Thanks a ton Rohit for that book snapshots.

Try opening the book from different computers, one perhaps could see those pages which one don't sees from same computer. Thats my experience with google books. I will try to collect all the pages if possible.

Rohit,

This lack of faith serves no one. The BRD (according to the last IAF chief) can design and build ab initio trainers better than HAL, but can't fix canopies of Kirans. Do you not see the fallacies. India currently does not have infrastructure, talent, and market for multiple institutions handling aeronautics problem. This was known earlier, and the reason why ADA was formed. While that looked like the only solution then, in hindsight we can all agree that this is not sustainable either. I don't know what is the real solution. But, the solution has to entail the sustained growth of talent, infrastructure, and market. Only when these have grown sufficiently, can we look at diversification. Anything before that will only lay it so thin that it will erode away. I have the (mis)fortune to be close to a bunch of people in the aero industry in India. Trust me, when I say it is already quite thin. If you don't trust me, please do your own talking, and I am sure you will come to the same conclusion. This fragmentation: IAF doesn't believe in HAL, HAL doesn't believe in ADA, ADA doesn't believe in HAL, blah blah blah doesn't help anyone.

By the way, taking Capt. Bhargava's voice as the voice of IAF is also wrong. By the way, I would ask you to read why he left IAF! As you know Marut went with the death of Groupie Das sir. What does it tell you? It is like saying Mao sir's, Suneet sir's, Ranga sir's, Tyagi sir's voice is the voice of IAF regarding LCA. Also 884 is a Mk1A. Mk1Rs were 831 (first flight by Winco Inder Mohan Chopra (Chopie)) and possibly 832 and 833 (deputed to Egypt). I feel Marut's were abandoned when they were finally starting to get it right. They had a few versions by then. Dr. Tank had left and the desis where ironing out the deficiencies.

Also, I wish I had met Capt. Bhargava before he passed away. I am in awe of him. I am telling you that man could have easily have designed a plane himself. Him, Jimmy Munshi: these guys are legends for me.

Indranil wrote:I feel Marut's were abandoned when they were finally starting to get it right. They had a few versions by then. Dr. Tank had left and the desis where ironing out the deficiencies.
Continuing on that. Chopie sir like Captain Bhargava was deputed to Egypt. Here is a picture of him after the first flight of the Marut with the modified engine.
He was on deputation from the IAF to Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd. Bangalore (HAL) form January 1961 to May 1966. During this period he was actively involved in prototype development of the Marut HF 24. He carried out the first flight of HF24 Mk 1A with Orpheus Engine Reheat. Marut HF 24 Mk 1BX was modified for fitment of the Egyptian E300 engine on the right side with normal Orpheus engine on the left. It was the first Marut with twin hydraulic systems with no manual reversion. The tail plane and elevator were split but both were hydraulically operated. It was initially flown in Bangalore with the Orpheus fitted on both sides. Chopie did the first flight. The aircraft was then sent to Egypt.

Chopie was deputed to the Egyptian Aero General Organisaton, Helwan for flight development of the E300 engine in June 1966. A HAL team of about 25 headed by Gp.Capt. C. S. Naik (Retired as Air Marshal) was also sent to maintain the aircraft. The first flight with E300 engine fitted was done on March 29, 1967. A total of about 180 flights were done with the E 300 engine on the right and Orpheus on the left. The project was closed in July 1969.
More details here.

nachiket wrote:<SNIP>Rohitvats, your comment on the excerpt is also interesting: "This is the kind of 'support' which IAF gets from HAL." From what I read, HAL never said they wouldn't fix the problem. The IAF decided that it would take too long so they came up with a solution to circumvent it. So how exactly did HAL not provide 'support'?
It is a comment on competence of HAL to deliver result to its sole customer. It shows lack of faith of the customer in the OEM. To the extent that they would well do without the OEM involvement. It is no surprise that IAF wants to retain BRD to sort out as many issues as possible at their end and not go to HAL.
The IAF has every right to do as they wish. But using that particular incident to claim lack of support from HAL is wrong.

The IAF found a design flaw that had escaped the engineers. Big deal. Such flaws are found in every new aircraft. Even those made by the world's biggest and most experienced design houses, even in safety critical civilian jets, like I pointed out with examples. Military jets sometimes get productionized and deployed with the flaw left unfixed if the deployment is critical. The pilots are given special instructions to avoid the issue in the early versions till the engineers can fix it in the later models.

The IAF has had to deal with such problems even in the foreign bought jets. Refer to the Jaguar issues that shiv mentioned. Every designer also tries to first escape blame by blaming it on something else. That is very common even after civilian jet crashes where hundreds are killed.
Mihir

Post by Mihir »

rohitvats wrote:You're displaying exactly the same behavior as the designer(s). Before you made the above statement, do you think you exhausted all the options to answer the problem?
I'm not attempting to arrive at a design solution here. I'm trying to show that Gp. Capt. Bhargava's understanding of the problem and of how material strength works is flawed. The canopy performed exactly how he wanted it to. If Das had designed it to fail at a higher stress level, it wouldn't have sheared off on a ground roll at 90 kt and some poor trainee would have probably lost his life when the ejection seat rocketed him into a closed canopy.
rohitvats wrote:And secondly, the problem seems to about the source of load leading to those pins shearing off. Could it have been possible to create a fail-safe mechanism? Something like arm the pins or lock the canopy movement when on ground? With lever/switch released when the pilot does his pre-flight safety checks?
There was a fail safe - a canopy lock that would be engaged when the aircraft was parked. It was left unlocked on one of the aircraft, according to Bhargava's account.
rohitvats wrote:One more thing - likely problem of pins shearing off due to other reasons that aircraft movement seems to have not even been communicated to the IAF. Something on the lines of HAL not telling IAF about 4-gun trials on Marut by them and issues faced.
This is a good point. The designers should have anticipated the problem and communicated an SOP to prevent its occurrence to the IAF.

Indranil wrote:Rohit, This lack of faith serves no one. The BRD (according to the last IAF chief) can design and build ab initio trainers better than HAL, but can't fix canopies of Kirans. Do you not see the fallacies. India currently does not have infrastructure, talent, and market for multiple institutions handling aeronautics problem.
Your assertion seems perfectly logical for someone looking at the situation in a holistic manner. But the problem is that our system is simply not set-up in this manner. 'Nation' seems to be an entity to be mentioned only in seminars and papers. On the ground reality is pretty divergent.

The only thing constant is the threat scenario which India faces and the IAF is duty-bound to address this scenario with whatever means possible. If it slips up, there are serious consequences. More or less, I see the IAF doing everything possible to ensure we do the best job.

But I don't see the same level of seriousness on the part of R&D establishment - if things work out well, fine. If they don't, well, too bad. We move on to other projects. There are people who try to ensure things are done in a proper and timely manner but it seems they're far and in-between. In most cases, its a system set-up not to deliver where no-one rocks the boat.

Reading whatever I could in that book by GTRE Director, I realized how many missed opportunities we had. I remember Maitya lamenting about GTX-37-14U not being used to develop better performing engine than R-11 for Mig-21. But guess what? The author mentions about exactly such an effort - an effort involving not only engine but better avionics. And it seems quite a bit of work was done on aerodynamics by someone who went on to become first director of ADA. GTRE even had discussion with USSR about such a venture and they seemed game for it! But it seems it never passed muster through HAL.

There are bound to be numerous such lost opportunities only because of organizational egos. But did we learn anything from them? Nothing. Now, I'm of the firm opinion that Marut got jacked because of HAL. And LCA was in wilderness again because of HAL. One only has to refer to the letter written by ex-HAL Chief to RM asking him NOT TO give contract for HS-748 replacement to a civilian entity to see to what extent it will go to save its turf.

As I mentioned earlier, in all these few hits and many misses, the threat scenario remains constant. If I'm an IAF Chief, I will do whatever it takes to address my core responsibility. If the domestic R&D establishment can get its act together and deliver, good. If it cannot, I'll tinker with stuff on my own and push for imports. After you take away all the jazz, this is what it boils down to-safe-guarding the Indian airspace.

So, I'll retain my BRD and make own jugaad(s) to address my problems because I know if I depend on HAL for everything, I'll be at serious loss.
This was known earlier, and the reason why ADA was formed. While that looked like the only solution then, in hindsight we can all agree that this is not sustainable either.
The problem faced by ADA is a perfect example of how 'national importance' is only a buzz-word to be used at the right time. Otherwise, it is about individuals and individual entities and their own priorities.

Every time people on this board lament about IAF not taking leadership position with respect to R&D, I'm reminded of this paragraph from CAG Report on Tejas program on delay in completion of various work-packages:
In reply, ADA stated (September 2014) that it had no authority/control on the working of work centres. ADA also admitted (October 2014) that the delay in development of WPs had affected the LCA programme schedule. ADA also stated (January 2015) that work packages/ project sanctions were continuously reviewed and monitored by ADA through participation in Project Review Committee (PRC) meetings. However, the priority accorded by these work centres was depending upon the production targets set by their management on which ADA had no authority.
In reply to above from ADA, CAG has this counter-argument:
ADA’s contention that they had no authority/control on the working of the work centres is not tenable in audit as the LCA programme was being monitored by MoD and ADA had representation at all levels in the decision making of the Government. The work centres, majority of which were DRDO labs, PSUs and Government organizations, should have accorded due importance to the LCA development programme due to its national importance. As such, delays in completion of work packages which affected the LCA programme schedules indicates that coordination of efforts at various levels and monitoring of the programme by all the agencies involved, has not been as envisaged.
The reply by ADA is the reality of our set-up while counter-reply by CAG assumes presence of an utopia where everyone works with same diligence on a project of NATIONAL IMPORTANCE.

Imagine, an organization established for sole purpose of delivery on such an important project pleading helplessness. This when the other labs are also part of the same DRDO set-up. How on God's earth is IAF as an outsider going to get anything done by these fellows?

In the end, it is the IAF which is left holding the lemon. There is no skin off anyone's back while IAF struggles with falling squadron numbers. So, you'll have to pardon an IAF Chief which does not take any commitment from R&D establishment at face value.
By the way, taking Capt. Bhargava's voice as the voice of IAF is also wrong.

Nope, I don't take his voice as voice of IAF. His articles are a source of information on the project and present other side of the argument.

Mind you, I'm not giving a clean chit to IAF leadership from what finally went wrong with Marut. As Marutfans website shows, there is a difference between the attitude of those who flew the machine and those who were at the helm of decision making.
As you know Marut went with the death of Groupie Das sir. What does it tell you? It is like saying Mao sir's, Suneet sir's, Ranga sir's, Tyagi sir's voice is the voice of IAF regarding LCA.
As Group Captain Kapil Bhargava has already lamented, Group Captain Das was the only one holding together the development of HF-24 Mk1R with reheat engines. His position, and that of the aircraft, is not comparable to other test pilots and Tejas program. Remember that by 1970, two units of Marut Mk1 were already operational.

In one of the earlier posts, I'd passed a comment against GTRE with respect to Marut Mk1R and their unwillingness to design the system meeting area ruling. After reading the book excerpts, I take my words back.

Considering that major problem with Marut was engine and here GTRE was supplying them with a solution to address this critical problem, the onus was on HAL to get its act together. But they did not. Instead, further development of reheat engine version was stopped with HAL advising against moving further down this road.

Whatever happened to spirit of 'National Importance' here?
Also 884 is a Mk1A. Mk1Rs were 831 (first flight by Winco Inder Mohan Chopra (Chopie)) and possibly 832 and 833 (deputed to Egypt). I feel Marut's were abandoned when they were finally starting to get it right. They had a few versions by then. Dr. Tank had left and the desis where ironing out the deficiencies.
It seems there were multiple versions of Orpheus reheat engine.

It seems Mk1A came with 1400 degree K and subsequently progressed to 1700 degree K re-heat engines. The author mentions that initial trials were on BD-884 model and subsequently on BD-886 model. BD-886 was the pre-production model which Das was flying during crash.

The book tells you that GTRE kept on development efforts for making Marut supersonic. Parallel to engine with 1700 degree K, they were working on another engine with 2000 degree K rating. But it could not be trialed because the area rule and loss of drag argument between HAL and GTRE never got resolved.

The more I read about Marut the more I realize how big a wasted opportunity it was. The clean lines of the aircraft and its size with twin engines made it the perfect DPSA candidate.

JayS wrote:Karan, while I do not counter your points, what I understood by that caste comment is that he was trying to point out tendency to look down at certain aspects of engineering once you become BTech or MTech or PhD, you feel those things to be beneath your level and not worthy of being done by yourself and in the process miss out of some crucial aspects of engineering - in particular the thing that he mentioned, drafting and how Indian engineers neglected drafting. I only took that point. And no I am not taking what he is saying at face value just because he is saying, but because it already confirms with my own observations through my own experiences and I have already pointed out precisely the same point elsewhere. Because of such attitude we are in a situation where we routinely see mechanical engineer who couldn't tell you which part is which in his automobile or SW engineer who understands zilch of computer HW or electronics engineer who don't understand basic electric circuit. This actually hampers one from becoming a more wholesome engineer and it shows up in his work
jays, he made the attitude because he and many others have got used to the caste stereotype against indians and we lazy as$ tribe that we are, let it slide, without explaining a counter POV. we've all done it.

coming to your points, this attitude of x does this, y does that is precisely because the indian system - not some cultural or religious system - is set up to 'extract' and not invest and hence there is insane competitition at every level for some difference, second since the system is set up to extract, low value jobs are more and hence there is little need to learn the entire domain hands on. this in turn became this way because the overall economic growth was so low, employment had to be found as the first priority. second, rampant corruption & political meddling caused further deterioration in law & order, concept of what was acceptable etc.

anyhow, this system of x does not do y, persists because after all, there is enough manpower to do that for you. the difference is the manner in which people are treated in pound foolish, penny wise western societies as versus the reverse in india. let me give you one example.

in khanland a friend was recruited for a management role. he lands up in the middle of nowhere. is handed a flash drive with excel tabs. and is told, ok by the end of next week please redesign our entire layout, because you know, you are fancy MS & we got you here for that. the rest of us are engineers, supervisors and hispanic help.
now tell me jay, does he have an option to be a i will not work with y or be the one man who has to go insane running around te entire establishment figuring out what to do?
that's because that's all they wanted to hire.

now, twenty years later, his team will have 5 people. they will on the advise of some other business guy, move it to India. one team will go to chennai (5 people hired for every khan guys role) another to hyderabad and one to gurgaon (another 4 people). this dude now has to visit a team which is sitting tens of thousands of meters away from a facility they haven't visited & will be running the operations. their boss will visit once in a year. and sure, he can transfer all that he learnt to them in that one visit (if even wants to, and doesn't want to retire).

so which of these 5 people will learn everything, please tell me, in the chennai team? lets assume they are the elite. do you think they will be budgeted to visit all the other teams and vice versa.

this is how things are run in the cost concsious setup we employ as versus the originals. and then all sorts of stuff about curry what not is brought up. so fix the system.

As I said I have some other thoughts on why it might be so, but this is not the correct thread to discuss this, so this is last bit from my side on this to avoid getting raps from mods for going OT.[/quote]

While the book written by AVM S N R Chaudhury popped up into the discussion, yesterday sjha tweeted link to an article about SNR. He recently passed away on 18th May 2016 at the age of 93.

http://www.currentscience.ac.in/Volumes/111/03/0573.pdf

Jaguar with Python 5! Whatever happened to the ASRAAM deal with MBDA?

That looks like the real package. 4,000 lbs of bombs, 2 WVRs for self defence and 2 DWT. Excellent. Now, time for those engines.
titash

Post by titash »

Kartik wrote:Image

Jaguar with Python 5! Whatever happened to the ASRAAM deal with MBDA?
Interesting...looks like the IAF is hedging its bets. The ASRAAM with its high speed & range vs. the Python 5 with its high maneuverability. Perhaps the Jags will carry 1 of each if they're both being flight tested.

http://www.thehindu.com/opinion/op-ed/A ... epage=true

Airing out a decision by Air Vice Marshal Manmohan Bahadur (R)

Why the Indian Navy’s non-acceptance of the Tejas fighter aircraft should be accepted as a result of evaluation by specialists
The Indian Navy’s professional decision not to induct the indigenous Tejas fighter aircraft has given armchair critics a new lease of life. Stand by for a lot of their ‘professional’ views against the Navy especially as the Indian Air Force (IAF) is now out of their cross hairs after its decision to induct 120 Tejas MK 1As — a decision which was born out of no other criterion but a professional assessment. It is time we become wise about how the defence forces go about buying aircraft and other equipment that cost millions of rupees per piece. There are operational pressures too which influence decision-making. In this misplaced assault of the ‘armchairists’, the case of the procurement of the Pilatus PC-7 Basic Trainer Aircraft (BTA) by the IAF from Switzerland as against Hindustan Aeronautics Limited’s indigenous HTT-40 stands out.

Procurement road map

Every procurement proposal has three basic constituents: the first is the Services Qualitative Requirements (SQR) of the item to be bought. The second is the ‘categorisation’ or the way the item is to be procured, and the last is the grant of ‘acceptance of necessity’ of the competent authority. Thereafter, the request for proposal (RFP) is floated to eligible firms to bid for the equipment. Thus the SQRs are the cornerstone of an acquisition proposal.

Qualitative Requirements are of two types, depending on the categorisation of the case. If the project is under the ‘Make’ (in India) category, since the equipment is being indigenously designed a Preliminary SQR (PSQR) is generated. For all other categorisations an Air SQR, NSQR (for the Navy) or GSQR (Army) is made. The reason lies in the basic dissimilarity between a ‘Make’ project and the other categorisations. Considering that indigenous design capability is not sufficiently developed, procurement rules permit an incremental approach in the ‘Make’ process till the fruition of the prototype. Thus, PSQRs are jointly framed by the IAF and the development agency, taking into account the operational capability required by the former and the designing capability of the latter. As development progresses, PSQRs are fine-tuned till the prototype takes shape and its performance meets the requirements of the PSQRs. The PSQRs are then converted to ASQR (or its equivalent for the other services) and frozen. Therefore, a PSQR is futuristic in character, because inherent in it is the element of technology that is still under development.

On the other hand, an ASQR resides more ‘in the present’ and is indicative of the technology that is on offer by arms manufacturing firms. In most cases, an ASQR is less demanding than a PSQR since the developing Indian entity (in a PSQR case) could be researching and designing a capability that foreign firms are unable to offer, either because they do not posses it or because their governments have not cleared its sale.

A case study

So, what transpired in the BTA project under which the Pilatus was procured? PSQRs were generated in early 2009 for the development of the HTT-40 basic trainer aircraft to replace the HAL-built HPT-32. These PSQRs were a joint effort of the IAF and HAL. However, in May 2009, following a number of crashes of the HPT-32, the aircraft was prematurely grounded by the IAF; this writer was part of the decision- making and recalls the enormity of the repercussions that weighed on everyone present. But there was no way out. The IAF’s training schedule was totally disrupted; HJT-16 Kiran intermediate trainers had to be withdrawn from the Surya Kiran aerobatic team and the Flying Instructors School to put in place an ad hoc basic training profile for rookie trainees. The flying syllabus was drastically curtailed to manage the available flying hours on the Kiran. A basic trainer had to be urgently bought from abroad to tide over the crisis and put the flying training profile back on track. With the HTT-40 nowhere on the horizon, ASQRs were generated to enable worldwide competition. These ASQRs may have been different than the PSQRs for the HTT-40 due the fact that an aircraft had to be found as soon as possible to train pilots for operational squadrons. Of the companies that responded to the RFP, six were shortlisted in the technical evaluation, of which three subsequently qualified in the flight evaluation. The Pilatus PC-7 emerged as the lowest bidder in the evaluation of commercial bids.

As has become the norm in defence procurements nearing fruition, there were insinuations that the ASQRs had been diluted in the selection of the Pilatus. Critics overlooked the fact that in any acquisition a group of IAF professionals, on whose training the country has spent a fortune, goes about the selection process diligently. In the event, the HTT-40 is still at least four years away from gaining operational status and for production to start. Meanwhile, the Pilatus has been going great guns for the past three years at the Air Force Academy, and the IAF’s training profile is back on track, converting rookie youngsters to operational pilots for frontline squadrons. These young pilots are guarding our skies day in and day out.

So, is it a dead end for development of a modern fighter in the country? Far from it as the technologies developed in the Tejas programme should come handy in the Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft (AMCA) programme of the country. Meanwhile, one hopes that the Indian Navy’s non-acceptance of the Tejas is accepted as born out of an evaluation by specialists

In WW1 and WW2 "ASQR" became whatever the nation could produce at home for Britain, Germany and the US, rather than what is available with others. I told Air Marshal Bahadur this on Twitter. No response

Why all the way back to WW, when it's true even today. What was the ASQR when we bought Mig-21, T-72 etc. ?ASQR or any other acronym document will become whatever you want it to be given the geopolitical expediency and/or bribes.
Mihir

Post by Mihir »

Kartik wrote:Jaguar with Python 5! Whatever happened to the ASRAAM deal with MBDA?
I think those are Python-4. It's impossible to tell the difference, though.

That is indeed correct Mihir. Very hard to tell the difference unless up close. Check these out...

Python 5

Python 4

Lovely pic of the cat. There is something just 'badass' about those over-wing pylons..

^^ an IAF invention mind you :)

Sepecat claims it as its own invention for "Jaguar internationals". :wink:

P.S. To be fair to them, they had shown the design on a mock up at Farnborough in 1974. Obviously, they had also shown it on the Electric. There is some claim that they had taken a test Jaguar out to test Magics on overwing pylons in 1978. However, nobody operationalized it before the IAF (around 1984-85). After ASTE had done the certification, BAE sold it to other export customers as a certified product (Everything that India developed on the Jaguars could be used by BAe without any IPR). In 1991, when the Brits went to the Gulf war, nobody else had any idea of how to use the overwing pylons other than IAF. Therefore, they consulted IAF on the same.

What a joke that is ... :D

Air Marshal (retd) Tyagi, former CAS arrested by CBI
A Deshmukh

Post by A Deshmukh »

shiv wrote:Air Marshal (retd) Tyagi, former CAS arrested by CBI
:!: good.

Sad, really sad. If he did it, he deserves it. But it tarnishes the office he once held.

i remember a conversation with a retired (but young) IN officer a couple of years back about tyagi... he said "AM hai, usne to aur jyaada liya hoga..."
:-(

'Hakim' is person of authority over an area.

'Hakeem' is the Doctor. We have been addressing Hakeem Shiv Saheb incorrectly.
Why use Persian/Arabic words for Dr. Sahib?

I will rather use vaidyaH - or Vaida! the correct word for Doctor in Sanskrit and many Indian languages!