habal wrote: kjo, there is an old biblical saying. A man can't travel in 2 boats.
Similarly, a man cannot serve God and the devil at the same time.

Now it is clear why you are so anti DeMo and anti Modi.
habal wrote: kjo, there is an old biblical saying. A man can't travel in 2 boats.
L1A is for executives., as in B or C level - for example Sr. Managers, Directors, VPs etc.la.khan wrote: Executives as in C level (CEO, CIO, CFO etc)? I thought it included project managers, program managers, delivery managers too. No? Also, I believe, the criteria for L1A visa and EB1C GC filing are the same. Any individual that qualifies for L1A visa also qualifies for EB1C queue, when filing for PR/GC.
so they are forced to choose India naa. Those who desperately seek to go abroad but cannot go abroad are forced to vote for India by their pocket. Until their choices are restricted, they are forced to choose country of their residence. If they get a choice of USA or India, they may well choose USA like you have done. Then they will also become advocates of USA and their vote will reflect the interest of their pockets. It is painful but this is the reality.KJo wrote: In the same way I can say that most 'patriotic' people staying in India are merely there because they didn't get a visa. I know so many who desperately want to go abroad, US, ME, UK etc. What about those?
GC. H1B is not and never was an immigrant visa. It's a NIV with dual intent, i.e you can start GC process while within it. Student visas are not dual intent so you can't petiton for adjustment of status to green card as a student.Singha wrote:>> Removes the ‘per country’ cap for employment based immigrant visas
does this refer to h1 visas or GC ? I am not aware that h1 ever had any per country cap. if its GC thats good news for indics and sinics, the usual whipping boys.
There is a level called International Manager. the person needs to have worked in 3+ countries and should have a designation of "manager".disha wrote:L1A is for executives., as in B or C level - for example Sr. Managers, Directors, VPs etc.la.khan wrote: Executives as in C level (CEO, CIO, CFO etc)? I thought it included project managers, program managers, delivery managers too. No? Also, I believe, the criteria for L1A visa and EB1C GC filing are the same. Any individual that qualifies for L1A visa also qualifies for EB1C queue, when filing for PR/GC.
Project managers, program managers, delivery managers and sanitation managers do not qualify - but unfortunately abuse of L1A is rampant., anything with the word "manager" is sent for L1A.
The visa is H1B1. For Chile 1400 and for Singapore 5400. I am not sure if these taken out of H1B visa numbers. They can not pursue permanent residency while on this status unlike H1b holders who can try for GC.disha wrote:Wrong. Read the H1B program again.Karthik S wrote:Only Singapore has 8k H1-Bs reserved for it.
KJo sir, if the companies that bend or misuse the rules are fined etc that's fine. Fixing the system is fine, but saying that people who go do so because they are cheap labor and not talented is what I disagree. Many people I know have gone on H1-B and people whom you are referring to are a tiny percentage of them. In all this, we didn't even consider the Masters students who take student loans and now have to worry about repaying them, especially if OPT extension is revoked.KJo wrote:My situation is a bit more complex.
Now prices of housing will fall in India because of the crackdown. People who legally bought at high prices will be screwed. Watch this space in a year and let's discuss.
This has nothing to do with me personally. A right is a right and a wrong is wrong. BM is wrong regardless if I do it or someone else. If I do it, it does not become acceptable or okay.
Cheating labor laws is wrong. That is what many Indian companies and many US companies have done. That needs to be fixed. Do you disagree with this statement?
The problem here is that legally you cannot compel a US citizen to leave the country for a period of time. Citizenship involves right to residence. The anchor baby issue may involve action against jus solis laws requiring proof of legal residency, i.e. birth on US shores doesn't automatically provide citizenship unless both parents are legal residents or legal aliens. But of course this has LOTS of legal issues of its own - how do all the single baby mommas with missing men claim citizenship ? Maybe one parent's legal residency is enough.saip wrote:If you are born in the US, you are US Citizen Period (with rare exceptions). The Anchor babies rules relate to their parents. If they are illegally in they should not be given any higher privileges because they had sex in this country. Deport them and let the baby come back when he/she become a major.
Ok, so we agree that the companies who bend the rules need to be punished.Karthik S wrote: KJo sir, if the companies that bend or misuse the rules are fined etc that's fine. Fixing the system is fine, but saying that people who go do so because they are cheap labor and not talented is what I disagree. Many people I know have gone on H1-B and people whom you are referring to are a tiny percentage of them. In all this, we didn't even consider the Masters students who take student loans and now have to worry about repaying them, especially if OPT extension is revoked.
Actually, the Biblical saying is that you cannot serve God and mammon (money) at the same time. (Matthew 6:22-24, Luke 16:13-15)habal wrote:
kjo, there is an old biblical saying. A man can't travel in 2 boats.
It is all about making his base look like the U. S. government is abusing the brown. They have been left out the economic growth of the past 30 years and want to see brown people in handcuffs (or laugh at people driving BMWs for paying a tariff).amitkv wrote:@kjo, DT and his ilk who worry about cheap foreign labour are the ones who are opposed to $15 minimum wage for Americans.
Remember that before you throw around that cheap labour BS. This is all about reserving the jobs for white majority, period! DT is playing to his base just like all politicians do.
He can stop H1b visa all that he wants, I doubt if it will stop the offshoring. For every H1b from Infosys, there is a team of 100 that is in India. Mostly the people here from big IT companies are in senior roles who collect project info and manage people offshore (with some exceptions of course).
Exactly. Don't forget, a businessman is in charge. Not a blue collar guy and has no experience at all at life at that level, but is someone born with a silver spoon in his mouth, who loves the color and smell of money. He's packed his entire cabinet with the same kind too. He just happens to be very good at sensing what people want and giving them the show that keeps them entertained.komal wrote:It is all about making his base look like the U. S. government is abusing the brown. They have been left out the economic growth of the past 30 years and want to see brown people in handcuffs (or laugh at people driving BMWs for paying a tariff).
The net effect of restricting H1 B will actually increase off shoring even more jobs.
His real target are the 11+ million illegals and he has already ordered hiring 10,000 additional interior enforcement officers and additional 5,000 at the borders.abhik wrote:I guess after the visa issue is dealt with by DT, the next strike (with a megaton nuke) will be on the 'anchor baby' scheme. IIRC DT talked about this in the campaign, is it a constitutional provision?
Thanks for doing the search - they are taken out of current H1B visa numbers., now to add to it check out the status of Taiwan.saip wrote: The visa is H1B1. For Chile 1400 and for Singapore 5400. I am not sure if these taken out of H1B visa numbers. They can not pursue permanent residency while on this status unlike H1b holders who can try for GC.
Working in 3+ countries does not automatically qualify you as a manager., but if you are not in one of those Sr. Manager+ categories but you are a manager with 3+ country experience then L1A can apply. Either way, the qualifications are still very very very high compared to say "sanitation manager" (you missed the punAtmavik wrote:There is a level called International Manager. the person needs to have worked in 3+ countries and should have a designation of "manager".
Dipanker wrote:His real target are the 11+ million illegals and he has already ordered hiring 10,000 additional interior enforcement officers and additional 5,000 at the borders.abhik wrote:I guess after the visa issue is dealt with by DT, the next strike (with a megaton nuke) will be on the 'anchor baby' scheme. IIRC DT talked about this in the campaign, is it a constitutional provision?
May be so. But they never reached the limit of 6800 combined. Then there is E3 for Australians and TN for Canadians and Mexicans. All these relate to Free Trade Agreements. May be India should sign one too?disha wrote:Thanks for doing the search - they are taken out of current H1B visa numbers., now to add to it check out the status of Taiwan.saip wrote: The visa is H1B1. For Chile 1400 and for Singapore 5400. I am not sure if these taken out of H1B visa numbers. They can not pursue permanent residency while on this status unlike H1b holders who can try for GC.
The problem with the $130k lower limit is that fresh MS grads will not be able to transition to H-1B since nobody is going to pay them $130k (and they're talking about removing OPT extension too). Even people with a few years experience do not make that much outside of SV, Seattle, NY and a few other places.Suraj wrote: Lofgren's bill is easily the best of the lot . I don't see the problem. Bodyshops in any case have dealt with many H1B changes over the years. The cap was almost 200K at one time. Then it fell to 65K ? Then the 20K masters exemption. Then lottery system. I don't really see the point of moaning here. They picked the best possible bill for changing the H1B system. H1Bs in 10-20 year long retrogression nightmare will LOVE the removal of per-country caps on GC.
If they want to game the system of pay, I can see many ways they could do it. E.g. pay split between salary and equity, with equity having clawback provisions that enable them to claim $130K total pay and yet actually pay less. Or other such jugaad.
habal wrote:kjo, there is an old biblical saying. A man can't travel in 2 boats.KJo wrote:thanks habal, but since I grew up in India, I also have India's interests at heart. I think a lot of people here have that conflict and don't want to answer to "who do you choose, US or India?". It's like choosing between daddy and mummy.
I want India to become very powerful and prosperous just like the stories we hear from 1000s of years ago. I want Indian culture to shine, not fake culture today which is copied from the Amreeki.
Similarly, a man cannot serve God and the devil at the same time. You have to strike a choice, because life forces you to choose. Once you have chosen, you need to stick by your choice rather than reminisce how life would have been if I had made the other choice. Dual-citzen or OCI cannot be loyal to both countries. Umpteen number of paki examples of dual-citizens have shown that when push comes to shove the dual-citizens will prefer their bideshi soil over desi. So while you wish India were a superpowa and nuclear armed monster and UN seat holder, you have voted with your pocket in favor of USA. And that is the bottomline.
The E3 and TN are not a path to a GC either. But they are very easy to get. I got one some years ago, 15 minutes at a US entry point is all that was needed to get it stamped. 1 year validity, renewable. But after 2 such renewals they encourage you to get a H1B or in other words discourage the continued use of the E3/TN beyond a 3 year period.saip wrote:May be so. But they never reached the limit of 6800 combined. Then there is E3 for Australians and TN for Canadians and Mexicans. All these relate to Free Trade Agreements. May be India should sign one too?disha wrote:
Thanks for doing the search - they are taken out of current H1B visa numbers., now to add to it check out the status of Taiwan.
The 130K figure is definitely high outside of Silicon Valley, Probably it'll be indexed to regional wage tiers. Plus, it can be total compensation and not salary, and employers can use all manner of vesting cliffs, clawbacks and the like to boost notional pay for reporting purposes, while keeping real pay lower. I'm not familiar with the OPT extension system though...nachiket wrote:The problem with the $130k lower limit is that fresh MS grads will not be able to transition to H-1B since nobody is going to pay them $130k (and they're talking about removing OPT extension too). Even people with a few years experience do not make that much outside of SV, Seattle, NY and a few other places.Suraj wrote: Lofgren's bill is easily the best of the lot . I don't see the problem. Bodyshops in any case have dealt with many H1B changes over the years. The cap was almost 200K at one time. Then it fell to 65K ? Then the 20K masters exemption. Then lottery system. I don't really see the point of moaning here. They picked the best possible bill for changing the H1B system. H1Bs in 10-20 year long retrogression nightmare will LOVE the removal of per-country caps on GC.
If they want to game the system of pay, I can see many ways they could do it. E.g. pay split between salary and equity, with equity having clawback provisions that enable them to claim $130K total pay and yet actually pay less. Or other such jugaad.
If this bill passes in current form, a lot of people are heading back home, that's for sure.
Of course, it goes without saying that the TCS-Infy wholesale H-1B applications are done for too. No way they can pay all their onsite employees that much.
There is special quota for H1B for Taiwan as well., just like Chile and S'gapore. SaiP'ji., you are unnecessarily getting riled up., I never meant anything about FTA., but now since you have raised the question - what is wrong with India/US FTA?saip wrote:May be so. But they never reached the limit of 6800 combined. Then there is E3 for Australians and TN for Canadians and Mexicans. All these relate to Free Trade Agreements. May be India should sign one too?
Just to note., even people with lot of years of experience do not make much inside SV & Seattle (that is 130k per annum). Very few in SV have that much salary.nachiket wrote: Even people with a few years experience do not make that much outside of SV, Seattle, NY and a few other places.
Is anybody even reading alt-dabba?
Rudradev'ji., you are on some sort of personal rant on me since several pages. I think you have convinced yourself thatRudradev wrote:Disha ji, as always, I suggest you try to read ALL of what I posted before offering boundless wisdom in response to the first line.
yes that is correct. hordes of project managers have gone the L1a->eb1 route. incl a couple of people i know personally. even if you have 2 reportees and have been manager for 2 yrs it is acceptable. even any time spent as a manager before entering the US is eligible. I know one guy close to a corrupt SVP who was made mgr for 1 yr in india, before taking the L1a route, filing and getting his eb1 there as a mgr with 2 placeholder reports, now after reorg he is some kind of "agile" guy with no reports, but GC in handdisha wrote:L1A is for executives., as in B or C level - for example Sr. Managers, Directors, VPs etc.la.khan wrote: Executives as in C level (CEO, CIO, CFO etc)? I thought it included project managers, program managers, delivery managers too. No? Also, I believe, the criteria for L1A visa and EB1C GC filing are the same. Any individual that qualifies for L1A visa also qualifies for EB1C queue, when filing for PR/GC.
Project managers, program managers, delivery managers and sanitation managers do not qualify - but unfortunately abuse of L1A is rampant., anything with the word "manager" is sent for L1A.