Understanding US thread-III

Re: Understanding US thread-III

habal wrote: kjo, there is an old biblical saying. A man can't travel in 2 boats.

Similarly, a man cannot serve God and the devil at the same time.

Now it is clear why you are so anti DeMo and anti Modi.

la.khan wrote: Executives as in C level (CEO, CIO, CFO etc)? I thought it included project managers, program managers, delivery managers too. No? Also, I believe, the criteria for L1A visa and EB1C GC filing are the same. Any individual that qualifies for L1A visa also qualifies for EB1C queue, when filing for PR/GC.
L1A is for executives., as in B or C level - for example Sr. Managers, Directors, VPs etc.

Project managers, program managers, delivery managers and sanitation managers do not qualify - but unfortunately abuse of L1A is rampant., anything with the word "manager" is sent for L1A.

KJo wrote: In the same way I can say that most 'patriotic' people staying in India are merely there because they didn't get a visa. I know so many who desperately want to go abroad, US, ME, UK etc. What about those?
so they are forced to choose India naa. Those who desperately seek to go abroad but cannot go abroad are forced to vote for India by their pocket. Until their choices are restricted, they are forced to choose country of their residence. If they get a choice of USA or India, they may well choose USA like you have done. Then they will also become advocates of USA and their vote will reflect the interest of their pockets. It is painful but this is the reality.

Singha wrote:>> Removes the ‘per country’ cap for employment based immigrant visas

does this refer to h1 visas or GC ? I am not aware that h1 ever had any per country cap. if its GC thats good news for indics and sinics, the usual whipping boys.
GC. H1B is not and never was an immigrant visa. It's a NIV with dual intent, i.e you can start GC process while within it. Student visas are not dual intent so you can't petiton for adjustment of status to green card as a student.

Lofgren's bill is easily the best of the lot . I don't see the problem. Bodyshops in any case have dealt with many H1B changes over the years. The cap was almost 200K at one time. Then it fell to 65K ? Then the 20K masters exemption. Then lottery system. I don't really see the point of moaning here. They picked the best possible bill for changing the H1B system. H1Bs in 10-20 year long retrogression nightmare will LOVE the removal of per-country caps on GC.

If they want to game the system of pay, I can see many ways they could do it. E.g. pay split between salary and equity, with equity having clawback provisions that enable them to claim $130K total pay and yet actually pay less. Or other such jugaad.

la.khan wrote: Executives as in C level (CEO, CIO, CFO etc)? I thought it included project managers, program managers, delivery managers too. No? Also, I believe, the criteria for L1A visa and EB1C GC filing are the same. Any individual that qualifies for L1A visa also qualifies for EB1C queue, when filing for PR/GC.
L1A is for executives., as in B or C level - for example Sr. Managers, Directors, VPs etc.

Project managers, program managers, delivery managers and sanitation managers do not qualify - but unfortunately abuse of L1A is rampant., anything with the word "manager" is sent for L1A.
There is a level called International Manager. the person needs to have worked in 3+ countries and should have a designation of "manager".

OK, the person who claims to have witnessed the handcuffed child at Washington Dulles airport has made their twitter account private. So let's take the allegation as withdrawn.

Karthik S wrote:Only Singapore has 8k H1-Bs reserved for it.
Wrong. Read the H1B program again.
The visa is H1B1. For Chile 1400 and for Singapore 5400. I am not sure if these taken out of H1B visa numbers. They can not pursue permanent residency while on this status unlike H1b holders who can try for GC.

KJo wrote:My situation is a bit more complex.

Now prices of housing will fall in India because of the crackdown. People who legally bought at high prices will be screwed. Watch this space in a year and let's discuss.

This has nothing to do with me personally. A right is a right and a wrong is wrong. BM is wrong regardless if I do it or someone else. If I do it, it does not become acceptable or okay.

Cheating labor laws is wrong. That is what many Indian companies and many US companies have done. That needs to be fixed. Do you disagree with this statement?
KJo sir, if the companies that bend or misuse the rules are fined etc that's fine. Fixing the system is fine, but saying that people who go do so because they are cheap labor and not talented is what I disagree. Many people I know have gone on H1-B and people whom you are referring to are a tiny percentage of them. In all this, we didn't even consider the Masters students who take student loans and now have to worry about repaying them, especially if OPT extension is revoked.

I guess after the visa issue is dealt with by DT, the next strike (with a megaton nuke) will be on the 'anchor baby' scheme. IIRC DT talked about this in the campaign, is it a constitutional provision?

If you are born in the US, you are US Citizen Period (with rare exceptions). The Anchor babies rules relate to their parents. If they are illegally in they should not be given any higher privileges because they had sex in this country. Deport them and let the baby come back when he/she become a major.
Melwyn

Post by Melwyn »

@kjo, DT and his ilk who worry about cheap foreign labour, are the ones who are opposed to $15 minimum wage for Americans.
Remember that, before you throw around that cheap labour BS. This is all about reserving the jobs for white majority, period! DT is playing to his base just like all politicians do.

He can stop H1b visa all that he wants, I doubt if it will stop the offshoring. For every H1b from Infosys, there is a team of 100 that is in India. Mostly the people here from big IT companies are in senior roles who collect project info and manage people offshore (with some exceptions of course). There are some smaller body shoppers from India, Ukraine , South America etc who will be hit hard because it they who mostly fill the lower level developer roles. The worst hit are the H1b who come through the MS route as they mostly are inexperienced and have a huge debt.
Last edited by Melwyn on 01 Feb 2017 02:42, edited 2 times in total.

saip wrote:If you are born in the US, you are US Citizen Period (with rare exceptions). The Anchor babies rules relate to their parents. If they are illegally in they should not be given any higher privileges because they had sex in this country. Deport them and let the baby come back when he/she become a major.
The problem here is that legally you cannot compel a US citizen to leave the country for a period of time. Citizenship involves right to residence. The anchor baby issue may involve action against jus solis laws requiring proof of legal residency, i.e. birth on US shores doesn't automatically provide citizenship unless both parents are legal residents or legal aliens. But of course this has LOTS of legal issues of its own - how do all the single baby mommas with missing men claim citizenship ? Maybe one parent's legal residency is enough.

Karthik S wrote: KJo sir, if the companies that bend or misuse the rules are fined etc that's fine. Fixing the system is fine, but saying that people who go do so because they are cheap labor and not talented is what I disagree. Many people I know have gone on H1-B and people whom you are referring to are a tiny percentage of them. In all this, we didn't even consider the Masters students who take student loans and now have to worry about repaying them, especially if OPT extension is revoked.
Ok, so we agree that the companies who bend the rules need to be punished.

H1B people are a mixed bag, there are some/many brilliant ones and there are absolutely dumb ones. The brilliant ones do a lot of great things and we know some names. Then there are people in the middle who I think are the vast majority. The situation was such that TCS/INFY types would hire 10s of 1000s and ship them to the US and other places. Hard to imagine that these are all top notch people, and I have worked alongside some and was absolutely appalled. Not for their tech skills but for their attitude and behavior. They got things easy, so they did not appreciate it. They just had to stick around for 6 months and would be promoted and given another assignment.

The disagreement is you think it's only a tiny percentage who are bad and I think it is much more than that.

Well, if you look at it from the other side, why is it the responsibility of the US Govt/taxpayer to take care of people who took loans for Masters? I have been in similar situation because of the downturn and no one gave me a quarter. Life is tough. I remember people here buying huge mansions that they could not afford and then crying that they lost their jobs and how could they afford it?

habal wrote:
kjo, there is an old biblical saying. A man can't travel in 2 boats.

Similarly, a man cannot serve God and the devil at the same time.
Actually, the Biblical saying is that you cannot serve God and mammon (money) at the same time. (Matthew 6:22-24, Luke 16:13-15)
komal

Post by komal »

amitkv wrote:@kjo, DT and his ilk who worry about cheap foreign labour are the ones who are opposed to $15 minimum wage for Americans.
Remember that before you throw around that cheap labour BS. This is all about reserving the jobs for white majority, period! DT is playing to his base just like all politicians do.

He can stop H1b visa all that he wants, I doubt if it will stop the offshoring. For every H1b from Infosys, there is a team of 100 that is in India. Mostly the people here from big IT companies are in senior roles who collect project info and manage people offshore (with some exceptions of course).
It is all about making his base look like the U. S. government is abusing the brown. They have been left out the economic growth of the past 30 years and want to see brown people in handcuffs (or laugh at people driving BMWs for paying a tariff).

The net effect of restricting H1 B will actually increase off shoring even more jobs.

komal wrote:It is all about making his base look like the U. S. government is abusing the brown. They have been left out the economic growth of the past 30 years and want to see brown people in handcuffs (or laugh at people driving BMWs for paying a tariff).

The net effect of restricting H1 B will actually increase off shoring even more jobs.
Exactly. Don't forget, a businessman is in charge. Not a blue collar guy and has no experience at all at life at that level, but is someone born with a silver spoon in his mouth, who loves the color and smell of money. He's packed his entire cabinet with the same kind too. He just happens to be very good at sensing what people want and giving them the show that keeps them entertained.

He's not here as the savior of the blue collar American, but simply to give them cheap thrills to keep them en thrall, while ensuring business as usual for the rich, whose first prerogative is to minimize the main cost center of business, i.e. the wage bill.

abhik wrote:I guess after the visa issue is dealt with by DT, the next strike (with a megaton nuke) will be on the 'anchor baby' scheme. IIRC DT talked about this in the campaign, is it a constitutional provision?
His real target are the 11+ million illegals and he has already ordered hiring 10,000 additional interior enforcement officers and additional 5,000 at the borders.

saip wrote: The visa is H1B1. For Chile 1400 and for Singapore 5400. I am not sure if these taken out of H1B visa numbers. They can not pursue permanent residency while on this status unlike H1b holders who can try for GC.
Thanks for doing the search - they are taken out of current H1B visa numbers., now to add to it check out the status of Taiwan.

Atmavik wrote:There is a level called International Manager. the person needs to have worked in 3+ countries and should have a designation of "manager".
Working in 3+ countries does not automatically qualify you as a manager., but if you are not in one of those Sr. Manager+ categories but you are a manager with 3+ country experience then L1A can apply. Either way, the qualifications are still very very very high compared to say "sanitation manager" (you missed the pun :-D )
Melwyn

Post by Melwyn »

Dipanker wrote:
abhik wrote:I guess after the visa issue is dealt with by DT, the next strike (with a megaton nuke) will be on the 'anchor baby' scheme. IIRC DT talked about this in the campaign, is it a constitutional provision?
His real target are the 11+ million illegals and he has already ordered hiring 10,000 additional interior enforcement officers and additional 5,000 at the borders.
:rotfl: Wasn't he all for small government. This is exactly opposite of that and Amriki version of MNREGA. DT knows that all the hot air of returning the manufacturing jobs to US is just that hot air. So alternative means of employment has to be found for his "base" and poof comes the big government scheme.

why is it the responsibility of the US Govt/taxpayer to take care of people who took loans for Masters?

The US govt actively invites people to study and it is fundamentally unfair to invite students to study under certain set of rules (like x years of OPT) and then change it suddenly to y years.

saip wrote: The visa is H1B1. For Chile 1400 and for Singapore 5400. I am not sure if these taken out of H1B visa numbers. They can not pursue permanent residency while on this status unlike H1b holders who can try for GC.
Thanks for doing the search - they are taken out of current H1B visa numbers., now to add to it check out the status of Taiwan.
May be so. But they never reached the limit of 6800 combined. Then there is E3 for Australians and TN for Canadians and Mexicans. All these relate to Free Trade Agreements. May be India should sign one too?

Suraj wrote: Lofgren's bill is easily the best of the lot . I don't see the problem. Bodyshops in any case have dealt with many H1B changes over the years. The cap was almost 200K at one time. Then it fell to 65K ? Then the 20K masters exemption. Then lottery system. I don't really see the point of moaning here. They picked the best possible bill for changing the H1B system. H1Bs in 10-20 year long retrogression nightmare will LOVE the removal of per-country caps on GC.

If they want to game the system of pay, I can see many ways they could do it. E.g. pay split between salary and equity, with equity having clawback provisions that enable them to claim $130K total pay and yet actually pay less. Or other such jugaad.
The problem with the $130k lower limit is that fresh MS grads will not be able to transition to H-1B since nobody is going to pay them $130k (and they're talking about removing OPT extension too). Even people with a few years experience do not make that much outside of SV, Seattle, NY and a few other places.

If this bill passes in current form, a lot of people are heading back home, that's for sure.

Of course, it goes without saying that the TCS-Infy wholesale H-1B applications are done for too. No way they can pay all their onsite employees that much.

habal wrote:
KJo wrote:thanks habal, but since I grew up in India, I also have India's interests at heart. I think a lot of people here have that conflict and don't want to answer to "who do you choose, US or India?". It's like choosing between daddy and mummy.

I want India to become very powerful and prosperous just like the stories we hear from 1000s of years ago. I want Indian culture to shine, not fake culture today which is copied from the Amreeki.
kjo, there is an old biblical saying. A man can't travel in 2 boats.

Similarly, a man cannot serve God and the devil at the same time. You have to strike a choice, because life forces you to choose. Once you have chosen, you need to stick by your choice rather than reminisce how life would have been if I had made the other choice. Dual-citzen or OCI cannot be loyal to both countries. Umpteen number of paki examples of dual-citizens have shown that when push comes to shove the dual-citizens will prefer their bideshi soil over desi. So while you wish India were a superpowa and nuclear armed monster and UN seat holder, you have voted with your pocket in favor of USA. And that is the bottomline.

I think it is difficult to understand and appreciate the POV of the expatriate without being one. There is no clear black and white but many shades of gray.

I spent several years in UK before moving to the US and I can tell you, not for a minute did I feel any loyalty to the Brits. There were constant reminders of their colonial past and the evidence of the loot from Indian soil was everywhere. Combine this with the condescension from the average Brit who forever thinks of the glorious Days of the Raj and it was easy to feel no love for the land.

The US has been a totally different experience. Like for so many other Indians, getting here was not easy, I had to wait my turn at the gate for several years and when it finally came I was penniless. Borrowed from other family members to sustain my own family, worked hard for many years. Yes, the system is hard to get into, but once you are part of it, I believe it is inherently fair. Have found the Americans to be large-hearted, welcoming and quite oblivious to my accent or appearance. All that they see is my ability for which I have been amply rewarded.

India was my pitrabhumi, but this is my karmabhumi and in a hypothetical war between India and the US, my loyalty would be to the US. It cannot be otherwise. But that day will never come. And so, I also do what I can for the pitrabhumi, I cry for its pain and rejoice in its progress. If that is fake to some here, then so be it. I am too old and past caring for the opinion of some young gun on a forum.
Last edited by Primus on 01 Feb 2017 04:53, edited 1 time in total.

Didn't we see already that Pakistanis were being subjected to "extreme vetting" whatever that is?

saip wrote:
May be so. But they never reached the limit of 6800 combined. Then there is E3 for Australians and TN for Canadians and Mexicans. All these relate to Free Trade Agreements. May be India should sign one too?
The E3 and TN are not a path to a GC either. But they are very easy to get. I got one some years ago, 15 minutes at a US entry point is all that was needed to get it stamped. 1 year validity, renewable. But after 2 such renewals they encourage you to get a H1B or in other words discourage the continued use of the E3/TN beyond a 3 year period.

Suraj wrote: Lofgren's bill is easily the best of the lot . I don't see the problem. Bodyshops in any case have dealt with many H1B changes over the years. The cap was almost 200K at one time. Then it fell to 65K ? Then the 20K masters exemption. Then lottery system. I don't really see the point of moaning here. They picked the best possible bill for changing the H1B system. H1Bs in 10-20 year long retrogression nightmare will LOVE the removal of per-country caps on GC.

The problem with the $130k lower limit is that fresh MS grads will not be able to transition to H-1B since nobody is going to pay them $130k (and they're talking about removing OPT extension too). Even people with a few years experience do not make that much outside of SV, Seattle, NY and a few other places.

If this bill passes in current form, a lot of people are heading back home, that's for sure.

Of course, it goes without saying that the TCS-Infy wholesale H-1B applications are done for too. No way they can pay all their onsite employees that much.
The 130K figure is definitely high outside of Silicon Valley, Probably it'll be indexed to regional wage tiers. Plus, it can be total compensation and not salary, and employers can use all manner of vesting cliffs, clawbacks and the like to boost notional pay for reporting purposes, while keeping real pay lower. I'm not familiar with the OPT extension system though...

As for 'must seek to hire a capable American first', what's new ? Didn't the law ALWAYS say that too ? That didn't stop abuse, and I don't see any of that amounting to much. Yes some will have to go home. But that was also the case when the pool was reduced from 200K/year to the current 65K too. That happened many years ago, and our IT industry adapted.

I don't think there's any perfect bill, but Lofgren's bill looks like what has the most palatable feature set. Do you prefer someone else's proposal instead ? If so, why ?

saip wrote:May be so. But they never reached the limit of 6800 combined. Then there is E3 for Australians and TN for Canadians and Mexicans. All these relate to Free Trade Agreements. May be India should sign one too?
There is special quota for H1B for Taiwan as well., just like Chile and S'gapore. SaiP'ji., you are unnecessarily getting riled up., I never meant anything about FTA., but now since you have raised the question - what is wrong with India/US FTA?

nachiket wrote: Even people with a few years experience do not make that much outside of SV, Seattle, NY and a few other places.
Just to note., even people with lot of years of experience do not make much inside SV & Seattle (that is 130k per annum). Very few in SV have that much salary.

It is a shibboleth that all in SV get >130k and higher figure. Joe Lofgren was just smoking from her a$$ for putting a requirement for a fresh graduate out of college on H1B to be paid a whole lot more than already experienced and even more compelling and talented and skilled local engineer.

However as Suraj'san suggests is the 130k figure gross or net?
Last edited by disha on 01 Feb 2017 05:16, edited 1 time in total.

What did I tell you guys?

Here is an article, originally appearing on Scroll dot In by one Ipsita Chakravarti entitled: "Think Trump's 'Muslim ban' is unacceptable? Here's how India deals with refugees". Read it if you want to puke... the point of my post is not to do with its content, but the nature of its promotion and distribution.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/think-trumps ... 51410.html

So what's the problem? Scroll dot in naa? It's just a trashy left-wing propaganda site operated by Omidyar network, of/by/for JNU types in India onlee. So why to worry.

I'll tell you what the problem is. This article... syndicated to US Yahoo News... was a TOP Google result for the search string "Muslim Ban", when searching from a (workplace, NOT personal) computer in the USA.

Think about that. Someone in the USA simply searches for "Muslim Ban" on google, and this story about how horribly Yindoo fundamentalist India treats Muslims comes up front and center in the row of "Top Stories" (with an accompanying picture of starving Muslim chilluns and everything).

EVERY other story that comes up for "Muslim Ban" has to do with Trump's executive order on immigration and visa suspension. Except this one, which purports to present a counterpoint... by alleging how much WORSE than Trump the fascist Modi is, when it comes to atrocities against Muslims.

Atrocity literature, targeting India, front and center. Rising fast and furious into a limelight that is stoked with the current political climate, rife with antipathy against the Trump administration. Taking full advantage of the wide, vapid public outcry against "religious intolerance", "Islamophobia" etc. to target India and Hindus... reminding the White American Muslim-sympathizer that there is something worse than Trump out there.

Evidence of A-plus level diversion, orchestrated by the EJ dealmakers in connivance with the usual USCIRF/Berkeley-Haas crew. The coalition would like to re-target the prevailing "Social Justice" outrage seething against Trump towards a common enemy of both the US "RW" and "LW"... Indian Hindu Heathens.

Was I wrong?
Last edited by Rudradev on 01 Feb 2017 05:19, edited 1 time in total.

Rudradev wrote:What did I tell you guys?

https://www.yahoo.com/news/think-trumps ... 51410.html
Is anybody even reading alt-dabba?

Disha ji, as always, I suggest you try to read ALL of what I posted before offering boundless wisdom in response to the first line.

Now DT has nominated someone by the name Neil Gorsuch for US SC. Live on Tv.

Rudradev wrote:Disha ji, as always, I suggest you try to read ALL of what I posted before offering boundless wisdom in response to the first line.
Rudradev'ji., you are on some sort of personal rant on me since several pages. I think you have convinced yourself that

a. I do not read your posts and try to put "things in your mouth" or rather make you say things which you do not want to say
b. I am just a moron who has no other purpose in life

Point 'b' above may be true AND point 'a' is completely untrue.

Now here is something which I want *you* sir need to ponder before you go out again on a personal rant against me!

In ALL of what you said., you are offering the following wisdom:

1. That the attack on Indians/Hindu will only increase by both the EvanJihadis and the alt-left-commies
2. The heathen Hindus will be juxtaposed with crazy Trump and pointed out that Trump is a saint., and the Hindu and their leaders are thus evil.
3. Any anger towards Trump from the alt-left-commies will be directed to anybody from India who will be seen dealing with Trump in a positive way
3a. In the process the Indian/Hindu image will be tarnished.

The above are the warnings you issued will happen before Trump was elected and in a way you were rooting for HRC because you were of the opinion that the attacks on India/Hindu will be soft.

If you do not agree with my assessment of the above., please go back and read ALL of your *own* posts. Particularly the ones prior to the election. And if you still do not agree, then well we at-least "agree to disagree".

Now here are my points:

1. You are overthinking., yes the attacks will be different but nonetheless atrocity story attacks were happening before on infidel hindus and India and will happen again.
2. Too much credit is being given to the 'Omidyar network'. Yes it is there. Yes it is a tool. And Yes it will be used and continually will be used.
3. You are definitely under informed., to the point that you do not even know the play of words 'Alt-Dabba'. Check out the word 'altaba'.
3a. There is a reason why Y! became alt-dabba.

Just to note., there is something called the 'American Experience'., this is the 'American Experience' that has propelled Trump to the presidentship and this is the American Experience which will come forth where atrocity literature is negated. The average joe on the street is less threatened by the Hindu/Indian than the beards since the joe (or jane) understands that Hindu/Indians are better integrated into the American Mainstream than the average beard!

Already the American MSM has lost its moorings., and it is the least trusted on any issues. In fact when Musk tweets that it is better to read the source rather than the interpretation of the news as opinion and 100s of his followers do it - it just negates the MSM big time. Trust lost is not easily regained. Particularly among the binary thinking American popln.

So coming to perception about ALL your posts., yes - we get it. We do get it that attacks will increase and will be more on the sly.

What is the solution you offer?
Last edited by disha on 01 Feb 2017 09:51, edited 1 time in total.

CNN steps in the pakistan with this attack: I think most Americans (and Indians) will have their opinion of BannonZee go up

What Bannon says is the literal truth about the meaning of the word. Let alone being the reality.

yes that is correct. hordes of project managers have gone the L1a->eb1 route. incl a couple of people i know personally. even if you have 2 reportees and have been manager for 2 yrs it is acceptable. even any time spent as a manager before entering the US is eligible. I know one guy close to a corrupt SVP who was made mgr for 1 yr in india, before taking the L1a route, filing and getting his eb1 there as a mgr with 2 placeholder reports, now after reorg he is some kind of "agile" guy with no reports, but GC in hand :lol:

the optics of SWAT raids to round up illegal migrants will play well to the peanut gallery and serve as a deterrent to the central american masses slinking around the mehican border

expect seal teams to be drafted in too for effect, with their famous 4 tube neptune spear wide angle NVG to round up a few cowering migrants hiding in the cellar of a restaurant :)

who doesnt like sweeping around in big souped up vans and SUVs, fully armed, a free pass to dominate any "situation" :twisted:

its coming boys and natgeo/disc will have shows on it from planning to the aftermath titled "saving america" or "border control raw"

#strong

Trump to "work with pharma companies" to cut drug prices :eek:
Now Playing: Trump sinks drug stocks