India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020

Re: India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020

https://twitter.com/FrontalAssault1/sta ... 8229200896
Indian forces are keeping a very close watch on PLA buildup in Depsang-DBO in Ladakh.
https://twitter.com/TheWolfpackIN/statu ... 4627607552
Report: Indian Army has deployed a mix of armoured and mechanized elements at Depsang Plains and another combat group at Chumar to counter any PLA retaliatory moves.

Just a reminder and for reference . ... old one
(Mods - Let me know if I should move this to another forum)

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/ ... ers-report
UN peacekeepers refused to help as aid workers were raped in South Sudan – report

Chinese troops abandoned their posts rather than engage in fighting and protect civilians, says US-based rights group
United Nations peacekeepers stayed in their bases rather than protect civilians during an outbreak of fighting in South Sudan in July, a rights group has said.

Chinese UN peacekeepers in the capital Juba “abandoned their posts entirely” at one civilian protection site where tens of thousands had sought safety from successive bouts of fighting, a report by the US-based Centre for Civilians in Conflict (Civic) said.

Although Ethiopian troops appear to have withdrawn from their perimeter positions at another base, civilians said the peacekeepers helped evacuate civilian casualties and, on at least a few occasions, returned fire when fighters targeted the camp. Outside the fortified bases, however, peacekeeper presence was “non-existent”.

The failures came amid clashes in Juba between troops from the government’s Sudan People’s Liberation Army (SPLA), loyal to the president Salva Kiir, and opposition forces of his rival Riek Machar. The street battles, in which scores were killed, were the culmination of months of tension between the two factions, and resulted in the flight of Machar from South Sudan.

During four days of fighting between the rival forces, artillery rounds and gunfire hit two UN bases, killing two Chinese peacekeepers.

The Chinese troops subsequently abandoned their posts, leaving weapons and ammunition behind, the report said.

More than 300 people died in the fighting, with the majority of the military casualties sustained by the rebels. A number of government soldiers from the SPLA were also killed.

However, civilians suffered worst, with tens of thousands displaced by the violence and widespread human rights abuses by both sides.
On the last day of the fighting, about 80 to 100 government soldiers attacked a compound in Juba where they raped and gang-raped at least five international aid workers and physically or sexually assaulted at least a dozen others.
All this happened when there was a UN Base manned by Chinese peacekeepers only a few hundred metres from the compound. However despite dozens of appeals for help from the besieged aid workers and personal visits from at least one who escaped from the compound, the Chinese peacekeepers simply REFUSED to leave the safety of their base.
https://www.indiatoday.in/india/story/s ... 2016-07-14
EXCLUSIVE: How the Indian Army saved the day in South Sudan
The Indian Army has been deployed across the country under the aegis of United Nations Mission In South Sudan (UNMISS).

@manjgu - I have a post several weeks ago on Ane La, Piu La and Tratsang La. Rolling down Ane La or the other two passes would enable IA to threaten Fort Khurnak, which is way to the east of Sirijap (Finger 8 ) and on the AJ line aka India’s border with Tibet

manjgu wrote:
pankajs wrote: From what I understand .. Starting @ 1:57] what the General is saying is that our capture of Black top has neutralized the Chinese advantage on the north bank of Pangang tso BECAUSE there is a height on F4 that dominates <<f2-8/something>> AND "Ane La" which we COULD have used to cut off the Chinese <<at IB/Fort area and trapping the Chinese in the middle>> ... Now we have squared up the game.

So "this" height he is referring to is the Black top <<or something near>> that allows us to "negate" the advantage that occupation of F4 and a specific location on F4 allowed the Chinese.
1) he makes 2 different stmts..one is about black top etc which negates chini in the chushul sector And a height over F4 which dominates F 4.F8 and ane la pass...( which i dont know cuts access to what?).

2) per se exchanging these occupations with chini withdrawing from f4 to f8 is utter nonsense. With a black top road from f4 to f8 and beyond how does it matter if chini are at F6 or f7 or f8... even if they withdraw to f8 they can capture all the height captured by us on 1st sept and then calmly drive to f4 once again... one has to be v stupid. ofc i dont the know the implications of other chini incursions... but to my limited understanding the chini incursions are on relatively flat ground not exactly high features like mountain tops ?
Let me restate what I have understood from the General and see if you too have come to the same conclusion ..

My transcript Starting 1:40] Firstly Black top is a very pivotal locality because while it gives you deep insight right on to Srijap and that area, it also denies the enemy any observation into Chushul bowl which is a ground of strategic importance as also the Spanggur gap. Having done this, now we have neutralized the Chinese advantage on the north of Pangang tso BECAUSE on f-4 there is a height which dominates the <<something/assume F4-8>> bowl and also Ane la pass which WE could have used to cut off the Chinese. So now we have squared up the game and when we go on the negotiation table we go on equal footing.

1. Black top gives deep insight right on to Srijap and that area i.e. to say the whole of F2/8 comes under direct observation from here including all the approached to the ridge-lines.

2. Black top denies the Chinese observation into Chushul bowl and Spanggur gap.

3. The next point is tricky the way he says it ... Having done that {the above i.e occupation of Black top that gives India deep insight between F2/8} we have neutralized the Chinese advantage on the north banks of Pangang tso {acquired recently by their capture of the ridge-lines between F4-8}

4. The Chinese control "a height" on F4 which dominates the << something>> bowl and also Ane la pass and thus PREVENTS India from going around their F4 position via Ane La and cut off the Chinese at IB/Kurnak fort.

The way to make sense of his last point it to work backwards. We cannot go behind the Chinese on F4 via Ane La and cut him off to the east because Ane La is under Chinese observation from a height on F4 i.e. to say that THE height on F4 being talked about is under the Chinese control.

BUT as far as negotiation is concerned, we "have squared up the game" with our counter occupation of Black top that allows us to observe the the F2-8 ridge-line and its approaches.

As I have stated about 3 times before, I am more comfortable with the current configuration given that our position around Spanggur gap is strategic while the Chinese position around F4-8 is not even tactical. The Chinese do gain about about 40 sq km territory but I will trade that for permanently closing the Spanggur gap.

Anoop

Post by Anoop »

pankajs wrote:From what I understand .. Starting @ 1:57] what the General is saying is that our capture of Black top has neutralized ....BECAUSE there is a height on F4 that dominates <<f2-8/something>> AND "Ane La" which we COULD have used to cut off the Chinese
That <<f2-8/something >> is actually Phobrang bowl which is towards the North East, which is an important IA base. The Phobrang base is accessible to both Marsimik La and Ane La and vice versa. As YIP stated, this is a pivot for attack towards both Gogra/Hot Springs as well as towards the northern bank of Pangong Tso.

Y I Patel wrote:@manjgu - I have a post several weeks ago on Ane La, Piu La and Tratsang La. Rolling down Ane La or the other two passes would enable IA to threaten Fort Khurnak, which is way to the east of Sirijap (Finger 8 ) and on the AJ line aka India’s border with Tibet
Thnx...understood

Gen Ved Prakash on twitter
No LAC 'perceptions' issues hereafter. It is free for all in the so-called 'disputed areas', along the deliberately kept un-delineated LAC by China.
It had to happen sooner or later.

I have stayed in phobrang village for 3 nights..never realised its dual importance then..

Shanmukh wrote:
Jarita wrote:Where is the Odisha police when you need them?
I've never been a fan of this anti indigenous development, pro US base bit of confetti. However, there are plenty in the ether, that go gaga over his crazily vascillating statements.

https://twitter.com/Iyervval/status/1301167979283898369

https://twitter.com/Iyervval/status/1301168514267410432
His mum, VS Chandralekha, is one of Subramanian Swamy's old associates, and Subramanian Swamy has always been a fan of appeasing China [or, rather, not annoying China] at any price. That is where he is coming from.

All these calculations of GDP, industrialisation, etc, while important, are not as important as the single most important point-the will to fight, even with a small, well-equipped army. The Chinese are fighting a war of conquest and the Indians are fighting for the motherland, with short supply lines. Makes a whole lot of difference.
I think people need to wake up and understand what a **** this chap is (as a forum mod, have to self-censor). He's literally not a worthy individual in any sense of the phrase.
Anoop

Post by Anoop »

manjgu wrote:I have stayed in phobrang village for 3 nights..never realised its dual importance then..
Nice!! Did you notice the IA in strength there? I only have bookish knowledge of the area.

What i heard was some explosions which locals said was road building ...didnt see too much of army except a few trucks ...this was in 2014... also stayed in chushul village for 2 nights and nyoma. Nyoma had huge army presence ...in chushul i looked up a feature and could see tunnel mouths looking towards spanggur ... lot of army activities. .. its not easy for a chini armour thrust to face a barrage from mountain tops... from chushul u can see black top ..magar hill iirc. I met a 1962 veteran from chushul who had seen action... how many PLA tanks are in spanggur area??
madhu

Post by madhu »

I think people need to wake up and understand what a **** this chap is (as a forum mod, have to self-censor). He's literally not a worthy individual in any sense of the phrase.
I feel what he wants to tell is, what if china border also becomes like Pak border always running hot? How can any country survive for long 2.0 hot border with (0.5) good friends like media, tolerant, secular people inside?

The slave will have to be neutralized during winter time ...

^^ Can't see TSPA doing too much in winter due to weather..

IA is pre-empting PLA action in winter and were forced to take the current measures. IA has moved and has signalled that they are ready for escalation should the need arise... IA next move will be quick, decisive and take place in multiple locations - what we saw was just a sample to send the message to Beijing and give talks a push in the right direction. Ball is in PLA/Beijing court now... bets are that PLA will respond.

Worth mentioning that IA operation over the weekend covered other sectors as well with a view to force PLA to withdraw (hope is by month end)... let the news trickle out slowly.

This crisis has to be resolved at the most senior levels - Doval/Rajnath level. Keep an eye on Moscow trip.
Last edited by shyamd on 03 Sep 2020 21:30, edited 1 time in total.

It was mini Cold Start in the Himalayas
RajaRudra

Post by RajaRudra »

As per baba, As of today 30 heights came fully in to the control. Seems , what ever happened on Sunday is not one off but just a start of a bigger operation and the important thing is the operation is not yet completed.

Am I just a newbie to this topic, or is IA implicitly demonstrating a substantial change in its operational freedom in this sector ? For as long as I can remember, all LAC actions on our end were overpoliticized, reeked of excessive caution combined with apathy when it came to actual investments into infrastructure for supporting troop and logistics.

The Chinese response is driven by multiple factors - Anujan mentioned them earlier too -
a) Ladakh UT giving operational freedom without the bottleneck of erstwhile J&K government interference
b) Significant investments into road and other infrastructure , already done and even more coming up
c) Without substantially altering RoEs, IA are being encouraged to grab what they need to best optimize their positions <- seems like a new thing to me.

There are no rules on LAC anymore. China has violated the 1993 CBM agreement by moving artillery close to the border.

Question is can IA/IAF reliably interdict and disrupt G219 supplies coming in from Kashgar and elsewhere. One of the small objectives.

Who ever shoots first will have huge advantage. ...camps in open...no cover ... not good news for infantry...armour...i am having wet dreams of 100+ IAF planes shhoting up pla camps .... huge explosions ...chini shriking ..running into pangong ..drowing ...armour being hit by cbu xyz .... etc etc...
RajaRudra

Post by RajaRudra »

Last three months, when all are busy with talks and meetings. Army is in preparation mode silently.
Now china has to react before october or quickly arrive at the solution in the meeting. Else, there may be still be some position available for IA to grab through out the winter.

Both IA and PLA moved artillery near the border and so helicopters may also be used to resupply in heights.
RajaRudra

Post by RajaRudra »

manjgu wrote:Who ever shoots first will have huge advantage. ...camps in open...no cover ... not good news for infantry...armour...i am having wet dreams of 100+ IAF planes shhoting up pla camps .... huge explosions ...chini shriking ..running into pangong ..drowing ...armour being hit by cbu xyz .... etc etc...
Starting will be easy! But what will be the end game?

Well said. But we know how to end. We did it in 1971.

Another trade to consider is the money that was being destroyed due to J&K with 370 in place and all the northeast not being utilized towards and economic activity. What's the overall loss/gain when thinking from the pov that all the internal problems have been pushed to the borders? And there are other benefits like revamping of MIC, decoupling of china India trade, etc.

putnanja wrote:Gen Ved Prakash on twitter
No LAC 'perceptions' issues hereafter. It is free for all in the so-called 'disputed areas', along the deliberately kept un-delineated LAC by China.
This is the key line. It is LAC as you feel like.

You cannot move in to a dominant hill only in one place. It has to be LAC wide. Take major points before Chini do the same.

India Captured Strategic Outposts in Stealth Move Against China
India triggered the latest clash with China on their Himalayan border by executing a stealth night-time operation to claim strategic outposts offering a clear view of troop movements in disputed territory, according to Indian officials with knowledge of the matter.

In what they called India’s first offensive move since the conflict began in May, thousands of soldiers climbed up mountain peaks for about six hours to claim the vantage points along the south bank of Pangong Tso -- a glacial lake roughly the size of Singapore. The action was taken to counter what India saw an intrusion by Chinese forces, the officials said, asking not to be identified due to rules on speaking to the media.

The decision to capture high ground that was previously unoccupied along the 3,488 kilometer (2,162 mile) Line of Actual Control revived a conflict that had been largely dormant since June. Back then, India and China’s worst dispute in four decades culminated in the death of 20 Indian soldiers and an unknown number of Chinese soldiers in an ugly battle.

China on Wednesday accused India of breaching agreements between the two sides and unilaterally changing the status quo. An Indian Army spokesman wasn’t immediately available for a comment.

“In China, we have a saying about a guilty man protesting conspicuously his innocence,” Foreign Ministry spokesperson Hua Chunying told reporters in Beijing. “That’s just what India did.”
And in India also we have a saying about this "Arre Hua, hua to hua".

Suraj wrote:How does US intelligence establish things like “ Beijing remains enraged that its local commander withdrew forces when a physical conflict appeared imminent, ” Not saying they’re wrong, but assuming they are correct, it implies they have espionage resources that are able to intercept internal PLA communication of this kind. Do we have the ability to intercept secure PLA radio traffic too ?
Chinese and American elites are quite inter-meshed. Xi is the upstart who murdered many, took over their assets and so on to reach where he is. Within China, there is a Deng clique, a Jiang clique, a Hu clique and of course a Xi clique. These people are phenomenally rich and way more powerful than any western or Indian billionaire. The only hiccup is that their prosperity depends on access to world-wide markets. Xi is not a very popular guy in China because of the violent way he reached power, and the consequent 'upping the ante' with the west that they believe is premature, and thrust China and its rich communist power brokers into a conflict with the world that they can not win. Its likely the leaks are coming from these disgruntled sections.

I just find it interesting that the US readily demonstrated its access to encrypted Chinese milcoms and even insight into Beijing's rage at PLA actions at the engagement frontier (I won't call it border). It's an interesting power play by Unkil to step in and say 'we hear what you're arguing about in the midst of this, and know what you really think too'.

putnanja wrote:Gen Ved Prakash on twitter
This can be a problem. An army is supposed to focus its energies on a single decision point, not scatter them far and wide across a 3000km front. I wonder if this was not the desired outcome from the Chinese, get several Indian divisions tied down on the LAC thus relieving pressure on Pak on the LOC and help prevent any large future reprisals on that border, postponing the comeuppance of PakMil by a few more years and giving them space to continue their insurgencies in India.

If they intended to push the LAC in by a few kms, unimportant land by their point of view (no axis for a deep thrust inside enemy territory, not on a trade route, no minerals, no agriculture, no population) that they had ignored completely for 50 years after the 62 conflict, why did they leave the heights wide open?

May be they ARE this incompetent and simply caught in an escalation spiral? Xi sits on a throne made of princeling skulls. With him, you need to think and rethink.

Suraj wrote:I just find it interesting that the US readily demonstrated its access to encrypted Chinese milcoms and even insight into Beijing's rage at PLA actions at the engagement frontier (I won't call it border). It's an interesting power play by Unkil to step in and say 'we hear what you're arguing about in the midst of this, and know what you really think too'.
In many cases, Chinese and American elites are quite literally sleeping together. Dont underestimate the hum-int the US has in China. In some ways, culturally, they are a good fit. Hyper materialistic, flashy, strivers, polite on the outside. Unlike emotional, contemplative, content and inward looking Indian culture.

SIGINT sats are there for a reason. And in such situations where communications will be flying back and forth, it'll be a target rich environment.
To monitor both the Chinese and our communications.
RajaRudra

Post by RajaRudra »

rsingh wrote:Well said. But we know how to end. We did it in 1971.
That is not a fair comparison. We are fully ready to take on Chinese advances defensively and do some strategic capture of heights.
Its same with China, They can defend, but cannot move and have a definite end game. Both India and China can keep the supply chain(short or long).

For now, we have gained the heights and should spend time in consolidating the newly acquired heights with proper infra and strengthening logistics chain with many redundancies.

May be, if peace returns in LAC through talks we should quickly make the campaign for POK(including Gilgit and Baltistan) and break that China - Pakistan link for ever.

Yes that is all fine, however the point I'm trying to make here is Unkil's own level of interest and positioning into the exchanges. There have been near daily estimations of the gains/losses on either side (in tactical and strategic terms) from Unkil, combined with anecdotes like the nature of interaction between Beijing and frontier PLA entities.

These reflect Unkil tactically stepping into outflank any Chinese statements that might be trying to massage the situation to suit their viewpoint, by exhibiting internal comms as if to say 'yeah, we already know that's not what you're saying to each other'.

Typically, their closed system is an asset in these situations, giving them the ability to message in a consistent and threatening manner, while our side is less focused and disciplined. So far, our messaging has been on point from official sources, and with a reasonable margin of noise, even press/SM has been pretty good given the circumstances. And Unkil has been offering cover by making revelations of what the Chinese are saying behind closed doors, in the process narrowing the scope of what they can message too.

Suraj,

Unkil has not made any formal statement, but intermediaries and planned leaks are revealing. If the current US government changes in January, expect much different statements and leaks. Pressure will be on India overtly and covertly.
Larry Walker

Post by Larry Walker »

I am still unable to fathom why Chinese thought that India will not respond - even after Dokalam and Balakot?? Even if they are of the belief that PLA will finally prevail - what are they gaining anyways by coming upto Chushul? Looking at the GDP and military mismatch between India and PRC - it is understood that PRC will prevail militarily in long drawn out conflict so its not a debatable point that had to be proven. So what is there to prove it - and pay for it in bodybags by the thousands? Unless the PRC jumped in to save something very important for them and worth paying this price - CPEC and GB?
ParGha

Post by ParGha »

sudeepj wrote:This can be a problem. An army is supposed to focus its energies on a single decision point, not scatter them far and wide across a 3000km front. I wonder if this was not the desired outcome from the Chinese, get several Indian divisions tied down on the LAC thus relieving pressure on Pak on the LOC and help prevent any large future reprisals on that border, postponing the comeuppance of PakMil by a few more years and giving them space to continue their insurgencies in India.
The Chinese have already given the Pakistanis the nuclear weapons to "prevent any large future reprisals on that border".

Nah, at best they are doing this with a SDI/Star Wars like strategy to bankrupt a potential rival:
The only thing I can think of as to why China hasn't settled the dispute there is to provoke India into buying foreign weapons instead of building up its own MIC.

Mort Walker wrote:Suraj,

Unkil has not made any formal statement, but intermediaries and planned leaks are revealing. If the current US government changes in January, expect much different statements and leaks. Pressure will be on India overtly and covertly.
Yes that's likely. Without overly siding with us, Unkil is trolling Beijing by making revelations, and even letting Bloomberg openly state that India captured a bunch of things. It's a pretty interesting game on Unkil's part, something akin to standing ringside in a fight and gently tying together one boxer's shoelaces.

Prasad wrote:This might be a good time for fast-tracking Nyoma airfield upgrade and reactivating Chushul airfield.
I think Chushul airfield should be fast tracked just so that we can reach supplies and replacement personnel quickly to the area. No military aircraft allowed in a 10km range of the LAC I believe. So we should let Spicejet fly charter ATRs in broad daylight. The best thing we can do is to give a little comfort to our soldiers manning the windy peaks at 5000+ meters as the mercury continues to dip. Send them the best snacks and fruits available in their hometowns and mithai for Diwali and other festivals.
Larry Walker

Post by Larry Walker »

Gurus - question. For whatever intent Chinese started this conflict by getting aggressive and going into dominating positions in few sectors. Now the equation has reversed - and only 6 - 7 weeks before winter sets in. What is your best guess - will Chinese just maintain their positions and then withdraw in winter - or will they go on offensive and try to force a decisive outcome in some sector before they pull out - and which sector that would be?

yensoy wrote:
Prasad wrote:This might be a good time for fast-tracking Nyoma airfield upgrade and reactivating Chushul airfield.
I think Chushul airfield should be fast tracked just so that we can reach supplies and replacement personnel quickly to the area. No military aircraft allowed in a 10km range of the LAC I believe. So we should let Spicejet fly charter ATRs in broad daylight. The best thing we can do is to give a little comfort to our soldiers manning the windy peaks at 5000+ meters as the mercury continues to dip. Send them the best snacks and fruits available in their hometowns and mithai for Diwali and other festivals.
No sane military will land a aircraft with in 6 km from the enemy camp who have a clear view of the strip that too a civilian craft unless they are so desperate

Nyoma ALG is not far from Chushul and should have been developed into a full airbase longtime ago