Modi 3.0 - Bharat

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Modi 3.0 - Bharat

NEP is a great policy initiative. The devil is in the implementation. Are our babus at all levels competent enough or are they too "studying for the exam" types? My bet is on the latter. They after all came through UPSC/SPSC route after a cursory overview of Arts/Commerce or what have you.

Official info on Bharat sarkar council of ministers:

https://www.india.gov.in/my-government/ ... -ministers

As Dr Jitendra Singh ji assumed charge of Minister of State (I/C) of Science and Technology, many well known scientists and other senior officials, welcomed the Union Minister.
Let us join him in resolving to take forward the vision of PM to make Science and Technology the foundation of growth and development of the country while India moves towards Vikshin Bharat 2047.

ernest wrote: 11 Jun 2024 23:48
I'd like some industrialist type as well, but the conflict of interest would not allow for search a person. Otherwise Baba Kalyani would have rocked.

Alternatively we can have some good DPSU/DRDO head that led/revived tech cooperation with pvt sector. They'd know how to handle bureaucracy as well.

Also, Gen VK Singh will do great IMO despite not having the industrial background. Upright leader who can get things done.

ACM Bhaduria is the kind of person who ticks almost all the boxes, and would have been my top pick. It is strange that he wasn't tried for at least MoS Defence
I had the same thought about ACM Bhaduria. But given that Gen VK Singh was given no role in defense in NDA 1 & 2, I wonder if there is a
deliberate policy to keep former service chiefs out of the ministry ?
sinha

Post by sinha »

Amber G. wrote: 11 Jun 2024 21:36 I am *really* impressed by the amount of material in digital library of Indian texts (Veda's, astronomy, etc) in easily accessible form - from original text to many Indian languages etc)..I like it because for Math (which I have interest) i can easily find rare resources..
This is only going to be bigger..
some diversion in depth - hope mods dont take offence and move it to another dhagaa..

Given your close interaction with IIT-K, I suppose you would know what that prof from Intelligent systems lab who now heads IIT Mandi is up to. I am quite impressed with how it is operationalized there. The IKS courseware is being offered on Indian philosophy to anyone (not just students) as a proper PG Diploma and Masters, IKS based wholistic healing course is awesome where empirical evidence is being gathered on efficacy rather than books say so or use of Gita for psychological understanding in corporate/academic world. The Ministry has been supportive of new forays into quantum on the back of IKS angle.

As some others have said, NEP is a gamechanger. I hope this govt finds some way to make schools count for something - all students junk their schools in favour of preparing for NEET, CUET, JEE for couple of years. I am now prepared to say that in the last 10 years, the left has been severely marginalised in academia. The technical institutes as usual have taken the lead. But one can only marvel at how the new Unis/colleges are also drawing a lot from Indian tradition and culture - take something like Ashoka, hear / attend the founder led events - and your perception will change. The traditional bastions of left are now left with a few defeated and bitter last few.. who dont matter. Rest have flown out to western pastures and continuing their daily fire breathing exercise from far off.

For those who crib about history book not changing - start reading the NCERT books - they are available freely. As any parent of a child reading NCERT books will tell you, there isnt as much negativity as you are imagining - "those" books are history (really). The only crib is that native languages including Hindi and Sanskrit and its associated literature that build civilizational ethos and understanding are poorly reflected in curriculum. these books feel like foreign language text in terms of depth and ignore the fact that kids have lived experience. At this time, it is up to parents to fill the gap - sanskaras matter...
EswarPrakash

Post by EswarPrakash »

Amber G. wrote: 11 Jun 2024 21:36
I am *really* impressed by the amount of material in digital library of Indian texts (Veda's, astronomy, etc) in easily accessible form - from original text to many Indian languages etc)..I like it because for Math (which I have interest) i can easily find rare resources..

For example at IIT a sample includes:
The IIT collection of Sanskrit texts includes:

Gita supersite
Brahmasutra
Ramacharitmanas
Upanishads
Complete works of Shankaracharya
Vedic Reserve (index)
Nirukta, Rigveda, shatapatha brAhmaNa
Stutimandal collection
Pandanus Sanskrit e-Texts
Gaudiya granthamandira
Research site on Sanskrit texts for Somadeva Vasudeva
Shri Vasudevananda Saraswati's Complete Works
Sripedia project as a part of Million Book Project
Shri Satya Sai Pratishthan
Gleanings from Sanskrit Literature by Shri P. R. Ramamurthy
Stotras in Telugu Transcripts
Collected Works of Vasistha Kavyakantha Ganapati Muni in 12 Volumes
.. list goes on..
Amber-ji,

Is this publicly available on the web? Or restricted to IITs? I am keen on Gothama's treatise on knowledge and trust, and associated literature.

sinha wrote: 12 Jun 2024 18:39 The only crib is that native languages including Hindi and Sanskrit and its associated literature that build civilizational ethos and understanding are poorly reflected in curriculum. these books feel like foreign language text in terms of depth and ignore the fact that kids have lived experience. At this time, it is up to parents to fill the gap - sanskaras matter...
This is very important for India to reflect the ancient text in Sanskrit in the curriculum of schools. The amount of pure vigyan in such texts is orders of magnitude higher than the rubbish taught at Harvard, Oxford, Stanford and other higher western institutes. I have outlined Vedic Logic of Cosmos and Consciousness and shown how silly and illogical the divinity schools of Harvard, Oxford, Stanford are in terms of their rubbish peddling worldwide.

I can, with some amount of study, assert that the entire western system of education is based on knowledge that came from Bharat. Rajiv Malhotra recounted an anecdote wherein Michael Witzel (yes that floozy from Harvard who peddles AIT nonsense) told him about a text in Dutch on botany subject which is verbatim copy of a text from Kerala. BTW today's communist Kerala were a leading center of education for Bharat and have produced luminaries like Shri Adi Shankaracharya. Kerala is also known for school of mathematics and the entire subject of mathematical series and calculus was invented by them. We also know that Newton (PBUH an apple on his head) laws are straight lift from Vaisesika Sutra of Kanaad Muni. The entire field of Medicine benefits from pioneering work of Susruta and Charaka of Bharat including their symbol Caduceus with two snakes.

EswarPrakash wrote: 12 Jun 2024 19:25
Amber G. wrote: 11 Jun 2024 21:36
I am *really* impressed by the amount of material in digital library of Indian texts (Veda's, astronomy, etc) in easily accessible form - from original text to many Indian languages etc)..I like it because for Math (which I have interest) i can easily find rare resources..

For example at IIT a sample includes:
The IIT collection of Sanskrit texts includes:

Gita supersite
Brahmasutra
Ramacharitmanas
Upanishads
Complete works of Shankaracharya
Vedic Reserve (index)
Nirukta, Rigveda, shatapatha brAhmaNa
Stutimandal collection
Pandanus Sanskrit e-Texts
Gaudiya granthamandira
Research site on Sanskrit texts for Somadeva Vasudeva
Shri Vasudevananda Saraswati's Complete Works
Sripedia project as a part of Million Book Project
Shri Satya Sai Pratishthan
Gleanings from Sanskrit Literature by Shri P. R. Ramamurthy
Stotras in Telugu Transcripts
Collected Works of Vasistha Kavyakantha Ganapati Muni in 12 Volumes
.. list goes on..
Amber-ji,

Is this publicly available on the web? Or restricted to IITs? I am keen on Gothama's treatise on knowledge and trust, and associated literature.
Start with famous "Gita Super-site" (IITK Library) https://www.gitasupersite.iitk.ac.in/ available to all.. It has links to all others..

KL Dubey wrote: 12 Jun 2024 05:24
They have actually no interest in Indian civilization or school curriculum revisions - their objective is to bait the Modi sarkar while appearing to have the country's best interests at heart. Another subtle form of anti-India propaganda, i.e. "gaslighting" to make nationalists believe that they have been hoodwinked by Modi.
KLP Dubey: go easy on the name calling. Its a 2-way street and can get ugly.

I know for a fact that Modi sarkar has done near zilch on the school curriculum because I have read NCERT history/civics books over the last decade from primary to high school. The changes, if any, are so minimal that the Marxist garbage oozes through predominantly

I am speaking from first hand experience. If you haven't actually read the books & are just regurgitating some links, then you are not bringing anything useful to the debate

P.S: I will give some concrete examples

1) AIT is still there, though caveat'ed that its only a theory
2) Some dynasties like Ahom have been added, but the Mughals still occupy a huge chunk of the books. Vijayanagar is a footnote, as always. Akbar is still glorified
3) Civics is filled with caste, untouchability and all the BIF crap

Our History & Civics need a radical overhaul, not a touch-up. The latter is what has happened under Modi

Prem Kumar wrote: 12 Jun 2024 23:47 I know for a fact that Modi sarkar has done near zilch on the school curriculum because I have read NCERT history/civics books over the last decade from primary to high school.
Mughals still occupy a huge chunk of the books
Vijayanagar is a footnote, as always
I will keep calling out this BS propaganda, by whatever name it may qualify for.

"Reading NCERT textbooks" is not a great task. All the present NCERT textbooks are available online in full, anyone can look them up:

https://ncert.nic.in/textbook.php

Just two examples (medieval india):

- "Mughals" do not occupy a huge chunk of the books. First of all, they are covered in the 7th grade textbook. The entire description of "green" rule in India is now condensed to 10 pages, including the delhi sultanate and the mughals. Also, the detailed descriptions of each mughal ruler have been completely deleted in 2023.

- The comment on "vijayanagar is a footnote" confirms that you are lying. The 12th grade textbook has an excellent 25 page chapter on Vijayanagar. People can read it for themselves instead of believing in content-free propaganda. https://ncert.nic.in/textbook.php?lehs2=3-4

KL Dubey wrote: 12 Jun 2024 05:24
sinha wrote: 11 Jun 2024 20:23

There have been enough changes - I know because of involvement in a few IITs - Indian knowledge system based courseware, changes in leadership of colleges/Universities more sympathetic to Govt line have all happened. Most private colleges where social media highlights instance of BIF gangs are routinely brought under pressure to reign in the wild horses.. Just check the profiles of IIT Diros appointed in his watch...
Disregard these substance-free posts/posters.

They have actually no interest in Indian civilization or school curriculum revisions - their objective is to bait the Modi sarkar while appearing to have the country's best interests at heart. Another subtle form of anti-India propaganda, i.e. "gaslighting" to make nationalists believe that they have been hoodwinked by Modi.

If they really had an interest in the school curriculum, then they would do some elementary reading on the topic and what has been done in the last several years. The Indian education system has so many challenges as you point out - a number of which the NEP introduced by Pradhan (and based on Javadekar's earlier work) tries to address.

I have posted several links that debunk the "not a single line changed in history textbooks" claims. It appears the prior education minister Javadekar had made this statement - in the context that the policies/changes were still being worked out and it was too early for the usual BIFs/NGOs to criticize the sarkar. These phaltu posters are still hanging on to Javadekar's old statements and think Pradhan has done nothing in the last few years, yet got a renewal term.
Thanks for articulating .. ..

Meanwhile ...
I am speaking from first hand experience. If you haven't actually read the books & are just regurgitating some links, then you are not bringing anything useful to the debate..
Would be more useful to know even some basic background of what is taking place..

Anyway just for a example, Here are some initiatives under DST India which give opportunities to young students in last few years under Modi Government : (see links at the end)
(Disclaimer: I am not associated with DST, or BJP of GoI - have not voted in Indian elections - ust interested in education in India)

Building AI Readiness among Young Innovators: This program was launched by DST in collaboration with Intel India. It aims to build digital readiness among students from classes 6 to 10.

INSPIRE-Awards MANAK scheme: This program aims to create a culture of creativity and innovative thinking among students across India.

India Innovation Growth Programme (IIGP): This is a tripartite initiative of DST, Lockheed Martin and Tata Trusts. It aims to select innovations to create large scale social impact and bring industrial transformation in India.

Vigyan Jyoti Program: This program aims to get young higher secondary girl students excited about STEM.

Skill India Mission:
This mission aims to create convergence across sectors and States in terms of skill training activities.

Digital India Mission: This program aims to transform India into a digitally empowered society and knowledge economy.

(Links: https://www.indiatoday.in/education-tod ... 2019-09-17
https://government.economictimes.indiat ... s/89936824
https://dst.gov.in/government-schemes-i ... -future-st
www.vigyanjyoti.dst.gov.in/remarkable-initiatives

Not to mention ONLIne courses from IIT's/ IISc and other institutes .. available to other colleges ... high schools students .. library resources etc..

As I understand it (based on left wing howls of protest) much of the NCERT textbook revisions happened in the last year. So please be sure to be up to date before criticizing.

Kaartik Gor has a few interesting pointers in Jaipur Dialogues

Renowned astrologer Kaartik Gor provides an astrological prediction about Yogi Adityanath and the strengthening influence of Narendra Modi. Discover how the stars and planets align to forecast significant developments in Indian politics. Will Modi's power continue to grow?

Since we are discussing education, I had done a blog post on how tech can (and is) transforming education in India. The Govt's initiative is
doing as lot more than Ponzi schemes like Byju.
https://rpdeans.blogspot.com/2024/03/th ... unity.html

That said, I was considered for a govt role in handling the Atal Innovation mission (when the govt was looking at hiring lateral inductees
into the civil service). I was not interested as I had seen first hand that it was not really working on the ground. The same goes for Skill India.

Under AIM, select schools have a `Atal Tinkering lab' financed by the govt. In theory, this will give students a chance to build prototypes, get
advanced concepts in STEM etc. Each school was to have a mentor from industry, along with a dedicated staff.
I was chosen as one such mentor. After a lengthy process to get the right fit with a school, I was given a school in rural Karnataka, though I wanted
an English medium school in Bangalore and was not comfortable in Kannada. I then got a private school in Bangalore, which kept putting me off, till
I discovered that they had misappropriated the money and there was no lab. I was given a 3rd school, which was genuine, but already had 2 mentors, which the school was not happy with and did not want another. People in AIM do not respond to feedback and there is no impact study on what this has achieved. It appears that the contractors who install the labs (with 3D printers, computers etc) have govt connections. Once a ATL was financed on paper, the govt's job was done.

Similarly, under `Skill India', the concept is good (train people for a useful trade). As someone who wanted to hire a lot of such people when I ran a company I found out that the skilling centres (in Gurgaon/Delhi) back in 2015, when they were first set up, were typically owned by those with contacts. The students barely got training. This was just a placement center, where the likes of my company found it easier to recruit instead of job portals. Students paid for placement, which is how the centers made money. A CAG audit for 2014-5 flagged similar issues (conflict of interest and non achievement of targets by skilling centers funded by govt). While these could have been teething problems, another audit covering 2016-7
showed there was not much difference. Barely 12% of those trained got a job (and 1.5% got a job they wanted).

One such example from that time: https://www.indiatoday.in/india/story/i ... 2018-09-20. CBNs involvement in a similar scam in AP was really just scaling up of the ability to cheat a system when a lot of money is thrown at an initiative with little monitoring on the ground.

The larger point I want to make is that for years, the govt has been more excited by fancy acronyms and schemes (Stand up India, AIM,
Skill India' etc) without seeing if this is making a real difference. This was not the way genuinely successful schemes like Swachh Bharat were
executed.

KL Dubey wrote: 13 Jun 2024 00:43
I will keep calling out this BS propaganda, by whatever name it may qualify for.

"Reading NCERT textbooks" is not a great task. All the present NCERT textbooks are available online in full, anyone can look them up:

https://ncert.nic.in/textbook.php

Just two examples (medieval india):

- "Mughals" do not occupy a huge chunk of the books. First of all, they are covered in the 7th grade textbook. The entire description of "green" rule in India is now condensed to 10 pages, including the delhi sultanate and the mughals. Also, the detailed descriptions of each mughal ruler have been completely deleted in 2023.

- The comment on "vijayanagar is a footnote" confirms that you are lying. The 12th grade textbook has an excellent 25 page chapter on Vijayanagar. People can read it for themselves instead of believing in content-free propaganda. https://ncert.nic.in/textbook.php?lehs2=3-4
Watch your language when you accuse others of lying

1) Regarding Vijayanagar coverage: how many kids have History as a subject in Class 12 textbooks? 90% of kids stop reading History, Civics & Geography in Class 10. This shows how out of touch with reality you are

2) You are factually wrong on Class 7 textbooks: Delhi Sultanate is a separate chapter & Mughals are a separate chapter. So, just don't do a quick Google and come back with rebuttals. The reason 1st hand experience matters is because the people who have to actually decondition the kids when they come back from school, are the ones who know what is being taught & what is being hidden (this is for you too, Amber G)

In the chapters about the Sultanate or Mughals, not a single word on the genocide against Hindus. Not a pipsqueak about the Jauhars, nothing about the daily humiliation of millions of Hindus, the slave trade, the forcible conversions, destruction of 10s of 1000s of temples, the immense civilizational damage etc. The books make it sound as if it was a peaceful transition of power! This is genocide-denial at its finest

And its not as if the Social Sciences books stay away from unpleasant subjects. Read the Civics book which lays bare untouchability, caste system etc.

So, when kids are told about Islamic colonization & its brutality, they are shocked and in disbelief because nothing is mentioned in their textbooks! They think Hindu-Muslim bhai-bhai

3) Go to Class 6 book: starts off saying Rig Veda was composed 3500 years ago! Then there is the nonsense about Aryas vs Dasyus and how the latter likely spoke a different language. These are straight from the AIT playbook!

P.S 1: Since I have read several versions of the History books (to teach kids of multiple ages), I can see that there has been an improvement over time. But not far enough or fast enough. Things were far worse as recently as 4 years back (when we were already in Modi's 2nd term). The above comments, just from the latest version, shows how much more needs to be done and how lethargic this Govt has been

P.S 2: A word of advice, if you want to take it: you have a tendency to snipe at people in the same tent. Go easy and your points might find better resonance
Last edited by Prem Kumar on 13 Jun 2024 11:23, edited 1 time in total.

Amber G: I think we are talking past each other. The points I am making are about School education (K-12). These are the formative years of a child plus this is where History & Civics are taught as mandatory subjects

The explicit goal (like in the U.S) should be to inculcate a sense of pride in our own civilization, religion & culture. The Marxists have the exact opposite stated-goal and it has defined the very structure and content of our history books

Any serious history writing program must have to start from this premise and build upwards. But if you start from a Marxist Book, start snipping a few chapters, adding a few others - then, these are all just haircuts. What is needed is a ground-up rewrite. This has not happened. Heck, there is no attempt to even weave a narrative that says that We are an unbroken civilization - ours is a "Sanatana" Dharma. These are the reasons we should be proud of it. And its our duty to preserve and propagate it. If all you do are haircuts on an existing hostile paradigm, History will just seem like a collage of facts even in the best-case scenario. Boring & unconnected. With no thread to weave them together. No underlying message being driven home

You are talking about the work done on higher education. Yes I am aware of Indic Knowledge Systems type course being offered even in IITs. These are very useful and a welcome change! But they can only build-up upon what kids have been taught earlier. These come too late in a person's life and even then, they are optional. Most people will go through their lives unaware of such courses. We cannot leave it for our kids to discover these by chance in their 40s

Met them in what capacity, they did not even take the party president along.

how can foreign relations be a single family affair

Prem Kumar wrote: 13 Jun 2024 11:11
1) Regarding Vijayanagar coverage: how many kids have History as a subject in Class 12 textbooks? 90% of kids stop reading History, Civics & Geography in Class 10. This shows how out of touch with reality you are
Thank you for allowing me to thoroughly expose this propaganda and misinformation.

Obviously you do not know much about the NEP. The fact that you do not objectively admit a lack of knowledge of the matter - instead continuing to defend misinformation and present the education policy/ministry as a failure - is telling.

These new textbooks have been prepared for a new education system. There will be no 10+2 system anymore, in which students spend the final 2 years cramming for "engineering" or "medicine" entrance exams for lack of any other option. The new system is 5+3+3+4, in which class 9-12 students are asked to take a diverse range of subjects, with the disciplinary lines being blurred. That is excellent progress. For example, the Vijayanagara module (Theme 7) is a really good mix of history as well as social, economic, and other thought streams. This is what students need, not a forced addition of everything under the sun of our glorious past crammed into school textbooks.
2) You are factually wrong on Class 7 textbooks: Delhi Sultanate is a separate chapter & Mughals are a separate chapter. So, just don't do a quick Google and come back with rebuttals. The reason 1st hand experience matters is because the people who have to actually decondition the kids when they come back from school, are the ones who know what is being taught & what is being hidden (this is for you too, Amber G)
I'm not factually wrong....what "quick google" are you talking about ? I am fully aware they are in two chapters (3 and 4). The total discussion - which I read carefully - is about 10 pages. That's very far from your fake claims of "occupying huge chunks of the textbooks". Again, people can see for themselves instead of making the mistake of believing your "first hand experience":

https://ncert.nic.in/textbook.php?gess1=3-8
https://ncert.nic.in/textbook.php?gess1=4-8

I don't know what "deconditioning" you are doing, but I do pity the kids. History lessons in school should be short and condensed. The days of long-winded ICSE/CBSE tomes are gone. The new education policy - based on my informed opinion, not fake propaganda - strikes a difficult balance between better enlightening students on the Indian past, while connecting it to the urgent needs for global competitiveness. It is not just focused on "rewriting history" in one fell swoop. That said, the textbooks have undergone continuous and transparent change (https://ncert.nic.in/rationalised-content.php) and it is likely that will continue appropriately.

To cut to the chase - my clear and loud message: Stop content-free, useless, propaganda that is not supported by any facts, knowledge, or critical analysis.
ernest

Post by ernest »

Deans wrote: 13 Jun 2024 09:25 Since we are discussing education, I had done a blog post on how tech can (and is) transforming education in India. The Govt's initiative is
Disheartened to hear that. Do you have other posts on this subject on your blog? Would love to forward them to some people I know.
dsreedhar

Post by dsreedhar »

There is a new big issue brewing on the NEET issue. Hope Modi govt handles it well. It affects all the young and would leave a bad impression if not handled well.
Pradyut

Post by Pradyut »

Modi govt. is sleeping on NEET issue.
Look at the NTA press conference.

KL Dubey: you are clearly talking through your hat. You have no idea what kids are learning and all your knowledge is from online sources. Its Modi's 3rd term already and the NEP is not even rolled out. States like TN are yet to ratify their rollout policies. And you pick a Class 12 Vijayanagara chapter to make it sound as if all kids are going to learn it.

Same with the Class 7 book. After being caught making a mistake, you try to weasel out by saying "The actual content is only 10 pages", when its clearly not. As I mentioned in both my responses to you & Amber G, we still have serious distortions, truths being hidden (like genocides) and a practice of doing just haircuts rather than a revamp from the ground up

At any rate, its a waste of time to argue with blind-ideologues like you

A news item that give off the scent that Modi 3.0 is going to continue the appeasement of the first 10 years, in spite of the near disaster in 2024: Maharashtra Govt to allocate 10 Crore from Minority Welfare Funds to Wakf Board. This, especially after many have demanded that the Wakf Act be abolished. Now, VHP is threatening an agitation/non-cooperation over this!

In other news: deportation of illegal Bangladeshis under Modi was even worse than that of Congress. In 2013, 5234 illegals were deported. In his entire 1st term, Modi deported only 1000. I am not able to find data for his 2nd term, but I would be surprised if the numbers are big. This is data that should be available in the public domain, but they are not. We have to rely on news reports

Added later: The government told the SC that, in the five-years from 2017 to 2022, 14,346 foreigners were deported. So, slightly better than what is stated above. But hardly better than Congress. And a drop in the ocean.

Modi 3.0 is supposed to have a 100 day plan. Time's ticking. We will know soon enough if there are material course corrections

Ministers come and go, but the one constant in the Modi government is national security adviser Ajit Kumar Doval.

Doval was the first appointment in Prime Minister Modi’s first term in May 2014.

He was given a five-year extension on June 4, 2019 and cabinet minister’s rank on par with the four ministers in the cabinet committee on security.

He is India’s longest-serving NSA.

He has now been appointed for the third term.

Centre reappoints Ajit Doval as National Security Advisor

The Centre on June 13 reappointed former IPS officer Ajit Doval as the National Security Adviser (NSA), according to an official order.

His appointment will be co-terminus with the term of Prime Minister Narendra Modi or until further orders, the order said

https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/ ... er%20said.

Don't usually forward this sort of stuff that is sent by denizens on WA

But this one seems to be a bit elaborately cooked and served up gourmet style, so TIFWIW :wink:

And so, here goes nothing ......

Following is the translated text in english of an original writeup in marathi .

**Fast-Paced Events Behind the Scenes in Delhi**

After the Lok Sabha results, it became clear that BJP would only get 240 seats. At that time, Mr. Modi, Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, and Nadda decided that they would sit in the opposition and informed their allies to feel free to make their own decisions. They wanted the Indi Alliance to take charge.

Chirag Paswan and Shinde were the first to express their agreement to this decision, stating that they were also ready to sit in the opposition. This decision explains why Modi, who was supposed to arrive at the party office at 4 PM, arrived late in the evening. A friend of mine, who is well-connected in Delhi’s power corridors, told me about this dramatic turn of events on June 5th itself.

Naidu and Nitish Kumar received calls from Modi in the afternoon, informing them that they could make their own decisions, indicating that BJP had no objections. Upon hearing this, both were taken aback because they were aware of the precarious situation of the Indi Alliance. The news of BJP’s decision was strategically leaked to the Indi Alliance.

Leaders like Kharge and Jairam Ramesh were shocked as they were not mentally prepared to face this scenario. They decided to keep this information under wraps and only asked Sharad Pawar to talk to Nitish and Naidu. Pawar, following their request, called Nitish.

When Nitish asked Pawar how he came to know about Modi’s decision to sit in the opposition, Pawar clarified that he wasn’t aware of it and was only instructed to get in touch. Nitish then revealed everything to Pawar, mentioning Congress’s promises of Rs 8500 per person and wealth distribution to the underprivileged, also questioning who would become the Prime Minister. Realizing they were kept in the dark, Pawar first informed Akhilesh Yadav about Congress’s potential betrayal.

Following this, Pawar confronted Kharge, questioning why he wasn’t informed about BJP’s decision. Kharge responded that the news had only just surfaced, and that’s why it wasn’t shared. Pawar insisted that they should decide on the Prime Minister first before moving forward. Meanwhile, Akhilesh Yadav called Kharge, emphasizing that no decisions should be made without his consent, or else he would stand alone. This chaos spread within the Indi Alliance, even as election results were still coming in.

The biggest challenge for the Indi Alliance was how to deliver on Congress’s promise of Rs 8500 per person per month and the wealth distribution. Modi and Shah’s unexpected decision caught even seasoned leaders like Naidu and Nitish Kumar off guard. Realizing the implications, Nitish and Chandrababu Naidu reached out to BJP leaders, assuring them of their support for BJP’s government formation.

With BJP’s 240 seats and the support of Paswan, Shinde, and other smaller allies, the tally reached 264, making a strong opposition. Meanwhile, Modi and Shah had already learned about the turmoil within the Indi Alliance through Jayant Chaudhary.

In states like Uttar Pradesh and Karnataka, BJP spread rumors among the Muslim community that Congress’s government would deposit Rs 8500 into their bank accounts, leading to queues outside banks. The Indi Alliance leaders were in a dilemma about how to fulfill Congress’s promises, realizing it would be a financial burden. Congress strategized to support the government from outside, thus avoiding the responsibility of fulfilling these promises directly.

However, Nitish and Naidu remained skeptical of Congress’s track record of withdrawing support unexpectedly, as seen with leaders like Charan Singh, Chandrashekhar, Deve Gowda, and Gujral. They decided against joining the alliance government, and instead, urged Modi and Shah to form the government.

Modi and Shah, knowing the fragile situation, further negotiated that the Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) should be entirely under BJP, covering key ministries like Home, Finance, Defense, and External Affairs. With no better option, Naidu and Nitish agreed.

Finally, on the evening of June 9th, Modi arrived at the BJP office and announced that they would form the government and execute their program. This entire behind-the-scenes maneuvering showcases Modi and Shah’s strategic brilliance.

It also highlights that this BJP, unlike the earlier era of Atal Bihari Vajpayee and Advani, is focused on offensive defense.
ricky_v

Post by ricky_v »

that wa forward is copium of the highest order, first off, the party which will engineer defects to even form a government with a number of seats just crossing the required number, seen in numerous instances, as in mp, mh, goa will very definitely not sit in opposition when it is the slp.

Second, there is too much 5D gilli danda at play here, if the bjp was so smart and strategically brilliant, as this piece claims, they would have tackled the disinformation of freebies and secret promise cards in time that everybody has suddenly discovered after the elections.

Third, even with jdu and tdp, the indi alliance was unable to reach 272, recall that they have 236 seats, jdu has 12, tdp has 14, if the indi alliance were to somehow form a government with independents and engineering defects in bjp (not easy and doubly so with the onset of bypolls that would have been necessitated by this defection in 6 months time when they would have to prove their majority in the floor). Additionally, in such a government, neither jdu or the tdp would have any meaningful power with so many khichdi partners.

chetak wrote: 14 Jun 2024 01:17 Ministers come and go, but the one constant in the Modi government is national security adviser Ajit Kumar Doval.

Doval was the first appointment in Prime Minister Modi’s first term in May 2014.

He was given a five-year extension on June 4, 2019 and cabinet minister’s rank on par with the four ministers in the cabinet committee on security.

He is India’s longest-serving NSA.

He has now been appointed for the third term.

\
US NSA Jake Sullivan for ICET talks with NSA Ajit Doval in coming days.

chetak wrote: 14 Jun 2024 02:29 Don't usually forward this sort of stuff that is sent by denizens on WA
The byline is one Mahurkar ( the message I received in my WA group).

NSA Ajit Doval is 79 years old.

My guess would be that his five year extension is given so that action on terrorism is prompt, instead of having to wait for a new NSA to settle into office.

ernest wrote: 13 Jun 2024 18:17
Deans wrote: 13 Jun 2024 09:25 Since we are discussing education, I had done a blog post on how tech can (and is) transforming education in India. The Govt's initiative is
Disheartened to hear that. Do you have other posts on this subject on your blog? Would love to forward them to some people I know.
This is the only one on education. I only write if I feel strongly about a subject and have something different to say which the mainstream media
does not cover.
AkshaySG

Post by AkshaySG »

Obviously we aren't privy to all the inside conversations but for me personally Modi 3.0 has started with a whimper instead of a bang

The first few decisions and actions made by the govt are more towards appeasement and maintaining status quo than any bold decisions/major changes

The mandate may not be huge but in terms of 21st century democracies it's still a solid win, leaders in the west win 50.1% to 49. 9% and then anoint themselves leaders of the free world and we seem to be stepping on eggshells. Maybe they are testing out how loyal CBN and Nitishwa would be.

A surgical strike against Pakistan would be a good way to start. But given Modi's G7 travel + Yoga Day + increasing acceptance to take casualties as long as they are below a threshold + LoC ceasefire = seems unlikely that this will happen. Glad to eat crow if Modi proves me wrong

So far....

Positive
1) PMAY has been increased to 3 Cr more homes. That's a good start

Negatives
1) No message from the PM on Jammu killings, when he is busy tweeting about Taadasana, Kuwait deaths & everything else --> sends the wrong message that Hindu lives are cheap. Particularly egregious, considering little children have been killed
2) Like I mentioned above, the 10 Cr to Waqf in Maharashtra is a d!ck-move

The enemy has already started off their BIF violence: Jammu attacks, jihadi violence in UP, Karnataka, CISF officer slapping Kangana etc. They feel emboldened. The first order of business will be to deliver a big chop to them. Everything else can wait

Prem Kumar wrote: 14 Jun 2024 09:30

Positive
So the sabka saath, sabka vikas with Peacefuls in the front continues. Modi is indeed living in an Echo Chamber.

I hope (against hope) that, at least this time around, the PMAY house distribution will at least follow the demography percentages. Ideally, Muslims should not get any benefit at all, but I know that's too much to expect

> No message from the PM on Jammu killings

To me, reappointment of Ajit Doval as National Security Advisor is a message without words.

This was just after the elections:
https://www.etvbharat.com/en/!bharat/wi ... 4060606894

> Ajit Doval's tenure as a National Security Advisor (NSA) ended on June 3 and he has already conveyed to the caretaker Prime Minister Narendra Modi about his unwillingness to continue the top job.

Dovalji is 79. A plausible explanation of why he was given an extension that he did not want, and why he accepted it would be most welcome.

Prem Kumar wrote: 14 Jun 2024 09:30 A surgical strike against Pakistan would be a good way to start. But given Modi's G7 travel + Yoga Day + increasing acceptance to take casualties as long as they are below a threshold + LoC ceasefire = seems unlikely that this will happen. Glad to eat crow if Modi proves me wrong

So far....

Positive

Negatives
1) No message from the PM on Jammu killings, when he is busy tweeting about Taadasana, Kuwait deaths & everything else --> sends the wrong message that Hindu lives are cheap. Particularly egregious, considering little children have been killed
2) Like I mentioned above, the 10 Cr to Waqf in Maharashtra is a d!ck-move

The enemy has already started off their BIF violence: Jammu attacks, jihadi violence in UP, Karnataka, CISF officer slapping Kangana etc. They feel emboldened. The first order of business will be to deliver a big chop to them. Everything else can wait
Let us wait and see sir. PM chaired a J&K security review meet before leaving for G7. Security folks will come with options and it is better tweets come after some action in the current political climate. He is not sending the message that Hindu life is cheap, the electorate have already send that message by giving him limited mandate. 241 is a good number, but the dreaded coalition dharm will come to play now. That means you will have to work within a degree of caution when making public statements without taking substantive action IMHO.

This is going to have significant strategic and geopolitical implications for us as well

The US is bound to react in some way

de-dollarization

Saudi Arabia stops selling oil exclusively in US Dollar: As 50-year-old US-Saudi Petrodollar Agreement expires, new avenues expected in the global economy

https://www.indiatoday.in/business/stor ... 2024-06-13

In Short:

Saudi Arabia ends 80-year petrodollar deal with US
Deal allowed Saudi oil sales in US dollars only
Saudi can now use other currencies like RMB, Euros, etc
Saudi Arabia has decided not to renew its 80-year petrodollar deal with the United States, which expired on Sunday, June 9, as per media reports.

This agreement, originally signed on June 8, 1974, had been a key part of US global economic influence.

The deal set up joint commissions for economic cooperation and Saudi Arabia's military needs. Back then, American officials hoped it would encourage Saudi Arabia to produce more oil and strengthen economic ties with Arab countries.

Do you guys recognise any of this narrative and how it corelates to the BIF backed pappu spewed poppycock and balderdash that was spouted by the eyetaalian mafia and the congi clowns

was it for this nonsense that he went abroad for his tuition classes :mrgreen:

Cloward–Piven strategy

History
Cloward and Piven were both professors at the Columbia University School of Social Work. The strategy was outlined in a May 1966 article in the liberal magazine The Nation titled "The Weight of the Poor: A Strategy to End Poverty".[4]

Strategy
Cloward and Piven's article is focused on subversively compelling the Democratic Party, which in 1966 controlled the presidency and both houses of the United States Congress, to "redistribute income" to help the poor. They stated that full enrollment of those eligible for welfare "would produce bureaucratic disruption in welfare agencies and fiscal disruption in local and state governments" that would: "...deepen existing divisions among elements in the big-city Democratic coalition: the remaining white middle class, the working-class ethnic groups and the growing minority poor. To avoid a further weakening of that historic coalition, a national Democratic administration would be constrained to advance a federal solution to poverty that would override local welfare failures, local class and racial conflicts and local revenue dilemmas."[5]

They further wrote:

The ultimate objective of this strategy – to wipe out poverty by establishing a guaranteed annual income – will be questioned by some. Because the ideal of individual social and economic mobility has deep roots, even activists seem reluctant to call for national programs to eliminate poverty by the outright redistribution of income.[5]

Michael Reisch and Janice Andrews wrote that Cloward and Piven "proposed to create a crisis in the current welfare system – by exploiting the gap between welfare law and practice – that would ultimately bring about its collapse and replace it with a system of guaranteed annual income. They hoped to accomplish this end by informing the poor of their rights to welfare assistance, encouraging them to apply for benefits and, in effect, overloading an already overburdened bureaucracy."[6]
The main steps of this strategy are to:

Overload a system.
Create mass panic and hysteria as the system is overloaded.
Oversee the destruction of the system.
Replace the former system with a new system.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cloward%E ... n_strategy

https://www.thenation.com/article/archi ... d-poverty/