Understanding the US - Again

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Understanding the US - Again

He should go after every immigrant type he hates now, rather than later, atleast we would know if we are going to get rounded up sent back home, where ever that maybe

We know he hates South Asians. We are NOT safe, buddy.

sanman wrote: 11 Sep 2024 13:26 [
Behaviour of "moderators" in tonight's presidential debate was abysmal. Lefty media leaning hard into their biases.

Funny! Jordan Klepper on the debate

https://www.instagram.com/reel/C_zLTZwt ... _copy_link
sanman

Post by sanman »

Cybaru wrote: 13 Sep 2024 07:07 He should go after every immigrant type he hates now, rather than later, atleast we would know if we are going to get rounded up sent back home, where ever that maybe
saip wrote: 13 Sep 2024 08:05 We know he hates South Asians. We are NOT safe, buddy.
This is the crap you guys are worried about, after what Biden, Obama and Garsh!tty are doing against India? :shock:

This is where the phrase "Non-Reliable Indians" comes from.
titash

Post by titash »

sanman wrote: 13 Sep 2024 08:44 This is the crap you guys are worried about, after what Biden, Obama and Garsh!tty are doing against India? :shock:

Sanman-ji,

A couple of things to be said clearly up front.

(1) Does the average NRI have a soft corner for India? Yes - because they're Indian citizens

(2) Does the average 1st generation US Citizen / OCI card holder have a soft corner for India? Yes - because they grew up in India, were Indian citizens until last month/year, and have tons of friends & relatives in India. That is, barring self-loathing commies, hardcore ROPs who can't tolerate a successful Kafir society, and hardcore ROLs who can't tolerate heathens

(3) Does the average 2nd generation ABCD have a soft corner for India? I would say its 50-25-25...50% have some positive connections and memories, 25% don't give a rat's a$$ about India or Indians, and 25% actively loath India because they've not been allowed to be "fully American like the other kids" because of their Indian parents

But - does the average (a) NRI or (b) 1st generation US Citizen / OCI card holder or (c) 2nd generation ABCD place India's core national interests above their own personal interests? I would say No. The immediate & family problems of this set of people is generally accorded a higher priority than the problems of other people 10,000 miles away.

If Trump is perceived as a greater risk to the day-to-day lives of the above 3 groups of people, as compared to Biden/Harris, then they will side with Biden/Harris any day. Irrespective of the impact to India and people living in India

Ultimately only people whose heart and soul belong to India (irrespective of their passports) will look out for India's interests. And that's generally a minority among immigrant populations. The main reason is because immigrant populations are immigrants for their personal benefit, not the benefit of the home country they left

To be fair, Indians are justly proud of what our Parsi immigrants have done for India, not for their home country Iran. Their loyalties lie with India and not Iran. One should not expect any different from US Desis

I think your aggravation will significantly reduce if you acknowledge the above reality

Kamala's Earring Or Bluetooth Device? German Firm's Explosive Reaction Amid 'Rigged Debate' Row

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2qyLQjOOX-Q

Apparently Kamala Devi was wearing an earpiece which is a blue-tooth device to listen to someone prompting her with proper answers to Q&A. There are some claims that ABC gave Kamala the questions upfront. U.S. ex-President Donald Trump has accused ABC News of rigging the debate with Vice-President Kamala Harris, claiming moderators allowed Harris to speak without fact-checking her. Trump suggested he would only consider another debate if hosted by a "fair network". गहरा राज्य Gehra Rajya media house ABC and its moderators were a croakload of BS fact checking quotes. That guy David Muir has an expressionless face almost frozen, maybe they need to put some diwali crackers under his butt to excite him next time.

saip wrote: 13 Sep 2024 04:36 I believe some one complained to JD Vance the Haitians love hot dogs (probably that is the only thing they could afford) and so the price of hot dogs has gone up in Springfield, OH. He heard it as dogs and so spread that rumor. Trump added cats to it. Not his fault. It never is.
You believe?!!! Okay. I also believe (not “probably”, 100% sure) that you saaru gaaru, have no point. :rotfl:

saip wrote: 13 Sep 2024 06:55 Now Trump says the Hatian immigrants in Springfield, OH are stealing geese from parks. Is nothing sacred anymore?
Only sacred cows?!!! :mrgreen:
sanman

Post by sanman »

titash wrote: 13 Sep 2024 10:13 If Trump is perceived as a greater risk to the day-to-day lives of the above 3 groups of people, as compared to Biden/Harris, then they will side with Biden/Harris any day. Irrespective of the impact to India and people living in India
Trump's feelings as a nationalist aren't unreasonable -- just like Indians who don't want to be overrun by Bangladeshis aren't unreasonable.
Only Globalist types feel otherwise, since they don't acknowledge the sanctity of anyone's borders or national sovereignty.

Ultimate solution is for for India to turn its economy around, to employ people at home, rather than hemorrhaging people.
That can't happen as long as Obama-DeepState nexus are acting like saboteurs, doing coups in Pak and Bangla to keep us surrounded by hardliners, while sponsoring toolkits, planting Kejriwals, etc.

Trump is good for his country, he's good for India. There's no need to get so paranoid and obsessed with immigration.
If Obama-DeepState nexus continue to be in charge in Washington, then US will become a hellhole anyways -- so that you won't want to immigrate there, or even touch it with a 10-foot pole.

As I continue to say, this ruling nexus in Washington is a marriage of DeepState + WelfareState.

The Welfare State is represented by the Obama-Harris Democrats.
The Deep State (or Security State) are represented by the NeoCon warmongers.
Each of these groups are money addicts. Together they will monopolize power while sucking the US dry.
They will tax-and-spend America into the ground, spending all the money on their respective interests, while letting US productivity wither and die.
Obama Democrats will spend on their socialist welfare programs. Neocons will spend on endless foreign wars, including ones that harm India.
Indian immigrants will be stuck paying heavy taxes for these indulgences and will see no benefit from them.

Mort Walker wrote: 12 Sep 2024 09:59
On another note, Biden was in Shanksville, PA today and he actually does dislike Kamala Harris. Note the photo is not manipulated.

You are right, it is not manipulated, but your conclusion is very off :) On purpose or you never got around to watching the complete video? I presume the latter... Here watch the whole clip for your pleasure... it's funny and not demeaning to either side, although some folks are disrespectful to Joe.

The whole thing is funny,, but you probably won't find it funny, so please start at minute 3:50

bala wrote: 13 Sep 2024 10:30 Kamala's Earring Or Bluetooth Device? German Firm's Explosive Reaction Amid 'Rigged Debate' Row

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2qyLQjOOX-Q

Apparently Kamala Devi was wearing an earpiece which is a blue-tooth device to listen to someone prompting her with proper answers to Q&A. There are some claims that ABC gave Kamala the questions upfront. U.S. ex-President Donald Trump has accused ABC News of rigging the debate with Vice-President Kamala Harris, claiming moderators allowed Harris to speak without fact-checking her. Trump suggested he would only consider another debate if hosted by a "fair network". गहरा राज्य Gehra Rajya media house ABC and its moderators were a croakload of BS fact checking quotes. That guy David Muir has an expressionless face almost frozen, maybe they need to put some diwali crackers under his butt to excite him next time.
LOL - Gehra rajya - Bigfoot/Sasquatch in Hindi??

Come on man - prepare for the job you want. Indian aunty who aced all her classes is gonna come prepared. You know that... Its the same questions every presidential debate and this was his 7th one for him… Economy, border, inflation, peaceful transfer, Roe vs wade. tax policy, foreign policy.... Don't even need 21 sets or cliff notes for these...

Also can't lie your way through everything (Executing babies after month 9, immigrants eat dogs etc)... now the crazy uncle says even this was rigged... You can't victim your way through life...
Last edited by Cybaru on 13 Sep 2024 14:51, edited 2 times in total.

sanman wrote: 13 Sep 2024 08:44
This is the crap you guys are worried about, after what Biden, Obama and Garsh!tty are doing against India? :shock:

Send Garcetti home.... He serves at the pleasure of prime minister... I thought the first rule of geopolitics is there are no friends only interests...

Sign deal with France for Snecma - Kaveri - invest in ourselves, cancel GE404 deal, replace other stuff with Indian made products. It's not difficult. We can be independent if we choose our path...

And rest I am going to ignore and not take bait..

titash wrote: 13 Sep 2024 10:13
To be fair, Indians are justly proud of what our Parsi immigrants have done for India, not for their home country Iran. Their loyalties lie with India and not Iran. One should not expect any different from US Desis

I think your aggravation will significantly reduce if you acknowledge the above reality
No, we don't want tiki torches and sundown towns to be mainstream here or bloody concentration camps like they are promising... Who wants a dictator in the White House?
sanman

Post by sanman »

Cybaru wrote: 13 Sep 2024 13:46 No, we don't want tiki torches and sundown towns to be mainstream here or bloody concentration camps like they are promising... Who wants a dictator in the White House?
Don't get sucked in by these weird Woke narratives, man. Trump is good for India and America, both. Current rulers are dangerous gamesmen. They only know Colour Revolutions, Regime Change Operations, Election Interference, Subversion, Fake Narratives, they're in bed with Khalistanis, they want to destabilize India.
Show some priorities.
titash

Post by titash »

Cybaru wrote: 13 Sep 2024 13:46

No, we don't want tiki torches and sundown towns to be mainstream here or bloody concentration camps like they are promising... Who wants a dictator in the White House?
Dude - I voted for Trump and lived through his first presidency. I can tell you that Biden has changed little to none of his policies because they were essentially in US national interest. Also, it so happens that Trump's behavior was well received internationally by major countries like India, Russia, and a dozen others that weren't invaded during his presidency. Which is much more than you can say for Clinton / Obama / Biden / Bush Jr (whom I also liked)

I have seen little (actually zero) evidence that Trump is a dictator, or wants to restore slavery, or the Ku Klux Klan. The guy is basically interested in Power, Wealth, Fame, and $ex...which is all fine by me

Illegal immigration & DACA dreamers is all fine and dandy, but it only benefits Mexicans, Muslims, and Democrats while white collar Indians pay the tax tab with no return-on-investment

It's the exact same narrative that seeks to portray Hindus as Islamophobic if they so much as speak up for themselves, question Muslim dadagiri, or have the audacity to reject Bangladeshi/Rohingya hordes from changing their demographics

Cybaru wrote: 13 Sep 2024 13:46

Parsi in India = Desi in us is a false equivalence IMO. A better analogy for diaspora indians and India will be diaspora Jews and Israel .

1) current iran is under the grips of a death cult far removed from the great Parsi - zorastrian civilization. They were in fact kicked out of Persia . The desert cult tried their best to stamp out Parsi identity. For instance there is no "P" sound in Arapic . So the Parsi language became Farsi.

2) forget Desi -parsis , even more recent emigres from Iran are very antagonistic to the current evil Iran regime . They will be seen in rallys supporting Israel . I have seen them in pro -modi ,pro -india events as well . They are making efforts to get back to their Parsi roots .

3) honest diaspora Jews keep in mind the interest of Israel always .it's a good model for desis to replicate. There are deracinated ones like the antisemite George soros and Kamala Devis weirdo step daughter. But many of them are persona non grata in Israel just like Ashok swain swine is in India (his OCI was halaaled .

As an American citizen I am voting trump for few reasons .

1)I'll save money on taxes.

2)He won't interfere in indian affairs .in fact he inaugurated the Hindu Holocaust museum .

3)Wokeism and other Marxist ideology are existential threat to real progress. Don't want affirmative action etc .

4) Kamala Devi will likely be a virulent neocon just like BO.
5) I want the Slavic civil war to end .
6) wants pakees sanctioned again
7) want someone more confrontational with PRC . More us PRC confrontation means more breathing space for India in growth spurt .
8) entertainment.

Historically we sure had lots of 'Reliable Indians' like Gunga Dins and Mir Jafars and Mir Sadiqs.

We've also had Bhagat Singh's and homi bhabhas and n^3s .

gakakkad wrote: 13 Sep 2024 19:12 We've also had Bhagat Singh's and homi bhabhas and n^3s .
But if my examples are of 'Reliable Indians, your list must be of 'Unreliable Indians'.

Cybaru wrote: 13 Sep 2024 13:31 LOL - Gehra rajya - Bigfoot/Sasquatch in Hindi??
why the derision to an Indian language - this is an Indian Forum if you didn't notice. Keep LOLing though, good for you! LOL is Another stupid twitter/chat phrase used by teenagers mostly.
Indian aunty who aced all her classes is gonna come prepared.
Kamala does not consider herself Indian, she tries very hard with fake accent to be Black American, and most blacks detest her fake accent. SHe was not prepared but was coached by blue-tooth technology. Kamala was in the bottom third of her classes in law school, not very bright at all.
Also can't lie your way through everything
Every outlet checked Kamala answers and the verdict is she lied on most things. Wasn't she the border czar appointed by Bidenwa and failed spectaculary at the job - 20+ million illegal immigrants admitted to the US mostly criminals/jihadis and refuse from other nations.
Last edited by bala on 13 Sep 2024 20:16, edited 1 time in total.

agreed kamala is no indian.

i consider tulsi gabbard more indian (even though she is not of indian descent) than kamala. kamala is a marxist . i don't care about race.

We have to decide whether Trump won the debate or not. According to him he won it bigly by a landslide. After the debate he quoted three polls that gave him a margin of 92, 87 and 84%. Again, yesterday he claimed he won the debate bigly and so he does not want a rematch as according to him only the loser in a prize fight will ask for a rematch and as he certainly is NOT a loser & he is NOT interested in a rematch.
So why are some posters behaving as if Kamala has cheated and won the debate:
1. By getting questions secretly before the debate.
2. By getting help from the ABC moderators who infamously fact checked only Trump and not Harris.
3. By using blue tooth earrings (though it is documented that she has dislike for blue tooth as it is a security risk) and getting coached during the debate. If truth be told, this is not the first time that Democrat candidates (Clinton in 2016 and Biden in 2020) were accused of using secret ear pieces during their debates.
Do these posters know more than what the all-knowing former President Trump knows? Trump is an honorable man and so I believe him.
So let us be honest:
DID HE WIN THE DEBATE OR DID HE LOSE?

gakakkad wrote: 13 Sep 2024 18:32 As an American citizen I am voting trump for few reasons .

2)He won't interfere in indian affairs .in fact he inaugurated the Hindu Holocaust museum .

3)Wokeism and other Marxist ideology are existential threat to real progress. Don't want affirmative action etc .

4) Kamala Devi will likely be a virulent neocon just like BO.
5) I want the Slavic civil war to end .
6) wants pakees sanctioned again
7) want someone more confrontational with PRC . More us PRC confrontation means more breathing space for India in growth spurt .
8) entertainment.
Thanks for a good post.

I personally don't care who you vote for, but Americans should indeed be voting on issues affecting the presidential election, not on "who's good for India". Only India is good, better, and best for India - not Trump or Harris or anyone else.

India affairs are NOT an issue in this election, nobody cares about it. It could be made an issue for votebank support if Indian-American organizations could coalesce around something related to India, but this has not happened - its not a complaint, just factual observation.

Broader Asian-American organizations have such coordination and will likely pledge support to Kamala (based on responsiveness to demands).

As things stand, the large majority of Indian-Americans will vote for Kamala, just as they have been voting for Dem presidential candidates in the past. Probably the Indian heritage factor will further boost the percentage. Asian-Americans overall will go > 80% for Kamala nationally. There will be some state-wise differences.

We can of course argue about #2 in your list. A president "not interfering" is not saying much. The effort to undermine Indian foundational capabilities is a perennial core interest and does not stop/slow in any way by a change in president.

Other thing I consider is that if massive proportion of a particular ethnic class are known to vote loyally for one party without showing tendencies of swinging , than neither parties have any incentive to take care of their interests. The party that is the beneficiary of votes (in this case the Dems ) will take the votes for granted . And the other party won't really bother wooing the said demographic because what's the point if they won't ever vote for us.

The multiple indian origin/Hindu presidential candidates / kingmakers in in GOP are doing a favor to indians simply by making it a feasible GOP voting block. Ideally indians should want to be regarded as swing voters so both parties will at least make an attempt . Given the financial might of desis it'll actually make a decent impact .

titash wrote: 13 Sep 2024 16:50 I voted for Trump and lived through his first presidency. I can tell you that Biden has changed little to none of his policies because they were essentially in US national interest.
Not at all. Trump himself complains day in and day out how Bhaidanwa changed/undid his policies.

The trade tariffs are another matter. https://taxfoundation.org/research/all/ ... n-tariffs/

Bhaidanwa kept most of the Trump tariffs, and added some of his own - but the tariffs cannot be seen in isolation. The difference was that he had a plan (and acted upon it) to mitigate the effect of those tariffs and resulting taxes. Trump did not have any plan, and failed to foresee coming problems ("I know Putin and Xi very well, we'll take care of it...it will be fantastic"). The Ukraine war came later, squeezing supply chains even more.

The 2024 campaign looks the same. The same "winging it" approach and leaving the population in the same position as being in a casino (which of course Trump is no stranger to).
I have seen little (actually zero) evidence that Trump is a dictator, or wants to restore slavery, or the Ku Klux Klan. The guy is basically interested in Power, Wealth, Fame, and $ex..
I agree mostly...except its not "fine by me". He was not a dictator in 2016-2020 - just staggeringly incompetent especially 2018 onwards. But now he does aggressively assert that he will be a "dictator" if elected in 2024. An issue for most people is the devious and disrespectful/abusive manner in which his interests are pursued - resulting in both civil and criminal cases.
Illegal immigration & DACA dreamers is all fine and dandy, but it only benefits Mexicans, Muslims, and Democrats while white collar Indians pay the tax tab with no return-on-investment
Illegal immigration ultimately benefits nobody. It would be a bit disingenuous though for Indian-Americans to assume they are the only ones paying the tax tab. Certainly, Indian-origin people in the US overall pay a disproportionate share of tax, but only some of that is from Indian-Americans - a lot of it comes from actual Indians.
It's the exact same narrative that seeks to portray Hindus as Islamophobic if they so much as speak up for themselves, question Muslim dadagiri, or have the audacity to reject Bangladeshi/Rohingya hordes from changing their demographics
I do agree that the Democratic party has a problematic history of trying to grow such votebanks. Unless Indian-American/Hindu-American organizations are able to control large vote blocs and negotiate Hindu issue-based support with presidential candidates, it is futile to expect any change in the demographic and social/religious discourse at the presidential administration level. State and local is a different matter, there are examples of effective action by Indian-American orgs.
Last edited by KL Dubey on 13 Sep 2024 21:24, edited 1 time in total.

titash wrote: 13 Sep 2024 16:50 I have seen little (actually zero) evidence that Trump is a dictator, or wants to restore slavery, or the Ku Klux Klan. The guy is basically interested in Power, Wealth, Fame, and $ex...which is all fine by me
Since we are going by personal narrative and measurement yardstick, I have seen enough and believe that racism has made a huge comeback under Trump.. It is unfortunate... I am sure we can find some govt tracker on hate crimes and chart how things are going...

If you are okay by Sex, power, fame, wealth by any means necessary (this week it is selling NFTs and meme coins) then those are your guiding principles.

gakakkad wrote: 13 Sep 2024 18:32
As an American citizen I am voting trump for few reasons .

Okay, that's great. I am not a billionaire and both on a personal and the new proposed corporate level, the KH's policies are much much better than "I will levy Tariffs on everything" plan to solve every deficit conversation.. Here is the cost estimation, it is not CBO, but good enough to evaluate.
Wharton professor here! Here are the Penn Wharton Budget Model estimates:

— Harris’ proposal increases the deficit by $1.2 trillion, with low- and middle income households benefiting disproportionately.
— Trump’s proposal increases the deficit by $5.8 trillion.

Details below 👇

https://x.com/BerkouwerS/status/1833702060442767645
I think K L Dubey made some excellent points of voting block politics and how Indian diaspora is organized.

Taking a break, enjoyed the back and forth, will leave it here for now... Oh and to Bala - yes. I enjoy LOLing... it's an amazing emotion, try it sometimes! :wink: LOL

Cybaru wrote: 13 Sep 2024 21:24 Since we are going by personal narrative and measurement yardstick, I have seen enough and believe that racism has made a huge comeback under Trump.. It is unfortunate... I am sure we can find some govt tracker on hate crimes and chart how things are going...

If you are okay by Sex, power, fame, wealth by any means necessary (this week it is selling NFTs and meme coins) then those are your guiding principles.
Here are facts: Everyone is racist. Everytime one forms or wants to join an exclusion "club", other than the "club" of humanity., you are racist. Extreme example is the Jehadis who want to kill all who are out of their exclusive club.

You have not seen Black on Yellow, Yellow on Brown, Brown on Yellow, Black on Brown, Off-white on Brown, Dark Brown on off-white, White on pale white, pale white on all others ... racism and hence you go with the mainstream narrative of "larger group" on "marginilized group" racism. That is old. Very old. It is almost dying out and is being flamed by none other than the current VP candidate.

Comma,La Harris is Indian one day and African the next. The dems have played the race card to the hilt and are dividing the nation.

Let me say that as a fact: There is less racism in US than in Aus, NZ, fUK, Germany, Netherlands, E. Europe, China, Japan, S'gapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Taiwan, Vietnam, India (just watch the Indian movies and their caricatures of NE Indians).

Exclusionary club will always exist. As long as humans think that by belonging to an exclusionary club they will get an advantage to propagate their genes, exclusionary club will exist.

In US, at least you have the opportunity to create your own exclusionary club and thats where the end of racism begins.

Cybaru wrote: 13 Sep 2024 21:24
titash wrote: 13 Sep 2024 16:50 I have seen little (actually zero) evidence that Trump is a dictator, or wants to restore slavery, or the Ku Klux Klan. The guy is basically interested in Power, Wealth, Fame, and $ex...which is all fine by me
Since we are going by personal narrative and measurement yardstick, I have seen enough and believe that racism has made a huge comeback under Trump.. It is unfortunate... I am sure we can find some govt tracker on hate crimes and chart how things are going...

Whether social issues, climate change/environment, economy, Trump's strategy is to leave things ambiguous, vague, and riddled with doubt - no clear policy outline that requires leadership and accountability. Instead it leaves wide room for "seeing what he can get" down the road, including family corruption opportunities. Only clarity is on freebies. Kejriwal anyone ?

For example, Nixon (who had many flaws) nevertheless acted decisively in 1970 to save the environment: https://www.nixonfoundation.org/2022/04 ... ent-nixon/. The environmental controls, clean air/water, and occupational health that we enjoy in USA are hugely attributable to the legislations he signed in 1970.

Trump spent the better part of his term trying to destroy the EPA and other related agencies.

On racism in the US: the original Ku Klux Klan of the south was patronized by the Democratic Party. Abe Lincoln, a republican, started the move towards emancipation of Black Americans. The Republican party was at the forefront of such a movement. The Dumbos have turned the tables which is true about everything they do. The most devious racist pigs are to be found in Dumbos. Those in Repub are open about it since they don't say one thing and do another, you know where they stand. I find that immigrants are the most racist creed in the US. The Chinese are a good example and those from other nations, especially middle east and euroland wear it on their sleeve in the US. The Dumbos have the jihadi faction under their wing and these are the most virulent anti-everything according to the kitab. Indians uniformly prefer working under a US origin person, rather than an immigrant, women especially don't trust a woman as a boss. This is true of other immigrants and its shows that the US people are generally fair and recognize talent/merit in dealing with others. The worst abusers happen to be immigrants but there are exceptions.

Sex, power, fame, wealth: This is par for the course in US. Sex is like a used condom that everyone practices, fidelity is a moot point. Billy boy Clinton of the Dumbs was the leader and that Epstein, deep state wala, proves that the rich and mighty are ardent practioners of illicit Sex. Why bother. Entire NY real estate is by shady characters in the US none of them will pass any court scrutiny. Double standards are being used to single out DJT by the Dumbs. Elon musk is being parodied by the Dumbs and this guy has single handedly changed the tech landscape - electric vehicles, rocketry and more. Sex, power, fame, wealth is practiced everywhere in the world, why some people have some wrong notions of civility/behaviour in the US I don't understand.

One last post for now.

For me it was Biden's climate bill that made a huge difference. The infrastructure bill is transformative as well. I am hoping KH continues on that path and strengthens the climate bill and pushes us to net zero as fast as possible. Other things are important, but this is number 1 for me. I would even pay more in taxes than have a shitty climate bill or roll back the progress that has been made!...

Mod Note

This thread is derailing once again. Members are advised to refrain from posting their own personal political views and desires. It doesn't offer any meaningful incremental understanding of the US.

Remember, in the past 24 years we have had 12 years each of R and D rule. Both parties generally have substantial support bases. Here's are example of what might actually be meaningful and offer understanding:

Start from whichever political side you prefer. Explain why the OTHER side is so popular, imagining yourself as being embedded among them and living their lives. Discover them - both good and bad. Explain their cohesiveness, self organization and strengths, and what might enables to succeed.

This forces you to think dispassionately. If your argument is something trite like "they're all a bunch of extreme right racists / extreme left crazies" then congratulations because you've failed badly , because you're just projecting your own side's thinking.

The problem with most posts here is that we can get that material from yahoo news article comments. This thread is unnecessary if that's all you have.

You DO NOT win arguments by denigrating your opponents - Hobbs.

Thanks Suraj. I do not know why people should be called disparaging names. Why can't we be civil to each other? How many people can call their President/PM old f*rt to his face & get away with it (hat video above)? No more posts from me.

The ability to understand what makes people tick is an acquired skill. You have to start from a tabula rasa and learn to figure out their thinking, likes and dislikes and where that comes from. Your own personal views of them is completely irrelevant.

Have people here not read the classic Arab and European diaries of India of medieval times ? They came from far away - completely different cultures - quietly sat and listened and understood, embedding themselves into the fabric of the country. They figured out what makes the society tick. What the fissures and problematic parts are. Can you do that ?

It matters, because they figured out how to manipulate the country to their ends with that detailed understanding. This isn't a call to arms or anything, but that skill to understand another entity from first principles, is an acquired skill that you either develop or fail miserably at.

It's clear most here are falling in the latter bucket. A lot of posts aren't materially different from content in a yahoo news comment section flamewar + 2 minutes on Wikipedia.

Do you have it in you to dig a LOT deeper and explain the racial, cultural, sociological roots and basis of what makes parts of the US cultural and political spectrum be what they are today ?

You don't have to feel compelled to post here just because it's election season.

Suraj wrote: 13 Sep 2024 23:07 It's clear most here are falling in the latter bucket. A lot of posts aren't materially different from content in a yahoo news comment section flamewar + 2 minutes on Wikipedia.
The thing about Wikipedia is that the record is there forever. If a point can be made there for the silent watchers, that is big step forward. Somebody who was an editor for 15 years just got banned after that one showed the latent Eurocentrism of most of the editors/administrators/and founder Jimbo Wales. That editor probably felt making that point is worthy of the sacrifice their account in good standing. At least a couple of editors spoke up in support. I am sure there are many more who quietly made their own evaluation. Since that whole exchange took place on Jimbo Wales user talk page, the visibility is there.

Also, WMF Board of Trustees elections are taking place in October. WMF has raised USD 1 billion since 2017 and has USD 250 million in assets. They want to hand over control to a new formed body called Global Council.

(I am posting this here because "flamewar + 2 minutes on Wikipedia" came up. Please feel free to move it to Social Media thread. I will continue there with more stuff and links so that other BRF members can go through what happened there)

Looks like the US dream for desis has changed significantly in the past couple of decades. Some of the comments below the video are quite informative as well...

sanman

Post by sanman »

There has been a SECOND ASSASSINATION ATTEMPT against Donald Trump at the Trump International golf course which he frequents.

@ 2pm eastern time:
Secret Service agents opened fire at shooter hiding in the bushes with AK-47 rifle with sniper scope poked through the perimeter fence of golf course.
Trump was bundled into a vehicle and taken away to a secure location.
Some vigilant passerby photographed the license plate of the Nissan vehicle which shooter fled away in.
Shooter was eventually pulled over and taken into custody.

Last edited by sanman on 16 Sep 2024 05:06, edited 7 times in total.

Donald Trump 'safe' after gunshots heard nearby, campaign says
Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump is reported to be safe following a recent shooting incident near his location. The Secret Service is responding to the shooting, which occurred as Trump was leaving his golf club in West Palm Beach, Florida, CNN reported quoting law enforcement sources.

“President Trump is safe following gunshots in his vicinity. No further details at this time,” Trump spokesman Steven Cheung said Sunday afternoon. The New York Post reported that two people exchanged gunfire outside Trump International Golf Course, with the shooters targeting each other rather than the former president.

According to law enforcement sources, the Secret Service observed a suspicious individual near Trump International Golf Course and opened fire after agents saw what appeared to be a gun barrel. It is unclear whether the individual was on the course or nearby. An agent fired multiple shots, and the suspect was later apprehended by local police on I-95.

The White House quickly released a statement following the incident: “The President and Vice President have been briefed on the security situation at the Trump International Golf Course, where former President Trump was playing golf. They are relieved to confirm his safety and will receive regular updates from their team.”

The Secret Service, along with the Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office, is investigating the incident. Anthony Guglielmi from the Secret Service confirmed that the shooting involved Trump and occurred shortly before 2 p.m., assuring that Trump is safe.

"The Secret Service, in conjunction with the Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office, is investigating a protective incident involving former President Donald Trump that occurred shortly before 2pm," said Anthony Guglielmi, chief of communications for the United States Secret Service.

https://x.com/RaheemKassam/status/1835440928074736007

The guy who was arrested is Ryan Routh who has deep connections to Ukraine it seems. See the thread