US Election Watch Thread 2024

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: US Election Watch Thread 2024

Let the courts decide. All the way to SC, shall we? If nothing is decided by Nov 5, then it is moot and we should move on. Rule of law does not depend on your beliefs or my beliefs - only the Courts can decide and Honorable Courts may decide in a way that I believe is wrong. But I accept it. The selection/election was done according to law (no courts have so far said otherwise) so there is nothing to argue about.
About $240 million transfer, it is again done according to law as no Court/Authority ruled against it. It is NOT Biden's alone. I get emails from Trump-Vance campaign and Harris - Waltz campaign for campaign contributions. So when I do send to either of the campaigns, I am sending to both the names on the ticket, am I not? Also, KH raised more than a BILLION dollars on her own. So that amount becomes irrelevant now.

saip wrote: 13 Oct 2024 19:48 Chanakyaa: You DO admit that no laws were broken as they are 'not clear, vague' etc. If no laws were broken why are you bringing this up? If even a wisp of legal breach was there, legal eagles bigger than you and me would have litigated it all the way to SC, would they not? It is another nothing burger.
Hmm. Democrats are supposed to have internal democracy. Harris got as many delegates as I and you dear @saip gaaru. Zero. That is the nothing burger.

This is not democracy, it is plutocracy but the plutocrats are really quite dumb. Dimwits all.

saip wrote: 13 Oct 2024 21:20 Also, KH raised more than a BILLION dollars on her own. So that amount becomes irrelevant now.
Who gave Harris that kind of money?

1. 85% of the Silly-con
2. 65% of the hedge fund managers
3. 95% from the top three management consultancies

She was bought to do their bidding. Sources of funding do matter. She is beholden to those who funded her campaign. If she wins, she will start paying back in cash and kind starting on day one. :twisted: :mrgreen: :rotfl:

Polling show Harris honeymoon period is over and DT is slowly gaining ground. My mind tells me it is going to be 2016 all over again. Demos made a huge mistake nominating Harris. They should have taken the risk and nominated somebody who can take DT. Geopolitically, R-U war is going to get over and Hamas+chamchas is going to go home soon. India will have to redouble her effort to become the manufacturing hub of the world and get to those double digit growth rate of the 90s. It sounds like the chaos of DT is better than than the status quo of Harris.

@williams saaru
What you say is hundred percent correct.

But this thread is for figuring out how clean the US 2024 elections are. :wink:

Folks are being legalistic and argumentative on top of supporting "jiska paisaa uskaa bhains". :(( :mrgreen: :rotfl:

chanakyaa wrote: 13 Oct 2024 16:49 @saip ji, do you believe the selection/election of Kamala Harris as the presidential candidate of the Democratic party upheld the democratic values? How fair and democratic was the lack of open nomination process to the other 5 or 6 other candidates aspiring to be the presidential candidate of the Democratic party?

Once Biden withdrew from the race this year, the party committee simply updated its Federal Election Commission (FEC) registration to replace Biden with Harris at the top of the ticket. FEC regulations and federal statutory law, unfortunately, do not address this exact situation — an incumbent vice president running for re-election and then moving to the top of the ticket before having been formally renominated at her party’s convention. By the time Biden dropped, the campaign had accumulated approx. $240m in donations. Other candidates were told that they don't have time to raise money, and KH can access the money, arguably, because Election Commission laws are not clear or vague about such situations. Are we so naive to believe that Biden's late stage exit wasn't orchestrated and the seasoned politicians in the democratic party were unaware?
In general, this is obviated by the fact that the candidate (in this case, Bhaidanwa) had already picked his running mate (Kamaladevi) - for the second time consecutively - from amongst all other contenders. It is his prerogative to do so.

The running mate is supposed to be the best available person that the candidates believes can be ready to assume the president's office in case the president resigns/is incapacitated.

As I understand, the party national committee (in this case, DNC) has to approve this at the primary. Parties have wide latitude in their internal selection processes and "plan B" processes in the event of the presumptive nominee withdrawing. No objections (or other contenders) appear to have been received before (or at) the primary event - I am open to being corrected.

Dubey ji, please refer to my follow on posts for link to objections raised by Democrats (Pelosi) and opposition.

Selection of vice president by POTUS does not make it automatically the Next best POTUS candidate. Yes, he/she can become President when POTUS in not-functional, but not an automatic head of party for next elections. I'm amazed by extent to which people are willing to go to justify wrongful practices, by taking a refuge in legality. Taking this logic further, legally, when president and vice-president are incapacitated, the Speaker of the House is the next best person in line to be POTUS. Are you suggesting, make Rep. Mike Johnson presidential candidate?

"running mate is supposed to be the best available person..."? then, why pretend to run party primaries and open convention? just appoint vice president as candidate in next elections? Denying other Democratic party candidates a level playing field was unethical.

my last on this topic, i think we beat this dead horse enough :D

:rotfl: We beat this dead donkey enough. :rotfl:

Donkey dubey gayaa. :mrgreen:

Vayutuvan wrote: 14 Oct 2024 11:38 Donkey dubey gayaa. :mrgreen:

chanakyaa wrote: 14 Oct 2024 07:28 my last on this topic, i think we beat this dead horse enough :D
It was a dead horse to begin with. The Dems already had a few candidates at the early stages, including RFK. The "objections" and other discussions were part of the internal party process. No point trying to find "conspiracy" in these things. Having a convention is not "pretending", it is the official confirmation of the nominee by the party delegates. Same thing on the Rep side. Why have a convention when nobody other than Trump had any chance. These events cost many millions of $$ to hold.

williams wrote: 14 Oct 2024 06:22 Polling show Harris honeymoon period is over and DT is slowly gaining ground. My mind tells me it is going to be 2016 all over again. Demos made a huge mistake nominating Harris. They should have taken the risk and nominated somebody who can take DT. Geopolitically, R-U war is going to get over and Hamas+chamchas is going to go home soon. India will have to redouble her effort to become the manufacturing hub of the world and get to those double digit growth rate of the 90s. It sounds like the chaos of DT is better than than the status quo of Harris.
In this case, there is no "honeymoon", its pretty much straight to the election. Harris became a candidate 3 months before the election. The polls/ratings now are pretty much the same as what it was in September. No big changes that are outside the margin of error of pollsters. She still holds the same 2.5-3% lead nationally and all the battleground states (except perhaps Arizona) are still within margin of error.

The only big changes are:

- Comparison to the polls when Bhaidanwa was still the candidate. Totally transformed the contest.

- Fundraising: Harris raised a billion dollars in 3 months, money that donors were unwilling to give Bhaidanwa. That is much more than what Trump has raised in his entire campaign starting 2023. Right now she is comfortably placed in that respect and doesn't have to do any more fundraisers in the home stretch. Trump is having a harder time....he's yelling at donors who he thinks are not supporting him enough. I don't think he will pour his own money in, since he has a cash flow problem with the court cases (bonds and sentenced penalties).

As for Bharat sarkar, it is pretty much irrelevant who is the next USA president. Maybe the people waiting to get a visa/green card will feel an impact - probably it will be again chaos with a Trump sarkar, which may end up benefiting Bharat since such folks will stay back in India and build their careers there.

Trump defeated his opponents in the primaries. Biden defeated his opponents in the primaries. Harris did not stand as the prime candidate in the primaries. RFK jr would have easily defeated her, or for that matter, most other candidates too. The VP candidate is never voted for in the primaries. They are selected, not elected. The proof of this is that only 4 sitting VPs in US history have been elected as POTUS. The last one was GHW Bush in 1988.

Real Clear Polling is showing the battle ground states in the margin of error, but Trump is ahead of where he was at in 2020. That said, has polling methodology improved in the battle ground states since 2020? Yes & no. Yes, outside of the “blue wall” states where there is an even mix of party affiliation. The “blue wall” rust belt states have higher Dem affiliation, and many people will not say they openly vote for Trump because of fear of losing their job, clients, friends & colleagues.

Even in Red States, fewer people will put up Trump signs or bumper stickers. Being harassed by leftists isn’t worth it when you’ve got roji-roti issues. However, they will vote for Trump with even more zeal. There is a real fear that those who donate to Trump will be harassed or jailed. California has stopped Space X from wanting to do 50 launches a year from Vandenburg AFB, not because of some climate or environmental laws, but because of Elon Musk’s posts on X. See link below.

https://www.latimes.com/california/stor ... commission

If they can do this to the most successful space launch company in the US & it’s wealthy owner, the general population doesn’t stand a chance.

There he goes again. More conspiracy theories.

saip wrote: 14 Oct 2024 22:18 There he goes again. More conspiracy theories.
saip-ji,

Where is the conspiracy? Did you not read the LA Times link?

US betting markets are showing Trump victory

https://polymarket.com/elections

Betting markets can be manipulated. I would trust multiple polls with large sample size of likely voters more. It would show a trend.

Kamala Harris interviews on The View & Colbert Show are ready made Trump ads. They asked her what she would do different from Biden, and she said she would do nothing different. High inflation, running up the debt, stoking war in Europe & ME seems to be fine with Harris. Her town hall with Univision was questionable after teleprompter failed.

Trump is going to do a pod cast with Joe Rogan soon. Lots of 18-30 year olds will watch.

KL Dubey wrote: 13 Oct 2024 02:25
Please post information revealing that the appeals court has tossed the penalties.

Again, it makes no sense to make bombastic/content-free posts purporting to bring out great conspiracies, and then display exactly the same "fakeness" that others are pointing out.
I will definitely post it when it comes true. Which it will. I was in a pre-monition mode. I just told the news earlier than it will happen. :P

On the mail fraud:

https://finance.yahoo.com/news/heartlan ... 00197.html
Heartland/Rasmussen Poll: One-in-Five Mail-In Voters Admit to Committing at Least One Kind of Voter Fraud During 2020 Election
And here is the kicker:
Eight percent of all respondents said “a friend, family member, or organization, such as a political party” offered them “pay” or a “reward” for agreeing to vote in the 2020 election.
CONgoon buy the vote ... at a bigger scale ...

US Elections have become racist and of Khatakat schemes reminding one of a 3rd world nation. Here, CommaLa (as she likes to be called) has announced such a khatakat scheme.

Here is Khatakat Scheme from MommaLa (as on her twitter profile)

https://www.cnbc.com/2024/10/14/harris- ... oters.html
Harris proposes 1 million forgivable loans to Black entrepreneurs, as Trump makes inroads
If this is not racist, then what it is?
Vice President Kamala Harris unveiled an “Opportunity Agenda” proposal for Black men Monday, which includes plans to provide 1 million forgivable loans to Black entrepreneurs and new pathways to help Black Americans succeed in the legalized marijuana industry.
It gets even better:
“She will also fight to ensure that as the national cannabis industry takes shape, Black men — who have, for years, been over policed for marijuana use — are able to access wealth and jobs in this new market,” the campaign said.

US Elections now has:

1. Khatakat Scheme
2. Identity based politics.

The US Elections lacunae list goes longer and longer.

saip wrote: 13 Oct 2024 21:20 Also, KH raised more than a BILLION dollars on her own. So that amount becomes irrelevant now.
SaiP'ji, I knew you had it in you to bring relevant point to the US Elections thread.

You have effectively shown how much money influence is going around.

Just for comparison: $1 Billion dollars is equivalent to Rs. 84,05,95,37,700 or Rs. 8400 Crore. That's the amount the current VP is going to spend on her Election to Prez.

The figure for Trump is @$ 600 million

Kamala will provide week also to Black males :rotfl:

A vote for Trump
  • Control on immigration. A lot of unsavory people are infiltrating via Mexico, the Chinese seem to dominate the list. Will institute Merit based immigration.
  • No more Islamic terror. Countries in middle east will be on notice. Terror sponsoring Muslims will be on notice that includes the Pakis. Pro Israel no palestinian appeasement.
  • Pro business and pro US policies. No appeasement for any. Tariff barriers for those who take advantage. Oil prices will stabilize and go downwards for average consumer.
  • No more wokeism, left nonsense, DEI, ESG. No more Deep State shenanigans.
  • No war. This is important for the peace in the world at large.
  • No tax increase.
  • Will be pro India.

A vote for Kamala
  • Immigration will be out of control. Non-merit based. City infra will detiorate further, more homeless.
  • Islamic terror will be furthered. The dumbocrats have them on the inside, Palestinian causes over Israel dominate.
  • Against business and tariffs will be imposed in many forms.
  • Wokeism, left nonsense, DEI, ESG.
  • Tax increase to the tune of 4 T!
  • War will continue worldwide.
  • China appeasement will continue.
  • Against India in many areas, especially the Russia angle. Already the neighborhood is on fire - BD, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Pakis, Myanmar.

Why do democrats hate Elon Musk so much? He is definitely supporting Trump. Democrats may not like. But the venom with which Democrats hate him is beyond my imagination. When I was praising SpaceX's recent landing, the only thing I heard is abuse, abuse and abuse of Elon Musk. Same irrationality when we suggest citizenship and verification during registration and voting. 99.99% Hollywood types, artists, talk show artists and comedians support Democrats. Meta, Google, CBS, MSNBC, CNN manipulate news so much to support Democrats. But No one is hated as mthe party he luch. There is whining by some RW people but this hatred of Musk reached a level that no one can imagine. Even smart, scientific people can't appreciate what he does. Can't see beyond the hate. Why can't he support the party he likes?

disha wrote: 15 Oct 2024 21:47
KL Dubey wrote: 13 Oct 2024 02:25
Please post information revealing that the appeals court has tossed the penalties.

Again, it makes no sense to make bombastic/content-free posts purporting to bring out great conspiracies, and then display exactly the same "fakeness" that others are pointing out.
I will definitely post it when it comes true. Which it will. I was in a pre-monition mode. I just told the news earlier than it will happen. :P
This is what BRF has become reduced to.

^ No sir. BRF will now be ahead of the curve.

Here is updated list on US Election Watch. Added two more to the list.

[1] Voter LIst manipulation either via exploiting broken processes or putting in broken processes with an end goal of voter list.
[2] Changing requirements or relaxing requirements of ID proof during voting.
[3] Lawfare. Embroil the opposing candidate into multiple and frivoulous law suites. Proceed to character assassination
[4] Lawfare on the own vocal leaders. Bring out spurious corruption charges against vocal party leaders that do not toe the official line
[5] Cancel culture and de-platforming. Prominent leaders critical of the incumbent are deplatformed and canceled, particularly when lawfare does not work
[6] Curtail free speech. All parody videos critical of the incumbent are banned for example. See California state law on satire videos.
[7] Interference and control the narrative. Social media platforms and media platforms are brow beaten if they cannot be bought!
[8] Intimidate the judiciary itself!
[9] Character assassination. For example calling someone a toadie and cancelling them.
[10] If all of the above and below does not work, ASSASSINATION (attempt multiple times)
[11] Introduce Khatakat schemes. This is a signature of banana republics (and 3rd world nations) where votes are to be bought by specialized schemes. In this case loan mela for the black community
[12] Divide the vote base. Identity politics based on color of skin. Gender.

vijayk wrote: 16 Oct 2024 04:13 Why do democrats hate Elon Musk so much? He is definitely supporting Trump. Democrats may not like. But the venom with which Democrats hate him is beyond my imagination. When I was praising SpaceX's recent landing, the only thing I heard is abuse, abuse and abuse of Elon Musk. Same irrationality when we suggest citizenship and verification during registration and voting. 99.99% Hollywood types, artists, talk show artists and comedians support Democrats. Meta, Google, CBS, MSNBC, CNN manipulate news so much to support Democrats. But No one is hated as mthe party he luch. There is whining by some RW people but this hatred of Musk reached a level that no one can imagine. Even smart, scientific people can't appreciate what he does. Can't see beyond the hate. Why can't he support the party he likes?
You are doing well, if all you are facing is the heat for being rational. Earlier you would be cancelled and thrown in jail. I did pay price on me being an agent of balance. Called trumpet and toolkit gang member and what not.

So carry forward and call out the issues in the US Elections without any fear. Or being labelled as partisan.

As for me, I am a left liberal democrat. I have done more as an individual for the environment than several hundreds of environmentalists put together. I have done more for Women's rights than the whole convention of democrat women of 2024. I know what to do for the future and hopefully the supreme consciousness will provide me with the resources I need.

Hence it is time that we start showing the mirror to the emperor and speak truth to power. In this case, monitor the US Elections and tabulate with all supporting documents the issues in US Elections. It is imperative for well meaning citizens (overseas and resident) of the largest and most vibrant democracy on Earth.

There are several lawsuits going on in Georgia. Part of the mess is due to the way elections are conducted and certified. Here is the latest in one of the case in Georgia:
U.S. election counting is decentralized, with local officials responsible for tabulating results in their precincts before they can be certified at the state level. In his ruling, McBurney wrote that Adams and other local officials are responsible for counting results and taking notes of any concerns - such as more votes being received than there are voters in the precinct.

But he wrote that local officials' duty was to report any such problems to prosecutors for further investigation, not to delay certification and look into the issues themselves.
The case from Adams was to withhold the certification in her precincts if there is doubt of wrongdoing while county officials investigate. Like more votes being received than there are voters in the precinct. The judge ruled, that Adams (or precinct/county (district) officials) cannot investigate on their own while withhold certification. They can and are duty bound to report problems to the prosecutors (here the attorney general) without looking into the issue themselves.

This is a sane judgement. This allows the precinct official to call out election wrong doing. In case of Adams, she reported that in 2020 elections her precinct saw more mail in ballots than expected. She might be right or wrong. Since +40% of voters in 2020 sent in their mail-in ballot.

bala wrote: 15 Oct 2024 22:51 ...
A vote for Kamala
... Good list snipped
The only silver lining is that it is likely donkeys would be able to take control of the House and possibly lose control of the Senate. If Harris-Walz win, they will not be able to get much done. There might even be impeachment payback from the GOPricks.

Why do democrats hate Elon Musk
This is a Standard, well vetted routine of Gehra Rajya. Paint the opposition "evil". What it achieves is counter-intuitive. The supporters i.e. sheeple of Dumbocrats, which is a good percentage, start supporting anti-"evil" stuff. Now energy is spent opposing, which implies money being spent. Voila, the Gehra Rajya owns the media and they get more Ads opposing the "evil", thankyou sheeple for spending your money with Gehra Rajya. The opposition "evil" people continue to support their person, buying Tesla cars, visiting Twitter, etc. Some of the "evil" might take an Ad opposing the sheeple of Dumbocrats, in Gehra Rajya supported media. This is a mistake since Gehra Rajya says thank you once again. See, the simple thing is that Gehra Rajya loves to stir the pot which means people get agitated (BRF term agitprop) and spend their energies/money, which is windfall for the Gehra Rajya.

The Gehra Rajya is into all kinds of gambling activities, churning the populace into hate blocks, dividing and heightening the differences. They are the crux/nub of Vice in everything, including the Vice El Presidente of the US, drugs, illicit trade, trafficing, illegal immigration, Las Vegas, etc, etc. From the Energy spent they profit handsomely. Apply this to the world - cause conflict, supply weapons/munition often to both sides, let them fight it out. Meanwhile all the media control hoopla of reporting, taking sides on talk shows etc., heightened anxiety over trade and commodity pricing, all of these are meant to drain the money holdings of the aam admi into Gehra Rajya pockets.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7sglCdkBBnE Please check thing—NY appeal panel.

The only chads in the world's most vibrant democracy are to be found in vote counting machines :rotfl:

Swing state momentum is with Trump. Harris needs to do something drastic to change that trend. The key should be distancing herself from Biden. Biden is very unpopular among independents right now and I am surprised Harris has not distanced herself from his policies. Early voting is going to start next week in most states and many conservative states have tightened rules on mail-in ballot (especially AZ and GA). My take is early in the race, Democrats spent too much political capital on throwing Trump away through litigation. Then came the Biden age debacle. Harris was mounted up in a hurry and has inherited a rudderless campaign. Media is the most untrusted lot in public opinion and relying on them to somehow scrape through a tough campaign season is simply a loosing strategy. This race is now Trumps to lose. If he disciplines himself from unwanted loose talk and frames Harris as a successor of Biden policies, then it is over.

I see a bit of panic among EU analcysts while discussing the US elections. During an over hour long discussion they carefully avoided talking about the attempts on Trump or showing any footage of it. They were repeating it's too close to call. They are predicting serious risk of civil war.

Which means Trump is ahead, and it's his election to lose. He should really focus on items like reducing taxes, curbing inflation, reducing cost of health care, stopping Ukraine war, stopping illegal immigration, strict federal laws against petty crime, looting, war against drugs etc which will swing voters to him.

Going after cackling ComeAlla or abortion, or guns, or just shouting MAGA is no longer useful. He should now focus on what he will really do to make a difference in ordinary people's lives. But I'm not sure if his billionaire brain sees it.

Do parties release a manifesto in the US? Trump should release his manifesto and and trumpet it and shut up about everything else, including himself.
A Deshmukh

Post by A Deshmukh »

I perceive cracks in the Dem camp.
Biden is sabotaging Harris events.
Clinton also not sure.
Pelosi?
Only Obama is fully behind Harris campaign, questioning blacks....

On the other hand Trump has marshaled a lot of heavyweights like Elon Musk, DeSantis, and Dems like RFKJr, Tulsi Gabbard.
Only Pence (DS candidate) is openly supporting Harris.

Mrs Cheney popped up aside Cackling ComeAlla suddenly! Politics indeed makes strange bedfellows!

JD Vance will have the good advice from Ushaji ... She seems to be more rooted and not India hating retarded NRI like Kamala or Nikki. There is another Khalistani lawyer in California who almost reached the level of RNC head. She still carries a lot of weight in Republican circles
sanman

Post by sanman »

Cyrano wrote: 16 Oct 2024 15:30 Mrs Cheney popped up aside Cackling ComeAlla suddenly! Politics indeed makes strange bedfellows!
Cheneys (father & daughter) have endorsed Kamala, as have so many NeoCons. The Security State has teamed up with the Welfare State.

vijayk wrote: 16 Oct 2024 16:35 ... There is another Khalistani lawyer in California who almost reached the level of RNC head.
Harmeet Kaur Dhillon?