Pahalgam Terror Attack: News & Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Pahalgam Terror Attack: News & Discussion

chetak wrote: 26 Apr 2025 23:20 The pakis are "offering" neutral investigation

what happened to the paki investigation on the 26/11 mumbai attack, first let us know that

Pahalgam Attack: Pakistan Ready For ‘Neutral Investigation’, Says PM Shehbaz Sharif

https://www.indiatoday.in/newsmo/video/ ... 2025-04-26
I think there will be a replace Gen Munir movement in Pakistan

Reliable sources intimate that Houris are getting nervous.

drnayar wrote: 26 Apr 2025 17:18
bala wrote: 26 Apr 2025 17:04 Now that there is imminent strike capability by India being talked about, the question of "What will Happen to Pakistani Nukes", and Pakistan Army's Itch about talking about their nuclear angle.

Pathikrit Paye explains in YT about the options:
youtube.com/watch?v=vJVBA-u0GRM

Both US and Russia are aware about rogue nations going nuclear and they have contingency plans. There is talk about nuke nanga baba of Puke land and the key is held by China. The actual working model is Chinese, the trigger is separate and codes are held by the chinese. The US is also rumored to have a plan to snatch the stuff prior to deployment. Anything can happen with Puke Land, including Jihadi takeover of prime facilities which house the nukes. Then there is possibility of dirty nukes being exploded.
I think the Israelis would be more than happy to help out !!

One of Aesop's most famous fables is about the nesting birds and the farmer who has to harvest his fields.
The farmer hopes his friends will come, then his family, and finally sayshe will do it himself.
The mother bird decides to leave only when he says he will harvest the field.
Similarly, unless India wants to do the denuke program, Pak wont believe the plan.

sanjaykumar wrote: 27 Apr 2025 01:32 Reliable sources intimate that Houris are getting nervous.
Sanjay, I think the Iran blast by a suicide bomber is related to Paki crisis management.
They probably did that blast to offer services to the US and in return stop India, just like during Parakram.
RCase

Post by RCase »

sanjaykumar wrote: 27 Apr 2025 01:32 Reliable sources intimate that Houris are getting nervous.
Why? They should be jubilant with the prospect of abundant arrival of Paki TFTA mards, who are Allah's gift to womankind! AoA!

Have you seen the average Abdul in his natural environment?

You must recall ‘rage boy’ from some years back. That meme was so effective I now picture them all so.

sanjayc wrote: 26 Apr 2025 22:51
A_Gupta wrote: 26 Apr 2025 18:15 > Also there are reports that Lahore airport caught fire and flights are cancelled.

A quick check of flightaware.com, the website that tracks commercial flights worldwide, shows that arrivals and departures at Lahore airport appear to be on time; this is likely fake news. This is bad as propaganda/psyops too because it is so easily debunked.

The London/Canada/New Jersey migration should not be believed without evidence. As part of the propaganda war though, it is great psyops, being very difficult to verify or debunk.

IMO, it is best to stick to the facts, because ultimately, credibility is important. When India says it destroyed a terrorist camp in Balakot, and Pakistan says India just bombed crows and pigeons, the side that did not have fake news has the credibility.
Massive fire erupts at Lahore’s Allama Iqbal Airport, flights cancelled
https://www.financialexpress.com/world- ... d/3823260/
And the tweet that the great Financial Express quotes already has context added:

"Misinformation!
This is an old video from May 2024 when flight operations at Lahore airport were disrupted due to a fire caused by a short circuit in the ceiling of the immigration counter. The video is not recent and is unrelated to any explosion."

And here: DNA India: https://www.dnaindia.com/world/report-d ... is-3147913

Video might be old, the fire is not.
Apparently they were installing anti aircraft defenses and an aa missile battery exploded. Chinese maal, could be sabotage... Who knows?!
RCase

Post by RCase »

What is the PAF capability in GB area? Apart from Skardu, do they have any air defense in that area? How easy or hard is it to enforce a no-fly zone in this area? POK, GB are anyway part of Indian territory and hence India reserves the right to fly its aircraft over this area.

Even if Pak has closed its airspace, so be it. Fly commercial aircraft (after enforcing no-fly by Pakis) under IAF protection over GB, into Afghanistan and Central Asia to Europe. To overfly the GB section will be about 150 miles (about 15 min overflight). Even if it is a couple of aircraft, it will make a statement and make it a new normal.

Of course, it is time to reclaim rights to northern areas.

Commence with round trips of 2 dozen fighter jets.

^^^ I hope so. As I said, the public source commercial flight info at flightaware.com did not show any delays or cancellations of incoming or departing flights from the Lahore Allama Iqbal airport. So, if there was a fire, it did not cause flight delays.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

this is interesting

interesting words about
PAppu meeting only the muslim survivor .. any hindu voting for India alliance needs to have head examined
Omar Abdullah .. money laundering
Lt General mostly in home town
mossad in town [ bharat ]

mule handlers involvement

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yetlqYAGdn0

Chinese missiles and ammunition blown up
involvement of IRGC in the pahalgam terror
Bandar Abbas port down.."tactical nuke :roll: ".. Iran lost its bargaining chip vs USA !!
***Chinese involvement ***

deep rooted local collaboration in terrorist attack

138 swing seats .. what did happen in last election

Pakistan rattled
major fire at Lahore airport .. this is real
Munir hiding in bunker
Army desertions
paki media losing their collective mind ..or whatever left.. clips of paki media

heated argument between paki army generals : Mirza and Munir

muslim "kids" of Pakistan keeping Indian passports
pakis trying to fight war with 9 billion forex :roll:
paki army considered parasites

There was plenty of talk about Iran and Pak people talking (Pakistan PM Shehbaz Sharif, Iran President Masoud Pezeshkian held talks) and Iran offering a 'mediation' ..

Here is Iran readout of PM Modi, Iran President Pezeshkian says: Iranian side condemned the Pahalgam terror attack; Also discussed Chabahar port, invited PM Modi to Tehran

Sri Lankan readout of Sri Lanka President Disanayake, PM Modi talks on the Pahalgam terror attack..."Pahalgam, Kashmir, India clearly stated by Sri Lanka"

Now that the Simla agreement is suspended (did they actually suspend or just threaten to do so?), legally, we can redraw the LoC to convenience. So let's change things on the ground to make the LoC more defensible. If anyone asks, we can simply say we are just taking steps within our territory to counter terrorist infiltration, etc. so that such incidents cannot be repeated. This can become the new norm eventually - any terror incident would result in loss of territory. Since it's legally our territory anyway, and with LoC not having sanctity anymore, we can keep doing that at will wherever and whenever we want.

Given the gravity of the Pahalgam incident, we should respond with something big. I am thinking we should take the Haji Pir pass, connect Uri and Poonch and get rid of that bulge. I am not sure how populated that area of PoK is, but it can be good dry run for us to figure out how deal with population in newly acquired terriroty. My personal preference, repatriate them to Pakistan and populate the area with our people. We need to figure this part out if we intend to take the full PoJK later.

Of course, the Pakis would be expecting us to try something like this, so we should do this when we have an element of surprise. So, nothing immediately, even do kadi ninda for a few months but then suddenly execute before they even realize what's happening.

Given the sensitivity of the area, I'm assuming the PA has built a lot of defenses here. But the ground reality of being surrounded by Indian territory on 3 sides would constrain them during the Op. We'll have to use that to our advantage. I'm sure the Army has some plans sitting on some shelf somewhere for precisely this, considering the bitter history of '65 when we had to cede the area due to the Tashkent agreement.

I did see Deans sir's post elaborating our infantry constraints, and this would be primarily an infantry op with Para/SF involvement. So we'll have to bring in more units from the rear. But since the Air Force has tools that we didn't have during Kargil, like Rudra and Prachand helicopters, smart usage of air power should have a force multiplier effect.

So, what do the experts think? Doable?
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

Cyrano wrote: 27 Apr 2025 01:52 Video might be old, the fire is not.
Apparently they were installing anti aircraft defenses and an aa missile battery exploded. Chinese maal, could be sabotage... Who knows?!
a similar one happened at the Iranian port city as well.. coincidence?

They have threatened to withdraw from Simla. Did not do it. I think there are two reasons for it. They are subscribers to the Vienna Convention of a treaty, while Bharat is not. If they can legally back off from Simla, then there would be no LOC. Additionally, IWT abeyance by India will be justified legally in an indirect manner.

Pakis are only getting hit now. We have just started.

Yagnasri wrote: 27 Apr 2025 08:02 They have threatened to withdraw from Simla. Did not do it. I think there are two reasons for it. They are subscribers to the Vienna Convention of a treaty, while Bharat is not. If they can legally back off from Simla, then there would be no LOC. Additionally, IWT abeyance by India will be justified legally in an indirect manner.
Yes, but being tactically brilliant, they may end up doing just that... :wink:
Yagnasri wrote: 27 Apr 2025 08:02Pakis are only getting hit now. We have just started.
I feel we are the moment of Shishupala's 100th transgression. Let's see.

arshyam wrote: 27 Apr 2025 07:33 ....
Of course, the Pakis would be expecting us to try something like this, so we should do this when we have an element of surprise. So, nothing immediately, even do kadi ninda for a few months but then suddenly execute before they even realize what's happening.

Given the sensitivity of the area, I'm assuming the PA has built a lot of defenses here. But the ground reality of being surrounded by Indian territory on 3 sides would constrain them during the Op. We'll have to use that to our advantage. I'm sure the Army has some plans sitting on some shelf somewhere for precisely this, considering the bitter history of '65 when we had to cede the area due to the Tashkent agreement.
The consequence of being a perennially reactive power is never having the element of surprise on your side. In order to do something like you suggested and have a decent chance of success, you would ideally want to take your time to prepare well and strike when the enemy least expects it. But we only consider options like this after suffering a major attack when the whole country is demanding a response and the enemy is on high alert and expecting you to do something. Rushing it in a situation like that would guarantee failure so we have to shelve such grand plans and look for something smaller because the government may not have the time to wait without losing face.

The other way is to build a big enough quantitative and qualitative overmatch on the enemy during peacetime so that when the time comes to respond considerations like timing and surprise are not essential for success. But we haven't done anything to achieve that either.

The ideal time to carry out a serious operation to capture territory and/or seriously damage the credibility and fighting potential of the PA would have been when their internal political and economic instability was at its peak with the Army and Imran Khan going head to head, forex coffers going empty, inflation at its peak and no IMF bailout in sight. Now the political situation is a lot more stable, Asim Munir is firmly in control and the IMF bailout and other loans have stabilized the economic situation as well for the time being.

They always choose the best time for them to strike (i.e. when they are stable and/or prosperous). We are always left having to respond in the aftermath.
ritesh

Post by ritesh »

A_Gupta wrote: 26 Apr 2025 18:15 > Also there are reports that Lahore airport caught fire and flights are cancelled.

A quick check of flightaware.com, the website that tracks commercial flights worldwide, shows that arrivals and departures at Lahore airport appear to be on time; this is likely fake news. This is bad as propaganda/psyops too because it is so easily debunked.
For propaganda to work, it should create/lead to unrest in your enemies while not creating sense of relief or complacency in your own camp.

Unfortunately, we do fail in to latter too much instead of letting former happen to its fullest. These masterstrokewadis are usually culprits for this.

Our greatest strength lies in either standoff weapons strike or leveraging our naval prowess to strangulate Pakistan. Both of which we have not used in decades and instead opted to use special forces (uri) or IAF (Balakot).

The Pakistan Navy is a bit of a nothing force with 3 modern subs and few light weight frigates and corvette. There is no way the Chinese can even show deterrent force in this region (which they can by land or air). Water is our ultimate weapon in this long term war and we should use the asymmetrical gap in this domain to the fullest.

Unless the nation has the stomach for a war of attrition or like someone else mentioned that we are actually proactively and not after the fact, the gains from land warfare will be very limited and TSP can match us in the short term.

It's intriguing that everyday one or the other US dept keeps condemning Pahalgam terror attack and extends support to India. It's unusual isn't it?

@riteshji, I agree. Psy ops from our side has been low quality so far.

btw, I read this report in IE. Not sure what to make of it. Is GoI signalling that retaliation will be similar to Balakot strike? If so, the response would be underwhelming or is this just to mislead the Pakis?

https://indianexpress.com/article/polit ... t-9967458/
Pahalgam attack fallout: After diplomatic actions, range of retaliatory options on govt’s table
Since Pulwama in 2019, India has acquired capabilities to strike from within its borders
A top source in the government told The Indian Express, “There will be military retaliation and we are prepared. We are discussing the nature of the strike… Since 2019, we have taken a series of measures to modernise our weapons. We have the option of targeting the terrorists from within our territory.”
I feel this is not enough to deter Pakistan from continuing terror attacks. Pakis will again claim nobody died and they will move on to prepare for next terror attack.

My take is that after the announcement of initial diplomatic retaliation measures, we have followed it up with actions that make clear that IWT is done and dusted as far as India is concerned. We have also blocked water from one river and suddenly released water in another to demonstrate what we can do and will be doing. At the same time provocative statements, warnings about imminent strikes and military buildup keeps growing. I think we are waiting for TSP to go kinetic first. They are being pressured from all sides to react. The inital reaction in paki SM was India cannot do anything with the water flow. Slowly it is starting to give way to serious concern and panic. TSPA is being forced to react.

Dilbu wrote: 27 Apr 2025 11:29 My take is that after the announcement of initial diplomatic retaliation measures, we have followed it up with actions that make clear that IWT is done and dusted as far as India is concerned. We have also blocked water from one river and suddenly released water in another to demonstrate what we can do and will be doing. At the same time provocative statements, warnings about imminent strikes and military buildup keeps growing. I think we are waiting for TSP to go kinetic first. They are being pressured from all sides to react. The inital reaction in paki SM was India cannot do anything with the water flow. Slowly it is starting to give way to serious concern and panic. TSPA is being forced to react.
+1 That seems to be the Indian strategy. All though I think with what was done as initial reaction, we can take our time to come up with a military action that they least expect. We can observe and gauge their movements and get a fair idea of their strength and weakness. If they go kinetic first, then the added bonus of declaring them as the aggressor and reacting accordingly. Given their economic situations, the more time we take the more it is going to cost to sustain this alertness. For us this is routine.

nachiket wrote: 27 Apr 2025 09:09 They always choose the best time for them to strike (i.e. when they are stable and/or prosperous). We are always left having to respond in the aftermath.
Nachiket saar,
The whole existence of Pakis is predicated on Anti-India and anti-Hindu obsession. We have many other fish to fry. That's why we always react. This is a golden opportunity to break their backs and the govt seems determined to go as far as it takes.
Hriday

Post by Hriday »

WOW! It is also a way of saying that we will fire the unstoppable Brahmos against Pakistani warships. It looks like a slow and lengthy mental torture of Pakistan by Indian govt. India earlier said zero water for Pakistan and started water war very quickly.
Brahmos costs around $10 million. I guess they may have advanced the regular firing practice. About 1 minute video of Brahmos firing in the link. The first half part of the video looks very amateurish in editing.
https://x.com/indiannavy/status/1916347 ... lMF2A&s=19
#IndianNavy Ships undertook successful multiple anti-ship firings to revalidate and demonstrate readiness of platforms, systems and crew for long range precision offensive strike.

#IndianNavy stands #CombatReady #Credible and #FutureReady in safeguarding the nation’s maritime interests Anytime Anywhere Anyhow

We need to understand the enemies strength:

1, Pakis especially the ruling elite are united in their mission to destroy us. They do not believe in peaceful co-existence that our candle kissers dream about.
2. They don't care about their starving masses and their well being.
3. That makes them a juicy proxy for many powers who want to keep India tied.

India on the other hand is massively divided. Yet we care about the well being of our citizens and many in our side believe or hope we can co-exist peacefully with the Pakis. This include the Modi government in the initial few years. Hence we react and do something like URI or Balakote and then move on thinking the problem is over. I would say we need to come to the realization that until we can neutralize the Pakis to a degree of negligibility, we will constantly be reacting to this pain and be reminded that the cancer is still there. On the top of it, we are in a constant election mode where the government of the day need to fight politically to survive, while the paki rats are planning the next attack.

And finally we are not in a war fighting mode when the enemy hunkers down and bides time. Our procurement and organizational decisions don't have the urgency or the seriousness once the dust settles. These things need changes if we are ever going to solve the Paki problem.

Looks like the pakis might have tortured and killed the BSF jawan, they are saying he is not in their custody. I hope Indian army/BSF kidnaps a few paki soldiers and force a prisioner swap if he is still alive.
Hriday

Post by Hriday »

Hriday wrote: 27 Apr 2025 13:18 WOW! It is also a way of saying that we will fire the unstoppable Brahmos against Pakistani warships. It looks like a slow and lengthy mental torture of Pakistan by Indian govt. India earlier said zero water for Pakistan and started water war very quickly.
Brahmos costs around $10 million. I guess they may have advanced the regular firing practice. About 1 minute video of Brahmos firing in the link. The first half part of the video looks very amateurish in editing.
https://x.com/indiannavy/status/1916347 ... lMF2A&s=19
#IndianNavy Ships undertook successful multiple anti-ship firings to revalidate and demonstrate readiness of platforms, systems and crew for long range precision offensive strike.

#IndianNavy stands #CombatReady #Credible and #FutureReady in safeguarding the nation’s maritime interests Anytime Anywhere Anyhow
For those who is interested a quick bite on Brahmos information. Multiple DRDO and Brahmos CEOs had commented about the near impossibility of shooting down a Brahmos. From the interview of Brahmos CEO, Sudhir Kumar,
https://www.aeromagasia.com/2021/04/12/ ... aerospace/
BRAHMOS is the deadliest cruise missile in the world today. The entire world is aware of the precision strike capability of this uniquely powerful weapon. BRAHMOS is a stealthy weapon which cannot be intercepted by any modern air defence system, however powerful that may be.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

When Sania Mirza got married in Pakistan, there was so much uproar. Now after the closure of Attari-Wagah border, it has come to light that in Punjab alone there are 83,000 women who got married in Pakistan and instead of taking Pakistani citizenship, they are giving birth to children here. Just think how many there would be in the country? This is a huge loophole in our system. Think about how many ISI agents we are nurturing and that too at our own expense. Think about the patriotism of those Muslim families who are marrying their daughters to Pakistani Muslims despite the presence of 30 crore Muslims in India. These women want to get married in Pakistan but they do not want to give up their Indian citizenship and they also want to give birth to children in India and make them citizens of India too so that they can work for Pakistan in the future. This is a very dangerous situation. After taking action against Pakistan, it is very important to take action against the traitors living in the country.

https://x.com/RealBababanaras/status/19 ... 6929761451
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

Our babudom works like the situation where if robbers have crashed into the house, let’s look for the manual that says 10 steps of self defence and look for the police number in the directory using a torch :((
Any other sane country would have showered agent Orange regularly but no we do ladli Behen where shauhar is in Bakilund

Btw where do these families meet to have cross border relations? I can understand Dubai but this ? No wonder we are treated as joint account . Mind you Dubai will be another Achilles heel, any place where meeting Bakis is easy for M is a problem for us
Last edited by S_Madhukar on 27 Apr 2025 14:10, edited 1 time in total.
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

--Deleted--
Last edited by nachiket on 28 Apr 2025 01:36, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Personal attack and threat deleted. User warned

Please delete your post above. This is not the time to take pot shots at our leaders.

Serious preparations are going on in Pak
https://x.com/RealBababanaras/status/19 ... lW7TQ&s=19

Lt. Gen P R Shankar take on IWT abeyance. Puke land depends on agriculture (25% of economy, 60-70% people are employed) whereas India is less dependent (15% of economy). Water therefore is the nuclear option that India exercised. Most crops are water intensive to grow. Indus and Jhelum are kinda hard to tame in India, mainly in mountains. However Chenab river is relatively easy to control for India and supplies major water to Mangla dam of Puke land (which is 50% of water for them). BTW Puke army has sold some desert land to Dubai guys and assured them water supply. IWT abeyance puts a spanner into this deal. More facts are slides.

youtube.com/watch?v=lUxZ85TBsq0
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

I hope bharat takes out their submarines and erieyes at the first shot..rest can be dealt with at leisure

drnayar wrote: 27 Apr 2025 16:38 I hope bharat takes out their submarines and erieyes at the first shot..rest can be dealt with at leisure
What's the range of their ancient diesel subs ?

Yeah erieyes should have been destroyed last decade .