Operation Sindoor - Bharat Strikes Back: Jai Hind!

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Operation Sindoor - Bharat Strikes Back: Jai Hind!

In this YT Maj Gen Rajiv Narayanan believes 8 crafts of puke land are down. Maj Gen Rajiv was involved in India's IRON DOME built over the last 8-10 yrs, with all forces - army, airforce, navy in conjunction with BEL. These folks have inside people reporting compared to the Indian news outlet. Worth reviewing what they say.

Aadi Achint, Pathikrit Payne and Rajiv Narayanan

youtube.com/watch?v=RpI_GMlMNOs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TzVKkmiKkr8

Pakistan Army Chief Asim Munir Exposed Amid Standoff with India: Corruption, Family..

I think we can come to at least one conclusion right now, our layered AD systems worked as designed. Thanks to the Chinese who threatened us in 2020. During Balakote (2019) we did not see this robust response against Paki attack. IAF also is playing very well now. No hot pursuits. Hopefully we can manage this way in future waves or hopefully we have a solution to destroy the source of these attacks.

l
Jammu & Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah driving to Jammu to take stock of failed Pakistani drone attack in Jammu.
Driving to Jammu now to take stock of the situation after last night’s failed Pakistani drone attack directed at Jammu city & other parts of the division.
Harish

Post by Harish »

Rakesh wrote: 09 May 2025 05:43
Harish wrote: 09 May 2025 05:06 So did we lose one or more Rafales? Reading the news it does seem that India lost at least one Rafale (BS-001). What stops India from categorically denying the loss if it did not happen?

What is the expert opinion on this forum?
The Govt/Armed Forces will provide a post-ops BDA (Battle Damage Assessment). Till then, speculation is pointless.

The goal here is not to focus on Rafale, but rather on political/military objectives being met. Air HQ has confirmed that all pilots are accounted for. Look at the bigger picture ---> The IAF entered heavily contested airspace and engaged all targets with success. Valuable data has been collected on all Chinese maal (i.e. J-10, HQ-9, JF-17, etc) that have been engaged with for the first time. Will help India immensely when the balloon goes up with China.

P.S. We just crossed Japan to become the fourth largest economy in the world. In conflict, equipment is lost or damaged. Not a big issue at all. If any aircraft were lost, they can and will be replaced.
I entirely agree. But I was not "speculating", I am concerned as any Indian and was merely trying to find out what's already known to be true or false. It's very reassuring to know that all pilots are accounted for - in the numerous news stories I have read, there was not one mention of this fact. Thank you!

INS Vikrant Strikes Pakistan Navy Bases in Karachi and Ormara, Triggers Massive Fires - NewsX
Indian Navy Joins Military Operations After Air Force’s Precision Strikes; Naval Assault Targets Critical Pakistani Ports

After the Indian Air Force launched precision strikes on terror camps in Pakistan and Pakistan-occupied Kashmir, the Indian Navy has now stepped into action. The Navy’s aircraft carrier INS Vikrant, stationed in the Arabian Sea, has reportedly launched missile strikes on key Pakistani naval bases, causing major destruction and panic along Pakistan’s coastline.

Naval Attack Sparks Fires Across Karachi Port Area

According to defence sources, INS Vikrant has fired multiple missiles at Pakistan’s Karachi and Ormara ports. The attacks have caused massive fires at both locations, with smoke seen billowing across the city.

“INS Vikrant ne Karachi ko nishane par lekar bhaari tabahi machani shuru kar di hai. Nausena ke hamle se Karachi ke bandargah samet shehar mein bhaari aag lagi hui hai,” sources said, confirming the extent of the damage.

Witnesses and local reports suggest that flames engulfed key parts of the Karachi port, spreading panic among residents. People living in coastal areas were seen fleeing toward inland regions to escape the chaos.

Ormara and Karachi Naval Bases Suffer Major Hits

Both Karachi and Ormara are home to major Pakistani naval bases. These facilities reportedly house warships, submarines, and top military headquarters.

“INS Vikrant se Pakistan ke Karachi aur Ormara bandargah par kai missilein daagi gayi hain. Jisse dono port par bhayankar aag lag gayi hai,” said a defence official.

With the Indian Navy’s focused assault, both ports are believed to be heavily damaged. The extent of destruction at these naval bases could severely weaken Pakistan’s maritime defence capabilities.

“INS Vikrant ne in dono Navy base ko barbaad karke Pakistan nausena ko kaafi had tak pangu karne mein safalta pa li hai,” the report added.
Indian Navy Operation Still Underway

The naval operation is still ongoing, and sources indicate that India’s strategic aim is to neutralize Pakistan’s offensive military positions along its southern coast. Indian Navy forces continue to monitor developments from sea, ensuring the operation’s objectives are met.

“Aabhi Bharatiya Nausena ka operation jaari hai,” defence officials confirmed.

Pakistan had long feared the deployment of INS Vikrant in the Arabian Sea, and now that concern has materialized into reality. As India’s first indigenously built aircraft carrier, INS Vikrant serves as a massive floating airbase capable of launching and supporting combat aircraft at sea.

“Pakistan ko pehle se hi Arab Sagar mein INS Vikrant ki tainati se darr sata raha tha. Is vimanvahak pot ki tainati ka matlab 30 MiG-29K fighter jeton ki sir par tainati thi,” a source stated.

This warship moves with a fleet that includes destroyers, frigates, refuelling ships, and submarines, making it a formidable naval force. Experts say it is nearly impossible to challenge Vikrant’s power at sea.

“Yeh paani mein tairta hua Bharat ka vishal air base hai… jiske chalte is yudhpot se takra paana lagbhag naamumkin hai,” added a naval expert.
Harish

Post by Harish »

ramana wrote: 09 May 2025 06:08
Harish wrote: 09 May 2025 05:06 So did we lose one or more Rafales? Reading the news it does seem that India lost at least one Rafale (BS-001). What stops India from categorically denying the loss if it did not happen?

What is the expert opinion on this forum?
There is a war going on. No need to inform enemy.
You mean the Paki military intelligence is lurking on BR for information?

Harish, you have received explanation from Rakesh. Leave it at that. Take it as a warning.

OT...self delete
Last edited by Jay on 09 May 2025 07:15, edited 2 times in total.

Mort Walker wrote: 09 May 2025 06:00 I say we need 100 more Arnab Goswami's and Major Gaurav Arya's shouting as loud as possible! Put the Indian narrative out there.
It is not the shouting or emotion that is bothersome (to me at least), it is the quality of the information. Further, information should not be confused with rhetoric. As far as I have followed, Major Gaurav Arya is generally on the right track. Arnab Goswami is a clown.
m_saini wrote: 09 May 2025 06:15 i like how on one hand people are chiding Arnab and indian twitter handles for "fake" news but then will do randi rona a few months from now about how pakis "won the information warfare and how Mudi should rejine".

Wake up and pick a side, propaganda is how you win "information" war...
What BBC, etc. are doing is ignoring the terrorist attack, and making India the first mover, the aggressor in this battle. Further, they quote Pakistan as fact, and India as claims. They quote the Paki PM, but not the Indian PM or Minister of Defense. India is "defiant", transgressor, or equal-equal with TSP. One news guy was going on about how this conflict is bad for a "South Asia still recovering from COVID" and deterring investors in India and Pakistan. (The Sensex has gone up from April 22 to May 8 while the KSE100 has crashed.). All the usual preachy stuff too.

That is the narrative that has to be countered. Please see Shashi Tharoor do so brilliantly with a hostile Al Arabiya interviewer that I posted above. That is what needs to be done.

Not this fake "Karachi is burning" if it is not; that 3 Paki AWACS are downed if they are not. Your lie will be caught and your credibility shot to bits.

If you are incapable of understanding what it is the narrative that has to be pushed, then it is better to remain silent.

The Indian narrative is that India is a responsible, restrained, civilized major power that does not desire war and was simply doing what basic justice requires, which is retaliate for a dastardly terrorist attack.

If anyone is escalating to war, rattling the nuclear threat, etc., etc., it is Pakistan.

As Shashi Tharoor explained, India has successively tried diplomacy, minor retaliation, more retaliation, and now this. India sees no value in talking to Pakistan. It is unto the other nations, especially China, to restrain Pakistan and keep it from making the situation deteriorate. India has no interest in continuing this war, but will hit back equally for each hit attempted. The opposition and the Government in India are united on this. If Pakistan stops hitting, India will also. "Pakistan does not have anything that India wants".

(Now, does India really want Pakistan to stand down? - I don't know. That is why this may be part propaganda. But listen to Shashi Tharoor before making another noise about propaganda is how you win information war.)

Likewise, the world needs to know why the Indus Water Treaty is in abeyance.

FYI, if you talk to NRI children very few of them have any understanding beyond "war is bad". They have no context, no knowledge of history, they have not seen the hundred offenses of Shishupala before Sri Krishna killed him; they only see Sri Krishna becoming violent, and "violence is bad".

If your "propaganda" can't convince people with more ties than anyone other than Indians themselves to India, then you have a major miss.
Last edited by A_Gupta on 09 May 2025 06:56, edited 1 time in total.

This must be a template for every decent US (or any world) Leader!

Nikki Haley:
Terrorists launched an attack that killed dozens of Indian citizens. India had every right to retaliate and defend itself.

Pakistan does not get to play the victim. No country gets a pass for supporting terrorist activity.
durairaaj

Post by durairaaj »

Why don't you kids take this discussion on how information during war to be shared to nukkad thread and sort it out among yourselves. Till then this thread shall focus on consolidating reliable updates on operation sindhoor alone.
Haridas

Post by Haridas »

Harish wrote: 09 May 2025 06:45 You mean the Paki military intelligence is lurking on BR for information?

Saar make what you may from this

Haridas wrote: 09 May 2025 06:09
Folks I strongly urge you to desist reporting or soliciting indian losses. It exposes to enemy military what tactics produced a specific result or reaction, or plain fruitification of their psyOp and information warfare.

There is a reason why China has till date not reported or accepted its Galwan casualty (dead or injured) !!
There is a reason Porkistan has not accepted Balakot kill of W/Cdr Abhinandan.

Why the IT/wity youngistan has abject khujli to think it has 50% more IQ than indian military command. So please SHUT UP and analyze things that brings to light aspects that help your motherland. Else you are unwittingly being a fifth coloumnist.

I have seen and remember all wars since 1965, so please give me liberty to lecture on this matter.
Rana

Post by Rana »

If there is a decisive victory, India should insist on defanging Paki military on the lines of Article 9 of the Japanese Constitution.

Article 9 of Japanese Constitution 1947

Aspiring sincerely to an international peace based on justice and order, the Japanese people forever renounce war as a sovereign right of the nation and the threat or use of force as means of settling international disputes.

In order to accomplish the aim of the preceding paragraph, land, sea, and air forces, as well as other war potential, will never be maintained. The right of belligerency of the state will not be recognized.

SSridhar wrote: 09 May 2025 06:45 INS Vikrant Strikes Pakistan Navy Bases in Karachi and Ormara, Triggers Massive Fires[/url] - NewsX

The Navy’s aircraft carrier INS Vikrant, stationed in the Arabian Sea, has reportedly launched missile strikes on key Pakistani naval bases, causing major destruction and panic along Pakistan’s coastline.

According to defence sources, INS Vikrant has fired multiple missiles at Pakistan’s Karachi and Ormara ports. The attacks have caused massive fires at both locations, with smoke seen billowing across the city.
Does INS Vikrant carry any surface to surface missiles? It's armament only has SAM missiles.

S_Madhukar wrote: 09 May 2025 05:52 Worst part of watching Indian news is it is usually talking heads instead of proper summaries .and then 1 channel has a siren as the background track…. Kill me please!

The frickin sirens.... Got me too! 😁

SSridhar wrote: 09 May 2025 06:45 INS Vikrant Strikes Pakistan Navy Bases in Karachi and Ormara, Triggers Massive Fires - NewsX
Indian Navy Joins Military Operations After Air Force’s Precision Strikes; Naval Assault Targets Critical Pakistani Ports
With the Indian Navy’s focused assault, both ports are believed to be heavily damaged. The extent of destruction at these naval bases could severely weaken Pakistan’s maritime defence capabilities.
This is for Lt. Vinay Narwal

Well avenged, Nausena.

Sham no Varunah
RCase

Post by RCase »

tandav wrote: 09 May 2025 06:26 So any advise on flying into Mumbai from East Asia ? Or should we defer it for a few days?
[lol]
Sirji, would have put in a request to the boys on Vikrant to provide an escort to your plane. However, they are currently busy and a bit away from Mumbai. If your destination had been Karachi, I am sure they would have given you a free one as it is part of their commute!
[/lol]
Mumbai was not listed in the airports that were closed by GOI. However things can change as the situation evolves. Even if Mumbai gets shut down, I am sure there are other alternate airports where they can divert the plane.

williams wrote: 09 May 2025 03:30 At this point if US and other major powers say, "none of our business" that is good. We can take care of the problem as we wish. :D
Exactmento. In fact, if anybody says that it is their business, we should ask them to mind their own business. They are in deep sheet right now what with tariff wars, internecine fights in the congress/parliament, racial/religious tensions, and so on so forth.

It is not the shouting or emotion that is bothersome (to me at least), it is the quality of the information. Further, information should not be confused with rhetoric. As far as I have followed, Major Gaurav Arya is generally on the right track. Arnab Goswami is a clown.
A_Gupta - Arnab being a clown is your opinion. Arnab\s interview of exposing Rahul Gandhi in 2014 cannot be forgotten. If he is a clown so be it - that is my opinion BTW.

I did find Republic TV and India Today Youtube live feeds quite useful. They had reporters in specific Indian locations and did show us live video of the attack in the Indian side. There were retired generals who gave their opinions. Everyone gets wrong information in the fog of information war. We cannot dismiss all of it and we have the choice to believe or not believe it.

Jay Shankar, Shashi Tharoor and other diplomats talking to hostile news channel is good but that is not the end of all. India needs differing opinions that is focused on providing information to the Indian crowd as much as she needs to provide information to the world media. We need the live feeds to understand what is going on in ground zero.

The "so called" world media BBC, CNN, AP and Reuters are not just influenced by the Pakistanis. They have the colonial hangover and they cannot accept brown India as a world power and will instinctively support the Pakis. So don't blame Indian media for that.
Last edited by williams on 09 May 2025 07:24, edited 2 times in total.

Manish_P wrote: 09 May 2025 07:12
This is for Lt. Vinay Narwal

Well avenged, Nausena.

Sham no Varunah
Sirji, there is no official confirmation.... Just speculation. Let's wait and watch....
nishant.gupta

Post by nishant.gupta »

Jay wrote: 09 May 2025 07:10
Does INS Vikrant carry any surface to surface missiles? It's armament only has SAM missiles.
I dont think it does. If INS Vik did attack and destroy Karachi, it would be through its air wing of Mig 29's. I think what they could also mean is the carrier group might have carried out the attack which would have other ships with good Karachi thrashing ordnance.

I don't watch CNN and generally not put a clip from there... but IMO Indian Ambassador does q very good job here:

India’s Ambassador to United States Vinay Kawatra speaks with @CNN on Pakistani terrorism in Kashmir and how Pakistan escalates conflict with India.

“We are at war with terrorists”

“World should be concerned about Pakistan’s support of terrorist since last three decades”.

Cleary shows the ignorance/bigotry from CNN but very nicely handled by the Ambassador.

Jay wrote: 09 May 2025 07:10 Does INS Vikrant carry any surface to surface missiles? It's armament only has SAM missiles.
The aircraft on board will have some. But also the reporter may mean the Vikrant battle group. Which in totality will have plenty of surface to surface missiles.
asbchakri

Post by asbchakri »

williams wrote: 09 May 2025 07:20
A_Gupta - Arnab being a clown is your opinion. Arnab\s interview of exposing Rahul Gandhi in 2014 cannot be forgotten. If he is a clown so be it - that is my opinion BTW.

I did find Republic TV and India Today Youtube live feeds quite useful. They had reporters in specific Indian locations and did show us live video of the attack in the Indian side. There were retired generals who gave their opinions. Everyone gets wrong information in the fog of information war. We cannot dismiss all of it and we have the choice to believe or not believe it.

He is one of the few journalists who is very pro Bharat, yes he is a bit emotional and aggressive, but I believe he is a good journalist.

From @sidhant on X:

Details from yesterday night:
Yesterday night, when Pakistan made failed attempts to send Swarm Drones all across various places along the Line of Control and International Borders

Over 50 drones were successfully neutralized during a large-scale counter-drone operation conducted by Indian Army Air Defence units in the areas of Udhampur, Samba, Jammu, Akhnoor, Nagrota, and Pathankot areas.

The engagement involved extensive use of L-70 guns, Zu-23mm, Schilka systems, and other advanced Counter-UAS equipment, demonstrating the Army’s robust capability to counter aerial threats.
pravula

Post by pravula »

Are our L-70s radar controlled? With the proliferation of cheap drones, we need to have the ability to throw inexpensive ammo with precision...

Edit Later: No need to post this info here...
Last edited by pravula on 09 May 2025 07:42, edited 1 time in total.

I felt GOI intervened at some point to suppress the live flow of news on media yesterday. Many or some of the things mentioned on the TV channels are likely to have happened. News from TSP had stopped a few hours earlier. The war has entered the next stage and govt may want full control over info flow, which is understandable. As we are not fighting an official war, things would have had to be done differently. That is why we felt everything suddenly stopped as if a switch was turned off instantly.
Last edited by Dilbu on 09 May 2025 07:44, edited 1 time in total.

https://x.com/ANI/status/1920624520907653565

Don't miss this one: Former Pentagon official supporting India's right to defend herself against terror.

OK now its daybreak, can GOI at least release images of PAF Aircraft, wreak age and Pilot details _ I think it is required.

pravula wrote: 09 May 2025 07:39 Are our L-70s radar controlled? With the proliferation of cheap drones, we need to have the ability to throw inexpensive ammo with precision...

Yes they are radar controlled and have better caliber rounds. This BTW is the best example of pure desi jugaad and has become excellent weapon for low flying targets. Here is a summary of all that is done to this ancient Swedish origin gun. https://bel-india.in/product/l-70-gun-upgradation/

Aditya_V wrote: 09 May 2025 07:44 OK now its daybreak, can GOI at least release images of PAF Aircraft, wreak age and Pilot details _ I think it is required.
Oh you need to wait. South block guys cannot start work without the Chai and pakora first thing in the morning :D - that too after a night when they decisively won. They will start around 10 - 10:30.

That sucks, Pakis had videos of Group Captain Abhinandan and Mig 21 Bison Debris within 15 mins, Indian Babus are big pain in ***

Amber G. wrote: 09 May 2025 07:35 From @sidhant on X:

Details from yesterday night:
Yesterday night, when Pakistan made failed attempts to send Swarm Drones all across various places along the Line of Control and International Borders

Over 50 drones were successfully neutralized during a large-scale counter-drone operation conducted by Indian Army Air Defence units in the areas of Udhampur, Samba, Jammu, Akhnoor, Nagrota, and Pathankot areas.

The engagement involved extensive use of L-70 guns, Zu-23mm, Schilka systems, and other advanced Counter-UAS equipment, demonstrating the Army’s robust capability to counter aerial threats.
This. There no way India is using s400s for this drone rubbish. At most an occasional akash is my guess. But yes mostly, guns.

Pic here may be of interest. Missile debris near Makhanwindi village, Punjab.
https://www.tribuneindia.com/news/punja ... -villages/

“ A day after the Indian military hit nine terror camps in Pakistan and Pakistan-occupied Jammu and Kashmir as part of Operation Sindoor, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh informed political parties that least 100 terrorists and their associates were neutralised in the non-escalatory strikes.

Chairing an all-party meeting at the Parliament House Complex here, Rajnath also said the operation, a national response after the dastardly April 22 Pahalgam terror attack, was "not yet over".”
pravula

Post by pravula »

williams wrote: 09 May 2025 07:52
pravula wrote: 09 May 2025 07:39 Are our L-70s radar controlled? With the proliferation of cheap drones, we need to have the ability to throw inexpensive ammo with precision...

Yes they are radar controlled and have better caliber rounds. This BTW is the best example of pure desi jugaad and has become excellent weapon for low flying targets. Here is a summary of all that is done to this ancient Swedish origin gun. https://bel-india.in/product/l-70-gun-upgradation/
Thank You!!
pravula

Post by pravula »

A_Gupta wrote: 09 May 2025 08:07 Pic here may be of interest. Missile debris near Makhanwindi village, Punjab.
https://www.tribuneindia.com/news/punja ... -villages/
Looks like a small caliber rocket, probably MBRL?

Vayutuvan wrote: 09 May 2025 01:30
Deans wrote: 08 May 2025 22:32 Army battle casualties fund (google). I donate to it.
Any restrictions on non-Indians donating to the fund?
No idea. The bank accounts are of 2 PSU banks. If you have a Rupee account, a transfer should be straightforward.