The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
konaseema wrote: ↑06 Jul 2025 02:32
Not too late to start negotiations for the local manufacturing of F404-IS20 turofans as well. We will need at least 1 more engine for the lifespan of our Tejas Mk1/A's. If we are indeed adding 97 more, then we will need between 410 - 500 engines in the next 30-40 years. It's always better to have a local assembly for both F404 & F414 engines here in India along with a MRA facility for both. If I were to make a decision, I will either create a private consortium or give it to 2 different private players and keep HAL out of this.
Not a bad idea, considering the big overlap in the components & supply chain of 404 and 414. The assembly lines & component suppliers can be spread across a consortium of Indian industries
But this should not delay the current deliveries. Let it be opened up as a separate negotiation
SRajesh wrote: ↑06 Jul 2025 10:22
And probably add Apaches to the not to buy list.
What about the platform for Desi Chapati's?? that has gone quite
Rakesh what about V22 Osprey for both Navy and Airforce ??
Potential for CSR/Supply/E-2D
I wouldn't touch the Osprey with a bargepole! With due credit to its Engineering brilliance, its a nightmare to operate and maintane. Unless you need it for its bespoke existing capabilities, staying away from Osprey is the best thing to do.
Agree. No need to touch the Ospreys. E2Ds will be nice though. Keep them shore based until or if we get a flattop. India lacks AEW aircraft in numbers anyway
SRajesh wrote: ↑06 Jul 2025 10:22
And probably add Apaches to the not to buy list.
What about the platform for Desi Chapati's?? that has gone quite
Rakesh what about V22 Osprey for both Navy and Airforce ??
Potential for CSR/Supply/E-2D
The problem with the E2-D is India's lack of a CATOBAR aircraft carrier. The E-2D is a very capable and proven platform, but keeping it land based will hamper its ability to provide effective AEW coverage to a moving CBG (Carrier Battle Group). The only viable platform for a STOBAR aircraft carrier - that I can think off - is the helicopter. All the Indian Navy has - at present - is the Ka-31 AEW.
Hopefully in the future, an AEW variant of the DBMRH will take over from the Ka-31.
For foreseeable future our need is not power projection world over. We will be more of coastal Navy in our own region (500-600 miles) from our coast line. Bay of Bengal, Arabian Sea and parts of Indian ocean close to us is what we need to secure. A land based AWACS with good aircraft range should suffice for now. Rafale M + Astra/Meteor/Exocet/Harpoon/Brahmos NG + AWACS + P8I combo will work the best for deterring aerial and sea based aggressors.
We need Early Warning & Control assets with very high level of automation and AI for battle management, strategy/tactics execution etc .. The best will be our own indigenous platform, second best could be something from Israel or SAAB. Our Netra Mk2 will only start trials in 2029. That is late. We need to establish doctrines now since we constantly face threats from two countries.
^^ we are not Brown Water Navy
We are a Blue Water Navy with capabilities of Regional/Limited global power projection isnt it??
Yes we have not conducted any operation on a global basis but have capability to do so if need be
And hence the Navy quest for 3 CBG
: One AC for Arabian Sea, one more for BoB. Third as a backup if one is under refitting.
Fourth to block ingress from sea of Timor or to visit South China. One to watch over Cape of Good Hope and one more for the Red Sea.
One backup for these.
Need to get our TEDBF available.