Terroristan - March 31, 2022

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Terroristan - March 31, 2022

SRajesh wrote: 14 Aug 2025 23:02
chetak wrote: 14 Aug 2025 21:18

SRajesh ji,

what better could we expect when a congi is temporarily heading the BCCI after Amit Shah moved on to the ICC

someone should kick his ass and show him his aukat
But Chetakji
The new Secretary is from Assam Mr Saikia
Rajeev Shukla is a VP and a ceremonial post and is Roger Binny’s post as President

SRajesh ji,

Veteran cricket administrator Rajeev Shukla is set to replace Roger Binny as BCCI president in an interim capacity after the latter turns 70 next month, BCCI sources told PTI on Monday (June 2, 2025

https://www.thehindu.com/sport/cricket/ ... C%202025).

I am not given to writing sentimental or cringy patriotic posts. However:
15th Aug is also the day the Taliban took over Afghanistan after the American's abandoned them.

In my latest blog post, I feature the story of an Afghan girl - a budding poet, who was jailed for simply writing poetry.
Makes me appreciate the freedom I have here.
This girl to me is more gutsy than Malala - who had the amazing good fortune of getting shot and surviving. She reached out to me after
reading my previous post of an Afghan army officer abandoned by the US, just before the fall of Kabul. There was also a medical student who
reached out to me. I did a blogpost with his inputs on the drug situation in Afghanistan.

This is her story - with links to the other two first person accounts.
https://rpdeans.blogspot.com/2025/08/a- ... -from.html

Incredibly, the US media didn't consider this story worth reporting. There hasn't been a single article in the @nytimes, @wapo or @WSJ.

Incredible.

There is nothing remotely incredible about it.

Shekhar Gupta was at pains to point out in one of his vlogs that the military awards gallantry awards for being involved in actual fighting and leadership awards for those not involved in the fighting.

Asim Munir awarded himself Pakistan's second highest gallantry award.

And the first highest leadership award (position, rather) with a promotion to Failed Marshal.

ICYMI, BLA was designated SDTG in 2019 and FTO a week ago by the US.
AI says:

The key difference between an FTO (Foreign Terrorist Organization) and an SDGT (Specially Designated Global Terrorist) designation by the U.S. government lies in the legal authority and specific consequences: FTOs are designated by the State Department and primarily focus on prohibiting "material support" to the group, while SDGTs are designated by the Treasury Department and primarily target disrupting their access to financial systems.

Here's a more detailed breakdown:

Foreign Terrorist Organization (FTO):
Designation:
Made by the U.S. Department of State.
Focus:
Primarily prohibits providing "material support" to the designated group, which includes fighting for them, giving them money or resources, or training them.
Consequences:
For those providing material support, it can result in criminal charges and significant penalties (potentially up to life in prison). Non-US citizens who are members of an FTO are generally barred from entering the US.
Legal Basis:
Section 219 of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) (8 U.S.C. § 1189).
Example:
The designation of the Houthis as an FTO in 2021 prohibited providing them with material support.
Specially Designated Global Terrorist (SDGT):
Designation:
Made by the U.S. Department of the Treasury.
Focus:
Primarily targets disrupting the financial lifelines of terrorist groups and their financiers by blocking their access to the US financial system and international financial transactions.
Consequences:
Individuals or entities found to be providing material support to an SDGT can face penalties, including asset freezes and travel bans. The standard of proof for a US person to be convicted of a crime for supporting an SDGT is higher than for an FTO (requiring proof of "willful" support).
Legal Basis:
The International Emergency Economic Powers Act (IEEPA) (50 U.S.C. § 1701 et seq.).
Example:
The Houthis were designated as an SDGT to disrupt their access to international financial markets.

Pakistan confirms Munir's "we are a dumper truck, India a Mercedes" statement
(^ Vdo Ctsy: Dunya News)
India is a shining Mercedes. We are a dumper truck full of gravel. If we collide, you know the impact on Mercedes. Our field Marshal Munir says", says Pakistan's interior minister Mohsin Naqvi
( Munir told Saudis: We are a dumper Truck, India a Mercedes)

To give India a lot more punishment, if I were Asim Munir, From a dumptruck full of gravel, I would make Pakistan into a broken down dumptruck full of Horse Pakistaniyat. That way, the Mercedes will be more damaged if it hits the dump truck

Though I am not a big fan of Madeline Halfbright, she understood this mentality well two decades ago and named Pakistan an "International Migrane" :rotfl:
Hriday

Post by Hriday »

Do people remember that many Pakistan experts including rohitvats of the forum commented (in X) that the mere announcement of suspension of Indus water treaty will cause a political-social earthquake in Pakistan? Hadn't seen any so far. And I don't think anything such will happen in future.
It is because they are already an economic basket case and had learned to live with it. Will the TTP like anti Pak groups exploit the situation and cause mass revolt against army is the question.

The Washington Post weighs in on Pakistan's charm offensive on the Trump Administration
https://archive.ph/fnWtY

Inside Pakistan’s strikingly successful Washington charm offensive

Pakistani officials have skillfully navigated Trump’s political world, analysts said, fostering closer ties with the White House at a time of U.S.-India tensions.

By Rick Noack

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan — When Donald Trump was reelected president in November, officials in Pakistan feared the worst. During his first term, Trump had favored India, its archrival, while accusing Pakistan of “deceit” and of providing a safe haven for “terrorists.”

But more than six months into Trump’s second term — in the wake of the most severe military confrontation between India and Pakistan in decades — the countries have undergone a striking role reversal. U.S. relations with India are in crisis amid mounting trade tensions and an increasingly personal spat between Trump and Prime Minister Narendra Modi. All the while, Pakistani officials have quietly and successfully navigated Trump’s political world, fostering closer ties with the White House at a moment of global upheaval.

In a speech this month, Pakistan’s powerful army chief, Asim Munir, described his recent visits to the United States as “a sign of a new dimension” in the relationship.

Pakistan has recently secured one of the lowest U.S. tariffs among major Asian economies, at 19 percent — well below the 29 percent rate initially threatened by U.S. officials and far lower than the 50 percent tariff imposed on India for buying Russian oil.

Trump has boasted about joint plans to explore Pakistan’s “massive” oil reserves, and Pakistani officials have offered to partner with America on cryptocurrency ventures and the development of rare minerals. Last week, the U.S. vowed closer counterterrorism cooperation with Islamabad and designated the Baluchistan Liberation Army — the group driving a deadly separatist insurgency in the country’s mineral-rich southwest — as a “foreign terrorist” organization.

“We couldn’t ask for more,” said Mushahid Hussain Sayed, the former chairman of Pakistan’s Senate Defense Committee. At a time when other countries are being forced to make concessions, he continued, “our legitimate interests are being preserved, protected and promoted.”

Even in Pakistan “it has come as a surprise to most people,” said Ayaz Amir, a political commentator and former Pakistani officer — “and perhaps to most people in India, as well.”

In response to questions from The Washington Post, the White House press office said the president “is effective because he is able to maintain relationships while advocating for America First policies — such as reducing the massive trade deficit between the United States and India.”

Pakistani commentators and officials acknowledge that the bonhomie could be short-lived. Trump remains unpredictable, they say, and some fear his newfound fondness for Pakistan is tactical, aimed at forcing India to make concessions on trade. The economic stakes for Trump are low — Pakistan’s trade volume with the U.S. amounts to about 5 percent of India’s. And Pakistan’s pitches to the president could fall apart in the face of a fragile economy and manifold security threats.

Geopolitically, India remains the more logical partner for the United States. Washington and New Delhi share the same main rival — Beijing — while Islamabad has become increasingly dependent on Chinese investment and defense technology. Beijing is building a nearly 2,000-mile road, rail and pipeline network across the country.

“There are a lot of question marks,” said Michael Kugelman, a South Asia analyst.

Pakistan’s early outreach to Trump after his reelection was in part driven by anxiety that he might seek the release of imprisoned opposition leader and former prime minister Imran Khan, according to analysts and former officials.

Late last year, Khan’s supporters appeared to be making inroads into Trump’s orbit, unsettling Pakistan’s military, which is seen as the ultimate arbiter of the country’s politics. Then, in March, Reps. Joe Wilson (R-South Carolina) and Jimmy Panetta (D-California) introduced a bipartisan bill calling for sanctions on army chief Munir and other officials over the “wrongful persecution and imprisonment of political opponents.”

Pakistan’s military deemed U.S. outreach so crucial that it decided to oversee negotiations itself, according to three Pakistani officials, who spoke on the condition of anonymity because they were not authorized to talk to journalists. Pakistan’s military did not respond to a request for comment.

Interior Minister Mohsin Naqvi — seen here as having the military’s trust — rushed to Washington during the week of Trump’s inauguration to meet with members of Congress.

Pakistan also hired Javelin Advisors, a lobbying firm led by George A. Sorial, a long-standing executive at Trump’s businesses, and Keith Schiller, a former bodyguard for Trump who later served in the White House.

“We are aligned with the Administration and are focused on promoting peace by advancing and protecting the best interests of the United States and its allies,” Sorial said in response to questions about his work with Pakistan.

The Trump administration’s view of Pakistan appeared to shift in March after it contributed to the capture of a senior Islamic State official that U.S. officials held responsible for a 2021 suicide bombing in Kabul that killed 13 American troops and about 170 Afghans. It earned the country a surprise mention in Trump’s March address to Congress, in which he praised Pakistani officials for “helping arrest this monster.”

Meanwhile, the country “very successfully tapped into Trump’s personal and family networks,” said Kugelman. World Liberty Financial, a cryptocurrency company backed by the Trump family, signed a letter of intent with Pakistan’s Crypto Council in April, according to a statement from the prime minister’s office. The statement highlighted that the American delegation included Zachary Witkoff, the son of Steve Witkoff, the New York real estate developer now serving as Trump’s special envoy to the Middle East.

U.S.-Pakistan relations gained further momentum in May, analysts said, when the president announced his administration had brokered a ceasefire between India and Pakistan after days of military escalation. Officials in Islamabad were quick to give Trump credit and announced they would nominate him for the Nobel Peace Prize.

“That must have pleased the presidential ego,” said Amir, the Pakistani political commentator. “Pakistan instinctively knew how to respond to the protocol of the court of Donald Trump.” India, by contrast, denied that U.S. mediation had sealed the truce, contributing to the falling out between Trump and Modi.

“President Trump leaned on his relationships with both India and Pakistan to secure a ceasefire in a deadly conflict that could have gone nuclear without his involvement,” the White House said in its statement to The Post.

Weeks after the ceasefire, Trump invited Pakistani army chief Munir to have lunch with him at the White House — a highly unusual private meeting between a U.S. president and a foreign military chief, as well as a tacit acknowledgment of Munir’s growing political clout. The June meeting, in which Munir pitched Trump on access to Pakistan’s natural resources, was key to improved relations, the three Pakistani officials said.

“Trump is impressed by straight-shooting, smart-talking generals, not by deceptive double-dealers or politicians who say one thing and do the other thing,” said Sayed, the former Senate Defense Committee chairman.

Some former officials worry that Pakistan’s leadership has been blinded by its recent successes and is not attuned to the risks. “Flattery is not a strategy — it’s not long-term,” warned Maleeha Lodhi, a former Pakistani ambassador to the United States.

Though Pakistan has made big promises, its ability to follow through is in question. The country has long dreamed of finding and extracting enough oil to become a regional energy powerhouse, but all efforts so far have failed. The country’s rare minerals are mostly located in dangerous areas that are difficult to access. And in a nation plagued by power outages, Pakistan’s cryptocurrency ambitions could easily falter.

The new pillars of U.S.-Pakistan relations stand on “shaky ground,” Kugelman cautioned. “Pakistan may be hoping for more than it’s going to get from the U.S.”

But there is hope here that Pakistan can seize the moment and gain access to new American defense technology, including attack helicopters and naval equipment, said Masood Khan, Pakistan’s ambassador to the United States until last year.

“We can’t go back to the golden years of the 1950s when we had very, very good relations,” Khan said, but “we can … develop a paradigm which benefits both the United States and Pakistan.”
Shankas

Post by Shankas »

Hriday wrote: 19 Aug 2025 14:04 Do people remember that many Pakistan experts including rohitvats of the forum commented (in X) that the mere announcement of suspension of Indus water treaty will cause a political-social earthquake in Pakistan? Hadn't seen any so far. And I don't think anything such will happen in future.
It is because they are already an economic basket case and had learned to live with it. Will the TTP like anti Pak groups exploit the situation and cause mass revolt against army is the question.
It is not in India's interest to create any earthquakes. We don't want to see any paki cesspool seeping into India. India is using the clove hitch to control them. As we divert water, store and release arbitrarily, the pain will increase incrementally.

Is there any Chinese reaction to Paki cozying up to the US?

Objectively I think China is a more reliable ally for Pakistan than the US, and I think Pakistan are making a mistake. The usual temporary gains outweighing any real strategy.
ritesh

Post by ritesh »

Amber G. wrote: 18 Aug 2025 02:13 Pakistan confirms Munir's "we are a dumper truck, India a Mercedes" statement
(^ Vdo Ctsy: Dunya News)
India is a shining Mercedes. We are a dumper truck full of gravel. If we collide, you know the impact on Mercedes. Our field Marshal Munir says", says Pakistan's interior minister Mohsin Naqvi
( Munir told Saudis: We are a dumper Truck, India a Mercedes)
Dumper is still a useful thing, porkis are better compared to a shipwreck... Sirf kabaadiwala hi ish ka istemal kar sakta hai. :mrgreen:
ritesh

Post by ritesh »

Shankas wrote: 19 Aug 2025 19:15
Hriday wrote: 19 Aug 2025 14:04 Do people remember that many Pakistan experts including rohitvats of the forum commented (in X) that the mere announcement of suspension of Indus water treaty will cause a political-social earthquake in Pakistan? Hadn't seen any so far. And I don't think anything such will happen in future.
It is not in India's interest to create any earthquakes. We don't want to see any paki cesspool seeping into India. India is using the clove hitch to control them. As we divert water, store and release arbitrarily, the pain will increase incrementally.
My hunch is Modiji will only ensure to make maximum extent possible within IWT of water usage. Rest will try and make a nuisance nothing more.

There is an Hero Hockey Asia cup being organized at Rajgir, Bihar (new stadium complex). Last year Pakistan won Bronze (India won Gold) they were qualified for this year's Asia cup. Indian authorities gave the visas to Pakistan team about 1 week ago and they promptly refused to come to India citing security concerns in India. Other teams are Japan, China, Korea, Malaysia, Kazakhstan, Chinese Taipei, Bangladesh and India. This is the schedule starting in 10 days (Friday August 29th).

Pool A Pool B
India Malaysia
Japan Korea
China Bangladesh
Kazakhstan Chinese Taipei

Time Match Pool Team v Team
Friday, 29 August 2025
09:00 M01 Pool B Malaysia v Bangladesh
11:00 M02 Pool B Korea v Chinese Taipei
13:00 M03 Pool A Japan v Kazakhstan
15:00 M04 Pool A India v China
Saturday, 30 August 2025
13:00 M05 Pool B Bangladesh v Chinese Taipei
15:00 M06 Pool B Korea v Malaysia
Sunday, 31 August 2025
13:00 M07 Pool A China v Kazakhstan
15:00 M08 Pool A Japan v India
Monday, 1 September 2025
13:30 M09 Pool B Bangladesh v Korea
15:30 M10 Pool B Malaysia v Chinese Taipei
17:30 M11 Pool A China v Japan
19:30 M12 Pool A India v Kazakhstan
Tuesday, 2 September 2025 – Rest Day

Time Match Pool Team v Team
Wednesday, 3 September 2025
14:30 M13 5/8th Place 3rd Pool A v 4th Pool B
17:00 M14 Super4s Pool TBC v TBC
19:30 M15 Super4s Pool TBC v TBC
Thursday, 4 September 2025
14:30 M16 5/8th Place 3rd Pool B v 4th Pool A
17:00 M17 Super4s Pool TBC v TBC
19:30 M18 Super4s Pool TBC v TBC
Friday, 5 September 2025 – Rest Day
Saturday, 6 September 2025
14:30 M19 7/8th Place Loser M13 v Loser M16
17:00 M20 Super4s Pool TBC v TBC
19:30 M21 Super4s Pool TBC v TBC
Sunday, 7 September 2025
14:30 M22 5/6th Place Winner M13 v Winner M16
17:00 M23 3/4th Place 3rd Super4s Pool v 4th Super4s Pool
19:30 M24 Final 1st Super4s Pool v 2nd Super4s Pool

Approved by FIH: 18 August 2025

Notes:
1. The Match Schedule is subject to amendment at the discretion of AHF.
2. The pools and match sequence as per the FIH Competition Policies and Tournament Regulations are based on the FIH World Rankings on 18 August 2025.
3. The sequence of Super4s pool matches will be confirmed upon completion of all matches in pools A and B.

A_Gupta wrote: 19 Aug 2025 21:45 Is there any Chinese reaction to Paki cozying up to the US?

Objectively I think China is a more reliable ally for Pakistan than the US, and I think Pakistan are making a mistake. The usual temporary gains outweighing any real strategy.
Except for the last 10-12 yrs when the Pak-US relationship was put on ice, the duplicitous pakis have played this game successfully for much of their existence. I don't think China will mind US further funding and arming Pakistan as long it is India who bleeds and the Chinese continue to get access to Paki assets and resources.

A_Gupta wrote: 19 Aug 2025 21:45
The mistake is in assuming that Pakistan as a nation makes policy that's in its actual national interest.

Jernails, Bhuttos, Sharifs, Khans etc. have no interest in setting up Pizza Huts in Beijing or having their children attend Tsinghua University. This is about the Paki military/ruling elite making a deal with the Trumps. People who actually invest in the vast hoards of mineral wealth at Reko Diq will end up about as prosperous as people who invest in Trump's WLF or Stablecoin offerings.

Sushant Sareen & Tilak Devasher on countering Paki propaganda (ANI Podcast)

ritesh wrote: 19 Aug 2025 21:52My hunch is Modiji will only ensure to make maximum extent possible within IWT of water usage. Rest will try and make a nuisance nothing more.
Several short, medium & long-term objectives.

Short-term, we will de-silt by opening the lowest-level gates & refill. Has already been done. This sets the precedence for future such operations and a fait-accompli for future dam-designs & operations as an SOP. There will never be any going back on this.

Indian projects will now proceed without any IWT constraints & Pakistani objections, making their completion that much faster in the medium term. India is still taking part in the Neutral Expert proceedings because that was what we wanted and it started earlier. We will not recognize any such proceedings instituted in the future so long as the IWT is in abeyance.

All longer-term projects such as diversion of water are now being studied.

In the meanwhile, we must borrow the following two aspects from the Chinese playbook.

One, never have a transborder water sharing agreement with a lower riparian. In the worst case, we can initiate a process for a new Treaty but delay it, not conclude it under some pretext or the other just as China does in 'Code-of-Conduct' issue in the Indo-China Sea.

Two, keep on repeating this: "India is a responsible upper riparian country. It has always taken a responsible attitude towards the utilisation and development of cross-border rivers. Even during wars and terrorism imposed on us from across the borders, we never curtailed water flows. We have a policy featuring development and conservation and all projects will go through science-based planning and assessment giving full consideration to impact downstream and accommodating the interests of upstream and downstream regions. The development of the Indus System of Rivers is in the early stages of planning and assessment. There is no need to read too much into that. For a long time, India and its lower riparian states have had good cooperation in sharing waters, hydrological information, flood and disaster reduction and contingency management. We will continue communication through appropriate channels. Going forward India and other concerned countries will continue to have good communication. There is no need for any anxiety on this matter.”

SSridhar wrote: 20 Aug 2025 08:36 Two, keep on repeating this: "India is a responsible upper riparian country. ...”
Which is the truth and India believes in it. We can say it with conviction unlike Musharraf's musharraf statement of 400%.
ritesh

Post by ritesh »

Vayutuvan wrote: 20 Aug 2025 23:06
SSridhar wrote: 20 Aug 2025 08:36 Two, keep on repeating this: "India is a responsible upper riparian country. ...”
Which is the truth and India believes in it. We can say it with conviction unlike Musharraf's musharraf statement of 400%.
Agree, but we should aim to restrict the flow down to 50% of those western rivers and make max utilisation even if it takes a decade or more. Our resolve to make them pay shouldn't diminish.

Also, on a separate note, why is the govt not working on interlinking of rivers. Understand there are state specific sensitivity involved. But wherever possible, there is a need to make a move.

WTF............. :mrgreen:

Fridin comes early in k'rachi as big explosion in center of city ("phyrr cracker factory lolwa ) . Not posting links as it's "all over social media " .