Vayusena & Nausena Rafale: News & Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Vayusena & Nausena Rafale: News & Discussion

Dear Admiral
where are my Rafale Tejas Mk1A Naval trainers
Chinmay

Post by Chinmay »

Rafale file inches forward...

Defence Ministry receives IAF's proposal for buying 114 'Made in India' Rafale fighter jets
https://aninews.in/news/national/genera ... 912193232/
12 Sept 2025

Khalsa wrote: 12 Sep 2025 19:15 Dear Admiral
where are my Rafale Tejas Mk1A Naval trainers
Saar, please see these three posts....

viewtopic.php?p=2653250#p2653250

viewtopic.php?p=2653058#p2653058

viewtopic.php?p=2653250#p2653250

Chinmay wrote: 12 Sep 2025 20:16 Rafale file inches forward...

Defence Ministry receives IAF's proposal for buying 114 'Made in India' Rafale fighter jets
12 Sept 2025
Rafale winning the MRFA contest is the only logical conclusion to this sordid 25 year saga. Op Sindoor + retirement of the MiG-21 Bison from service (this month) are the catalysts that is moving the MRFA deal forward.

https://x.com/AdithyaKM_/status/1966512316033421357 ---> India's MoD has received proposal from IAF for 114 Rafale:

- To be built by Dassault in 🇮🇳 along with Indian firms
- Expected to cost ₹200,000 crore (~$23 billion)
- 60% Indigenous Content
- To have longer ranged A2G missiles than Scalp
- to set up MRO for M88 engines in Hyderabad
- Firms like Tata likely to be part of manufacturing
- MoD recieved the Statement of Case (SoC) few days ago, under consideration by wings including Defence, Finance, to be discussed by Defence Procurement Board (DPB) helmed by Defence Secretary, then Defence Acquisition Council (DAC).

176 Rafales (22 Rafale Ms (plus 4 Rafale Bs) + 36 Rafales C/Bs + 114 Rafale C/Bs). MRFA never was gonna work, hail G2G.

Now up to Safran to deliver on the new 110/120/140kN engine front, 🇮🇳 is giving all the possible carrots.

https://x.com/AdithyaKM_/status/1966513301963276698 ---> Now that India is planning to break the bank on 114 Rafale along with Tejas Mk1A, a reminder: IAF is significantly short of force multipliers required even for its significantly less than sanctioned strength. More AWACS than currently planned & cleared, way more tankers, more SCA, ISTAR, et al please. No amount of fighters will help without all these. And for the sake of the gods, set up multiple realistic UCAV & CCA programs using existing and upcoming IDDM engines. Think 20 years ahead and stop moving goalposts. Except one: sanctioned squadron strength has to go up from 42 too.

I have gone hoarse (on BRF) repeating the following line ---> Whoever wins the engine contract for the 5th gen turbofan, wins the MRFA contest. That is the only way to justify the estimated US $23 billion cost of the MRFA and offset it via the US $7 billion cost of the JV for the 5th gen turbofan. No point in going to two different nations for a strategic deal, when one nation can serve both.

India May Soon Announce AMCA Jet Engine Deal with Safran

India’s biggest leap in aviation tech may soon be here as a new Indo-French project is on the horizon. India is close to approving a landmark joint project between Safran and DRDO’s GTRE to co-develop a 120 kilo-Newton jet engine for the AMCA fighter with 100% technology transfer. The deal could reshape India’s aerospace future with full technology transfer and indigenous production promises to end dependence on foreign suppliers.

Ankit Desai

Post by Ankit Desai »

The Statement of Case (SoC) or the proposal for the 114 Rafale jets prepared by the Indian Air Force was received by the Defence Ministry a few days ago and is under consideration of the different wings under it, including Defence Finance. After deliberations, the proposal would then be moved to the DPB, followed by the Defence Acquisition Council, defence officials told ANI.
-Ankit

Rakesh wrote: 12 Sep 2025 20:32 https://x.com/AdithyaKM_/status/1966512316033421357 --->

176 Rafales (22 Rafale Ms (plus 4 Rafale Bs) + 36 Rafales C/Bs + 114 Rafale C/Bs). MRFA never was gonna work, hail G2G.
India lacks good/proper program management for strategic programs. These should have been planned upfront when 36 rafales were inducted. Every piecemeal acquisition implies poor planning and thought leadership at the high levels. If you have 1 exam wonder boys/girls as IAS poobahs in charge of defence that is what you get. Our mantrijis except for Manohar Parrikar have no clue. PM Modi is occupied with other stuff. The 176 plane strength could have easily convinced Dassault to plunk down a plant in India and make things in India. Instead we have this circus of acquisition in fits and starts.

IAF leadership is also to be blamed for not supporting the local Tejas program wholeheartedly and pilots drooling with videshi maal. I initially thought the Rafales are a waste of money when we have Su-30 MKI but now I am okay considering India is going to be truly #3 economy soon.

Going forward India has to pull its resources building its own planes and engines. There ain't no alternative (TINA). No one is going to give you the edge you require to be top dog. R&D budget for defence should be 10 x the current amounts and test facilities should be ramped up big time. India has to remove its old ways of thinking - struggling economy, droolling over the greatest/latest videsh maal which in mission mode is suspect many times, chalta hai attitude and more.

bala wrote: 12 Sep 2025 22:25 India lacks good/proper program management for strategic programs. These should have been planned upfront when 36 rafales were inducted. Every piecemeal acquisition implies poor planning and thought leadership at the high levels. If you have 1 exam wonder boys/girls as IAS poobahs in charge of defence that is what you get. Our mantrijis except for Manohar Parrikar have no clue. PM Modi is occupied with other stuff. The 176 plane strength could have easily convinced Dassault to plunk down a plant in India and make things in India. Instead we have this circus of acquisition in fits and starts.

IAF leadership is also to be blamed for not supporting the local Tejas program wholeheartedly and pilots drooling with videshi maal. I initially thought the Rafales are a waste of money when we have Su-30 MKI but now I am okay considering India is going to be truly #3 economy soon.

Going forward India has to pull its resources building its own planes and engines. There ain't no alternative (TINA). No one is going to give you the edge you require to be top dog. R&D budget for defence should be 10 x the current amounts and test facilities should be ramped up big time. India has to remove its old ways of thinking - struggling economy, droolling over the greatest/latest videsh maal which in mission mode is suspect many times, chalta hai attitude and more.
Be happy now they are going at once and not 36 + 36 + 36. I am sure some sense has been put into planners after Op Sindoor.

Also, honestly we had some financial issues thanks to 10 years of scamgress rule. AK Anthony said we don't have money for MRFA, Modi govt talked about sorry state of our economy but stopped short of revealing a white paper. We are in much better state economically to take on this over next 5 years.

We should have a say in development of Rafale. We will be largest Rafale operator. We should have a more customized Rafale. Also, France should know its we who have used it against Swedish, American, Chinese tech in a real war scenario. Not even France has had the luxury of operating Rafale in a real war scenario with significant adversarial assets. We can really benefit them with some real feedback.

Also, keep in mind now we have a better Rafale upgrade plan -- 4.1, 4.2, 4.3 and F5. Back in 2016 none of this was known or planned because honestly France had little incentive to have a proper upgrade path in comparison to Super Hornet from Boeing. We had to practically come up with our own MKI version of Rafale. France will be more likely to listen to our developmental feedback. Its a good time for us to sign this deal.

Great reply by Sumeet, but wanted to address some points bala, you have raised in your post.
bala wrote: 12 Sep 2025 22:25 India lacks good/proper program management for strategic programs. These should have been planned upfront when 36 rafales were inducted.
When the deal for 36 Rafales was announced in April 2015, it was just shy of a year of BJP in the Govt. The economy was not in the strong position it is today. There was virtually no money for a massive Rafale deal. So a compromise was reached for 36 aircraft as an interim measure.
bala wrote: 12 Sep 2025 22:25The 176 plane strength could have easily convinced Dassault to plunk down a plant in India and make things in India. Instead we have this circus of acquisition in fits and starts.
Rest assured, the upcoming plant will be making a lot more than 176 Rafales, both for India and international customers. Expect aircraft shells for the Indian Air Force, Indian Navy, UAE, Indonesia, etc all to come out from this plant along with M88 assembly in Hyderabad. The Navy also wants a follow-on order for Rafale Ms, above the 22 presently ordered.
bala wrote: 12 Sep 2025 22:25IAF leadership is also to be blamed for not supporting the local Tejas program wholeheartedly and pilots drooling with videshi maal.
It is too late for Would Have, Could Have, Should Have. In retrospect, one can woefully rue about how mismanaged the Tejas program was from its inception. What is even more criminal is the pittance that was devoted to turbofan development. Shame on all the decision makers who had the oversight on these programs.

The chickens have come home to roost and there there is no choice. Media is celebrating arrival of GE F404 turbofans, as if they are like Diwali firecrackers. First turbofan finally arrived, then second turbofan and now the third. At the drip feed rate these turbofans are arriving in India, having just the Tejas address the squadron shortage is not going to work. Also see below...

40 Mk1s + 83(+97) Mk1As + 200 Tejas Mk2s + 272 Su-30MKIs + 36 Rafales + 114 MRFA (likely Rafale) = 842 aircraft. Divide that number by an average of 20 aircraft per squadron and it comes to a little over 42 squadrons.

P.S. You can cancel this entire contest and go all in on Tejas. But for that to occur, India needs to have her own turbofan. Not one that will be available 12 years from now. Is there such an engine available?

Rakesh wrote: 13 Sep 2025 00:58 What is even more criminal is the pittance that was devoted to turbofan development. Shame on all the decision makers who had the oversight on these programs.
Admiral & Sumeet, thanks for your feedback.

On turbofan: India needs to spend $2 B ( i called for 10x R&D budget 239 million x 10) at least to get to a decent working engine in mission mode.

I would look at it differently. I dont think India had the tech or test facilities or expertise in the country for engine development beyond what we did even if we had the money.

Defence Procurement Board likely to take up IAF proposal for 114 Rafale jets
https://www.thehindubusinessline.com/ec ... 043064.ece
12 Sept 2025

IAF proposes acquisition of 114 more Rafale jets
https://www.tribuneindia.com/news/india ... fale-jets/
12 Sept 2025

Centre Receives Air Force Proposal To Buy 114 'Made In India' Rafale Jets
https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/centre- ... ts-9267354
12 Sept 2025

Chinmay wrote: 12 Sep 2025 20:16 Rafale file inches forward...

12 Sept 2025
https://x.com/ajitkdubey/status/1966509230694776974 ---> The giant deal has moved out of air headquarters and reached south block. This will be the biggest ever defence deal. Read @ani story.

https://x.com/ajitkdubey/status/1966522555151609856 ---> Team Defence Secretary has a big role to play now to ensure that the deal moves quickly and IAF gets its desired aircraft.

So true :P :lol:

https://x.com/wartrophy_414/status/1966579109099663542 ---> In the coming weeks we will have plenty of guys from MoD to IAF & retired vets explaining how 114 non-stealth fighters inducted at the gucciest of price is gonna let IAF keep the edge, while PLAAF crosses 300th J-20 & will be inducting a 100 VLO fighters/year from now.
ashthor

Post by ashthor »

Rakesh wrote: 13 Sep 2025 03:08 So true :P :lol:

https://x.com/wartrophy_414/status/1966579109099663542 ---> In the coming weeks we will have plenty of guys from MoD to IAF & retired vets explaining how 114 non-stealth fighters inducted at the gucciest of price is gonna let IAF keep the edge, while PLAAF crosses 300th J-20 & will be inducting a 100 VLO fighters/year from now.
Hope fully just like the Tejas orders were in lieu of the first 36 similarly there could be quid pro quo regarding Mark 2. ek haat le ek haat de.

I hope KDE ,Airbus Leap engines, flying test bed are part of this deal.