Project 75I - It Begins

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Project 75I - It Begins

India looks at sealing two mega submarine deals after long wait
https://www.deccanherald.com/india/indi ... it-3705560
31 Aug 2025

One way to maintain the skills and and the supply chain active is:
a. Early aaseesment of the Operational Capability of the vessel and fitting into the current exigencies
b. Additional needs and add on's to the current vessel
c. Early order of the followons so that line doesnt fall idle
But we dont seem to learn
And both the services and the Baboos have to the take responsibility for the cockups!!
Political bosses are political and many would hardly know the difference between the turret and the periscope!!

^^^ This is why TKMS won the P-75I contest. Hafta payment to Germany...

VIDEO: https://x.com/ANI/status/1963168140503790050 ----> EAM Dr S Jaishankar says, "...We have important strategic relationships with a number of countries, and it's in the nature of global politics or global strategy today that each one of these relationships would be maintained and optimised. So to me, both Germany in itself and Germany as the biggest country of the European Union are obviously central to the calculations and to the relationships that we have in the world...For us, this is an enormously important relationship. This relationship is growing in substance and I can see at this time of uncertainties that actually it has a greater value. It's a very steady relationship. It is a relationship where largely what we promise to each other and policies that we have remain constant and predictable. So predictability today has a huge premium in global politics..."

Project 75(I) Gains Momentum as India Seeks Full Tech Transfer, TKMS Seals New Indian Partnerships
https://bharatshakti.in/project-75i-gai ... tnerships/
04 Sept 2025
“We are not just buying submarines. We are acquiring the capability to build them ourselves,” a senior Defence Ministry official said. “TKMS must ensure India can independently design and produce future submarines under Project 76.”
^^^ These MoD officials are high on drugs if they believe they can force TKMS to part with any valuable tech. They have already lost any negotiating leverage, by begging TKMS to rejoin the P-75I contest (after TKMS walked out due to out-of-this-world specs in the P-75I RFI).

Rakesh wrote: 04 Sep 2025 17:54 ....
^^^ These MoD officials are high on drugs if they believe they can force TKMS to part with any valuable tech. They have already lost any negotiating leverage, by begging TKMS to rejoin the P-75I contest (after TKMS walked out due to out-of-this-world specs in the P-75I RFI).
These geniuses are from the same tribe of bufoons who made grandiose statements like "we will never buy fighters from USA" and then went ahead and allowed their engines to be american :roll:

Choppy ride for India’s submarine ambition: Project P-75I chugs forward, Scorpenes a stinging tale
https://theprint.in/defence/choppy-ride ... e/2735801/
03 Sept 2025

Germany’s TKMS Seals New Indian Partnerships

India and Germany are strengthening defence ties through Project 75(I), a ₹70,000 crore submarine programme involving Mazagon Dock and TKMS. The German Type 214 submarine, featuring air-independent propulsion and advanced stealth, is a top contender. TKMS signed MoUs with Indian firms to localise torpedo and sonar technologies, boosting indigenous capability. If finalised, it will be India’s largest defence deal, pursued under the Strategic Partnership model to ensure deep technology transfer and enhance maritime deterrence in the Indo-Pacific.

No clarity on Project 75I, Navy worries on underwater capability continue
https://www.newindianexpress.com/amp/st ... y-continue
06 Sept 2025

Mazagon Dock Shipbuilders begins negotiations on Submarine Project-P75(I) with Indian Navy
https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/in ... 811995.cms
10 Sept 2025

https://x.com/DefenceDecode/status/1966192057552343499 ---> MDL begins contract negotiations with Indian procurement authority for Project 75(I), partnering with #TKMS.

▪️ Six German-designed modern submarines will be built in India by MDL.
▪️ This marks a major step in indigenous submarine capability and international technology transfer.
▪️ Reinforces “Made in India” through local construction and knowledge absorption.
▪️ Deepens India–Germany defense cooperation.
▪️ Highlights India’s push to become a global submarine technology/manufacturing hub.
▪️ Strengthens regional naval presence and supports India’s modernization.

TKMS (ThyssenKrupp Marine Systems) views the Indian P-75I submarine deal as another success story in its global expansion. They aim to transfer submarine design know-how to India, so that MDL (Mazagon Dock Shipbuilders Limited) can absorb the technology and eventually develop future submarines indigenously.

How TKMS Trumped Navantia To Clinch Submarine Deal

TKMS won India’s Project-75(I) submarine bid over Navantia by offering a proven Type 214-based design with an operational AIP system, meeting the Navy’s strict “sea-proven” requirement. Navantia’s untested BEST AIP was deemed non-compliant. TKMS' stealth-optimised hull, advanced sensors, lithium-ion battery option, and full technology transfer via Mazagon Dock aligned with Make in India goals. Six submarines will be built in Mumbai, deepening Indo-German defence ties. The deal comes amid TKMS' global growth, with recent orders from Germany and Singapore.

Negotiations Begin on P 75(I) Submarine Deal, Signing Still a Long Haul
https://bharatshakti.in/negotiations-be ... long-haul/
12 Sept 2025