India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

S_Madhukar wrote: 17 Sep 2025 16:35
chetak wrote: 16 Sep 2025 20:31

putnanja ji,

what about the people who eat those chickens (and the eggs) fed with amriki GMO corn
Do chicken get diabetes from eating too much corn? Well people do like a fat chicken :mrgreen:

putnanja ji,

My remark was not flippant

the main concerns about the adverse effects of GM foods on health are the transfer of antibiotic resistance, toxicity and allergenicity.

premium Indian chicken producers shout from the roof tops that their chickens are antibiotic free and charge you extra for it

they source their chicken feed carefully from secure sources and trusted suppliers to prevent any contamination is what they claim

This residue, remaining after the extraction of corn oil is still valuable enough to sell, and unscrupulous people will also mix it into

animal feed thus aggravating the problem even further

India has been vary of GMO foods for a very long time now, and Modi ji has got it right

The insidiously forceful and relentless amriki attempts to bulldoze their way into India's dairy and agri markets is not economics as

most people imagine, but has a much larger geopolitical agenda that will seriously affect our internal security ecosystem within a

period of three to five years, give or take, and thereafter will be impossible to reverse the damage to our farming communities which

consist of mostly small and marginal farmers.

Then we will have a nationwide real farmer's protest on our hands

So much so, that a nationalist govt may never come to power again

A brief, harsh look at India, US -Abhijit Iyar-Mitra
https://youtu.be/7nE6-IfXzcs?si=t6EURro0wafMAjBb

chetak wrote: 17 Sep 2025 17:07
S_Madhukar wrote: 17 Sep 2025 16:35

Do chicken get diabetes from eating too much corn? Well people do like a fat chicken :mrgreen:

putnanja ji,

chetak-ji, the reply was by S_Madhukar, not me :)

putnanja wrote: 17 Sep 2025 19:56
chetak wrote: 17 Sep 2025 17:07

putnanja ji,

chetak-ji, the reply was by S_Madhukar, not me :)

Apologies, putnanja ji. :oops:

My bad onlee

putnanja wrote: 16 Sep 2025 20:09 I think India might agree to import it for ethanol production or chicken feed. But it also has impact of affecting Indian farms producing sugarcane who are getting better prices for ethanol produciton now
India would have made some friendly gesture if treated with respect. But Trump Admin went for unnecessary drama and naively thought India would budge based on childish and ignorant public statements. Those statements were made to make political brownie points before the MAGA crowd. However Indian IFS Babus and Modi Admin will now have to harden the stance. If they don't then they will face the music with the Indian public and opposition who is desperate for any issues of substance. So India will follow strict protocol and will not compromise on anything. Either Trump admin have to do a complete TACO or get nothing.

Also irrespective of few social media gestures by Trump. We still have to deal with 50% tariff, Americans siding with a terrorist state that is fighting a war with us and a lot of racial discrimination of Indian diaspora who are contributing positively in the US. This relationship has really hit the bottom. Nothing is going to repair it for a long time to come.

^^^Add to that Trump being not a normal person. Any concession will not be a seen as a consideration from India but as a weakness and the demands will grow. So at no point we must budge on anything that we demanded. Also if there is no deal, there is no deal.

uddu wrote: 17 Sep 2025 21:18 ^^^Add to that Trump being not a normal person. Any concession will not be a seen as a consideration from India but as a weakness and the demands will grow. So at no point we must budge on anything that we demanded. Also if there is no deal, there is no deal.
100% agree. That is how most American business folks negotiate, especially if they think they have the upper hand.