Indian Tourism: News & Discussion

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Tourism: News & Discussion

Doing my bit for AP tourism :) . A short collage based docu. on the Godavari.

http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=2PbsTtAKJ_g

1. Would making a 2 night 3 day trip to Gangtok/Kalimpong some time during May be a good idea? The accomodation costs would be born by my company, but travelling and other extra costs are on my head.

2. I understand that the nearest air-field to Gangtok is at Bagdogra, and it is nearly 130kms away. Any idea how long it would take to travel by car to Gangtok? Considering the possibly harsh roads and weather conditions.

PS: Due to other constraints travel by road or rail is "out of bounds". Flight is the only choice.

What does India offer in the way of luxury cruise trips?

I know that India launched some special initiatives last year for making the country into a major port of call for cruise liners, with a move to build world-class docking station facilities for cruise-goers, etc.

I'd also read not long ago that some large Indian group, like Tata, Oberoi, or somebody, tried to buy a famous cruise line, but they were rejected because it was felt that Indian ownership would tarnish the brand.

When I look at these huge ocean-going cruise-liners, I think that India too should move into ventures like these to offer cost advantages, just as it has done by moving into medical tourism:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rl2unP7R58A

Only problem is that as soon as such luxuries become available to Indians, then politicians will move to hijack them. I can imagine some Left-wing politicians grabbing some MPs and sequestering them on some cruise in order to prevent party defections.

Here's an Indian sea cruise operator

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W8rIIEwI6Ko

Navy Vetoes Mumbai Port on Cruise Terminal

http://www.dnaindia.com/report.asp?newsid=1242252
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

Indian retreats: A luxurious detox in a palace is a recipe for relaxation

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/travel/artic ... India.html

Saving Lake Pichola

In July, Udaipur earned the "world's best city" rating in a Travel & Leisure poll. Last year 1.2 million tourists visited the city; Rajasthan officials estimate tourism here jumped 10% last year. But when water levels drop so low that you can drive a jeep to the two hotels that are built in the middle of the lake — as they did as recently as July — so does the appeal of the destination. Deforestation around the lakes disrupts the flow of water, and waste dumping has caused "hot spots" that dry up underground water supplies.

Some 100 (marble cutting) factories in the area leave large tracts of the white stuff, which not only contaminate the air, the ground and eventually the waters, but also cause the huge areas of white to reflect the sunlight, creating their own micro-climatic-warming effect in the valleys of the Aravalli Range that form the basin of Udaipur.

latest 'Incredible India' commercial:

Ameet

Post by Ameet »

From India, a Homespun Brand of Hospitality

http://travel.nytimes.com/2009/10/18/tr ... rneys.html

Sanjay M wrote:Navy Vetoes Mumbai Port on Cruise Terminal

http://www.dnaindia.com/report.asp?newsid=1242252
Why does the Navy not move out to a purpose built area. The area with all the residential property could be put to better use in a city that lacks space.

What would be the ideal way to reach Arunachal Pradesh? By flight, or train (or both)? Thinking about making short trip there this December. I tried both travel.mapsofindia.com and makemytrip.com for possible flight fares (Bengaluru<->Tezpur). Both of them could not give me the fares. Any idea how much the flight costs would be?

you could try rail. Harmoti is the closest to Arunachal and it's located in Assam. You would most likely have to change trains at Kamakhya Railway Station for that and ticket availability can be checked out at irctc website.

the only air connectivity from any metro's to tezpur seems to be via Kolkata onlee.

Nihat wrote:the only air connectivity from any metro's to tezpur seems to be via Kolkata onlee.
Do you have any idea on the flight costs? Because I may not have the luxury of so many leaves to do a long train journey :(. Or is it worth going to Kolkotta by flight and then jumping onto a train from there?

Sachin wrote:What would be the ideal way to reach Arunachal Pradesh? By flight, or train (or both)? Thinking about making short trip there this December. I tried both travel.mapsofindia.com and makemytrip.com for possible flight fares (Bengaluru<->Tezpur). Both of them could not give me the fares. Any idea how much the flight costs would be?
As per mapsofindia
Air: The nearest airport is Lilabari in Assam, which is 67kms from Itanagar. Another important airport is Tezpur (Assam), which is 216kms from Itanagar and is connected to Kolkata. Indian Airlines has regular operation to Tezpur.
So

Kolkata -> tezpur -> itanagar -> liabari -> AP ?
kittoo

Post by kittoo »

Sanjay M wrote:latest 'Incredible India' commercial:

Its quite old, though quite awesome.

krishnan wrote:Kolkata -> tezpur -> itanagar -> liabari -> AP ?
I tried in the ticket booking site of mapsofindia and as well makemytrip.com . When I chose the destination as Tezpur or Liabari, both the web sites happily declared that they don't have any flights on these sectors (with some crappy reasons like the seats may be full, or connectivity to the servers are down etc. etc.). The other option was to actually walk up to a travel agent office and enquire. But since my plans are not finalised, thought I would try the easy way out.

Sachin wrote:
Nihat wrote:the only air connectivity from any metro's to tezpur seems to be via Kolkata onlee.
Do you have any idea on the flight costs? Because I may not have the luxury of so many leaves to do a long train journey :(. Or is it worth going to Kolkotta by flight and then jumping onto a train from there?
from B'lore to Kolkata and from there to Tezpur (one way) by air will set you back by Rs. 6500-7000 if you book now (for late dec) , this ofcourse is not inclusive of car expenses needed to reach itanagar by Car.

Just from B'lore to Kolkata(air) and from there a train ride to Harmuti >> Itanagar would come out to be 5200 bucks . INR 10k both ways.

Thanks Nihat, let me see if I can make out. Going with SHQ, so that doubles the costs as well :).

instead of going to itanagar, from tezpur you could visit tawang via bomdiLa. I think it involves a
overnight stay in bomdiLa. itanagar I hear is not that scenic a place. the route will go via bhalukpung - beautiful tea gardens, forests, clear rivers, mahseer, wild honey, .... there is a river jia bhorali
where annual fishing competition is held to bag the biggest mahseer.
http://www.assams.info/2007/09/bhalukpu ... oroli.html

bhalukpung to bomdiLa there is Tipi where 500 wild orchids can kept in glass house.

(distance, hrs)
Tezpur To Bhalukpung 65 2
Bhalukpung To Bomdila 100 5
Bomdila To Tawang 180 8 :twisted: (via the SeLa pass, said to be a porcupine of yindu heavy weapons to club the panda )

as a young child (4 yrs) we were posted in tezpur and I recall going with my father to a place near
bhalukpung where good pottery clay was found (he had clay figures as a hobby). driving at night in the region's lonely roads (around 1976) I recall being shit scared of the dark forests, tall trees and tea bushes. those days tezpur was also infested with serpents and I recall the periodic panics in our compound as a black cobra would be spotted in the bushes and my father chasing it around while ma and the maid huddled in one corner wailing and crying out.

as children my fathers family was earlier in tezpur for some years...he said a crashed american dakota plane's fuselage was left lying in a field nearby and they used to play hide and seek there.
must have been a relic of the "hump route" to chongqing and kunming.

the region was so unpopulated wild jackfruits, mangoes and oranges could be seen on roadsides just falling off and rotting. my father and his brothers sometimes gathered a basked of such freebies and had themselves a good meal to end a day of rooting around in the fields and bylanes.

Singha, I have a close relative in IA who is currently posted "some where" in Arunachal pradesh. I am also trying to reach out to him.

Two new luxury trains will launch in the coming months. Per person, per night prices for the trips—the shortest trip being a week—begin at a staggering $500.

The Indian Maharaja-Deccan Odyssey [does a] seven night-eight day trip on Mumbai-Aurangabad-Ahmedabad-Udaipur-Sawai Madhopur-Jaipur-Bharatpur-Agra-Delhi circuit. The itinerary includes visit to Ellora Temple Caves, Ajanta Caves, City Palace, Lake Pichola, Jag Mandir Palace, Ranthambore Tiger Reserve and National Park, Taj Mahal and Agra Fort.

Maharaja's Express...will offer two itineraries: a seven night-eight day trip through Mumbai-Vadodara-Udaipur-Jodhpur-Bikaner-Jaipur-Ranthambore-Agra-Delhi and back, and a six night-seven day trip across Delhi-Agra-Gwalior-Khajuraho-Bandhavgarh-Varanasi-Gaya-Kolkata, with an option of a reverse trip on the second itinerary.

Jaunted

three trains are there already I think - two of them run by thomas cook and cox n kings.

Muscat (Oman) to Salalah bus.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

Why strategical thinkers do not build dams across India to stop water flowing to the sea? This could reduce the disputes between states in terms of water and provide a lot of water for Agri within and among states.

http://www.dinamalar.com/video_Inner.asp?news_id=409 (the commentary is in tamil)

http://www.thehindu.com/2006/11/06/stor ... 910300.htm

joshvajohn wrote:Why strategical thinkers do not build dams across India to stop water flowing to the sea?
Dams are not always the answer. Large dams displace people and have high input costs. It has its environmental impact too. Just like any solution, it should go through a cost-benefit analysis phase. If water management is the only issue, water management at several levels need to be undertaken, that is water management at local, state and central level. Water management at city level etc.

River water management is not as simple as "stopping the water flow into the sea".
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

India's highest highway - NY Times photo slide of Leh

http://www.nytimes.com/slideshow/2009/1 ... index.html

Govt clears visa-on-arrival for citizens of five countries
Amitabh Sinha
Posted: Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 2218 hrs IST
Updated: Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 2218 hrs IST

New Delhi: The government has decided to offer visa-on-arrival facility to citizens of a select group of five countries, something New Delhi had been hesitant to do so far due to security concerns.

The government, it is learnt, has decided to clear the names of Japan, Singapore, New Zealand, Luxembourg and Finland as the countries whose nationals can fly in to India and obtain a visa at the airport. A formal notification in this regard is likely to be made very soon.

The decision has ostensibly been taken with the aim of promoting tourism but its significance is much more than that. This is the first time India is offering visa-on-arrival to any country. And it is making this offer unilaterally, junking a proposal that said New Delhi should offer this facility only to countries that were ready to reciprocate.

The decision to offer visa-on-arrival is currently only a pilot project. And the choice of the selected countries has been dictated by the fact that no national of any of these countries has ever been found to be involved in—even linked to—any terror-related incident anywhere in the world. The nod came after detailed consultations with intelligence agencies like Intelligence Bureau and the Research and Analysis Wing.

But senior government officers said that this was only the first step towards ensuring a more liberal visa regime. If everything went right with the pilot project, it was only a matter of time before this offer was extended to a number of other countries as well
raghava

Post by raghava »

shyamd wrote:Govt clears visa-on-arrival for citizens of five countries
Amitabh Sinha
Posted: Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 2218 hrs IST
Updated: Thursday, Dec 03, 2009 at 2218 hrs IST

New Delhi: The government has decided to offer visa-on-arrival facility to citizens of a select group of five countries, something New Delhi had been hesitant to do so far due to security concerns.

The government, it is learnt, has decided to clear the names of Japan, Singapore, New Zealand, Luxembourg and Finland as the countries whose nationals can fly in to India and obtain a visa at the airport. A formal notification in this regard is likely to be made very soon.

The decision has ostensibly been taken with the aim of promoting tourism but its significance is much more than that. This is the first time India is offering visa-on-arrival to any country. And it is making this offer unilaterally, junking a proposal that said New Delhi should offer this facility only to countries that were ready to reciprocate.

The decision to offer visa-on-arrival is currently only a pilot project. And the choice of the selected countries has been dictated by the fact that no national of any of these countries has ever been found to be involved in—even linked to—any terror-related incident anywhere in the world. The nod came after detailed consultations with intelligence agencies like Intelligence Bureau and the Research and Analysis Wing.
I really hope our guys have thought this through thoroughly. I am not sure about Japan, Lux and Finland, but Singapore & New Zealand have a lot of our TFTA friends who are naturalised citizens. Let's hope there is no repeat of a David Headley type case again.

Yes, I am curious how this is feasible. What will they do if a Pak born citizen of these countries lands up at an Indian airport asking for a visa-on-arrival? Will the person be quarantined while the authorities in Delhi decide whether to approve his visa?

A visa on arrival does not imply a free entry into India , if the person is suspicious by virtue of his place of borth or previous actions , he can quite simply be deported.

Yes, but based on the instructions issued after the Headley case, only the people in Delhi are authorised to issue visas for people born in Pak and a few other countries. So what is the immigration official at the airport and the visitor supposed to do while the papers are processed in Delhi? Perhaps they will clarify this in the final rule that's issued.

didnt know where to post this.

restoration of the ruins at bateshwar, MP
In a stupendous feat, a team of ASI archaeologists has restored hundred-odd ruined shrines at Bateshwar.
FROM the inclined paved pathway that led up to the archaeological site at Bateshwar in the Chambal valley, it was hard to guess what it really held. As one reached the top of the incline, breath stopped, literally. The vista was beyond one’s imagination: a hundred-odd shrines with majestic vimanas (towers) rising into the sky and massive mounds of rubble – pillars with exquisite sculptures, panels of miniature friezes, carved architectural members, roof slabs and serrated amalakas that would have capped the shikaras. Further away on a raised platform stood a temple in ruins, whose shikara consisted of slabs arranged somehow.

“This is my place of pilgrimage. I come here once in every three months. I am passionate about this temple complex,” said K.K. Muhammed, Superintending Archaeologist, Archaeological Survey of India (ASI), Delhi Circle.
http://www.frontlineonnet.com/stories/2 ... 212200.htm

please make sure to read the entire article.
Apart from the formidable challenge of restoration, the ASI team had a big problem on its hands: how to dislodge the dreaded dacoits of the Chambal valley, who had made the temple complex their hideout and used it as “a distribution point” of their spoils and a place for entertainment in the evenings. Although Bateshwar was notified as a protected site in 1920, restoration work could not be taken up before 2005 because the ASI was unable to take possession of the site.

The Frontline team visited the temple complex along with some ASI officials on the late afternoon on October 24, 2009. Its caretaker, Jaswant Singh, was a genial man. He was an excellent host as well. He chatted with us and served tea, biscuits and sweets. However, around 5-15 p.m. when we were admiring a sandstone frieze of Devaki and Krishna in a Vishnu temple, Jaswant Singh walked in, looking grim. He had a musket slung across his shoulder. “Please leave this place now,” he virtually commanded us. “It is getting to be dark. I don’t want trouble either for you or myself. Eyes may be watching.” His warning gave us an idea of the situation that would have obtained five years ago when dacoits thrived in the area.

In 2004, when Muhammed took over as the Superintending Archaeologist, ASI, Bhopal Circle, he wanted to see the condition of the sites in his division. In and around Bhopal, most of the monuments had received attention. In far-off areas, only a few conservation and restoration efforts had been undertaken. “My priority was always to go to remote areas that required the most challenging work; areas that were full of problems,” he said. S.K. Rathore, Assistant Archaeologist, K.M. Saxena, Senior Conservation Assistant, K.K. Sharma, Conservation Assistant, and O.P.S.S. Narawariya and Hukum Chand Arya, both supervisers, told him about the ruins of Bateshwar.
Muhammed did not wait to see them. When he visited the complex, he found it in complete ruins. “No two stones were found lying together. At some point of time, a powerful earthquake must have jolted the area. Besides, there was human neglect.” He was sure the complex was not destroyed by the invaders. He attributes the devastation to an earthquake. “But even this devastation had a music of its own. It was this music that enchanted us. So we decided that we should straightaway start the restoration and conservation work,” he added.
Dealing with a dacoit

But the rub was that the dacoits controlled the complex. It was during a reconnaissance trip to the ruins that Muhammed saw a bearded man smoking a cigarette inside a temple. This angered the Superintending Archaeologist, who confronted the bearded man: “How dare you smoke inside a holy place?” At that moment, an ASI assistant caught Muhammed by his arm and signalled him to stop addressing the man in such a manner. The bearded man was none other than Nirbhay Singh Gujjar, the feared dacoit known to have committed 239 offences. (He was killed in an encounter in Etawah on November 7, 2005.) Soon parleys got under way between Muhammed and Nirbhay Singh Gujjar.

The ASI official tried to convince the dacoit about the bona fides of the institution’s attempt to restore the Bateshwar temple complex, which had deities the dacoits worshipped and assured him that they were neither from the police nor were their informers. Gujjar saw reason and assured the ASI that he would not disturb its restoration efforts.

2010: 1000 years of bruhadeeshwara temple at thanjaavoor
The Thanjavur “Big Temple” (Peria Kovil) is one thousand years old this year, 2010. Rajaraja Chola I commissioned this greatest edifice of Tamil history and performed the sacred dedication of the temple in the year 1010, the 25th year of his reign. It was the jewel-in-the-crown of Rajaraja, an extraordinarily powerful king, a grand monarch with a style of his own, a conqueror who also understood art and architecture, and a true devotee of Siva. It is a matter of pride that a Tamil king built the finest example of Tamil architecture, stupendous in proportion, yet simple in design. Siva in this temple is known as Brihadisvara — the Lord of the Universe. A gigantic stone “lingam” fills the sanctum sanctorum, sheltered by a vimanam (towering roof) which pierces the sky at 216 feet. One can gaze with awe at this majestic structure from a distance as one drives towards Thanjavur. However many times one has seen it, one cannot help but hold one's breath in amazement. And as you enter its precincts, this temple never fails to humble you, for, such is its magnificence. It is the perfect tribute to the Almighty, ordered by a great king and executed by his subjects who contributed to its building in more ways than one. To this day, it stands tall as a reminder of who we are in the history books of culture, art, architecture, religion, language, governance and trade.
http://www.hindu.com/mag/2010/01/10/sto ... 020100.htm
Architectural audacity
A. SRIVATHSAN
We don't know who designed the Big Temple but it succeeds in projecting the grand imperial vision of a king who expanded the boundaries of the Chola empire.
http://www.hindu.com/mag/2010/01/10/sto ... 010100.htm
Contours of divinity
P.S. SRIRAMAN
Possibly the only paintings in India done in true fresco style, the murals in the Brihadisvara temple exhibit an amazing mastery over line and colour.
http://www.hindu.com/mag/2010/01/10/sto ... 170500.htm

the Cholas were one dynasty that didnt need to keep royal hagiographers on the payroll. they did what they said they would do literally. strong silent types. let deeds speak for themselves.

our northern brothers invented the art and science of royal hagiography and kept an army of them
every dynasty starting from mythical times :mrgreen:
Ravi Karumanchiri

Post by Ravi Karumanchiri »

I hope this isn't OT for this thread, but I came across a lovely article in Canada's 'Globe and Mail' by Stephanie Nolen, who travelled India with her 2-year old in-tow. I enjoyed it so much, I though readers here might like it also.

India: The real magic kingdom

Mirrored walls, secret passages and elephant rides are among the thrills to be had at the Amber Fort in Jaipur. Yes, you can bring the kids for a trip full of elephant rides, rickshaws and new friends.

Stephanie Nolen

India — From Saturday's Globe and Mail
Published on Friday, Jan. 29, 2010 3:52PM EST
Last updated on Saturday, Jan. 30, 2010 10:44AM EST

In the holy Hindu city of Varanasi, my family and I stood respectfully back from the entrance to an ancient temple one day last spring, craning our necks a bit to get a glimpse of the elaborate gold idols inside, mindful of the worshippers edging past us to pray. Then the merry priest caught sight of my three-year-old son: He swooped over in a swirl of saffron robes, swept the child into his arms and headed for the inner sanctum of the temple. “Come,” he said over his shoulder to us, scrunching Darragh’s cheeks. Startled but delighted, we hurried along behind.
http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/tra ... le1449417/

At the risk of offending some (never stopped me before), what if that was a little black kid from Darfur?

This encapsulates all that is so wrong with India, its fawning over their erstwhile masters, their insensitivity to considerations of privacy and personal space.
I am happy that Nolene is having a blast whilst searching out those hovels of Dalits, but the article did make me somewhat uncomfortable.

The only saving grace is that indeed Indians are generally kid friendly and that is one reason I prize Indian culture.
biswas

Post by biswas »

^ I don't agree, most people don't get to see cute little foreign babies. In Jaipur and other tourist locations foreigners are everywhere, however this particularly child was picked out mainly, because she was cute and a baby as well as a foreigner?. Nothing to do with an underlying compulsion to be taken with their 'erstwhile masters'.

Is it possible for US citizen to enter India again within 2 months on tourist visa by obtaining special permission on arrival in India?

the way I read it - yes - good luck in finding concurrence at the immigration counter

either you get permission OR you go and register within 14 days

regarding babies - its not because they are erstwhile masters but we are fascinated by gora skin and rosy cheeks :eek:

luckily my mom is more balanced :D

at Disney she fawned over so many cute babies (in spite of me warning her not to go crazy) and the stupid parents happily allowed her to take pics with her holding the babies - :((

sorting through the pictures it comes to a grand total of 27 - 12 goras, 7 african americans , 2 oriental and the rest mixed :eek:

Was I glad to get out out of Disney

12 goras, 7 african americans , 2 oriental and the rest mixed :eek:

Your mom must be a most unusual Indian (in a good sense). :)