I have been ignoring this thread. But yesterday, I saw that there were at least 30-50 posts with key word "RM" and synonyms of RM (such as Rahul Mehta, Recall, mineral royalties, direct democracy etc

). I will post two replies here, and then post remaining replies in Good Governance Thread.
--------
raji wrote:I think Ramana you misunderstood my definition of corruption. Let me define it. : Corruption is any kind of dishonesty, disloyalty, envy or treachery. Therefore, when a person takes unfair advantage of any one else or of society in general, he or she is corrupt. Therefore, when someone is given a job which he doesnt deserve, it is corruption. When a general switches sides out of expedience, that is corruption. When one envies ones brother, that is corruption. When we are treacherous and betray a cause for common good for personal advance, thats corruption. Bribery is only a consequence of corruption that exists.
True. But instead of defining, classifying and analyzing corruption, IMO, we should confine to COMPARING corruption in nations, present and past. And better, we should confine discussion to procedure codes and see which of the proposed administrative procedure codes are less prone to corruption. The view that "corruption exists in even West, so disregard the issue in India", is like saying "eventually everyone dies - so why take medicine?" The quantitative comparison at various levels is important. And what is more important is quantitative comparisons of different "medicines" used.
I find a view in rank and file of Nbjprie - that corruption issue should not get much bandwidth. And comparisons administrative system changes which can reduce corruption (and its twin - nepotism) should be avoided as far as possible. And IMO, it is time we dump these "lets all tolerate corruption" people for once and for all.
West progressed ONLY after corruption went down, and India will never match West in terms of real-technology and manufacturing , including weapons manufacturing till bribery reduces. To be specific, administrative changes in 950 AD in UK reduced corruption in police and lower courts. And it was that specific year, commerce, trade and manufacturing started growing leaps and bound. Till 950AD, UK was at same level as far manufacturing went, or may be lower. But by 1700 AD UK was far ahead in manufacturing high tech goods (like weapons) than India. All these changes came because the administrative changes that occurred from 950 AD to 1700 AD. These changes were Coroner's Jury System in 950 AD, Trial Jury Sys in 1200 AD and elections of MP in which started in 1100 AD and became more widespread in 1700 AD. These changes in UK were NOT brought by renaissance etc, they were brought by administrative changes that occurred in 950 AD - today. Today, we are importers rather than manufacturers as far important technological goods go and no change will occur till bribery goes down.
Shiv: A corrupt person cannot be a patriot - period. That is an absolute value
The act of corruption damages the nation in many ways. So if a person is patriot, he will constantly try to create changes in administrative that would reduce corruption, as far as possible. If the person is saying "lets ignore corruption", he is deliberately doing dis-service to the nation. This perticularly applies to people have time and money to spare to campaign for better laws. I wont expect a person earning mere Rs 5000 a month to spend money in giving advertisements to improve laws. But if persons earning lakhs/crores are turning blind eye to the issue of corruption-prone laws, they are during extreme dis-service to India.
RamaY: No amount of laws and force will work as such a solution will make the individual to find creative applications of corruption.
In many areas, like lower courts, police etc West has designed administrative system where in policemen and judges cant make much money - not even 1% of what they make in India. Likewise, IIT-JEE has system of written exam where in bribery is almost zero, or many absolutely zero. So in many areas in India, a near zero corruption solutions do exist.
I think Rahul Mehta has a better grasp and ideas to address this issue.
{Thanks
} I will present three key points from his website, as I understood.
1. Mining lease: Disburse majority of mining leases to all citizens below certain income levels. This will ensure that mercantile group doesn’t exploit common resources single handedly.
2. Hereditary wealth tax: This ensures that beyond a reasonable amount (1cr per offspring) is not accumulated by parents in order to pass on the wealth. The valuation must be worked out. I think a Rs 10 Crores per child is a fair limit with some exceptions such as if the dwelling (one per child) is worth more than 10 Crs, the child is allowed to get the house.
3. National ID System: Which links an individuals wealth, income, revenue records, lands possessions, bank accounts, and everything. This will ensure that individuals are not given any chance to falsify their possessions. If an asset is not reported by any individual it will belong to the state.
4. Right to Recall: this will put the implementation portion in people’s hands. I have seen arguments on implementation. But if we want to be serious about removing corruption from society, we need this type of law. Its usage will diminish as people see more responsible behavior from the key bureaucratic positions.
True, but the MOST IMPORTANT thing is missing

. The most important administrative change I have proposed, called as First Demand aka "Makkal Theerpu Mahesan Theerpu" Executive Notification, which is of mere 4 lines and is as follows
1. If a citizen submits an affidavit to the Collector and demands to be put on PM’s website, the Collector will issue a serial number and put it on PM’s website for a fee of Rs 20 per page.
2. If a citizen comes with voter ID, and specified Yes-No on an affidavit submitted in clause-1, the Talati will enter his Yes-No on the PM’s website with voter-ID and give a printed receipt for Rs 3 fee. The Talati will also allow citizen to change his Yes-No for Rs 3 fee. The fee will be Re 1 for BPL card holder
3. The Yes-No count will not be a binding on PM, CMs, officers, judges etc.
4. If over 37 crores citizens register Yes, then the PM
may or may not sign the EN proposed in that affidavit.
All the 70-100 procedures, I have proposed, be mineral royalties or recall or PM or recall of SC-Cj or recall of RBI-G will come via the above 4 line procedure. The above proposed procedure sends shiver down the spines of every neta, IAS, top lawyers, ex-judge, intellectuals etc I have spoken to. They are all against it. The two simple demands - let citizens post affidavits on PM's website and citizens post YES/NO on these affidavits !! Why do they oppose this First Demand? Ask them. If existing regime is a "popular" regime, then above 4 lines should create no change at all - be good or bad. If anyone says that above 4 line EN will create any change, be good or bad, he is admitting that existing regime is highly unpopular and that would include all parties. And if one says that he wants a regime where there is least disconnect between people and Govt, why is he hostile to letting citizens post affidavits, YES/NO on PM's website?
Long back, I was shocked to find that in USSR, xerox machine owning was punishable by 2 years in prison !! What sort of Nbjpr USSR had that they were scared of people owning xerox machines? And consider Indian Nbjpr these days : they are scared of letting people post affidavits on PM's website and letting people post their YES/NO on PM's website. This alone proves that they have a lot to hide and they fear a lot when they will be facing a situation when they cant hide it anymore. The mineral royalties laws, recall and plethora of other laws would come within 3 months after PM/CMs are forced to sign the MTMT EN.
shiv wrote:: We have a culture that promotes "family values" so it is OK for everyone to put his wife/son etc into positions of power by sheer nepotism. The culture must change.
ShauryaT : There is not a place in the world, where family and by extension the "tribe" has or had not enjoyed privileges - and rightly so. We work to provide wealth to our families. These connections are the bed rock of loyalty and trust between people. It can be a source of strength as well as weakness. It is easy to be ultra liberal and pooh-pooh these concepts, in the name of feudalism and promoting nepotism, in the name of "welfare" and "individuality". The trick is in the ability to balance these concepts, which have worked for many a millenia and still work, with modern ones, where rule of law prevails over and above these age old proven structures, especially for areas where the effects are wide spread, as in the public domain or in the private domain, where individuals seek to tap this "out of tribe" talent to grow bigger than what the "tribe" would normally allow.
Shiv, ShauryaT,
We dont need to change culture to reduce nepotism --- we need to change administrative procedures. eg One reason why nepotism in administration thrives because of interviews. Abolish interviews in junior-most level recruitments, and confine to written tests, and nepotism reduces by order or magnitude within days and without any change in culture. Next, nepotism in courts is because judge decides. Allow Jurors to decide, and nepotism will vanish within days without any change in culture. In my next coming book, I have shown that for EVERY problem that West solved and India could not, culture is not the reason - the reasons are administrative differences only. And title of the book - what else - "Culture is not the reason".
Acharya: The thing missing in your post is the size of the economy. The size of Indian economy is stunted for the population. For an 1.2B population it should be atleast $3T economy. Due to leadership problem in the 70s and all decades and due to license Raj India has a stunted economy. World economy and trade from 1975 to 2000 increased by 7 times that is 700%. The growth of Indian trade and GDP was insignificant. There is not enough money for the population and any money seen in the economy is grabbed by the educated elite. Vast population in the rural economy and other industry is deprived of investment and growth. Corruption thrives in this economic situation. Lot of those who complain about corruption do not even mention the economic problem and bad leadership in the last 50 years.
Corruption increases poverty, and its not the only factor of course. But poverty is NEVER ever a reason behind corruption. Even poorest of babu is far better off than common. And lets say IPS takes bribes because his salary is lower than private sector people with same skill level. Then why doesnt he quit? And why doesnt he stop after amassing Rs 10cr ? Back in US in 1960s, when inflation galloped, the salaries in private sector increased and that in Govt did not increase that fast. So policemen etc started quitting, but did not resort to corruption as Jurors would have imprisoned them if caught. When Govt staff started quitting, the Govts increased the salary, and so quitting reduced.
Corruption is ONLY because briber taker and giver know they can get away.. They will not get caught or even if caught with proofs, they will still get away. And getting away becomes easier, they become more corrupt. And if getting away becomes difficult, they become less corrupt. There is no other parameter that controls behavior of babudom as a whole. Now individual babus will have variation that would fall in a bell curve. But average of that curve will depend only on how easy it is to get away.