Telangana Monitor

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Stan_Savljevic

Re: Telangana Monitor

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Sarma wrote: Nobody who supports united AP here is crazy to look at someone else as inferior. Sir, that is not what this is about.
No, it is about money, real estate, investment, future stakes in the money game, etc. In short, a post-modernist interpretation of what a "kingdom" will look like. After reading much of this thread, the main issues seem to be just that :). Unfortunately, this is all clouded in verbiage and given a spin of h&d, nationalism, maoism, communism, kcr-lite, "Prof."-speak, etc.
a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

Stan_Savljevic wrote: No, it is about money, real estate, investment, future stakes in the money game, etc. In short, a post-modernist interpretation of what a "kingdom" will look like. After reading much of this thread, the main issues seem to be just that :). Unfortunately, this is all clouded in verbiage and given a spin of h&d, nationalism, maoism, communism, kcr-lite, "Prof."-speak, etc.
We agree after all!! :)

To be more specific, as far as players within AP are concerned
-For politicians/industries its all in the real estate, investment and stakes in future.
-For others, its more opportunities/resources or less competition in future

As I said before...people calling for Telangana are supporters of KCR and other vandalism supporters. Whereas, supporters of united AP folks are kind hearted, practitioners of vasudaiva kutumbam, and protectors of national integrity. Nice cocoon some live in.

What is in it for a mangoman?

Along the lines of what Stan posted, the real intent of both sides (if I may say) and especially United AP proponents is that...(I resisted all these days but here it is really)...What is mine is mine and what is yours is negotiable
Who wants to lose options, opportunities, buddy system getting curtailed even if it is at the cost of others?

Take your pick...whether it is my inferiority, your superiority or your guilt.

Stan_Savljevic wrote:
ramana wrote: Now this was giant among men -- CPR
Dont know if that caricature is right if one reads VP Menon's account of the Integration of States into the Union. Given that VPM himself was a hard-bred anti-American, some of the stuff he reveals in the book will make the India-UK thread explode in unison at the perfidy thy name is albion.

You may want to post it in the Partition thread for that is more apt than the India-Uk thread.
Sarma

Post by Sarma »

I have no guilt nor do I feel superior to anybody. So, only the third option you mention remains. I am some two-bit guy with a small house in Hyderabad, so T or AP makes no material difference to me. I can't comment on the motives of others. My motivation for united AP is entirely about Telugu people living together.

Sarma wrote:My motivation for united AP is entirely about Telugu people living together.
There you go..vasudaiva kutumbakam type of logic even when part of family is fighting to breakout to seek their own destinities. Keep them together even if we have to screw them kind of logic...This IMO is reflection of some deep seated insecurity...If anything I am seeing the inferiority complex shown from your side rather than mine. and BTW: I don't even have property of anykind in Hyd nor any part of AP/India :roll:
There is nothing to suggest being apart they will not grow better. My heart feels for the regions underdeveloped within all regions Coastal Andhra, Rayalaseema and Telangana. Even within the urban areas it is a single track development...it was IT before...now that is busted...it has grown into adjacent area but down the value chain...Reat Estate.

Satya_anveshi wrote:
Sarma wrote:My motivation for united AP is entirely about Telugu people living together.
There you go..vasudaiva kutumbakam type of logic even when part of family is fighting to breakout to seek their own destinities. Keep them together even if we have to screw them kind of logic...This IMO is reflection of some deep seated insecurity...If anything I am seeing the inferiority complex shown from your side rather than mine. and BTW: I don't even have property of anykind in Hyd nor any part of AP/India :roll:
There is nothing to suggest being apart they will not grow better. My heart feels for the regions underdeveloped within all regions Coastal Andhra, Rayalaseema and Telangana. Even within the urban areas it is a single track development...it was IT before...now that is busted...it has grown into adjacent area but down the value chain...Reat Estate.

So asking to stay together is a plot to screw them; per your own logic. Just look within your family and often times the person who is asking for separation is the biggest loser in the near and long term. No need to answer me, but just look within your family for similar situations.

Stan_Savljevic wrote:
Sarma wrote: Nobody who supports united AP here is crazy to look at someone else as inferior. Sir, that is not what this is about.
No, it is about money, real estate, investment, future stakes in the money game, etc. In short, a post-modernist interpretation of what a "kingdom" will look like. After reading much of this thread, the main issues seem to be just that :). Unfortunately, this is all clouded in verbiage and given a spin of h&d, nationalism, maoism, communism, kcr-lite, "Prof."-speak, etc.
Stan saar: I have to disagree with you there. You are painting with a large brush there. There is going to be some segment of the population that think at a larger picture with different emotions.

Looks like T-JAC is using Kalidasa option :|

No wonder Telangana developed this sense of underdevelopment and underprivileged :(
a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

What is the "Kalidasa option" that pops up on various threads? :?:
Sarma

Post by Sarma »

S_A garu: Why go down this road? I have my motivation for a united AP. You have yours for a separate Telangana. We all can have our thoughts and opinions without questioning each others' bonafides. I never said anything negative about your motives nor about those of anyone wanting Telangana. I only questionned the violent means adopted by some people. So, what is the takleef?

Stan_Savljevic wrote: No, it is about money, real estate, investment, future stakes in the money game, etc. In short, a post-modernist interpretation of what a "kingdom" will look like. After reading much of this thread, the main issues seem to be just that :). Unfortunately, this is all clouded in verbiage and given a spin of h&d, nationalism, maoism, communism, kcr-lite, "Prof."-speak, etc.

From a person who claims to be objective and data oriented.

Money - What is the direction of money-flow? If Andhra people bought 99.8237549827598274% of telangana, who got the money?

Real Estate - If Telangana is 99.923874239847239874293% owned by Andhra people then how can the T-people ask for ownership of Telangana :shock:

Investment - If Andhra people invested 72 gillion dollahs in Telangana, who can stop them from buying rest of india :?:

Future stakes in economy - If telangana people are dirt pooor and Andhra people are zillionaires, who will end up investing in new Telangana state? Pakis?

Where is the incisive logic and analysis that one must expect from a sekooolar and progressive indians, hain?

RamaY wrote:So asking to stay together is a plot to screw them; per your own logic. Just look within your family and often times the person who is asking for separation is the biggest loser in the near and long term.
Not when those members are fightingfor separation and all political parties have milked that sentiment tantamount to promising the separation. If bigger brother is still hugging me too tightly almost choking me what should I feel?

Sorry my experiences are different. I have seen my friends live in a joint family while ours was separate as my uncles and auts live in different districts. My friend's family on surface looked nice and many times we wondered one should take inspiration from them...but when no other except family members around, they will discuss issues regarding resource allocation, one member putting too much fight running the family, other getting a free ride and general team issues. Now they are separated and at least they are accountable for their destinies. I know they are more happier internally than they were before although living separately.

Sorry guys...this is a lot of tu-tu main main...I am beginning to hate holidays...x'mas time posts and now this long weekend...I need to fine a second job so I can stay away from all this.

Sarma wrote:S_A garu: Why go down this road? I have my motivation for a united AP. You have yours for a separate Telangana. We all can have our thoughts and opinions without questioning each others' bonafides. I never said anything negative about your motives nor about those of anyone wanting Telangana. I only questionned the violent means adopted by some people. So, what is the takleef?
Sarma garu,

I don't endorse any of the voilent means....you know I am not sure we need separation although my own experience says a lot to improve in our state and regions.....my initial posts stand witness to this....but when I leant all political parties are neck deep into this...I know that is happening..I know it won't be as bad as people are making it out to be.. and I am hoping the separation to go down smoothly. That is all there is to it.

Everytime I try to form an objective view and hunt for data...I hit a wall and that is one of the major handicap.

I see a lot of problem statements that can easily be validated and new problem statements formulated if we have good data available but alas.

For example: This AP Online govt website provides basic information but whenever I click on any statistics..baam..we get a page not found, network error etc. I found similar such issues with even census data that I tried. Glad it worked for a while when I posted my initial posts.

Sarma wrote:S_A garu: Why go down this road? I have my motivation for a united AP. You have yours for a separate Telangana. We all can have our thoughts and opinions without questioning each others' bonafides. I never said anything negative about your motives nor about those of anyone wanting Telangana. I only questionned the violent means adopted by some people. So, what is the takleef?
I do not think that violence is going to sustain beyond few days and few incedents. There will be huge realization from T-vadhis that they still have to live together even after two states are formed. There will be a lot of calculations that will start affecting the interests of all if there is violence. All the rhetoric is agitation specific and if the police and Goverment takes care and controls it then that is it. Once split occurs, I am sure that life will be same for all common people. We are unnecessarily giving too much credibility to violence in Telangana.

That does not mean I support the split :). I still want to see if a combined Telugu state is salvaged at the end of the tussle. For me I only see politics, power and future power+clout. I only see a loss ( of political clout ) for Telugus in the short and medium time frame if the split occurs.

I am also very pessimistic regarding the capabilitites of Telangana folks/politicos in reversing the industialization of Telangana by non-T folks. How in the world they can say any Indians are welcome but not Andhras? In all seriousness, the current rhethoric will not sustain. There is no public investment these days for growth of any state. A state which grabs more private investment is the one which is on the growth path. If the land values come down in Hyderabad then it is more easier to grab them for the investors who has bags of money. If there is a potential then they will still buy. Andhras :), Rahejas, Modis, Ambanis, Tatas and L&Ts are all there who are competetively grabbing/buying the lands around Hyderabad. The road between Hyderabad and Warangal will all be a big city with industries. The planned freeway between Hyderabad and Vijayawada will also be frutified and who in the world will stop the industrialization of that corridor? Andhras are having money and that is a fact that T-vadhis have to live for few more generations. Money will do a lot of wonders.

Do whatever, it is impossible to reduce the wealth of coastal folks and there lies all the future. Listen to the song "Dhanamera annintiki moolam" and get the idea. Have Tea. ( Excuse me, everyone drinks Tea and not just KCRites. By the way Irani Chai is available in Vijayawada and Vizag too.).

I have some doubts here. I hope gurus can answer it.

If separate state is formed what will happen to all hated Andhra wallas who have opened shops businesses, factories, and of course their workers whom them have brought from Andhra areas to colonise the T Haven.

Is there going to be a constitutional amendment to kick them out with all their criminally looted money nationalized and redistributed among poor T natives ? (or there will be limited distribution among TRS and his supporters - KCR can take some tips on this from Robert Mugabe)

What will prevent all the A looters and RS goondas once again coming to T Land to cheat T innocent people. Whether KCR is proposing and passport system for these people Last time I look into a book called Indian Constitutuon A and RS people can not be prevented from coming to T Land unless there is a constitutional amendment.

Is T Land is going to be another J&K to save T People? Unless it is not the grievances aired by our T intellectuals can not be addressed by mear creation of a state just like that.

Satya_anveshi wrote:Here we have all sorts of people denying the obvious - complete and utter neglect of Telangana.
Don't bark up the wrong tree by blaming non-T Andhras. Who neglected Telangana? if any, it is T's elected representatives -- the same ones that are now crying hoarse for a separate T-state. Isn't it ludicrous?
manish

Re: States News and Discussions

Post by manish »

A damning re-look at Comrade Basu's WB on Business Standard.
Kanchan Gupta: Relooking West Bengal
Jyoti Basu spent the better part of his life living off tax-payers’ money — the conscience of the veteran Marxist was never pricked by the fact that he appropriated for himself a lifestyle shunned by his comrades and denied to the people of a state whose fate he presided over for a quarter century. Kalachand Roy laid what we know today as Odisha to waste in the 16th century; Jyoti Basu was the 20th century’s Kala Pahad who led West Bengal from despair to darkness, literally and metaphorically.
Did Jyoti Basu, who never smiled in public lest he was accused of displaying human emotions, ever spare a thought for those who suffered terribly during his rule? Was he sensitive to the plight of those who were robbed of their lives, limbs and dignity by the lumpen proletariat which kept him in power? Did his heart cry out when women health workers were gang-raped and then two of them murdered by his party cadre on May 17, 1990 at Bantala on the eastern margins of Kolkata? Or when office-bearers of the Kolkata Police Association, set up under his patronage, raped Nehar Banu, a poor pavement dweller, at Phulbagan police station in 1992? “Emon to hoyei thaakey,” the revered Marxist would say, and then go on to slyly insinuate that the victims deserved what they got.

As a Bengali, I grieve for the wasted decades but for which West Bengal, with its huge pool of talent, could have led India from the front. I feel nothing for Jyoti Basu.
Read it in full, will be worth your while.

Muppalla wrote: How in the world they can say any Indians are welcome but not Andhras?
This fakeness is absurd. They should be all proud of every region of Andhra Pradesh and Bharat. Some Indians are looking at this with amusement

http://www.andhrajyothy.com/latestmains ... an/16new59

Political violence a must to achieve Telangana: KCR

KCR comments today that "Political Violence" a must to achieve Telangana state. Eventhough he defined "political violence" as the T-JAC's demand for MLA/MPs resignations by 1/28, it would be interesting to see how T-JAC would respond towards MLA/MLC/MPs who would not go as per that demand.

If recent events involving TDP MLA Nagam, and INC MLA Danam Nagender are any indication of T-JAC mindset, one can understand the real meaning and motivation behind KCR's statement.

Muppalla wrote: How in the world they can say any Indians are welcome but not Andhras?
This fakeness is absurd. They should be all proud of every region of Andhra Pradesh and Bharat. Some Indians are looking at this with amusement
That absurdity is intentional by the players, mainly TINC-TRS duo. Currently Congress is intentionally exhibiting multiple personality disorder.

Extremist Congress - Although extremist character is outsourced to TRS, some in T-Congress took the position of extremism
Telengana Congress - Form a bulk of Tvadis that took the face of Telengana sentiment and people representation. Main goal of this group is to get rid of TDP from Telengana.
Hyderabad Congress - This group has taken position of speaking for so-called "settlers". This Congress and Extremist Congress together "condition" the settlers.
Concerned T-congress - This is made up of PCC and T-ministers. They speak for AP with "Telengana sentiment at heart".
YSR T-congress - This is made up of YSR loyalists in Telengana. Queen-Congress wants to suppress this.

Business Congress - The bunch is made up of Congressmen with business interests. e.g. Lagadapati
K-G Congress - Samaikya Andhra people from Krishna-Godavari Coastal districts. Main opponents of Telengana Congress.
YSR congress - This is made up of Jagan and YSR loyalists in non-T areas. High command wants to reduce the group to their core areas.
Rayalaseema Congress - Their slogan is "they are for Samaikya Andhra but in case seperation they want Rayalaseema". This is made up of YSR and non-YSR Rayalaseema congressmen. Their dual-personality gives the suspicion of some of them being double-agents.
UA Congress - Congressmen from UttarAndhra. Very muted group but so far they are going along with K-G congress.

Queen Congress - they desire to give birthday gifts, healing touches (Rahul-Mata&co)
Agents' Congress - They work as switchbox for Q-Congress interests (Moilly, Ahmad patels, etc.)
Executive Congress - Chidambaram/MMS, the GOI reps for seperation issues.
Intellectual Congress - They complement Executive Congress in addressing issues and concerns in technical terms. e.g Pranab&co

http://www.greatandhra.com/ganews/viewn ... 15&scat=16

Minister for Backward Class Welfare Mukesh Kumar Goud on Tuesday went hammer and tongs against Telangana Rasthra Samithi president K Chandrasekhara Rao for giving a call to stall the release of Jr NTR’s latest film “Adhurs.”

Speaking to reporters, Mukhesh alleged that KCR was behaving like Raj Thackerey of Maharashtra, threatening all sections, in the name of Telangana. “He and his family members are virtually blackmailing every section of industry. His nephew Harish Rao is threatening the industrial sector and his daughter Kavitha is blackmailing film industry. This makes one wonder whether there would be any security to settlers if the Telangana state is formed,” he said.

He announced that he would take out a peace rally with a lakh people to protect the interests of Telugu film industry. “We will ensure that all security is provided to the film industry in Telangana,” he said.
http://www.greatandhra.com/ganews/viewn ... t=&scat=25
KCR's Family: 'Black Mail' With 'Pink Flag'

Reliable sources after extensive research have confirmed about the atrocities the family and its supporters have been doing in the name of the separate state agitation. Apparently, the messes and other establishments of the Andhra people are being targeted across many locations and mobs of men are entering the places with pink flags. They are blackmailing the mess owners and others to take 10k-15k. This is more like a ‘Hafta Vasooli’ program that is currently on and they are also threatening that if anyone gives a complaint they will see their end and destroy the whole setup.

So right now, their slogan is ‘pay or face the consequences’. Some of them have also reported that these groups are using statements like “Rosiah and his members are in our control right now and they will not be interfering with anything we do so the only option for you if you want to stay here, give the money whenever we come or else….’. Similar instances have been reported from many locations across Hyderabad and the nearby vicinities.

Those who have heard about these incidents are not denying it since the same sort of approach has happened to a few big companies that are owned by non- Telangana people. The only difference is that here, the party activists have been looting and there, the mid-level leaders have been doing the loot. This is more like an organized extortion that is happening and it seems that KCR and his family has been drawing the ire and curses of many Telugu people. As it is, those who are opposing the separation of the state are hurling abuses on KCR for causing such a ruckus and making a mockery of the Telugus in front of the entire nation. With this ‘blackmail’ approach, the TRS party and its members is digging their own graves. Though some of the leaders are denying that it is not their initiative, there are many instances wherein official leaders of the party are involving in the extortion of money from the vendors. If there is god and if he is watching this, then he knows how best to bring KCR and the wrongdoers to justice. Snatching the livelihood of ordinary people and looting their money will hit back with consequences, this is the thought of the moral police.

KCR is not going to keep quite fro long. We may see violence on non locals from other areas soon. Remember what has happend in 1969 agitation. This time such acts will be shown by our useless local TV channels which is going to result in lot of counter actions from others. I hope police at least now start taking some steps.

The appointment of Mr Narasimhan as Gov of the state has sent a message the Delhi may not keep quite if TRC and its goons resort to violence.

RamaY wrote:http://www.andhrajyothy.com/latestmains ... an/16new59

Political violence a must to achieve Telangana: KCR

KCR comments today that "Political Violence" a must to achieve Telangana state. Eventhough he defined "political violence" as the T-JAC's demand for MLA/MPs resignations by 1/28, it would be interesting to see how T-JAC would respond towards MLA/MLC/MPs who would not go as per that demand.

If recent events involving TDP MLA Nagam, and INC MLA Danam Nagender are any indication of T-JAC mindset, one can understand the real meaning and motivation behind KCR's statement.

Is he taking a leaf out of Jinnah' playbook?

Op-Ed G. Kishan Reddy Floor leader BJP AP Assembly

Telangana: inevitable and desirable

He draws on wrong analogies of small states created during NDA.

Chiranjivi is losing his party members including the spokesman.

Is there any solution?

I believe that this is a season for bull fights and cock fights in non Telengana areas. Cocks are being named as KCR or PC! :shock:
anuj

Post by anuj »

T-folks send Danam packing

Vidarbha, Telengana ’states’ welcome motorists at border
Nagpur, Jan 16 (IANS) Hundreds of motorists entering or leaving Maharashtra and Andhra Pradesh were surprised to find new colourful hoardings welcoming them to new “states” of Vidarbha and Telangana Saturday.
The hoardings can be seen in Marathi and English with a map of Vidarbha region and in Telugu and English on the Telangana side, on the bridge of the Pen-Ganga river crisscrossing the state border here.

RayC wrote:Chiranjivi is losing his party members including the spokesman.

Is there any solution?

I believe that this is a season for bull fights and cock fights in non Telengana areas. Cocks are being named as KCR or PC! :shock:
RayC-ji,

All I see in the current wave of T-agitation is blackmail, extortion, and violence. There is only one solution to such nonsense in India, the Punjab solution that was implemented by Sri Beant Singh and KPS Gill.

If there was a legitimate reason for their demand, they should present necessary discussion in the Assembly with data. For gods sake there are more than 120 MLAs and 40-50 MLCs from this region.

The so-called T-intellectuals are talking the language of secessionism and intolerance. Under the Constitution of India, secessionism is forbidden.

I was talking to a colleague who is from proper Telangana and returned from Hyderabad this week. He says the life in Hyderabad came to stand still and the city already lost 5 years of progress. In his words, if this nonsense continues for another month, Hyderabad will lose atleast 10-15 years of progress. FWIW, he supports separate Telangana state.
jaladipc

Post by jaladipc »

Kudos to Kangress gavernament..

A foreign company who was desperate of investing some 60 billion over 10 years into the state of AP now rolled back their offer becaze of the bizarre situation in the state.
( that investment would have been a role model for the rest of the country. seriously..... **** the b@$tard politicians)
Hatsoff to the clowns and their lickers of psuedo mindsets getting their batteries charged with gensets :evil: .

The development that has been through all these years came to a stand still only because of a MFcuking clan who wanted a CM chair.he and that joker nosed made secret deals of sharing power if the state can be split and it they can make the centre change their view on the current CM candidate.

AP politics are an eye opener for the future generations...... how to screw up the development process for no reason except for the CM chair :P .

On a second thought,
India is 100% a 3rd world nation. And to attest my claim......AP politicians are the proof.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

RamaY wrote: All I see in the current wave of T-agitation is blackmail, extortion, and violence. There is only one solution to such nonsense in India, the Punjab solution that was implemented by Sri Beant Singh and KPS Gill.
:roll: and the khalistanis asked for a separate country. And guess what your solution in the link language dhaaga was "Sometimes there is no point in arguing with biased minds. The solution is to make it mandatory to pass Hindi madhyamica exam for all jobs paying more than say 36000 rupees per year and all our parents will "encourage" their kids learn Hindi and our Dhimmi children will find new patriotism in doing so." Wonderful, surely I am not objective and data-oriented as you are, but I dont lose my brain in a short-fuse either.

If there was a legitimate reason for their demand, they should present necessary discussion in the Assembly with data. For gods sake there are more than 120 MLAs and 40-50 MLCs from this region.
There is no point in holding someone in the united state unless they feel like it. You can exhort them, you can urge them, but if it gets to a point of "my way or the highway", you are creating more sour feelings in the long run than much else. The samaikhya-folk dont understand this simple issue. When a Telugu-speaking state wanted to be carved out of the erstwhile Madras Province, how much effort would it have taken for the Tamil speakers to oppose the move cos of the tax base? You cant forcibly keep people inside your house when they want to take off, that is the message. A simple lesson then, a good fraction of Telugu speakers in today's TN and Tamil speakers in today's AP and you see fairly stable relations which flare up once a blue moon over water and little else. You get movies made in either language, producers from either state, dubbed in both, you cant ask for better relations, can you?! Objective and data-oriented does not alone mean shooting some randomly idiotic idea of KPS Gill and walking off, it has to be reasonably nationalistic on a forum that prides itself left, right and center for being an outlet of nationalist evocations, kapiche?

The so-called T-intellectuals are talking the language of secessionism and intolerance. Under the Constitution of India, secessionism is forbidden.
Wow, what a creative interpretation? :) They choose to secede from the state of AP, not from the Union of India. Have you even read the genesis of that particular article in the Constitution, let alone what the article specifically says? :rotfl:

I was talking to a colleague who is from proper Telangana and returned from Hyderabad this week. He says the life in Hyderabad came to stand still and the city already lost 5 years of progress. In his words, if this nonsense continues for another month, Hyderabad will lose atleast 10-15 years of progress. FWIW, he supports separate Telangana state.
Yes, so is nt it incumbent on the samaikhya-AP folks to sit down and talk about the modalities of revenue sharing of Hyderabad and beat down an agreement in paper rather than go all around manufacturing a storm in a teacup? Once the genie is out of the bottle, it will be better to accept the fact than to make these "my way or the highway" logic.

Jaladi garu, I notice a pattern in this chaos.

Everytime, India is on the verge of breaking the shackles of poverty something or other comesup. Be it, JK Terrorism, Khalistan Terrorism, Godhra incident and its aftermath, WB politics, Naxal movement in Orissa and Chattisgarh, and now T-movement.

If you see current T-movement, Maoists threaten TRS leaders (at that time INC was happy that TRS was blackmailed by their own ilk), then these threats extend to INC-T leaders, now these three (Maoists, TRS, INC-T) join hands to form OU-JAC and threaten TDP-T leaders and so on.

This is utter failure of INC govt at the centre (Not AP-INC leadership, and not UPA). And no one blames them if you notice. Sonia and PC are above criticism. To divert such criticism people support T-vadis on exploitation theme, without knowing a single fact.

there is a telugu proverb, "Nadi kakapote nalgonda daaka naaku annatta", a crude translation being "If (the toungue) is not mine, one should lick upto Nalgonda". That is how the non-AP commentary "If T-vadis want a separate state why dont you give it, after all small-states are better no?" sounds to me. I wonder how these people respond if we pay in same coing regarding their respective states...

Stan_Savljevic wrote:
RamaY wrote: All I see in the current wave of T-agitation is blackmail, extortion, and violence. There is only one solution to such nonsense in India, the Punjab solution that was implemented by Sri Beant Singh and KPS Gill.
:roll: and the khalistanis asked for a separate country. And guess what your solution in the link language dhaaga was "Sometimes there is no point in arguing with biased minds. The solution is to make it mandatory to pass Hindi madhyamica exam for all jobs paying more than say 36000 rupees per year and all our parents will "encourage" their kids learn Hindi and our Dhimmi children will find new patriotism in doing so." Wonderful, surely I am not objective and data-oriented as you are, but I dont lose my brain in a short-fuse either.
Stan-ji,

Pls see my response above for the other points.

I have been consistent in my opinions. I was talking about T-Vadi's tone, language and actions. "I will destroy your local interests if you do not agree with me" type mindset. No one, I repeat No One should be treated special in India (in this case AP). Telangana people will not get any special treatement for being in united AP, and that is what the T-vadis are asking for.

I do not understand how my stand on Hindi-as-national-language is different from my stand against T-vadi separatism. Kindly explain.

W.r.t Link Languages, I encouraged Hindi (the national language) eventhough it is not my mother language, because it facilitates a common communication across entire Indian Union. Since Hindi is more natural to India, it would be easy for everyone to express our native feelings, history, and culture better than in English.

Stan-ji,

Why don't we do something purposeful?

Please bring all the data pertaining to T-exploitation, and the funds/resource diversion to AP. Also bring T-vadi's perceptions on exploitation, genuine urge for separate statehood etc. While you are at it, please speak with them and see if they want to unite with remaining parts of erstwhile Hyderabad state.

I too will bring my data and reasoning from the opposite perspective.

If it is of any help to you, please read this thread one more time. Except the "sense" of exploitation in some minds (the agitating T-population), there is no logical and factual information that proves Seemandhra leadership guilt.

All the backwardness of Telangana region is the byproduct of hundreds of years of Islamic rule (urdu education, high taxation on non-islamic population, lack of political and administrative exposure), and GOI's five year plans which focussed on ROI on the limited resources those govts have.

The AP State budget was in 10-30,000 crore range till 2004. Only recently it jumped into 60,000-100,000 crore range, allowing investments in the lower ROI projects. The real reason behind the current surge of Telangana agitation is, the so-called T-vadis will lose their last weapon, that is backwardness, to control that region once the Jalayagnam projects are completed.

These projects will create new middle class in backward Telangana districts and will destroy the "Dora" control over the resources and minds.

{See if this approach helps - print all the statistics and put them on the floor. Stare at them for few hours and see if you notice the patterns}
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

RamaY wrote: This is utter failure of INC govt at the centre (Not AP-INC leadership, and not UPA). And no one blames them if you notice.
Why is the state INC leadership above criticism? Are nt there subjects in the state list over which GoI has no control over? What is the progress in the districts other than Medak and Rangareddi in Telengana? It seems like if Hyderabad and the surrounding districts are developed, the whole Telengana seems to be prospering. But the counter-claim is Hyd is owned by the Costa folk, so how can development and prosperity in Hyd be a reflection of the development in Telengana. Who is responsible for this, just the Telengana leadership or the leadership of what is now AP that has let people down? Why are people so itchy to shift the blame on those feudal politicians of Telengana when the whole leadership, all across the board, from Costa to Seema to Telengana, is feudal in mindset?

Your consistency is what you feel is your consistency. You are selectively blind to certain assertions and you choose to blame certain aspects more than others without being unbiased as you claim you are.
Please bring all the data pertaining to T-exploitation, and the funds/resource diversion to AP.
Why dont you do the purposeful act rather than asking others for data? Please tell me how many engg/medical colleges/schools are there in every district of AP. Please tell me how much cultivable land is there per 100,000 population in every district of AP. Please tell me what is the average per-capita income in every district of AP. Please tell me how many kms of tarred roads are around per 100,000 population in every district of AP. Please educate me, are nt guys holding the census data? You have a point that Telengana is not being exploited, prove that, rather than make claims in the air. I did nt claim Telengana is exploited, I just claim that there are people who claim that they are being exploited. In fact, I am a third party in this dispute, I have no stakes either way. I just dont want this mess to downslide to a level where calling someone's demands as not valid on the ground in the first place, and if they still persist, use evocative phrases such as "Jinnah mindset", "khalistanis", "partition", "dhimmis", "paki", etc. liberally becomes par for the course on this forum. You can certainly put forth your point without spewing bile at people and in a way that calls for a decorum that is consistent with nationalist ideals. Certainly using evocative phrases and being super-partisan does nt win you brownie points for nationalism. In fact, you may well be driving away people who are from Telengana and who dont feel either way to the "other" camp with such spurious use of phrases such as Jinnah, pakis, etc.

How can you even compare the situation in AP to what happened in 40-47 beats me? Here is a region where one person has jumped the gun, a few have mobilized, and people seem to have just a bit more bias to a new state than to samaikhya-state [at least as per my partial reading of the situation], and there is such a liberal use of violent phrases such as partition. Cmon, is nt there common sense? What is Partition? Did Bihar go on this ululation spree when the coal mine areas went to Jharkhand? Certainly, if you read Laloo Yadav's ramblings, but he just shut up when the centre gave him a 8000k cr package. The Costa folk have land holdings in Hyd, the Costa land fertility is linked to water that is caught in the upper riparian region of Telengana, what else is the issue here. Why dont you sit down and negotiate on these aspects rather than put forth this tiger in a sheep clothing of nationalism?

If you are such a uber-nationalist, should nt you be arguing more about whether a small state, obtained by hook or crook, is good for the overall economic development of the region, what are the strategic issues unforeseen, what new and dynamic forces are coming up, what is the political landscape going to look like in 20-30-40 years, rather than all these whinefests? Certainly Maoist violence and the impact of the new state on the violence needs to be studied more carefully. In a forum where Islamism is par for the course, the impact of the new state on the Razakar-lites is important to understand. I, and perhaps quite a few people, would like to know what is the impact of the EJ-crowd on the new state and will it lead to a mobilization of the BJP strongly? What about areas such as Adilabad and those bordering Chattisgarh, will there be a demand for a Greater tribal state? Will there be state reorganization as a domino effect? What does this all mean for the future landscape of India, are we unleashing forces that are beyond our control, or are we letting a natural outlet for an economics-based vision of India of the 2050s? These are questions that a nationalist will come up with, not whether the KCR is an idiot or his daughter is an idiot.

Stan-ji,

Good questions and I will summarize my answers, one by one.

1. Why is the state INC leadership above criticism?

The state INC is represented by two forums. One is the state legislative forum that operates in AP Assembly, that has the peoples mandate. The second one is party leadership that sits in Gandhi Bhavan.

There is not a single resolution from either of these entities that sought separate Telangana state, that is used to make 12/9 statement. Secondly there appears to be very little consulting with these groups before the epic-blunder of our great PC ji on 12/9. If you read telugu news papers, you would have understood the drama before PC's announcement.

- That KCR's health dropped to dangeorous levels.
- That KCR's children Taraka Rama Rao, and Kavitha preferred their father's death to ending his fast before PC's statement was made.
- That PC was in constant touch with KCR and his family members; even more than K Rosiah who is the CM of AP.

Thus AP-INC has played no role in creating present Telangan nonsense. However, it is a fact that some of Telangana-Congress leaders joined the T-bandwagan ONLY AFTER the Samaikya-Andhra agitation picked up and entire Seema+Kosta MLAs put their weight behind Samaikya Andhra. Until then 90% telangana MLAs were busy fighting "YSJ for CM" issue.

So the current Telangana nonsense is the creation of INC leadership at the centre level that too a political game involving Sonia, MMS, Rahul, PC, and Moily. And only they should pay the political price for destroying the comparative advantage of Hyderabad. Most of the other INC leaders were not involved in this process.

Stan_Savljevic wrote:What is the progress in the districts other than Medak and Rangareddi in Telengana? It seems like if Hyderabad and the surrounding districts are developed, the whole Telengana seems to be prospering. But the counter-claim is Hyd is owned by the Costa folk, so how can development and prosperity in Hyd be a reflection of the development in Telengana.
Looks like you're not aware of progress in the AP. While Hyderabad & surrounding areas got wealthy, other districts have progressed as well in a normal mode. Nizambad and Khammam, for example, are very much better than Rayalaseema districts. Karimnagar is termed as new rice bowl as it progressed a lot from agriculture output side. The districts that need special attention are Adilabad, Mahabubnagar (both in T), Ananthpur (Rayalaseema), Srikakulam, Vijayanagaram (in Uttar Coastal Andhra).

If people get rid of comparing Telengana (sometimes without Hyderbad) to 4 K-G districts, things look much better.

Please check education stats to assess objectively. This link has stats district-wise
http://ssa.ap.nic.in/edustat.html
Last edited by ShyamSP on 18 Jan 2010 00:06, edited 2 times in total.

2. What is the progress in the districts other than Medak and Rangareddi in Telengana?

There are 9 districts in Telangana region
Adilabad
Nizamabad
Karimnagar
Medak - Developed as per your comment.
Warangal
Rangareddy - Developed as per your comment
MahbubNagar
Nalgonda
Khammam

This leaves us with
Adilabad, Nizamabad, Karimnagar, Warangal, Mahabubnagar, Nalgonda and Khammam.

By developing the Vijayawada-Hyderabad 8 lane super-highway and freight corridor Nalgonda district can be developed to Hyderabad levels within 5 years. These plans are already in progress.

I need help from others on what districts fall under "Dandakaranya eco-region" We cannot expect this region developed until the Maoist problem is solved and India becomes $4-5T economy. So this region will remain backward for at least 10 more years in case of United AP, and at least 15-20 years in case of separate Telangana state.

That leaves us with parts of Nizamabad and Mahbubnagar districts. I would like to know their neighboring districts in K'taka and M'rastra and their progress levels. Any govt can develop the civic infrastructure with (combined) 2-5,000 crore special packages for these districts, but overall economic development is a function of resources, industrial-infra, education, and connectivity with demand-centers.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

The case for small States can be argued with two parameters of macroeconomic statistics from the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation. The first parameter is the percentage increase in Gross Domestic Product for States between 1999-2000, when the smaller States were created, and 2007-2008. India’s overall GDP increased by 75 per cent during this time period. During the same period, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh and Uttaranchal recorded more than 100 per cent, 150 per cent and 180 per cent increase respectively. These rates were much above the rate at which national GDP increased. This clearly indicates that the recent creation of smaller States was a step in the right direction.

http://beta.thehindu.com/opinion/op-ed/article80961.ece

ShyamSP wrote:If people get rid of comparing Telengana (sometimes without Hyderbad) to 4 K-G districts, things look much better.

Please check education stats to assess objectively. This link has stats district-wise
http://ssa.ap.nic.in/edustat.html
Aaahh..data (for a change).

I looked at the Higher Secondary Schools by region/district from the link you provided and here are the findings...you are most welcome to verify and provide your take

This data is from 2007-2008 :shock:

Total Schools (23 districts) - 99
Coastal Andhra (9 districts) :37
Rayalaseema (4 districts): 11
Telangana (10 districts including Hyd): 51

Looking at this some folks think everything is hunky-dory and some may even thing Telangana is more developed than CA.

Now, look below the same statistics with a little breakup:

Total: 99
Coastal AP (9 districts): 37
Rayalaseema(4 districts): 11
Telangana (minus Hyd and Rangareddy - 8 districts): 11 :twisted: :twisted:
Rangareddy and Hyd (2 districts of Telangana): 38 :eek:

I don't know how the Rangareddy stats are included but we know that Secunderabad (and bulk of greater Hyd) comes under Rangareddy. And of course you have Hyd.

==Added later:

I don't know what ar Central Govt Higher Seconday institutions but the data looks even more crazy:

Total: 59:
CA:23
RS:7
TS(all 10 districts):29

separating GreaterHyd:

Total: 59
CA:23
RS:7
TS (8 districts):11
TS (hyd/rangareddy): 18

Hmm..again
Last edited by Satya_anveshi on 18 Jan 2010 00:24, edited 1 time in total.