Aircraft Recognition

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Aircraft Recognition

Soko G4 Super Galeb trainer of Myanmar Air Force was used to bomb Karen tribes. Now replaced by Chinese Hongdu K8 (same as paki Karakoram) trainer.

Argentinian IA-58 Pucara close air support plane of Sri Lanka Air Force was used against LTTE.

Kersi D wrote:Shiv,

I remember on more delta wing, the Gloster Javelin.
Brilliant

I had forgotten that one. If you look back at the post WW2 period Britain produced so many aircrfat - but the Britiesh Aerospace industry no longer comes up with so many designs. Heck the aerospace industry of the entire world produce fewer new designs than the Brits of the US of that era.

Gloster Javelin

Remember the Handle Page Victor bomber that became a refueller by the Falklands war era?

This is the V-series bomber trio - Valiant, Victor and Vulcan

Blackburn (Hawker Siddeley) Buccaneer

Hawker Hunter

Hawker Sea Hawk

Other classic carrier based aircraft

Mc Donnell F 4 Phantom II

Breguet Alize: This was a 3 seater

Dassault Etendard - these may still be in service - not sure

Douglas A4 Skyhawk. This was the only other fighter (before the harrier) that the Vikrant could have operated. It is American and i don't think it was offered at all

Grumman Intruder

I post this as a curiosity - the Grumman Panther. This shipborne aircraft was featured in the Korean war film "Bridges at Toko-ri". I was a little boy when I saw it and the movie was already old but I recall repeated scenes of these aircraft trying to bomb some bridges. I remember this movie in the era of PGMs when just one bomb should do the trick. It was years before I discovered what aircraft were featured in the film
Grumman Panther

F-105 Thunderchief

F-104 Starfighter
dinesha

Post by dinesha »

Can we start similar thread/Sticky for land warfare Systems to document Armoured/Artillery vehicles, tanks, self-propelled/towed guns etc.

dinesha wrote:Can we start similar thread/Sticky for land warfare Systems to document Armoured/Artillery vehicles, tanks, self-propelled/towed guns etc.
Very Good Idea.

But let us also continue this thread for transports, helicopter and UAVs

Kersi

Victor wrote: Soko G4 Super Galeb trainer of Myanmar Air Force was used to bomb Karen tribes. Now replaced by Chinese Hongdu K8 (same as paki Karakoram) trainer.
There was also an aircrfat called Soko Jastreb. Any pics ?

Kersi

Kersi D wrote: There was also an aircrfat called Soko Jastreb. Any pics ?

Kersi
Sir, are these it???

Lockheed XFV1 VTOL fighter. :mrgreen:

shiv wrote:Other classic carrier based aircraft

Douglas A4 Skyhawk. This was the only other fighter (before the harrier) that the Vikrant could have operated. It is American and i don't think it was offered at all
My thinking is different. I think it was offered to India or IN wanted it. But the existing (short stroke) catapult would have to be replaced with another one. UK refused to make the changes to make sure that we buy the Seahawks only.

Kersi

shiv wrote:Yes the J-10 has some heavy Lavi inputs.
The Israelis left behind at least one complete Lavi (sans engine) and 2-3 in
varying degrees of disassembly. These machines were thereafter cloned.
S_Prasad

Post by S_Prasad »

Since you guys missed it.......Here's something from HAL's stable .

Last edited by archan on 04 Oct 2010 03:53, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: username changed from SAPPER to S_Prasad.
S_Prasad

Post by S_Prasad »

Some more from the x series.

F-16 -delta wing.
Comparision of the two.

This Israeli Jet Commander was used to test MiG-21 radars, probably for the Bison.

Fairchild Republic T-46 Eaglet, aka the "Thunder Piglet", was supposed to replace the T-37 "Tweet" but was overweight and had too much drag. It was cancelled in 1987 and that was the end of the Republic name which shut its doors after this. The renamed Fairchild Aerospace went on to design the A-10 Warthog (Thunderbolt II) and later bought Dornier but was itself purchased by M7 Aerospace.
dinesha

Post by dinesha »

Airavat (H-2176)
Pratik_S

Post by Pratik_S »

One more Airavat Image:

Does anyone know what happened to the prototype ?

smpratik wrote:One more Airavat Image:

Does anyone know what happened to the prototype ?
smpratikji,
you asking about Airavat prototype??? If so, the prototype crashed during a test flight near arakonam with all hands lost...
Pratik_S

Post by Pratik_S »

@Mr Bala Vignesh
Oh right, thanks !
Shankar

Post by Shankar »

have some nice spitfire photos of my own -how do i post them here guys ?

Shankar, upload them on to imageshack or photobucket and then link them here using the normal img tags.

Victor wrote:Image
This Israeli Jet Commander was used to test MiG-21 radars, probably for the Bison.
It may be for the Lancer program where Israel modified the Romaninan MiG 21s. The IAF MiG 21 modification was done by Russia with the Kopyo radar

Kersi
atreya

Post by atreya »

LIGHT ATTACK/ RECONNAISSANCE ATTACK HELICOPTERS

USA
OH 58 Kiowa Warrior

AH-6 Little Bird

India
WSI Dhruv

HAL Lancer

I know there are more, but then, the line is thin between an armed utility heli and a light attack/reconnaissance attack heli. Kindly add the appropriate ones. I am unable to decide what all to include :oops:

Kersi D wrote: It may be for the Lancer program where Israel modified the Romaninan MiG 21s. The IAF MiG 21 modification was done by Russia with the Kopyo radar

Kersi
Oops. My bad. Still, interesting jugaad.
S_Prasad

Post by S_Prasad »

Even though i am not a big fan of US aircraft, I would love to have this with the IAF for close air support to the IA.
The A 10 warthog
S_Prasad

Post by S_Prasad »

Denel AH-2 Rooivalk South African Airforce.

Mi-34

Aerocopter Sanka 2

Enstrom Helicopter

Fairchild-Hiller FH 1100

MD 500

MD Explorer

Robinson R 22

Rotorway Exec

Schweizer S 300

PZL SW4 (Poland)

Eurocopter Fennec
shanksinha

Post by shanksinha »

Lockheed AH-56 Cheyenne-was developed for deployment in Vietnam but AH-1 Cobra was selected instead. Later the program was used to develop the AH-64 Apache, Never saw service.

When I first saw our own LCH hovering it reminded me of this one (I know they look very different), guess it was them huge canopies.

See how similar these 2 are at first glance. Easy to mistake one for the other.
Mi-34

PZL SW4 (Poland)

Shiv, those two helicopters look completely different. Perhaps you meant to post another pic?

nachiket wrote:Shiv, those two helicopters look completely different. Perhaps you meant to post another pic?
Nachiket it is easy to say that when you have two photographs in front of you are are already an expert. But when you see one fly by and manage a look at it for just 2 seconds (such as near an airport when you are in a foreign country or in the movies) it is far more difficult to say "Hey that was a Russian Mi 34 and not a Polish SW4". Both helos have enough general similarities for one to need to distinguish finer points. That is what aircraft recognition is all about

If you get a half second peek between clouds it is sometimes difficult to distinguish a Mirage 2000 from an LCA. Anyone who does plane spotting will know what I mean. I am sure you understand that. It is a long process to reach the stage when you can do that from the stage of a golfer in Bangalore looking at a Jaguar taking off from HAL and saying "Look at that Raptor taking off" :roll:

Maybe you are right. From a different angle there could be similarities. I could find very few from those two pics.
Totally agree about the Mirage-2000 and LCA part though.

Here are two more that would be difficult to tell apart for the casual observer unless he has trained himself to observe minor differences other than broad shapes. Rotor blade numbers can generally be assesses in a photo - but more difficult in live observation.
shiv wrote: Aerocopter Sanka 2

Schweizer S 300

nachiket wrote:Maybe you are right. From a different angle there could be similarities. I could find very few from those two pics.
Totally agree about the Mirage-2000 and LCA part though.
Very often in Bangalore - you catch a "flash glimpse" of an LCA (or a Mirage) as it flashes past between a gap in trees or clouds. You have to "photograph" that image in your mind and then ask whether it had any Mirage features or LCA features.

The amazing thing is when a Jaguar is taking off - at some angle it looks just like an HF 24. Only context and prior knowledge would make one know the difference.

nachiket wrote:Shiv, those two helicopters look completely different. Perhaps you meant to post another pic?
Nachiket it is easy to say that when you have two photographs in front of you are are already an expert. But when you see one fly by and manage a look at it for just 2 seconds (such as near an airport when you are in a foreign country or in the movies) it is far more difficult to say "Hey that was a Russian Mi 34 and not a Polish SW4". Both helos have enough general similarities for one to need to distinguish finer points. That is what aircraft recognition is all about

All light helicopters look the same to me !!!

Kersi

shiv wrote:The amazing thing is when a Jaguar is taking off - at some angle it looks just like an HF 24. Only context and prior knowledge would make one know the difference.
You make a good point. It is true for many mordern fighters too. This one looks like a MiG 29 to a non expert. But it isn't.

Looking up at a high flying F-18 sometimes also looks like an F-16 due to similar overall design. (Not details)
nikhil_p

Post by nikhil_p »

The Percival Jet Prevost...strikingly similar to the HAL Kiran. In fact, I remember reading a book where it was mentioned that the design was bought from Precival. Guru log please confirm...

nikhil_p wrote:The Percival Jet Prevost...strikingly similar to the HAL Kiran. In fact, I remember reading a book where it was mentioned that the design was bought from Precival. Guru log please confirm...

Well blow mw down. I had never noticed the similarity before..

Hunting Jet Provost

Kiran

nikhil_p wrote:The Percival Jet Prevost...strikingly similar to the HAL Kiran. In fact, I remember reading a book where it was mentioned that the design was bought from Precival. Guru log please confirm...

Well blow mw down. I had never noticed the similarity before..

Hunting Jet Provost

Kiran
The similarity is amazing.

Me thinks that the Precival Provost became the BAC 167 Strikemaster and it finally evolved into the Hawk. Gurus, please comment / correct.

Kersi