Now let's freeze the specs and put a project manager in charge, not an engineer or heaven forbid, a babu armed with a calculator.

Well assuming 2 Adours, the plane will be larger than a Hawk but smaller than an Su-25 Frogfoot.Victor wrote: Now let's freeze the specs and put a project manager in charge, not an engineer or heaven forbid, a babu armed with a calculator.
Bala Vignesh wrote:Another approach here could be to use the Marut as our base fighter and move ahead from there...
A few things that, in my view, that needs to be done to give the Marut a modern day make over are:
1) Airframe- Introduce composites in the structure and strengthen the airframe to add more hard point
Also tweak the design for good transonic handling.
2) Re-engine- Strap 2 Adours from the Jaguars in place of the Orpheus engines or we could use a single Kaveri, if available.
3) Sensor Package- Fix the entire set of sensors that were installed on the upgraded MiG 27. This should enable the platform to be PGM Capable(i guess).
For this i had proposed thisGaur wrote:But even with the engine problem solved, what about aerodynamics? Does the private industry has enough expertise to even modify an existing design (like Marut)? What about materials? What about stress studies? What about radar, avionics, data link etc? I do not think that even mentoring provided by HAL will do any good. To be frank, my opinion of private sector is that they will greatly struggle to even assemble a fighter aircraft by themselves. This is by no fault of theirs. They simply do not have the experience.
About the engines, I am assuming, well its hoping actually, that since HAL has been producing the Jaguar for over 31 years now, they would have reverse-engineered some, if not all, aspects of the engine. And if push comes to shove we can ask Rolls Royce to sell us the design and manufacture it then.Bala Vignesh wrote:The integration test and all such studies to be carried can be done by NAL, with of course the help of DRDO. If need be, we can set up a joint liaison office between them.
You know why I think Adour or R 25 may be a better choice than Al 55. Simply because Indian industry has had a much longer time to work on those engines and come up with components in house. I don't know the import content of either Adour or R 25 but I am guessing that we should be able to duck sanctions if we decided to make them. I think Al 55 is too "fresh" for that - the agreement was signed pretty recently. Actually the Orpheus, that powers the Kiran is probably made by India alone - I doubt if the original company still makes them.bmallick wrote: one more engine that I think we have gotten the license for is the new Al-55I, of course its thrust is not in the league as the Adour, but if our weight requirements are not too high then maybe we can use to Al-55I.
With so many changes (> 90 %) would you still like to call it a Marut ? Why not take a new pencil and fresh piece of paper ?Bala Vignesh wrote:Another approach here could be to use the Marut as our base fighter and move ahead from there...
A few things that, in my view, that needs to be done to give the Marut a modern day make over are:
1) Airframe- Introduce composites in the structure and strengthen the airframe to add more hard point
Also tweak the design for good transonic handling.
2) Re-engine- Strap 2 Adours from the Jaguars in place of the Orpheus engines or we could use a single Kaveri, if available.
3) Sensor Package- Fix the entire set of sensors that were installed on the upgraded MiG 27. This should enable the platform to be PGM Capable(i guess).
Ambuj sir,B_Ambuj wrote: With so many changes (> 90 %) would you still like to call it a Marut ? Why not take a new pencil and fresh piece of paper ?
But, before that could you please define the requirement?
Another spin-off that can be had here is the E/A-6B like dedicated ESW/ELINT bird.Abhibhushan wrote: I must thank the good doctor for prescribing just what an old fighter jock would love. While all of you go all out to design a 5th gen ++ super duper fighter, I want to take a detour and come up with some thing that my pongo friends would love to see in the sky.
There is one huge battlefield that might one day call me in for offensive air support which I am unable to provide today. I need an aircraft that can operate over Wallong and Along and perhaps a hundred kilometres north of it for releasing weapons in marginal visibility and if possible even by night. I need an aircraft that will take off from Leh or Chshul with one and a half tons of ordnance and be able to operate comfortably with full load at 20000 feet or more. I want an aircraft that can have a radius of action of 200 km flying at 15000 feet above sea level.
Let me now design this beast.
Take a basic Kiran. Retain the wings/tail. Build it as light as possible using composites. Redesign the main body for a single pilot and lots of internal fuel. Give it an internal bay for carrying about 50 x 68mm or 57mm unguided rockets and four hard points fit for 350 kg class loads. Give it a light contour mapping / imaging radar slaved to an HMS. Replace the 2 machine guns of the Kiran Mk 2 with one GSh23. Give it a glass cockpit and a DARIN III fit. Give it an integral laser target designator. Power it with an unreheated Adour (as used in the Hawk). Play around with the wing structure a little to improve its low speed turning performance. See if the RCS can be reduced by tinkering with the intakes. If possible, give it one or two short range light air to air missiles carried over the wing like the Jaguar. Give it a self defence electronic suit. If the Adour is unable to lift all this load then make it really an overpowered beast by fitting an unreheated Kavery!
Produce it in 36 months. Test and certify it in the next 24 months. Produce it in large numbers. In 1962, we could not / did not use offensive air power. Let there not be a repeat of that situation.
PS. I do not foresee a dense air defence air presence in the projected hostile area. If one comes along, I shall need top cover by the air dominance fighters you all are designing.
Ah the super intelligent, super funny desi. He will dig a grave for himself sooner or later. The really funny bit will be pushing him into it.Bala Vignesh wrote:^^ Mr. Ambuj,
Could you point out the necessity of the sarcastic post above??
Sir, I didn't make a sarcastic remark here. Probably, you got it wrong. I said this might be a requirement for us.Bala Vignesh wrote:^^ Mr. Ambuj,
Could you point out the necessity of the sarcastic post above??
I am not sure rather I don't have any information on how much of Reverse-Engineering HAL has done on Adour Engine. If HAL was able to do this, probably they can do the same with the Su-30 engine as well.Bala Vignesh wrote:About the engines, I am assuming, well its hoping actually, that since HAL has been producing the Jaguar for over 31 years now, they would have reverse-engineered some, if not all, aspects of the engine. And if push comes to shove we can ask Rolls Royce to sell us the design and manufacture it then.
This Requirement some what matches that of the CAT which was planned earlier. BAE Hawk Mk132 probably killed it.nachiket wrote:B_Ambuj, the requirement is of a light, single-seat strike aircraft which can perform well in the mountainous regions and which can be designed and manufactured completely in India with the current level of technical knowhow available in the country. This has been discussed in the thread earlier.
Why a two seater? If we are looking at a primary requirement of a modern day "COIN" aircraft and interdictor/forward air support which has great performance at 20,000 feet as well as the ability to take off with a useful load from Leh, I would have thought that the weight and space requirement of a second pilot would only be a burden rather than an advantage.vardhank wrote:Forgot a couple of things...
1) two-seater for sure
2) might need to elongate the fuselage a little... otherwise it would be very wide and stubby, which i imagine would affect stability, yes? (pulling this out of ze musharraf, no clue if that actually affects things)
Victor apart from having a long history of aviation design the Brits have a keen eye for business. Only that can explain the Hawk 200 designed in an era when others were making the F-22 or the Rafale/Eurofighter.Victor wrote:What we have arrived at with the JF1 so far is basically a Hawk 200 in Indian clothes that may have better low-speed handling due to the straight wings.
Shiv sir, the higher inertia is the reason why I had suggested earlier in the thread to have the two engines in the middle of the aircraft body, like the Buccaneer. This would mean that most of the heavy thing of the aircraft is in the center, thus reducing inertia. Such an arrangement would also mean that we can have one more fuel tank in the part of the aircraft section projecting aft of the engines. Also something that comes of the hat, and here I am speculating quite a bit, that we can extend the wing roots such that the jet exhaust is shielded from direct view from below, maybe that would provide some protection from manpads.shiv wrote: I am not sure how the trade off between the inertia of higher mass and higher engine power is when it comes to maneuvering between mountaintops at high altitude. Obviously bigger wings and lower wing loading would make a difference. This is the sort of thing I would experiment with by making plane models and leave the calculation to people who have learned maths beyond 12 times tables.
Ah. These are the details on which such a project can survive or die.ShivaS wrote:Here is how I would implement your designs with these implements.
I)
Classification of the sub assemblies (engineering orientation wise)
Engine not included in the first cut. Frame fabrication also not included.
Engine I would go back to HJE2500 design for simplicity.
II)
Mechanical (Hydraulic, Pneumatic, Manufacturing etc)
Electrical (prime movers, generators, power supplies, wiring harnesses)
Electronics (Communication, RADAR, Signalling)
Instrumentation ( Electro-Mechanical in nature)
Software (PLC and control circuits for instrumentation).
Next step would be identifying existing companies and leveraging their experience, module by module)
Shiv,shiv wrote:Why a two seater? If we are looking at a primary requirement of a modern day "COIN" aircraft and interdictor/forward air support which has great performance at 20,000 feet as well as the ability to take off with a useful load from Leh, I would have thought that the weight and space requirement of a second pilot would only be a burden rather than an advantage.vardhank wrote:Forgot a couple of things...
1) two-seater for sure
2) might need to elongate the fuselage a little... otherwise it would be very wide and stubby, which i imagine would affect stability, yes? (pulling this out of ze musharraf, no clue if that actually affects things)
But it appears to me that many such aircraft in the past have been developed from trainers and hence were two seat by default. Looking back at similar aircraft (apart from the proposed Indian CAT) I am able to recall the BAC Strikemaster (a development of The Hunting Jet Provost - used by Sri Lanka). The Strikemaster was 2 seat and had a max weight of about 5 tons.
The French Fouga Magister was used as a combat aircraft by Israel. It was a 2 seat trainer that was about 3 tons max.
The Cessna T 37 (operated by Bangladesh and Pakistan) appear to be trainers with a secondary combat role - just like the Kiran could be used I guess. The Cessna was 3 tons and Kiran 4 tons.
The BAe Hawk 200 is a single seat development of the Hawk trainer described as a "lightweight multirole combat fighter with emphasis on air defence, air superiority, anti-shipping, air-denial, long-range interdiction, short-range close air support and ground attack." and this is the sort of thing that comes to my mind. But the air combat capability as a primary requirement may be unnecessary.
The Hawk is 9 tons Max. I suspect the Indian Hawk can be used in this role too, but that takes the fun out of designing a jingo fighter with what we have now. The Hawk has a single Adour and it strikes me that if we use 2 Adours we will have a much bigger aircraft. Are we looking at an aircraft with a normal loaded weight of 10 tons? Much bigger than your average trainer.
I am not sure how the trade off between the inertia of higher mass and higher engine power is when it comes to maneuvering between mountaintops at high altitude. Obviously bigger wings and lower wing loading would make a difference. This is the sort of thing I would experiment with by making plane models and leave the calculation to people who have learned maths beyond 12 times tables.
Ok I'll bitevardhank wrote: The 2-seater/longer fuselage thing was in reference to my two-engined LCA idea (which no one has commented on *pouts and sulks*),
Actually I am horrified by the idea of a larger LCA. It makes a much bigger target to shoot at. I am no aerodynamics expert but somehow I get this vague feeling that the drag caused by a delta wing while turning probably shows more than just a linear increase with increase in wingspan - I mean the drag is related to area and not wingspan needing engines that are that much more powerful and fuel guzzling. I may be wrong. Ignorance may be speaking through me.Can someone come up with projected specs and an illustration of a two-engined LCA? I think it could make a very good gen 4+ MMRCA, good enough to take on the current MMRCA contenders.
To keep things simple, you'd use the same wings, same avionics and probably the same GE 414 engines (or two R25s, if we want to be stringent about the made-in-India idea, though it's probably not the best idea for this sort of plane).
You can either go for a narrow-fuselage design like the Rafale/Typhoon, or (my preference), a wide, lifting body like the Russians. Two vertical stabs, maybe canards if needed.
Can someone project weights, payload, range, number of hard points, etc?
The sticking point is probably the radar, but I expect it'll use whatever the LCA finally ends up using.
Also, how long do you estimate it would take to make this?