Somali Piracy: Looking for Solutions
KLNMurthy ji,
1) The goal of the proposal is also to finish off Somali piracy.
2) The difference is to do it over 15-20 years, and not to try it right away.
3) In order to finish piracy, one needs an alternative economy which can wean away the pirates. At the moment there is none, at least none that really pays.
4) In a country where people are dirt poor and piracy allows one to win a lottery, there Somalis will keep on voting for piracy. That is simply the logic of it.
5) Going head on against the Somali pirates under such circumstances would not even make a dent to it
6) So why go for a policy that has zero chance of success, and can only mean that more and more Indians would be kidnapped by Somali pirates in retaliation.
Actually the proposal proposes the most humane way of dealing with piracy. By keeping control over it, we would ensure that there are no deaths, no killings. Neither Indian navy crewmen are hurt, nor Indian sailors on ships sailing through those waters, nor the pirates. I would ask, is a humane solution against our DNA?
Now you say, it is not in our DNA to go with such a policy as is proposed, but everything else would not work! Shri B. Raman himself says there are no solutions on the table how to deal with Somali piracy.
We cannot hug ideology, and reject logic.
The dissonance between my proposals and Indic ideology seems to be a constant feature of the proposals.

The thing you call ideology, which is actually core values of an organization, is not an empty meaningless platitude to be negated in all pragmatic (what you call logic) situations; understanding these values and harmonizing with them is necessary for understanding about core competencies and capabilities and ultimately makes the difference between success and costly, even disastrous, failure. To have a basis for discussion, we have to first have a common ground on this principle.
KLNMurthy ji,
we can always climb up the ladder of moral grandstanding, and kill anything we come up with. If you had read my previous post directed to shiv saar, you would see, that the proposal intends to keep the Indian Military's hands as clean as possible.
The dubious, dirty, grey-zone work is being delegated to Indian intelligence agencies. I guess they would be more willing to do what needs to be done, and not cut off their feet, should they by mistake stand on ants.
KLNMurthy wrote:We should be careful when using loaded 'sexy' terms like 'logic'. Logic is only a language and a process of arguing from premises to conclusions in a formal way. Without a framework, talking about 'logic' is equivalent to saying that we have to map the processes of molecular biology for understanding human psychology, or use the quantum drift of electrons to describe a computer program's behavior; it is not incorrect, but it is at the wrong level of abstraction.
So does the Indian state have any organizations at the right level of abstraction, which would do what is needed and not say, "mummy mana karti hai!"
One can kill the effectiveness of every organization, by saying sorry ideology does not permit it.
KLNMurthy wrote:1 & 2. If the goal is to destroy the pirates, and yet the strategy calls for befriending them, supporting them, and making money from them, and ultimately also betraying them, then the bar is very high for explaining why we would take a course that is opposite to the goals, why it is feasible, why the risks are manageable, why this is preferable to a more straightforward occam-compliant approach.
The primary way of weaning away the pirates is not by betraying them, but by offering them the opportunity to participate in a new economy based on mining, Oil, trade and services.
If you don't make money from them, they will never trust you and will never work for you. They want to understand your motive, and it should be something they feel comfortable with. Secondly the many intelligence operations in Somalia may need a source of money, outside budgetary control.
While we are befriending them, and supporting them, we are also collecting vital intelligence on them - which clans they come from, which villages they come from, their addresses, their family trees, the marital networks, their friends, their colleagues, their bank accounts, simply everything. Because should they not dance according to our music, they can be pressurized appropriately, or should they abscond, it is easy to find them. We need intelligence on who are the weapons dealers, who are the ones involved in hawala, how the money moves, who are the corrupt people in the Puntland and Somaliland governments, what are the clan relationships and rivalries.
So the course is not opposite to the goals at all. If one wants to fight something like an insurgency or even piracy, the most premium commodity is intelligence on those who are involved. One needs a complete scan of how deep the cancer goes, if you want to start cutting out the melanomas. Without the right intelligence, we will just be putting pressure at one point, and it would start growing somewhere else.
I wonder how much of this intelligence would be forthcoming on Somalia in the occam-compliant approach.
There are other advantages over the occam-compliant approach:
- We will not be in a war with Somali pirates, so our military/navy would be exposed to a much less hostile environment.
- Since we would not sinking Somali ships, and shooting at them or taking Somali pirates captive, Indian sailors working on other ships crossing Gulf of Aden would also not be taken hostage or even killed.
- We would not be making enemies of the Somalis.
I don't know how you wish me to prove the feasibility of this proposal, or risk-management. You may ask if some aspect is feasible and how, and I can try answering, or you can point to some risk and I can try thinking of ways to minimize it. But for that you would have to pose the questions.
KLNMurthy wrote:3&4. It is not as though that piracy can be ended only by providing an alternate economy, though that would be good. There are plenty of places that are just as poor which don't do piracy. We can also, for example, find a way to make the cost of piracy much too high, and find ways to curtail access to the tools of piracy. What I as a person "vote for" and fantasize about is meaningless if pursuing that option will get me killed along with my family, for example.
There are hundreds of conflicts going on in Africa. Here is a report from Council on Foreign Relations:
China, Africa & Oil.
But China also continues to sell arms to Sudan, among other African countries. The Congressional Research Service reports that China views these sales as a means of "enhancing its status as an international political power, and increasing its ability to obtain access to significant natural resources, especially oil" (PDF). In the period from 2003 to 2006, China's arms sales to Africa made up 15.4 percent ($500 million) of all conventional arms transfers to the continent. Notable weapons sales include those to Sudan, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Burundi, Tanzania, and Zimbabwe. Beijing has also sent Chinese military trainers to help their African counterparts. Arms sales and military relationships help China gain important African allies in the United Nations—including Sudan, Zimbabwe, and Nigeria—for its political goals, including preventing Taiwanese independence and diverting attention from its own human rights record.
So the arms flowing into Africa is around 3.25 billion USD worth. And that is perhaps only some official estimate. The truth may be even graver.
Arms to Somalis can come from all sorts of places - Sudan, Eritrea, Kenya, even Ethiopia where the Ogaden Darod Somalis live. They can simply come over the seas.
Can we Indians stop that kind of arms trade?
If we start doing that, we will never be done, and would have stepped on so many toes without much success, having only scratched the surface.
In fact, we would be giving our enemies a really juicy opportunity to get us bogged down. All Pakistan and China have to do is supply Somalis with arms, and make us hunt them all over the Indian Ocean. Have we nothing better to do?
Boats too are easy to come by. A few pirates just confiscate any little ship passing through the waters. Somali pirates are known to be spreading further and further into the Indian Ocean. So much to curtailing their tools of piracy.
If I understood you correctly, you speak of killing pirates. I wonder where my moral grandstanding values flag is!
KLNMurthy wrote:5&6. Clearly Indian Navy and other navies' assault on the pirates has made a dent--it made them tense and belligerent, and caused them to threaten to destroy the assets (hostages) that they need to keep alive to be in business in the first place. This is not the desired end state for us, but it is still a plausible step in the process of getting to an end state. If you confront a bully he will first try to act more belligerent; that is proof that you have made a dent, not proof that you haven't. If you try to make a bully into a partner as soon as he makes belligerent noises, then he will conclude correctly that you are bluffing about your capabilities and are simply surrendering to him.
There are plenty of hostages in the sea. They can always get more hostages. In fact if they want to make themselves credible they would always kill one or two hostages here and there, so that other governments and ship owners take them seriously.
We need to take their threats to the hostages very very seriously. These are Indian citizens being threatened by pirates. These Indian citizens have families back home, who are hoping that the Indian Government would do something to get them freed.
Other navies can only make piracy more risky for the pirates, but can never dent it, simply because pirates have tasted success, they have tasted untold riches worth millions. Even if they get killed, they will be still be taking ships and go out pirating, because the alternative to piracy is providing services to the pirates which also live off piracy, and the alternative to that is misery and poverty. It has become a case of male bravery to go out and make a valuable catch of hostages and ships and cargos. If you don't do that, you are a wimp! The culture of piracy is not easy to do away with.
We are not making a bully into our partner. We are making the bully into our boy/launda. There is a big difference. We have given them the choice - either they are our laundas, or they can rot in a Puntland jail for the next 20 years.
When we set up a base in Somalia and send in 100,000 Indian jawans and intelligence officers, we are sending out a message we mean business. It is not a message of groveling in front of some Somali pirates. It is about telling them, there is a new boss in town. If you work with us, you too will be happy.
KLNMurthy wrote:The somali pirates are the sea-lane version of the arabian brigands who sat at the crossroads of trade and extracted loot and tribute, and ultimately leveraged Islam to institutionalize and globalize this mafia culture, which we know today as pakiness.
Further South, one will see the real Islamists with Al-Shabaab.
Anyway, since Islam is already so spread out, the pirates cannot really reinvent the wheel. So at least one need not fear that.
Yes there would be paki culture among the Somali Pirates. But we have a choice, should the Somali pakis bow to us or should they bow to the real thing - the true Pakis. Do we want Somali pirates to become aligned with Pakistan's national interests?
KLNMurthy wrote:There is no shortcut to acquiring the necessary capabilities and prevailing over an enemy who embodies the core of pakiness. it will be a gradual process of strength building, but it can be done if the vision is clear. In the meantime, it will be an incremental game, with the non-paki side hopefully getting wiser and stronger.
How long have the Pakis been attacking Indians? 64 years! So we have seen our gradual process of strength building. Had the Pakis not fcuked up their economies so badly, and let loose the piety competition, we would still be facing a formidable opponent, with not even the hope of stewing in its own juices! After 64 years of strength-building we still just go red in the face and let Hafeez Sayeeds go scot free and are again into chai-biskoot love-making.
So strength building, clarity of vision, wisdom, etc. looks all good on posters, but need not translate into solutions.
So if don't can't crush our real enemy after all this time, what makes us think, that our "clarity of vision" and "wisdom" would really put us on dry land in the case of Somalis, where our motivations should be much less.
KLNMurthy wrote:I believe that his can be easily done well within your 15-20 year timeframe without ever becoming pakis ourselves, so I would want to see an explanation why we have to become pakis for the same or worse (longer time, more risks) result.
Americans are already in Afghanistan for ten years now, and nothing is solved.
It is your desire to call the proposal as "becoming paki", not mine. As far as I am concerned it is a proposal which lays out a logical path how it can work.
In the proposal there is no element of "hope" as part of strategy! I've tried to explain why every step is possible, what kind of dynamic would ensure that the situation bows to our plans.
Occam-compliant proposal on the other hand is based on simply more patrols, "clarity of vision", "wisdom", "strength-building". Honestly speaking, I see such a strategy based only on "Hope"! And it still doesn't answer how it will mitigate the disadvantages.
Whom are we going to send to the families of those Indian sailors who were taken hostage by Somali pirates and are killed because of Indian operations against the Somalis? That would not disturb one's "core ideology" and "Indic values" and all that, would it? The main thing is of course to call something paki and then feel proud of being less-paki by not doing it. If the families of the sailors wail, well who cares!
Perhaps you would like to read
what B. Raman has written about the prospects of finding a solution to the Somali piracy!
May be we can get control over the Somali pakis by working together with the Real Pakis! For otherwise prospects are grim.