Cultural Protectionism - Global & Indian Trends

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Cultural Protectionism - Global & Indian Trends

JE Menon wrote:My point is different, i.e. that (a) proselytization has been recognised as a problem within the Christian faith (only when it is among their sects); (b) that proselytization is inherently disruptive of the connection between the individual and the native culture; and (c) if proselytization can be considered verboten among sects of the church, why is it not so where other faiths are concerned?
This is how I see it.

Proselytization is a branch of war, to collect as many soldiers as possible. If two sects of Christianity agree, that the other sect too is a Christian sect, and both are in fact serving the same Lord, then there can be a ceasefire in poaching in the other's flock of soldiers. Proselytization is considered unhealthy because the poaching business increases the tensions between the two sects, and the downsides of these tensions between brotherly sects is much more than winning any new soldiers from the other sect, which may not even happen as both sects convert around the same number of people to their sect. So the tension is useless.
  1. The one sought out to be converted is already a Christian, and as such may not need proselytization
  2. There is no substantial net win for any side.
  3. Only tensions are increased among brotherly sects.
For the sake of peace among brothers, proselytization movement is frozen.

But the others are not brotherly sects. Hinduism and Christianity are not brotherly faiths. So there the war is in full swing.

It is not a question of whether the Church sees the evils of proselytization or not but rather the Church sees the advantages of a peace agreement between the two sects as over-weighing other considerations.

When Christian leaders consider Vande Mataram and Bharat Mata as symbol of RSS...
When French President Sarkozy raise the issue with Indian PM in supportive of killers of Swami Lakshmanananda of Orissa (an internal affair)...
When Christian leaders in NE/Nagaland want a separate state based on religion...
When European nations support LTTE in the name of religion in the neighbourhood...
When one's own cultural signs are purloined as Christian's signs, like Yoga, and the converts don't know their own history.

(I don't have to provide examples for another major religion engaging in Proselytization)

we can comfortably and assuredly agree that without need for any political correctness...Proselytization is a threat to culture as well as nation.

Kanson wrote:we can comfortably and assuredly agree that without need for any political correctness...Proselytization is a threat to culture as well as nation.
Political Correctness to some extent is needed because BRF has long tried to keep up its image as Forum for all Indians irrespective of religion.

I don't want this thread to end up in a religious 'tu-tu main-main'.

So I would continue to consider 'Protection of Indigenous Cultures' as the main issue here, where Proselytization is a major threat, if and only if it tries to destroy native culture. Even if it is true in 100% of the cases in reality, I want to keep the Conditional.

I also want to allow some scope for Dharmic Proselytization, and not disparage the phenomenon of Proselytization itself, as that would take away my liberty to consider Dharmic Proselytization as something acceptable.
Manny

Post by Manny »

Yes..there are some very basic cultural core values in India that are being threatened by foreign and hostile cultures and values.

It is the Hindu/Indian culture of pluralism and Dharmic culture. God is one, call him Jesus, Allah or Bagawan. This fundamental core value that is taught to most children in India is now being replaced with the help of the leftists in India the "My god and religion" is the only true one. Such supremacist ideology and value is un Indian. It needs to be treated with extreme prejudice and exposed for what it is. It is a hate culture. A supremacist culture and has no place in India.

Every citizen has a civic duty to eradicate this vile poison of a culture from India like your life and your families future depends on it....it really does..

This is very similar to the un American culture and values in the US threatening the core values of liberty. Liberty and freedom is the core cultural values of the US. Communism and the far leftist values are un American and has no place in the US either.

RajeshA,

Boss, either I'm not clear in what I'm saying or you are not seeing it. Note:

>>It is not a question of whether the Church sees the evils of proselytization or not but rather the Church sees the advantages of a peace agreement between the two sects as over-weighing other considerations.

That's not my point at all. I'm saying it is precisely that the church does see the evil of proselytization (see the parts I bolded), which is why it (was obliged to) set it aside in the case of other Christian sects, but it chooses not to do so in the case of other faith systems. Therefore, there is no margin for us in saying proselytization in any form is not a threat.

JE Menon saar,

Let me give another try :)

The Church sees proselytization as its DUTY and NOT AS AN EVIL. The Church decided to waive its obligation to proselytize for the higher objective of preserving peace among the two Christian sects.

As the proselytization that the Church carries out inadvertently also demands of the native to distance itself from his roots, makes the proselytization of the Church "evil"!

Perhaps if the Hindu practices proselytization on some animist tribals, it may not be evil, because we may accept all the existing customs of the tribal. We will just be putting his current beliefs in a different framework!

As such, I am not prepared to consider proselytization wholesale as evil. It depends on the demands made on the convert.

I hope I could explain my viewpoint!

>>The Church sees Proselytization as its Duty and NOT AS AN EVIL.

I am saying that it recognises it as something harmful (evil is too strong a word), which was demonstrated by the the Balamand Declaration), yet it chooses to continue to inflict this harm on other faiths as its duty. But the Church can no longer make the case that (a) proselytization is not harmful, and (b) that because the gospels say so, it must proselytize. A useful precedent, for other faiths which faces the proselytization activities of the church, was set by the Balamand declaration.

>>Perhaps if the Hindu practices proselytization on some animist tribals, it may not be evil, because we may accept all the existing customs of the tribal. We will just be putting his current beliefs in a different framework! As such, I am not prepared to consider proselytization wholesale as evil. It depends on the demands made on the convert.

It seems what you are saying is that proselytization must not be labelled as a threat because Hindus might resort to it at some point. I would have to disagree. Firstly I am not clear what you mean by "animist"... My parents, especially my mom, reveres the tulsi tree in our front yard, and does an occasional puja in the general direction of the little snake temple in my grand mother's home grounds. That would make them, and me for I see nothing not Hindu about it, animists. (But that is a side issue). I would say that the moment someone who believes in absolute and exclusive faith systems agree that other faiths may have their validity too, and that those faiths too must be respected and cherished, the problem, as it were, would be solved.

when SD finally catches up and finds its own ways to proselytize on mass scale, our response will be that we are doing what you've done all along. that doesn't mean the evil effects of proselytizing shouldn't be advertised now.

Proselytization deserves to be defined and decried publicly as evil equals to genocide. The tool and method is different but end result is same .

It might help to examine the protocols of conversion. That is the mechanism of negation of the nativist culture, how the ground is prepared for Christian primitivism (fundamentalism is an incorrect terminology).

What sweet dreams of heaven and Christian lands are dreamt together, when are sin and fear introduced and when indeed does the devil make his appearance. Everlasting perdition must make an impact on the gullible and stupid.

Manny wrote
Yes..there are some very basic cultural core values in India that are being threatened by foreign and hostile cultures and values.

It is the Hindu/Indian culture of pluralism and Dharmic culture. God is one, call him Jesus, Allah or Bagawan. This fundamental core value that is taught to most children in India is now being replaced with the help of the leftists in India the "My god and religion" is the only true one. Such supremacist ideology and value is un Indian. It needs to be treated with extreme prejudice and exposed for what it is. It is a hate culture. A supremacist culture and has no place in India.
One of our major problems in dealing with these threats is a superficial understanding and representation of foreign ideologies. Time and again India tries in a supremely smug and self-reliant way of interpreting foreign "ideological claims" in linguistic metaphors of its own - and thinks that it has tucked away the foreign ideology into neat comfortable boxes.

From this superficial equal-equal - starting with equating Jesus, Allah and Bhagwan [sorry, there are too many points of difference as the respective followers construct them], comes an accumulation of errors of judgment. The excuse of not knowing is acceptable at the beginning of interaction, but is inexcusable after millenia or centuries.

Every ideology has its own value systems. Trying to force equal equals often leads us into impossible corners which can only be cut by accepting foreign claims that do not recognize our values. Protesting or contesting imposition of such foreign claims on ourselves, or on sections of our own people - can then be dubbed as "supremacist" and "un-Indian" because we are refusing to accept the values propounded by ideologies of "supreme beings" we already accept as == to those accepted by most among ourselves.
Every citizen has a civic duty to eradicate this vile poison of a culture from India like your life and your families future depends on it....it really does..
Oh, yes those seeking cultural replacement of India would jump in joy about this - they would most readily agree.
This is very similar to the un American culture and values in the US threatening the core values of liberty. Liberty and freedom is the core cultural values of the US. Communism and the far leftist values are un American and has no place in the US either.
Sorry, was liberty and freedom not contextual for the Americans? it did not extend to non-whites, and within "whites" there would be a "inner-white" and an "outer-white" differential! Do you hear of British-Americans, or German-Americans, or Swedish or French or Norwegian Americans, but you hear of Irish-American, Italian-American, Hispanic-American, Russian-American. Even communism and far-Left talk of "liberty" and "freedom" - liberty and freedom from the "slavery" of "capital", from "feudal" serfdom, from state repression by "bourgeoisie" etc!
Manny

Post by Manny »

You are going by the flawed implementation of the democratic and libertarian values of the republic. True, the US was very very flawed in living up to its ideals..but here I am talking about the Ideals and values of the US. Its like a Budget vs Actual in financial statements. There was a large variance 200 years ago...but it has been less and less as time goes on, the US is living up to its values and ideals and it would continue to improve.

While Indian Dharmic values and its implementation, its diverging dangerously. The Leftists have given legitimacy and and rabid political support to the "religious supremacists" of the evangelicals and to a lesser extent to the Islamists.
Last edited by Manny on 27 Aug 2011 01:00, edited 1 time in total.

"Proselytization" and "protection of native cultures" are actually two separate issues. Neither of them are absolute and unchallengeable issues.

Human civilization is about the continuous production of new ideas - which almost in a genetic natural selection process, get filtered out and only some which appear to enhance human capabilities and understanding of what they had experienced so far - at that time point and place and particular society - would get highlighted and popularize. Even this might differ between subgroups of that society. Thus "prosleytization" at one level is the spread of new candidate ideas - which may or may not be appropriate for all societies, all places or for all times.

Competition of ideas in a market of ideas - is actually good for society and civilizational health. We - Indians - had it as pre-Islamic Hindus, as far as textual indication goes. But it reached a sophistication and complexity perhaps not maintainable without supremely powerful rashtra to protect that complexity. In fact such sophistication can perhaps be maintained only by almost imperial domination of a large hinterland or bufferland to protect a core region where such experiments with ideas can be safely allowed.

Because we failed in a rashtryia sense, we retreated as a civilization, and while most energies went into mere physical defense, much less could be spared on ideas market. One casualty - as is typical in such cases - is a condemnation of the older liberal-complex ideas market as the one to be blamed for the retreat. The core would paranoidly clutch at literal and what it thinks as pure/unadulterated origin doctrine.

On the other hand facing a market of ideas where - monopolies and cartels are being developed almost in a mafia or imperialist style - [as of Islamic and Christian proselytization as an imperialist project of imposing ideas by force of the state coercion], there would be equation of "proselytization" with imperialism and culture destruction.

The problem is not a competitive market of ideas - but where competition is not free, and state help is used to protect special categories, almost like protectionism and crony-capitalism in ideas terms. Hindu attempt at placing their ideas for adoption [for "buying" in return for the currency of "allegiance"] before Muslim or Christian audiences are to be met with violent reactions - which in turn can be used by a sympathetic rashtra to claim "potential law and order deterioration" to shut it all down. Or special benefits are kept hanging as potential if there is one way traffic into Islam or Christianity - but not in the reverse direction.

Such benefits amount to giving "subsidies" in the "ideas market" to certain products, applying penalizing tariff and taxation on other products and recognizing the special rights of corresponding products sellers with captive niche markets to whom only these cartels and corporations can sell. That selective rashtryia protection is what is the essential problem.
Last edited by brihaspati on 27 Aug 2011 01:02, edited 1 time in total.

Manny wrote:You are going by the flawed implementation of the democratic and libertarian values of the republic. True, the US was very very flawed in its ideals..but here I am talking about the Ideals and values of the US. Its like a Budget vs Actual in financial statements. There was a large variance 200 years ago...but it has been less and less as time goes on, the US is living up to its values and ideals and it would continue to improve.

While Indian Dharmic values and its implementation, its diverging dangerously. The Leftists have given legitimacy and and rabid political support to the "religious supremacists" of the evangelicals and to a lesser extent to the Islamists.
They might have been democratic and libertarian - but they were not universal. The very fact the universalization needed constant struggle - which continues even now - shows that implementation did not really deviate. It went only so far as the limits of those "values" were recognized as applicable.

There is a huge confusion about what are exactly "Indian Dharmic values". When there is confusion, there would be variance. We can start with the clearing away the confusion of making equal equals between various religions and iconic supremes of respective faiths. But this is OT here really.

Threat to culture - comes not only from outside, but also from internal vagueness and lack of clarity.

brihaspati wrote:Such benefits amount to giving "subsidies" in the "ideas market" to certain products, applying penalizing tariff and taxation on other products and recognizing the special rights of corresponding products sellers with captive niche markets to whom only these cartels and corporations can sell. That selective rashtryia protection is what is the essential problem.
It is time that Rashtra takes away the element of subsidy from the equation, especially subsidy from outside India. Within India it is an internal market of ideas as far as spirituality and religion is concerned. Rashtra needs to enact a 'Law for Restricting of Foreign Funding for Religious Purposes in India'.

If a country can try to protect itself against 'dumping', then why not against foreign funding of religious groups?!
Manny

Post by Manny »

I don't understand about how much muddled and what needs clarity to the concept of pluralism. That each one is entitled to their deity and beliefs provided one does not infringe on others rights or exert dominion over others by accusing others that their faith and deity are false. And no, just because it is part and parcel of ones religious doctrine does make it allowable in the civic sense... since allowing that based on religious beliefs would mean that a religion that dictates that Kafirs should be killed would have legitimacy on religious grounds.

What is particularly offensive and not religious is the political organization like the Vatican and organizations (Southern Baptist convention, World Vision, Campus crusades etc) that have budgets larger than many countries using those monies to culturally cleanse nations. This is not very different than communism trying to spread to other nations by sending communist spies and funding anti national movements all over the world. That is nothing short of declaring religious war on non christians. It's practically a declaration of religious war.

This is their war cry...their war anthem!

Onward, Christian soldiers, marching as to war,
with the cross of Jesus going on before.
Christ, the royal Master, leads against the foe;
forward into battle see his banners go!

Like a mighty army moves the church of God;
brothers, we are treading where the saints have trod.
We are not divided, all one body we,
one in hope and doctrine, one in charity.
(Refrain)

4. Crowns and thrones may perish, kingdoms rise and wane,
but the church of Jesus constant will remain.
Gates of hell can never gainst that church prevail;
we have Christ's own promise, and that cannot fail.
(Refrain)

Manny wrote:I don't understand about how much muddled and what needs clarity to the concept of pluralism. That each one is entitled to their deity and beliefs provided one does not infringe on others rights or exert dominion over others by accusing others that their faith and deity are false. And no, just because it is part and parcel of ones religious doctrine does make it allowable in the civic sense... since allowing that based on religious beliefs would mean that a religion that dictates that Kafirs should be killed would have legitimacy on religious grounds.
To start with - how about clearing away the confusion that these "other" equal "religions" and "deities" do not endorse the methods you are complaining about? In fact I was trying to point out that the value-systems [a value of the islamic/Christian is "conversion" - a convert not only must be "converted" in heart, but also "seen publicly to have converted" and shout out the fact that he/she is now the "other" from his/her origins] of other faiths need not be acceptable to our values.My objection to doing == was exactly on this point. If you equate, how can you deny their value claims?
What is particularly offensive and not religious is the political organization like the Vatican and organizations (Southern Baptist convention, World Vision, Campus crusades etc) that have budgets larger than many countries using those monies to culturally cleanse nations. This is not very different than communism trying to spread to other nations by sending communist spied and funding anti notational movements all over the world.
Here is the classic Indian misconception : you subconsciously have a definition of what religion is - as per Dharmic/Indian way. Hence these features of Christian denominations appear to you as irreligious. Take them as part of what they understand as their religion to be. Or if you want to call it anything else. Please note that what you understand linguistically as a word/phrase - need not carry the same understanding for who use the word actually.

The budgets issue is what I already mentioned as special subsidies to specific "ideas corporates" on the "ideas markets".

brihaspati wrote:Such benefits amount to giving "subsidies" in the "ideas market" to certain products, applying penalizing tariff and taxation on other products and recognizing the special rights of corresponding products sellers with captive niche markets to whom only these cartels and corporations can sell. That selective rashtryia protection is what is the essential problem.
It is time that Rashtra takes away the element of subsidy from the equation, especially subsidy from outside India. Within India it is an internal market of ideas as far as spirituality and religion is concerned. Rashtra needs to enact a 'Law for Restricting of Foreign Funding for Religious Purposes in India'.

If a country can try to protect itself against 'dumping', then why not against foreign funding of religious groups?!
The problem starts with that == hypothesis. When do we subsidize a product? When we feel that the product itself may not survive on the market on its own saleability, or the producers of these products must be protected on the market, or that we think that this product is actually good for consumers.

In all the three possible reasons, the underlying assumption is that this subsidized product and its producers are equal in latent "value" to other products on the market.

If the rashtra or the controller of the "ideas market" is doing this "equation" - it obviously has reached the conclusion that the exclusive proselytizing faiths which also seek a replacement of other cultures as demoniacal/degraded/valueless, are either better "products" or at least "equal" products compared to those they seek to replace.

Again just as in a market, the controllers themselves might be looking at profits fro themselves. So there could be larger connections iwth "global" financial/political/esteem/ideas markets which determine the sense of profits in this "national market" controllers. Or they could be getting a dus-percenti of profits made in the protected/subsidized markets. All the analogies in economic markets will hold here too.

RajeshA ji,
one of the ideas from the "market" analogy is exploring ideas of anti-Trust laws. Enforcing that independent units must be formed as size increases. Kind of preventing mohalla shop from being swallowed up into a retail chain. or any chain formation attempt busted by law.

brihaspati wrote:
RajeshA wrote:It is time that Rashtra takes away the element of subsidy from the equation, especially subsidy from outside India. Within India it is an internal market of ideas as far as spirituality and religion is concerned. Rashtra needs to enact a 'Law for Restricting of Foreign Funding for Religious Purposes in India'.

The problem starts with that == hypothesis. When do we subsidize a product? When we feel that the product itself may not survive on the market on its own saleability, or the producers of these products must be protected on the market, or that we think that this product is actually good for consumers.

In all the three possible reasons, the underlying assumption is that this subsidized product and its producers are equal in latent "value" to other products on the market.

If the rashtra or the controller of the "ideas market" is doing this "equation" - it obviously has reached the conclusion that the exclusive proselytizing faiths which also seek a replacement of other cultures as demoniacal/degraded/valueless, are either better "products" or at least "equal" products compared to those they seek to replace.

Again just as in a market, the controllers themselves might be looking at profits fro themselves. So there could be larger connections iwth "global" financial/political/esteem/ideas markets which determine the sense of profits in this "national market" controllers. Or they could be getting a dus-percenti of profits made in the protected/subsidized markets. All the analogies in economic markets will hold here too.
It can prove somewhat disorienting if one tries to map "marketplace of devotional ideas" with "marketplace of products"!

"Devotional Ideas" in general have a very different nature than products.

Instead of cost of production, perhaps one needs to talk about the cost of enticement. If the human being was just an intellectual machine accepting and rejecting ideas based on their merit, one could speak of a "marketplace of ideas"! However human is far from being simply an intellectual machine, he is a whole system which evaluates acceptability of something based on his physical, social, monetary, professional and other needs as well.

As such the whole process of acceptability of an idea, becomes subjugated to other considerations.

The best one can do is to try to minimize the enticement that is directed at the non-intellectual and non-emotional needs.

It is in fact the "marketplace of products" that corrupts the "marketplace of ideas". As the individual lives in both marketplaces at the same time, it is difficult to shut out the "marketplace of products" from the "marketplace of ideas". This intertwining of marketplaces however make the isolation of the two marketplaces difficult, and one has difficulty at restricting the enticement, that is directed at the non-intellectual and non-emotional needs.

The cost of total provision
- the value provided by the idea itself in convincing the individual in terms of intellectual and emotional value
- the cost of personal enticement
- the cost of general marketing of the idea
- the cost of personal marketing of the idea, i.e. the effort in terms of time and human resources for "convincing" a particular individual, where the quality and standing of the salesman can be decisive and also be considered a cost,
- depends on the rootedness of the individual in his tradition and community
- depends on the intellectual and emotional volatility of his current state

Also one should be aware of what the price is, that an individual pays for the "devotional idea", what the "devotional ideology" gains in return. The individual's Identity ("soul") is at stake here. As such his identity becomes the decisive element, in determining in which "devotional idea's" service he invests
- his time,
- his energy,
- contribution from his income, and
- his influence in society.
Thus the conversion turns an individual into another productive element of the "ideological machinery".

The "marketplace of devotional ideas" is marked with an extreme sense of competition, or at least some ideologies sees it that way. It is just as defined by competition between ideologies as it is by the concept of a shop in which the individual picks and chooses products after having a hard look at them.

The Dharmic ideologies have not really understood this competition. They are still thinking it is a "marketplace of devotional ideas" where these can flow freely. The "Anti-Conversion Laws" may be an attempt to play the game, but it is a defensive and reactionary tactic, and in some ways it is even defeatist, because it shows fear rather than confidence. It gives the impression that the fear is of proselytization, whereas the effort should be directed more towards the unfair skewing of the marketplace of devotional ideas through unfair tactics.

When I speak of "dumping", I mean that the cost of provision - i.e. cost of personal enticement and cost of general marketing, are being borne by "ideological machines" located outside India, thus bringing down the cost of provision, that is expended locally for propagation of these "devotional ideas".

That is why I proposed the law to ban foreign donations to religious groups in India - to stop this "dumping".

RajeshA ji,
I have not discounted the effect and overlap with the market of material products. Problem is that if you think of the details of the exchange in the market of ideas, a substantial part of the initial exchange is on non-material terms.

What exactly is the neophyte or neo-convert "paying" to buy the idea of the new proselytizer? Not in material terms - as in most cases - now. The payment primarily are psychological aspects of social trauma at disconnecting or alienating pre-existing social networks. In return, usually, the "product" comes packaged with "promises" and not necessarily instantaneous delivery - of both material as well as non-material gains - such as esteem, political power.

The complex ways in which esteem comes into equation should make it clear as to the real immaterial nature of the transaction in the first place, where the material part only seals the transaction, - a kind of gift exchange. Thus the neo-converts still maintain previously claimed social hierarchical distinctions - even after the official faiths deny any such hierarchical aspects within their "liberating" theology. The huge issue about still being "Dalits" or "brahmins" etc, even after converting into Islam or Christianity would not have been there - if it was all about material products.

I agree that disrupting the "gift" exchange part - should make the initial transactions even more difficult. Problem is that they will claim such funds-flow and "gifts" is part of their "care" or "dawa" - and hence an integral part of their faith. Which means if you accept their faith in totality as "acceptable" and valid, you cannot deny then these parts. Hence my pointer towards not making ==.

Originally posted by chackojoseph

Published on May 9, 2011
By Shafi Rahman
Freelancers of God: India Today
Even as Hindutva groups raise concerns over Rs 10,000 crore in foreign contributions coming into India every year from abroad, mostly for missionary activities, independent churches are turning out to be the biggest beneficiaries of the funds.
The growth of independent churches is also attributed to foreign contributions that reach individuals through the church planting network. GFA has donated Rs 596 crore to various church planting movements in India. Mission India, one of the leading evangelical movements based in the US, seeks donations from US citizens for the church planting programme in India.
Just thought the article needed to be posted here more prominently.

We should recognize, that only the most ideologically vulnerable - given material conditions equal - will agree to even toy with the idea of changing social/religious/faith identity. This is why conversions traditionally came more from the extremes of society rather than from the middle.

Both the top - materially, educationally, and the "bottom" on same terms - provided more converts. The top is saturated with multiple competing ideologies to choose between, plenty of == bombardment, and often the educational process not encouraging original, independent skeptical logical analysis. They have seen it all, done it all, so they think. A vast boredom and ennui and meaninglessness of life. A simpler - confident, bold - and crucially something "novel" - would hold promise to them. They have nothing more to look forward to in their pre-existing social existence.

The bottom, again have nothing much to lose anyway. Both are ready to undertake new "journeys".

In both, their preexisting bonds with material and immaterial culture has weakened. Those most weakened in their connections, are going to be ready or considering "conversions" as an option. There are many sections, living in abject "poverty" by standard economic or urban views of assessment- who never even consider "converting". For that matter, most Muslims, and many Christians I know of in GV, live in abject "poverty" too. But they do not think of converting "out" of their current faiths. Their social networks bind them strongly - culturally, as well as materially. There is no denying that immaterial inputs do play a strong role while I am not denying the buttressing role of material inputs.

Do we hold hands that strongly? No, we would be keen to know what region, what language, what ghar, what gotra, what gaon, what sublineage the person is coming from. How should that d*** thing matter? When I first joined, some here were so keen to establish which province, language, region I "belonged" to. It has been a cat-and-mouse game since then. I was deliberately evasive. Because I know from my extensive cross-subnetwork interactions over a wide region of India - how people stereotype based on claimed or ascribed sub-identities - and how "acceptance" will be subtly differentiated, people are essentially "shut out". If the majority community wants to tackle the threat of proselytization, it must think of all "H****" as brothers and sisters, and that alone should take priority over all other subidentities. It needs accommodation of each others different traditional and local rituals and practices - neither thinking that tolerating a slightly different practice or getting in touch with such a practice will destroy our fourteen ancestors, nor should my hosts think that their fourteen ancestors will get destroyed because of some immense "blunders" I make in my rituals while in their presence or they participate in such blunders. As for distinctions that are humiliating or denigrating to any fellow community member- throw them away, and do remember to hold hands irrespective of their origins. That would be a great way of inoculating against predatory and propagandist prosleytization.

The primary interest here is to establish the benefits of dharma over the proselytising faiths. This is not evident at all and will not be until Indian economy is a behemoth. Just as Japanese are never considered heathens. Their gods save their wrath for the poor, all pick their enemies carefully-gods being no exception.

I am more concerned with the violence to human rights and dignity that a protocol for thought control and socio-political fealty does.

I have never decried Pakis f(king their donkeys, only whether the donkey has consented.

brihaspati wrote:I agree that disrupting the "gift" exchange part - should make the initial transactions even more difficult. Problem is that they will claim such funds-flow and "gifts" is part of their "care" or "dawa" - and hence an integral part of their faith. Which means if you accept their faith in totality as "acceptable" and valid, you cannot deny then these parts. Hence my pointer towards not making ==.
brihaspati garu,

We have to say as it is: The main advantage the Dharmics enjoy over the Abrahamics is that our belief system is native, indigenous to India. Most of our holiest places are in India. The seats of spiritual guidance of Dharmics are in India. In the real world that is what gives us the edge, and that is the most apparent difference one can see between us and the others, say from an objective reference point.

The objective reference point, which we have to lean upon when we make our laws based on values and fairness, would take cognizance of that. It would not go into the internal make up of various faith systems and comment on such. It is "sarva dharma sambhava"!

So the primary difference is the majority, origin, rootedness of the Dharmics in India. And we should use that difference to our advantage - we should use our majority effectively. It allows us to define which other "universal values" need to observed in our Constitution, and what criteria we should use to evaluate the candidate faiths, even if all are to be allowed, accepting the principle of a "common marketplace of ideas" including religious ideas, accepting the principle of religious freedom. Being the majority, we can dictate which criteria to use to constrain that freedom, the constraints themselves being justified on "universal values"!

Liberal Constitutionality does not allow us to differentiate between the various religions, but we can use laws based on values and criteria to cripple the predatory nature of proselytizeing Abrahamic religions. We chain the predators not based on their set of beliefs, but rather on forcing them to behave externally according to our values, which we choose with care so to de-facto make them completely hamstrung.

Summary: We are the majority and we should dictate!

Let's consider two suggestions for laws:

"Law for Protection of Indigenous Culture" is one universal value which we can espouse. It allows the State to prescribe exactly what constitutes indigenous culture is some area. That would make it a legal punishment should some preacher or religious group, which tries to talk the locals into getting rid of such customs. Some preacher which tells the converts not to show due respect to the "mythology" of the land, would also show up as a violation of the law. One could shut down his operations, his church or mosque. Such a law would constrain what a preacher can preach.

"Law of Restricting Foreign Funding to Religious Groups" can stop all the foreign funding to religious groups from outside, in fact crippling the whole proselytization exercise. As I mentioned in my earlier post, foreign aid can continue to pour in into India for humanitarian and environmental causes, but religious groups will not be able to avail of such aid. Nobody is stopping religious groups in India from undertaking "care" and "dawa". They can do that as long as they collect their funds for the purpose in India. Their "religious duty" of care and dawa is not being proscribed at all. The universal value which is at work here is that it allows "foreign entities to fund a reengineering of India's cultural ecosystem, disrupting its natural evolution and skewing the marketplace of ideas by introducing material enticement into the equation". Something as sensitive as religion cannot be allowed to be made a playing field for foreign entities.

JE Menon wrote:
RajeshA wrote:Perhaps if the Hindu practices proselytization on some animist tribals, it may not be evil, because we may accept all the existing customs of the tribal. We will just be putting his current beliefs in a different framework! As such, I am not prepared to consider proselytization wholesale as evil. It depends on the demands made on the convert.
It seems what you are saying is that proselytization must not be labelled as a threat because Hindus might resort to it at some point. I would have to disagree. Firstly I am not clear what you mean by "animist"... My parents, especially my mom, reveres the tulsi tree in our front yard, and does an occasional puja in the general direction of the little snake temple in my grand mother's home grounds. That would make them, and me for I see nothing not Hindu about it, animists. (But that is a side issue). I would say that the moment someone who believes in absolute and exclusive faith systems agree that other faiths may have their validity too, and that those faiths too must be respected and cherished, the problem, as it were, would be solved.
JE Menon saar,

perhaps to make my point clearer, I'd suggest a scenario where some African tribe with some non-Abrahamic belief system opts for Sanatan Dharma. Some Sanatan Dharmic may help bringing them the philosophy of Dharma. One could call it proselytization too.

Suggest you read in full, there's more than just what is quoted here :)

Why Is the Military Spending Millions on Christian Contractors Bent on Evangelizing US Soldiers?
Why do Christian contractors play such a prominent role in our military?

August 21, 2011 |

When the average American thinks of military spending on religion, they probably think only of the money spent on chaplains and chapels. And, yes, the Department of Defense (DoD) does spend a hell of a lot of money on these basic religious accommodations to provide our troops with the opportunity to exercise their religion while serving our country. But that's just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the DoD's funding of religion. Also paid for with taxpayer dollars are a plethora of events, programs, and schemes that violate not only the Constitution, but, in many cases, the regulations on federal government contractors, specifically the regulation prohibiting federal government contractors receiving over $10,000 in contracts a year from discriminating based on religion in their hiring practices.

About a year ago, the Military Religious Freedom Foundation (MRFF) began an investigation into just how much money the DoD spends on promoting religion to military personnel and their families. What prompted this interest in DoD spending on religion was finding out what the DoD was spending on certain individual events and programs, such as the $125 million spent on the Army's Comprehensive Soldier Fitness program and its controversial "Spiritual Fitness" test, a mandatory test that must be taken by all soldiers. The Army insists that this test is not religious, but the countless complaints from soldiers who have failed this "fitness" test tell a different story. The experience of one group of soldiers who weren't "spiritual" enough for the Army can be read here. But the term "Spiritual Fitness is not limited to this one test. The military began using this term to describe a variety of initiatives and events towards the end of 2006, and this `code phrase' for promoting religion was heavily in use by all branches of the military by 2007.

Although it was clear from the start of MRFF's investigation that determining the total dollar figure for the DoD's rampant promotion of religion (which is always evangelical and/or fundamentalist Christianity) would be next to impossible, as this would require FOIA requests to every one of over 700 military installations to find out how much each is spending out of various funds at the installation level, one thing we could look at was DoD contracts, so that's where we started. What we've found so far is astounding.

Even though this is still an ongoing project, and we'll certainly be finding much more, I thought that given all the current brouhaha over what should be cut from the federal budget, people might be interested to see some of examples of how the DoD is spending countless millions of taxpayer dollars every year to Christianize the military.

As mentioned above, what MRFF is looking at does not include chaplains or chapels -- not even the excessive spending on extravagant "chapels" like the $30,000,000 mega-church at Fort Hood, or the "Spiritual Fitness" centers being built on many military bases as part of what are called Resiliency Campuses. The examples below are all strictly from DoD contracts, with the funding coming out of the appropriations for things like "Operations and Maintenance" and, somehow, "Research and Development." (Summaries of all contracts referenced below are publicly available atusaspending.gov)

Evangelical Christian Concerts Under the Guise of "Spiritual Fitness"

One of the most direct expenditures of money on religious proselytizing, under the guise of "Spiritual Fitness" spending, is the funding of concerts with the top evangelical Christian performers. These concerts are most prevalent on Army posts, although they also occur on installations of other branches of the military. One concert series that stands out, both because soldiers were punished last year for not attending one of the concerts and because of the cost of hiring the musical acts, is the "Commanding Generals' Spiritual Fitness Concert Series" at Fort Eustis and Fort Lee in Virginia. This is not a chapel concert series, but a command sponsored "Spiritual Fitness" program, paid for with DoD contracts.

RajeshA wrote: I'd suggest a scenario where some African tribe with some non-Abrahamic belief system opts for Sanatan Dharma. Some Sanatan Dharmic may help bringing them the philosophy of Dharma. One could call it proselytization too.
Pls do clarify if I'm wrong. From my experience, I never seen anyone who converts to Hinduism was forced not to visit their previous religious sites or not to follow their customs, religious or not. This I say by observing few foreigners who converted to Hinduism while marrying their Indian bride and followed the Indian custom of marriage.

At the same time, I watched from close quarters how a Hindu who was converted to another Abrahamic religion and got issued a certificate for such conversion was asked not to visit Hindu temples and not to use Hindu symbols and not to celebrate festivals which are Hindu in nature.

So I couldn't understand your idea of equating both Abrahamic and Indian non Abrahamic belief system from the point of view of uprooting original culture via proselytization. Point I'm trying to make is, Indian system, at least to my understanding, never involved in the process of uprooting one's culture; never made anyone as Hindu by destroying their past. I go one step further to state that, becoz of such tolerance, we observe so much diversity in our country.

Kanson ji,

thanks for reiterating the point I am trying to make here.

I am trying to say, that there is per se nothing wrong with proselytization (as in your example of Hindu). It becomes abominable if and only if, it leads to or in fact encourages destruction of indigenous culture. But some have argued that 'proselytization' is unconditionally evil.

>>perhaps to make my point clearer, I'd suggest a scenario where some African tribe with some non-Abrahamic belief system opts for Sanatan Dharma. Some Sanatan Dharmic may help bringing them the philosophy of Dharma. One could call it proselytization too.

Boss, on this tenuous basis of the potential for some African tribe with some non-Abrahamic belief system opting for SD, you would say proselytization is not a threat? Please note that the threat of proselytization comes for both Hinduism and African tribes from the same sources, namely Islam and Christianity. There are no other faith systems which proselytize aggressively as of now.

Now tell me a Hindu group which proselytizes Muslims and Christians, and gets them to convert such that they reject their previous faiths and refers to SD as the exclusive path to salvation. OK, if you did manage to find one, name another two. As far as I know there are none who do this.

Now compare and contrast with the Islamists or those Christians who proselytize aggressively.

The posture that proselytization is "evil" is in my opinion wrong, and I've mentioned it before. That it is harmful to society, whoever does it, is a near absolute as far as I'm concerned - for the reasons mentioned in my earlier posts. There is no margin for Hinduism, whose proselytization activities are miniscule, to state and take the position that proselytization per se is not harmful - especially given that the recognition of its harmfulness is only beginning to dawn on the Christians.

JE Menon saar,

If you pronounce proselytization as "evil" per se, how are going to proselytize Subcontinental Muslims and Subcontinental Christians to accept some Dharmic path?

We are not. They are free to come to the conclusion on their own, or not.

All I personally would like to see is an acceptance among all that proselytization is harmful to society as a whole, and to stop it.

After that, let the most powerful idea prevail.

Again, please note this "evil" word is not something I agree with in this case and I've said it before, not sure why you are saying "you pronounce it evil" ...

Correction: "evil" == undesirable

JE Menon wrote:We are not. They are free to come to the conclusion on their own, or not.

After that, let the most powerful idea prevail.
I thought earlier that we were just having a communication problem, and as such I was finding it difficult to get across, but it seems we have a real difference of opinion!

I don't ascribe to the philosophy that apples will fall into our lap by themselves, hoping that gravity would do the trick. Islam and Christianity are crows busy picking those apples from the trees themselves, letting none to fall.

If Hindus are too lazy or too dumb to proselytize, then crying won't help when others do it. One needs to be pro-active in bringing the message of one's worldview to the others. This is a game of people's sense of identification. Those who win will rule.

Boss, what you are saying is you would rather play their game, proselytize, in which we have neither advantage nor much in the way of actual support.

I'm saying change the rules of the game. The time is right. Instead of playing by the same tired old rules, what India can offer is a different way of looking at the game. This is what we have been traditionally good at, persuading by the power of the idea and example. And the idea that all religions/faiths must be treated with the same degree of respect is a powerful one, especially in this reason/science driven world. Shift the paradigm is what I'm saying, and put yet another positive check mark on our civilisational account, rather than playing a game in which we neither set the objectives, nor the rules nor can choose the referee.

The apple analogy while attractive is not accurate. Apples can't change their minds, have doubt, use reason. And one they fall, they cannot get up and walk into another basket.

JE Menon saar,

there may have been a time, when Hindus used to think that primarily it is the responsibility of the individual himself to ensure his spiritual awakening. The Guru can only help those, who have the curiosity and motivation for spiritual upliftment. Spiritual Knowledge cannot be forced into other people. A worldview totally and diametrically different from the rote-learning madrassa education. So there was little proselytization from the Hindus.

However, since Christianity and Islam have been on the scene, the dynamics have changed, the rules of the game have changed. Faith has become less of a question of spiritual awakening than a question of identity politics. Your faith is now your identity. May be with the Hindus earlier, basing one's identity on one's faith was not needed because the various sects could live with each other, accepting the variations in world view between them.
JE Menon wrote:I'm saying change the rules of the game. The time is right. Instead of playing by the same tired old rules, what India can offer is a different way of looking at the game. This is what we have been traditionally good at, persuading by the power of the idea and example. And the idea that all religions/faiths must be treated with the same degree of respect is a powerful one, especially in this reason/science driven world.
What your are referring to were the old rules.

Earlier a shop could open somewhere in some by-lane, and the shopkeeper used to think, anybody who needs flour and soap would come over and buy. He does not need to go out and tell people to buy.

Now the paradigm has changed. It is about vigorous marketing of one's products. One wants to inform the consumer about the product, entice him to buy it, tell him where he can buy it, tell him that the product is the best in the world, so it is only this product he should buy.

And that is exactly what Proselytization is: vigorous marketing of one's faith.

One can put "proselytization" back into the tooth-paste tube, only as likely as one can put back the concept of marketing today. The competitive nature of the market would not allow you to ban advertising everywhere in every form. Should the human unlearn how to run, forcing the human only the luxury of walking?!

When we rant against the "exclusivist" nature of the Abrahamic faiths, we are in fact whining against the use of the marketing principle (albeit in an extreme way), "our product is the best money can buy"! This is only a marketing strategy to push through ideological identification. Faith itself has become secondary to "ideological identification", a tool whose usefulness is restricted to keeping the flock together in the bond of "ideological identity".

It is the proselytizers who are attuned to the new ways of the world - Marketing what one has! And they continue to grab market share! Hindus on the other hand, keep on whining the way the little shopkeeper in the bylane does not know what hit him and he protests about the changing world. The ways of the shopkeeper are dead. There is no going back.

Now the shopkeeper may have precious treasure to give away, but without similarly marketing his offerings, not many people are going to get interested, To our good fortune, not all Hindus have remained passive. Many are aggressive in promoting their schools of 'faith'!

What I have been saying is, that we force the Abrahamics to slash their marketing budgets by forbidding foreign funding of religious groups in India, across the board.
JE Menon wrote:The apple analogy while attractive is not accurate. Apples can't change their minds, have doubt, use reason. And one they fall, they cannot get up and walk into another basket.
The apples who have wings of freedom, are perhaps those in developed countries of the West, where the basic needs of the populace has been looked after, and they have time to devote to spirituality. With the economic setbacks, even that assumption may not be valid anymore.

How many apples are allowed to walk around in Islamic countries. Apostasy is a crime punishable by death in most Islamic countries. Even in India, apostasy can mean hard social consequences for the fallen believers.

Besides it may not even be that, that is stopping people from looking at Hinduism. I used the word "apples" because the concept of free will is a bit over-hyped. Free-Will has long been chained through the aggressive use of psychological tools of education, job market requirements, political chicanery, identity politics, media, wagerah, wagerah! Acharya garu can say a lot more on that. We are all ideological prisoners of the environment that has been created by the rich and the powerful.

This is not supposed to be whine. I am just saying that there is far less freedom of thought for humans to make their minds looking at the merits of the idea, bringing us all closer to becoming apples than we would assume.

I wrote a piece earlier on why "marketplace of ideas" cannot function properly.
RajeshA wrote:It can prove somewhat disorienting if one tries to map "marketplace of devotional ideas" with "marketplace of products"!

"Devotional Ideas" in general have a very different nature than products.

Instead of cost of production, perhaps one needs to talk about the cost of enticement. If the human being was just an intellectual machine accepting and rejecting ideas based on their merit, one could speak of a "marketplace of ideas"! However human is far from being simply an intellectual machine, he is a whole system which evaluates acceptability of something based on his physical, social, monetary, professional and other needs as well.

As such the whole process of acceptability of an idea, becomes subjugated to other considerations.

The best one can do is to try to minimize the enticement that is directed at the non-intellectual and non-emotional needs.

It is in fact the "marketplace of products" that corrupts the "marketplace of ideas". As the individual lives in both marketplaces at the same time, it is difficult to shut out the "marketplace of products" from the "marketplace of ideas". This intertwining of marketplaces however make the isolation of the two marketplaces difficult, and one has difficulty at restricting the enticement, that is directed at the non-intellectual and non-emotional needs.
JE Menon wrote:Shift the paradigm is what I'm saying, and put yet another positive check mark on our civilisational account, rather than playing a game in which we neither set the objectives, nor the rules nor can choose the referee.
The only thing we have going for Hindus in India is that we are still a majority.

Basing our confidence on our ability to show the richness of Dharmic thought, would be very premature. In the scheme of things it is only a minor advantage. At the most a Dharmic endowed with the depth of the wisdom in his philosophy can feel perhaps more satisfied in his faith and would not feel the impulse to convert. That makes it a defensive strategy. Considering the cultural attrition that has taken place in the Hindu society over the past several centuries, the rooting may not be strong anymore, and the richness of the Hindu thought may not even suffice as a defensive strategy.

As an offensive strategy it is a zero, without the paradigm of proselytization to support it. Either we proselytize or we will be proselytized.

It is not true that we have no control over objectives, rules or referees.

The objective is to have most people who identify themselves with the Dharmic thought and are averse to leaving it.

The rules can be redrawn. It is only important that the new rules are made using the appeal to universal values which can be justified using arguments of constitutionality, fairness and liberalism. "Law for Protection of Indigenous Culture", and "Law of Restricting Foreign Funding to Religious Groups" are two examples.

The referees can be appointed anew, for that depends on our power to do so. The more power Indics will have, the easier it will be to appoint referees. Getting control over Indian media is a first priority.
JE Menon wrote:Boss, what you are saying is you would rather play their game, proselytize, in which we have neither advantage nor much in the way of actual support.
It is either proselytize or die as a faith.

If the whole world was to become flooded, we will be forced to learn swimming. I am saying we not only learn swimming, we grow our own gills and fins.

>>It is either proselytize or die as a faith.

What you are saying is basically play the game of it is my way or the highway - it is either SD or eternal damnation. Might as well say Christ then no? If you are willing to change at that fundamental level, what's the difference? There is nothing new about this. It is the same old game played since Islam and Christianity both said they have the true god and the only way to heaven is through whichever of them you happen to be born into or choose to convert into.

>>And that is exactly what Proselytization is: vigorous marketing of one's faith. One can put "proselytization" back into the tooth-paste tube, only as likely as one can put back the concept of marketing today. The competitive nature of the market would not allow you to ban advertising everywhere in every form. Should the human unlearn how to run, forcing the human only the luxury of walking?!

And yet, that is precisely what the Balamand Declaration determines to do. Between Christians. Bit tricky now for anyone to say proselytization is an ironclad principle no? (Now, one might argue that these are "sister churches"... But why are they "sisters" if there is no difference. And if there is, which is the truer one?). That is my point.

>>It is the proselytizers who are attuned to the new ways of the world - Marketing what one has! And they continue to grab market share! Hindus on the other hand, keep on whining the way the little shopkeeper in the bylane does not know what hit him and he protests about the changing world. The ways of the shopkeeper are dead. There is no going back.

There is nothing new about what the proselytizers have been doing. It has been going on for more than 18 centuries. And a push-back based on changing to become like them is a loser's game. They have played that too, for over 15 centuries, and prevailed. A better way, IMO, is to change the rules of the game based on the science/reason realities on the ground. And it is a battle-ground on which, if you fight, without denominational identification, you will find a ripe field of "natural allies". Consider Africa - right now it is a major battleground of Islamic and Christian proselytizers, more often than not expanding their "flock" through financial incentives. Imagine now that Indian charitable organisations of all faiths go in there and do not demand that they change their belief systems, merely improve their living conditions, enable their education, and increase their competitive ability - out of the pure goodness of our hearts with no faith payback expected. In the medium to long term, you will have an undeclared natural ally here (at least in the religious sphere). The Chinese.

You are right about one thing though - right now we are mainly whining. But not only. Reason is a powerful ally, but it also means Indians will have to be reasonable ourselves, and abandon notions of outwardly "Indianising" anyone through a deliberate programme. These things happen slowly, they must not appear to present a major challenge in any way, and they must above all be positively oriented. See, for instance, this film by the government of India - carefully observe the tone and presentation (It could have been produced better and some of the language needs to be modified, but it is nevertheless an interesting approach). Some of you will be surprised.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D9w-xJfS ... re=related

>>The only thing we have going for Hindus in India is that we are still a majority.

I disagree. And if that's true, then what's the point of proselytization? Rather, we have the Sanatana Dharma. And as far as I know, it does not explicitly call anywhere for conversion of anybody to the subsequent exclusion of everything that the person previously believed in - unlike Islam and Christianity.

>>Basing our confidence on our ability to show the richness of Dharmic thought, would be very premature. In the scheme of things it is only a minor advantage.

On the contrary, where the world stands today, the ability to articulate the richness of Dharmic thought without asking anyone to swear fealty to it to the exclusion of everything else, is not a minor advantage. It is a major and attractive difference: imagine, you can stay with your own faith, in fact you are encouraged to do so - all you have to do is acknowledge that others have a right to their faith too. At least in the West, with the extent of literacy and knowledge that people have, it will increasingly begin to seem very hard for people to take any other position. In Europe, this is pretty much already the case. We need to have confidence in ourselves.

>>At the most a Dharmic endowed with the depth of the wisdom in his philosophy can feel perhaps more satisfied in his faith and would not feel the impulse to convert. That makes it a defensive strategy. Considering the cultural attrition that has taken place in the Hindu society over the past several centuries, the rooting may not be strong anymore, and the richness of the Hindu thought may not even suffice as a defensive strategy. As an offensive strategy it is a zero, without the paradigm of proselytization to support it. Either we proselytize or we will be proselytized.

Totally disagree. This is the most offensive strategy there is. When you have reason and logic on your side. But it is neither flashy nor confrontational, therefore much more in keeping with our ethos. It is far more subtle, and far harder to defend against - unless someone is prepared to use violence against us; and that avenue, for over a decade now, has been closed.

I've said all I have to say in this series of responses. Readers can come to their own conclusions I suppose. My last post on this subject.

JE Menon saar,

in Muslim countries, Hindu charities could help, and people will take that help, but they will not become Hindu-pasand or start converting.

Proselytization tries to determine the "identity politics" of the world. Identity is the one the strongest determinants for an individual's choice of values and loyalty, and in a world which is less than enlightened, identity is a factor which far outweighs "reason and logic". Basing one's outreach program towards the others simply on "reason and logic", fails to acknowledge mankind's primeval urges and drivers, and would succeed in denting the outreach target group only tangentially without ensuring an identity infusion, without which the value transfer does not become persistent.

Proselytization, aka "Identity stamping" is more of a "saving to disk operation" whereas "Unconditional Benign Interaction" is an image in the RAM memory. "Identity Stamping" is marriage while the latter is simply a bus-stop fling.

Just some thoughts! There need not be any response!

EJ's infiltrating US military at such a level is very interesting. how will this trend play out over next few decades? for one, will the EJ penetration have an influence on how long soldiers serve? is one of the goals of the EJ's to increase serving time by creating a strong "religious duty"? if so, then, a dedicated army with "religious" background is going to take shape. My take is that they are laying the ground for "internal cleansing", namely, to gradually establish a coercive politico-military regime which places Christianity as a top priority. and down the lane, this might even by the beginning of an "ethnic movement" to cleanse the "inferior people", keeping in mind the emerging dominance of American Southwest by Mexicans.