Modi 3.0 - Bharat

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Modi 3.0 - Bharat

CNBCTV18 report from two hours ago (8 AM IST July 1st):

As many as 21,690 IndiGo passengers have been affected. The airline has since accommodated 12,194 travellers on alternate flights, while cancelled and offered a refund to 9,431 passengers. 62 passengers are still awaiting resolution.

SpiceJet, while less affected, had to accommodate 250 passengers on other flights. 541 flyers have received refunds, while 134 passengers are awaiting refunds or cancellations.

A_Gupta wrote: 01 Jul 2024 09:38 Raise your questions in Parliament :)

> IIT-D has professors in structural engineering, who may or may not have practical experience in doing the kind of audits they have been asked
to to (which is rather difficult, when the structure has already collapsed and a lot of debris removed). There are specialist engineering
consultants who do that. Were they not considered ?

I don't think they're being asked to examine debris. They will likely be checking that regular maintenance practices were indeed followed. They may check the initial design for adequacy. (Remember in the August 2009 collapse, one of the reasons given, by the firm that designed the structure, was that it was not designed for such heavy winds as it encountered at that time. In which case, who gave/approved the requirements needs to be jumped upon.). Plus, whatever the other involved do are put on notice that whatever they put out in their report will have to pass an independent smell test.

Here is how it works :)
Authorities at the Srinagar International Airport began a structural safety audit of all buildings on its premises as a preventive measure days after a roof collapsed at Delhi’s Indira Gandhi Airport, killing one person and injuring eight others, officials told on Saturday.

The development follows an order by the Union Minister of Civil Aviation Ram Mohan Naidu Kinjarapu, that the airports across the country should conduct a “structural preliminary inspection” at the earliest.

Kinjarapu added his ministry had adopted “proactive measures” after the mishap at Delhi Airport’s Terminal 1 amid heavy rains.

Director Srinagar Airport, Javed Anjum, said that the airport authority had tied up with the National Institute of Technology (NIT) Srinagar to assist in a structural safety audit directed by the minister.

“We will do a detailed structural audit in consultation with the experts from NIT Srinagar and submit a report to the ministry as soon as possible,” he said.
Anjum claimed that the engineering team of the Srinagar airport did regular inspections of all the structures as a preventive measure, which were found intact and without fault.
According to him, the main buildings of the airport were constructed under the able guidance of experts from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Delhi and NIT Srinagar.

"Everything, including all the designs, was thoroughly checked and rectified by the experts before going ahead with the construction,” he said.
The director further said that the construction at Delhi Airport is done by a private agency, while the government runs the show at Srinagar Airport.
“In the government sector, we do the major and sensitive works under foolproof planning and execution. So, there is no chance of any mishap like what happened at Delhi Airport,” he said.

The Airports Authority of India (AAI) manages more than 100 airports in the country, including the one in Kozhikode. However, major airports like Delhi, Mumbai, Bengaluru, and Hyderabad are managed by private companies.
In all the IIT's and IIM's, the faculty is encouraged to take up consulting projects and this is encouraged on their website etc.
My points stands. Are they are the most competent agency to do so ? For e.g. NTSB investigates all transport related accidents in the US
and as a result, is a highly specialized agency (way more than a US University with 10 times the funding of IIT).
Space shuttles are obviously an exception, though there were probably a lot of NTSB inputs.
Similarly, roof or bridge collapses of importance are investigated by a specialist FBI team.

Once IIT gives their report, which agency is going to certify that the structure is now safe to operate ? I believe it is the DGCA
safety dept, in which case they should have all the necessary reports and sign off on designs before they are built.

Re: Srinagar, Jabalpur, Rajkot.
Here, we have a govt agency AAI being asked to investigate itself. In the case of Srinagar, is NIT Srinagar, or IIT-D, who have been cited in the
AAI report, going to be accountable if the roof collapses or leaks ? If they are not accountable, who will be ? I would have liked to see the
DCGA safety head (I've interacted with a former incumbent), give a statement on the procedures followed in all AAI airports.
Gauhati Airport's roof also collapsed in March.
Chennai's new terminal roof leaked in the first rains. So did Madurai.

Presumably AAI uses the same design in other airports like Rajkot and Jabalpur where the roof collapsed. Was IIT involved there too ? If not,
don't they have the same approved designs and consultants for all their airport projects ? If AAI has done its audits as it has for Srinagar,
we should have the results of the Jabalpur & Rajkot collapses in a week, without a new audit ? (has there been one announced, or is it
only for Delhi) ?
Last edited by Deans on 01 Jul 2024 13:39, edited 1 time in total.

The intent of my posts is not to argue, or nitpick on particular points. The larger point I have been making for some time is that frequent changes of ministers isn't healthy. In the last 5 years, in Civil Aviation, we had Suresh Prabhu, Hardeep Puri, Jyoti Scindia and now Naidu. Its too short a
tenure to know how civil aviation functions (Gen VK Singh as MoS MoCA, reporting to any of them, was I think insulting to the General).
A Gadkari or Ashwini Vaishnav in their ministries would have figured out who was responsible and taken corrective action quickly.

Delhi airport also had roof damage in 2009 in heavy rain. No accountability then.
Gauhati - roof collapse in Mar
Bangalore - (newly extended) roof leakage - May
Delhi - Roof collapse - June
Rajkot & Jabalpur - roof collapse June.
Lucknow (newly constructed terminal) - roof leakage.
Last edited by Deans on 01 Jul 2024 13:45, edited 1 time in total.

> I believe it is the DGCA safety dept, in which case they should have all the necessary reports and sign off on designs before they are built.

If you read the structural failure example that I provided above you would know that that is simply not adequate. Since writing is more popular than reading, I'll summarize that example here, perhaps not doing it full justice:

1. On 17th July 1981, the support for a hanging walkway in the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Kansas City Missouri failed, killing 114 people and injuring over 200 others.

2. The initial design was adequate, but difficult to implement, so the contractor made a change, unknowingly creating a single point of failure.

3. Among the human errors (copy and pasted here):

-- Both the project engineer and the senior design engineer on the project, each of whom had extensive background knowledge on the project, left the project. The knowledge gap of this magnitude allowed crucial details to slip through the cracks as-it-were

-- In transcribing the engineers sketch details into drawings, the draftsman left out the specifications on hanger rod yield strength and axial loads; details which were supposed to indicate to the fabricator that the connection still needed to be designed

-- During the project, the fabricator landed a larger contract and thus subcontracted the Hyatt Regency shop drawings to a third-party engineering firm. The new firm assumed the design of the connections for the walkways had been completed and proceeded include minor additions.

Can you rule out any similar mistake in the Delhi T1 terminal? Do you think examination of the debris will reveal these kinds of errors?

You want DGCA rules - here they are, all in black and white:
https://www.dgca.gov.in/digigov-portal/ ... icRulesReq

Anyway, I’m dropping the subject. Except in the case of emergencies where a minister can expedite things to way faster than regular process, a minister is not supposed to be involved in day to day operations, IMO. Policy and strategy is what they should be doing. Career officers are supposed to oversee operations.

It is very easy to raise questions that are difficult to answer. If a private party was announced to look into structural safety, then questions like, did they ever purchase electoral bonds? Are they related to some politician? What is their track record? How expensive are they? Shouldn’t you get a competitive tender to hire an investigator? All valid but useless questions which end up with nothing getting done.

The minister is charged with making adequate and rapid decisions, even if they are not perfect.

There are 2 separate points I wanted to make:

1. DGCA: There has been a recent history of Airport roof damage/leakage/collapses. Specifically Gauhati in Mar ? Who was held responsible ?
Who was asked to do an audit ?
The starting point is the approval of the basic design and permission to operate given by DGCA. Does DGCA have it ? Who is the person deemed
responsible from among the roof contractor and airport operator (That person should have been arrested by now, since his name is listed
as the accountable person in a statutory document).
AAI is asked to give a report of all airports in 2-5 days. Is this a full fledged structural audit (impossible in the time frame) or a routine declaration,
which DGCA should have,

2. Auditor (in this case IIT-D). They are not a investigative agency like NTSB of the FBI or even a statutory body like DGCA, who can summon
people and demand records. NTSB can summon the equivalent of Gautam Adani and grill him.
Hence, in the example you mentioned, IIT can identify deviations from the design, process, or materials used.
They can't audit changes in people, or choice of vendor.
Like any audit, you get better the more similar audits you do, I'm not sure if IIT-D the auditor for all such incidents ? If not, who is ?
My example would be moot, if data on previous investigations was in the public domain. e.g. Delhi airport 2009, or previous work of IIT-D.

A_Gupta wrote: 01 Jul 2024 13:56 Anyway, I’m dropping the subject. Except in the case of emergencies where a minister can expedite things to way faster than regular process, a minister is not supposed to be involved in day to day operations, IMO. Policy and strategy is what they should be doing. Career officers are supposed to oversee operations.

It is very easy to raise questions that are difficult to answer. If a private party was announced to look into structural safety, then questions like, did they ever purchase electoral bonds? Are they related to some politician? What is their track record? How expensive are they? Shouldn’t you get a competitive tender to hire an investigator? All valid but useless questions which end up with nothing getting done.

The minister is charged with making adequate and rapid decisions, even if they are not perfect.
I agree on the role on the Minister. The problem is Ministers equate success with opening new airports (several for political expediency). By the time
they are shown to be unviable (for reasons that are known to professionals) the govt has changed.
In the case of an accident, I think it is sufficient if the minister says that we have a SOP in place. The auditor is working with the contractor
responsible and we will have a report by ___

As an airline operator, I have personally been called to the ministry and told to operate flights, which might have serious safety issues (I refused). This was in the UPA time. I have quoted Pakyong airport which was opened due to political pressure - with inadequate landing facilities and a
sinking runway and shut 4 months after opening (NDA time).
I see the accidents as an opportunity to get to the bottom of this and take credible corrective action.

I think I'm raising basic questions. I'm not questioning if IIT should be an auditor. I'm asking if DGCA has one already, in which case they have a
wealth of expertise and experience in dealing with the few airport operators and contractors we have.
For this reason companies are not expected to change their statutory auditors.

Curtains Fall On IPC, CrPC & Evidence Act : New Criminal Laws Take Effect From Today
As many are aware, IPC, Cr.PC and Evidence Act are the pillars of criminial justice in India. All were British vintage laws, with successive Indian governments making amendments. These three Acts are replaced with new Acts. I had a cursory check on IPC & Cr. PC v/s new laws; most of the provisions seems to be there. Sections have been reorganized, and there is also increase in punishment.

So from today a lot of familiar sections like 302, 248A, 420 of IPC and 144 of Cr. PC etc are moving into history.

Pappu in full Jihadi Hitler mode
https://x.com/SachabhartiyaRW/status/18 ... 9773819209

PAPPU did not leave anything doubtful. He is crystal clear
Those who call themselves Hindus,

They commit violence, violence, hatred and lies 24 hours a day

He is calling the entire Hindu society violent
https://x.com/Kamaltiwari233/status/1807711023983428047

Amit Shas's reply

https://x.com/SachabhartiyaRW/status/18 ... 8496679146

https://x.com/Jai_Hanuman1/status/1807708031532032123

If BJP has some brains, they have to put these 2 speeches in front of every village, town every day for next 1 year

Good points ..

HIndus have to unite, and not do anything complicated or violent, simply, Congress Ko Vote Se Juda.

A_Gupta wrote: 01 Jul 2024 19:59 HIndus have to unite, and not do anything complicated or violent, simply, Congress Ko Vote Se Juda.
https://threadreaderapp.com/thread/1807 ... =topunroll

Their strategy is clear. Pappu spews hate on Hindus.

His allies will keep quiet and use casteism to steal Hindu votes.

How do we solve this?

https://x.com/thehawkeyex/status/1807699235900358878

Ajeet Bharti @ajeetbharti

Hello @YouTube , elections have ended in India! Why does @YouTubeIndia behave as if INDI guys will be voted in to power if they keep limiting our reach on every video that has ‘INDI’ or its leaders in it!

@TeamYouTube won’t be able to find a single word, tag, image that violates any of its policies, but that doesn’t stop them from demonetising this video! Or, are you sensitive to Pakistan because I did mock their memes!

Not sure how long I need to write these tweets every other day!

Somebody needs to file a law suit or get clear laws in Parliament. Needs to pay heavy damages

I think what various commentators that are pro-Sanatan have said has merit - the Sarkar and the Sanghatan have to be distinct. In part because each can do what the other cannot. In their diagnosis the Sarkar has taken over the Sanghatan leading to the 2024 debacle.

IMO, Sarkar has to have single minded focus on advancing India; while the Sanghatan has to carry to everyone the anti-Hindu nature of the Congress. The Sanghatan has to do this through its social networks, which the Sarkar does not have. Sanghatan also has the job of explaining in one-on-one the importance of the things the government is doing, in infrastructure, green energy, foreign policy, defense, etc.

Mohan Bhagwat: political opponents are not adversaries; election is not war.
Rahul Gandhi: shut up Hindu. You do violence, violence, violence; nafrat, nafrat, nafrat; lies, lies, lies 24/7.
The duffer is not Rahul Gandhi; he is crystal clear about his hate agenda and objective. The fool and naive person is Mohan Bhagwatji.

So much discussion (albeit very good) on safety at AAI.

But no discussion on 60+ people dying in hooch tragedy. Looks like since they do not fly, they do not matter.

Why no threadbare analysis on that caused the hooch tragedy in TN and how it can be avoided? Unlike Guj, TN is *not* a dry state.

But again, I think those 60+ lives are immaterial.

They should suspend Pappu for the session for bringing in abusive language against Hindus

A_Gupta wrote: 01 Jul 2024 06:54 In brief, green hydrogen is hydrogen made via renewable energy or biomass, and the belief is that they can get the cost to USD $1 per kg, at which point it is economically viable.
Where can I find more details? Not all renewable energy sources are not sustainable. Biomass is carbon neutral and sustainable as long as only agri waste or (semi)arid gown biomass. It has to grow very fast to feed the pipeline. As for agri-waste, only one state I know of, has a reasonably well-developed collection agents to feed the pipeline at one end and offtake at the energy production end. Punjab for example. Possibly Haryana. Harder in UP, HP, and north east. Down south, it is almost non-existent, even in the Krishna-Godavari delta.

Green H can help but cannot be the dominant fuel source. Definitely not by 2034.

(probably we should move this discussion to another thread. You pick the thread, I will move my posts there. Thanks)
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 02 Jul 2024 10:47, edited 1 time in total.

A_Gupta wrote: 01 Jul 2024 09:20 To think that the Opposition is going to help conduct a meaningful debate on NEET is naive.(1) I doubt that anyone has any meaningful suggestion on how to secure an exam conducted at 4,750 centres in 571 cities(2).

Yes, just-in-time electronic delivery of the question paper and conduct of the exam is "possible", but is it actually feasible, and how long would it take to implement?(3)

Yes, maybe do away with the exam, and just impose 100% reservations proportional to population.
1. Good point
2. Just a couple of months back we did securely conduct world's largest elections ever. Why not this?
3. I assume these exams are conducted in largish cities at universities/colleges etc. Don;t they have enough connectivity to get JIT electronic delivery?. One possibility is that there will be several versions of the exam papers, al versions having similar difficulty. For quantitative questions, numbers can be changed so that even if somebody gets one version and prepare for that version, if they haven't understood while preparing, they would not be able to solve the problem in the exam. IIRC, GRE (or whatever it called now) do this. Same with SAT/ACT/MCAT/LSAT/GMAT and so on.

In fact, question banks can be released before hand, not too early but a month of ahead of time. Those who wait to prepare for the exam and goof off wouldn't be able to study for the exam in a month and pass unless of course they are really good. If they are then they deserve to get in anyway.

The whole entrance exam scene in India has become a big joke with coaching centers making oodles of money. Many teachers and lecturers employed in govt schools/colleges do not teach well in the class so that their side business of tutoring gets students.

This is sick

The woman who was publicly flogged was characterless. In our Muslim Rashtra such societal deliberation and sentencing happens. - TMC MLA Hamidul Rahman

Welcome to the Islamic Republic of India.

Watch from 7 seconds onwards for a few seconds

WATCH VIDEO

The video is about 0:17 seconds long

Last edited by chetak on 02 Jul 2024 04:21, edited 1 time in total.

entitled, arrogant, and a legend in his own mind ....

Rahul Gandhi to Speaker Om Birla : I noticed when you met me and shook my hand, you stood firm but when you met PM, you were bowing.

Om Birla : My values guide me to respect and bow to those elder to me and treat those younger than me as equals.

Rahul Gandhi : Rajnath Singh greeted me with a smile unlike PM Modi.

PM Modi : Constitution tells me to take LoP seriously

an interesting historical aside :mrgreen:

Chanakya had said: One born from the womb of a foreign mother can never be a patriot ...

May be a case of mistaken identity, but that looks like MP Moitra being flogged. Aren't MPs entitled to some level of security? Or can the TMC as a party mete out such punishment asking security to stand down?

Delhi LG approved NSA against Arundhati Roy & International Left lobby started their play.

Soon you'll see many such awards for her.

If she's arrested, the headlines would be "falana award winner writer" is arrested for speaking against Modi.

Do we need more proof that these people work for foreign powers ...

what happened to this pillar ....

Effective from today (01 July), the New Bharatiya Justice Laws have now replaced the Abrahmic Criminal Laws of "India".

Where does one put news items like this?
KOZHIKODE: Education for women has once again become a topic of heated debate in the Muslim community in Kerala with the Mujahids asking the Sunnis to tender an apology to women for “obstructing their right to education for over a century”.

“Samastha should clarify whether it still upholds the resolution adopted at the Mannarkkad conference in 1930, which said women should not learn writing. If not, the organisation should tell the public that the resolution was a mistake,” KNM said.It added that it was the Muslim Aikya Sangam and its offshoots that taught the community the importance of education and those who ridiculed the Mujahid movement for over a century should do an introspection. KNM also asked the Sunnis to open the doors of the mosques for women to enable them to offer Friday juma prayers.
https://www.newindianexpress.com/states ... -education

Do Bharatiyas have the intellectual might and vision that no young Bharatiya mind will ever be seduced by Marxism again? This is one of the urgent tasks - that the current crop of Marxists should be the last generation of Marxists in Bharat. Every young person should clearly see that the Marxist systems do not work, and that Bharatiya methods to achieve universal well-being are practical and effective.

Added - "sarve santu sukhinaha, sarve bhavantu nirmayaha" is, IMO, not simply some mantra to be ritualistically chanted, or like some prayer to an Abrahamic god hoping for his grace, or a pious wish; it must have been the verbal expression of an underlying system to achieve universal welfare; so much so that people risked their lives in voyages over mountains and seas to seek knowledge from India. They would not come for an empty formula (say E = m c squared) but to learn the practical realization (the actual physics, technology and engineering that turns E = m c squared into many meaningful things). One can learn such empty formulas staying at home, so there had to be something more. That is what Bharatiyas have to recover, and use it to rout out Marxism and all the other imported ideologies that so many desis have succumbed to, because it works better.
Last edited by A_Gupta on 02 Jul 2024 13:52, edited 1 time in total.

A_Gupta wrote:Every young person should clearly see that the Marxist systems do not work, and that Bharatiya methods to achieve universal well-being are practical and effective.
The Communist-Marxism flourishes explotiting two human weakness. The desire to sit idle, with all the basic needs taken care off (by some one else). Then, the jealousy of seeing some one else in a better position in life when compared to oneself. Both these mental attitudes are not good to have, but all most every one has it to some extent. Commies in India exploit this. May be the Marxian gimmick worked in Europe as well, when life was very harsh there. But once the life & health improved; the attitude of people's also changed.

Capitalism is based on greed and avarice, communism on sloth and envy, and much democratic politics is based on creating fear and even hatred of some group or something; yet these qualities are recognized even in the originating lands as maha-paap. So there has to be a better way.
Hriday

Post by Hriday »

From a Malayalam newspaper today; Amit Shah is quoted as; with the new Nyaya Sanhita even if a case extends to the Supreme Court the case will be finished in 3 to 4 years.
I don't remember seeing this point elsewhere. Also for new cases; can a judge reduce the severity of punishment at his discretion like happening now?
TVenky

Post by TVenky »

A_Gupta wrote: 01 Jul 2024 19:59 HIndus have to unite, and not do anything complicated or violent, simply, Congress Ko Vote Se Juda.

This 'ahimsa' version of response will not yield any absolute benefit..
It will make Hindu to look weaker than before and currently..
IMO, it is this 'ahimsa' mentality that lead us to this situation.. If only Hindu gave it back nicely with interest, today, we would have been respected and feared duly.

its pains to see how Modi was heckled and interrupted throughout his speech. the whole ecosystem is after him as if not to give any chance where he can show who is in command

all this narrative building need to be combatted effectively and BJP needs to show they are the one who won and have formed the Gov
A Deshmukh

Post by A Deshmukh »

Parliament session will end.
Need to dump cases on Raga and discredit him.
- VVIP helicopters
- Bribing voters - 8500/-pm
- Citizenship - British / Italian
- National Herald
- Modi surname defamation
need convictions and jail time without bail. rest of the congress will get the message.

A Deshmukh wrote: 02 Jul 2024 19:22 Parliament session will end.
Need to dump cases on Raga and discredit him.
- VVIP helicopters
- Bribing voters - 8500/-pm
- Citizenship - British / Italian
- National Herald
- Modi surname defamation
need convictions and jail time without bail. rest of the congress will get the message.
kaisa ... You have a justice system that works for Deep State and Jihadi states ...

TVenky wrote: 02 Jul 2024 16:53

This 'ahimsa' version of response will not yield any absolute benefit..
It will make Hindu to look weaker than before and currently..
IMO, it is this 'ahimsa' mentality that lead us to this situation.. If only Hindu gave it back nicely with interest, today, we would have been respected and feared duly.
Absolutely ... First take down low level fihty TMC/SP/DMK/CON scums who abuse Hindus ... Dont leave them for Law and Order.

this group is notorious for its shenanigans

Blame game starts between Hindenburg and Kotak Bank: After short-seller claims Kotak created and oversaw fund to bet against Adani, Kotak denies claims

Hindenburg said that brokerage firms founded by Uday Kotak created and managed the offshore fund structure that was used by its investor partner to bet against Adani group shares.

It added that SEBI only referred to the K-India Opportunities fund and used the acronym 'KMIL' to mask the 'Kotak' name.

https://www.newindianexpress.com/busine ... ort-seller

WOW! KOTAK ******** colluded with Hindenberg to steal billions from Indians!!