India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

What is relevant is to understand the fault lines in the US polity and society and how those can be exploited by Indian policy makers. 30K feet view is important so is the view from 5K feet, 1K feet down to congressional district bu congressional district. That is what IFS/MEA folks need to do. Obviously it is time and resource consuming. Automation, big data, think tanks etc. will help.
Yeah, Indian policy makers are going to exploit the differences between AOC and Pelosi, or are going to help redistrict Texas.. :rotfl: And nothing said on BRF is going to help in any way in that.

About issues that concern India:

Attempts at direct influence will be counter-productive. Nobody likes that kind of foreign interference. Further it is dangerous, especially now, for non-citizens to seem to step over the legal limits on political activity. for their particular legal status. In fact, naturalized citizens who have any blemish in their record should avoid drawing attention to themselves.

If the power lies with Congress, US citizens of Indian origin + sympathetic Jewish lobby can be nudged to lobby. BRF can serve to raise awareness among the US citizens who read it.

If power lies with the President, then the situation is more difficult, because you may not have people with a direct line to the President.

About issues that are local to US citizens of Indian origin: this will require local organization; and should be done. But BRF is Bharat-Rakshak, IMO, the only legitimate use is to recruit people from here to the appropriate forums. What is happening in Santa Clara, say, Congressman Ro Khanna's district, is not for a Bharat-centric forum.
I am not an admin neither do I aspire to be one
Reading your replies to me over the months, I would find it hard to believe so.

The Pakistanis are claiming the Mr Trump will visit Pakistan in September and before India. Of course there is no official confirmation.

https://www.reuters.com/world/asia-paci ... 025-07-17/

Already withdrawn .

Also if you look at the archived version of the above Reuters page or even the current metadata Reuters was quoting the initial porki report verbatim . Indicating how paaki pasand is western press .

A_Gupta wrote: 17 Jul 2025 09:57
I am not an admin neither do I aspire to be one
Reading your replies to me over the months, I would find it hard to believe so.
You believe what you want. That said, please cough up some evidence, i.e. point out posts which give an impression that I want to be an admin of BRF. I haven't contributed any content to BRF main site or elsewhere anyway.

A_Gupta wrote: 17 Jul 2025 09:57 Yeah, Indian policy makers are going to exploit the differences between AOC and Pelosi, or are going to help redistrict Texas.. :rotfl: And nothing said on BRF is going to help in any way in that.
Looks like you don't have a good opinion about Indian policy makers. Not all St. Stephens folks are dumb. Some graduated from IIT even. :twisted: By the way you never complained here on BRF when Obama and Biden were exceeding their remit. Now you say that Trump is going to become a dictator. Looks like you are swallowing "resist". After 9/11, some POI US citizens started wearing bindi/bottu and started flying US flags in front of their homes. :lol:

INDI alliance (influenced by Dems I am guessing) used the same argument Dems are using against Trump against Modi ji , i.e. he is autocratic who will never step down. He is also accused of being anti-muslim (you yourself said that BJP leaders seem to be anti-muslim in another thread) just like they are accusing Trump now.

Now your throwing shade on me very subtly. You can ignore my posts. That doesn't stop me from questioning your posts. As long as I am respectful, you should not have problem.

^^^ after the enthusiastic (/s) welcome you gave me when I reappeared here after a long absence I was ignoring you for a long while.

And it has nothing to do with Indian competence. India attempting constituency level political interference in the US would no more be tolerated than US interference in India.

The US allows for registered foreign agents, and lobbying by citizen interest groups that could be in favor (or against, as with some leftist and Islamist groups) their country of origin.
Last edited by A_Gupta on 18 Jul 2025 00:11, edited 1 time in total.

India makes it clear that its energy strategy will be dictated by the “best offer” available, even as the U.S. threatens secondary sanctions on Russian oil supplies. The Ministry of External Affairs stated that securing affordable energy is a top priority, while warning against double standards as European countries continue to import Russian gas. Watch full here.
Here: https://youtu.be/EvPABzUjn4s?si=nP51tCZgJKptIBUX

And
Hardeep Puri Speaks to Palki Sharma on Trump's Secondary Tariffs & Russian Oil Sanctions Threat | N18G

While commenting on US President Donald Trump’s secondary tariff threat against countries buying Russian oil, including India, Union Petroleum Minister Hardeep Singh Puri said that India has diversified its sources of buying oil. Puri, the Union Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas, was in conversation with Firstpost’s Managing Editor, Palki Sharma. Claiming that India was not facing any pressure over Trump's new threat, Puri said: "I am not worried at all. We will deal with it."
He added that his ministry is working on oil exploration in India, and that they're also supporting the private oil companies working on the same.
What else did the minister say about global oil supply challenges, the possibility of getting oil from Iran, and new oil exploration technology in the age of artificial intelligence? Tune in to the full conversation with Palki Sharma now.
Here
https://youtu.be/VJ47jXnb1pk?si=BAsKDGjsMgffhHFq

A_Gupta wrote: 17 Jul 2025 23:55 India attempting constituency level political interference in the US would no more be tolerated than US interference in India.
I am not calling for Indian interference at constituency level. I want the general public/midlevel aafsaar class in India to view the US as a monolithic entity. They come away with the impression that US is Trump/Biden/Obama/Bush and Trump/Biden/Obama/Bush is the US. They also should wake up to the DDM chaploosi to DNC and Globalists of Europe.

You seem to have some kind of "with me or against me" mentality just like Dubya. It makes sense now that he has become a darling of DNC and DNC boosters of your ilk.

A_Gupta wrote: 17 Jul 2025 23:55 ^^^ after the enthusiastic (/s) welcome you gave me when I reappeared here after a long absence I was ignoring you for a long while.
I welcomed you with great enthusiasm because I was greatly impressed by your utter humility. :wink:

@A_Gupta, what makes you think that I don't support collective action? The problem for me is when we have to make common truck with those who are inimical hindu and indian causes. Also, I can't abide by those PIOs who think that whites/hispanics are racist and/or fundoo subhumans. For example, Vivek Ramaswamy's X post on X'mas day.

Just like I object to Wendy's children's characterization of Ganesha, Ramakrishna Paramahamsa, I also object to Paris Olympics organizers allowing floats making fun of Xtianity.

That said, I would rather give my money directly to people who are hurting locally. No political donations from me other than $3 each - self and my wife - on the tax returns to goto presidential elections.

I don;t have to be you nor am I asking you to be me and line up behind me. Free country, hain ji?