The World’s Double Standards on India’s Rise
Great Power Games offers an incisive and panoramic account of a world order in flux — from the ashes of the Second World War to today’s fractured global landscape. For decades, the United States and its Western allies shaped the global system through treaties, institutions, and a carefully constructed rules-based order. That edifice, however, now shows deep cracks. Hot wars rage on multiple fronts, the West faces internal divisions, and America has retreated from the very frameworks it once created.
In this compelling narrative, Vikram Sood examines how nations pursue power — through covert operations, espionage, proxy wars, disinformation campaigns, and economic coercion. Tracing the arc from the Cold War’s shadow conflicts to the unipolar arrogance of post-Soviet America, he explores how the balance of power is once again shifting.
As China asserts its growing economic and military influence, and India emerges as a pivotal actor in global affairs, the old powers — the United States and Russia — remain locked in dangerous contests of ambition. The result, Sood argues, is a volatile multipolar world where the rules are being rewritten in real time.
Incisive, unsettling, and richly detailed, Great Power Games is both a masterful history of global geopolitics and a timely reflection on the uncertain future ahead.
Speakers:
Vikram Sood, Author, Great Power Games
Smriti Irani, Former Cabinet Minister, India
Baijayant Jay Panda, National Vice President, BJP
Gautam Chikermane, Vice President, Observer Research Foundation,, India
Sanjeev Sanyal, Member, Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister, India
Moderator:
Samir Saran, President, Observer Research Foundation, India
Modi 3.0 - Bharat
Re: Modi 3.0 - Bharat
I have been trying to change registration of my car from HR to MH. It is a 14 year old car. the residual value is 1 lakh if at all. I am being asked to pay 70K for the NOC from HR to MH.SivaR wrote: ↑14 Nov 2025 11:18 I think , till something/someone comes up to fix this major issue, India's development will be choked. The examples of Corruption, I faced recently. In TN and KA, the official cost of getting Patta paper(Registered Property owner's name in government records) is Rs.100 and should not take a day or two, but without spending 15000 you can't get it even in a year's time. Just this one alone earns them around 15-20000 crores per annum in these states.
The local parties intentionally have messed the digital land records system so that there will always be something broken when you try to do it online and hence you need a middleman (who is essentially a cohort assigned by the local party) to get things done from the government registry.
The next one is transport department, anything related to your vehicle registration or change of ownership, prepare to pay 2-3% of your vehicles cost as bribe. Driving licence is another one , which competes equally in earnings.
Recently, I tried to get death certificate for one of my close relative, the official cost is Rs.100, but spent around Rs.6000 after providing all the necessary documentation.
My observation is, the local parties, charge atleast 50 -100 times the cost for each and every task, which is not the case in any other middle income country.
I've just listed tip of iceberg.
RTO are one of the , if not the worst dens of corruption