Modi 3.0 - Bharat

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Modi 3.0 - Bharat

https://x.com/i/status/2016910380690493652
@_TheTathya
India Blocks Starlink’s Direct-to-Phone Ambition: Gen-2 Satellite Signals Halted...

> India has rejected Starlink’s Gen-2 satellite application
> Gen-2 aimed to beam signals directly to mobile phones... no towers, no terminals
> Approval granted only for Gen-1 satellite broadband

What India Stopped... And Why It Matters

> Gen-2 would have bypassed India’s telecom networks entirely
> Used new frequency bands not yet cleared under Indian law
> Raised national security, interception, and spectrum control concerns
> Required a separate regulatory framework... which does not exist yet

Here's What India Allows

> Starlink Gen-1 approved for terminal-based satellite internet
> Requires ground stations + user dishes
> Same regulatory path as OneWeb and other satcom providers
> India is also building its own Direct-to-Device (D2D) framework

Satellite-to-phone sovereignty is non-negotiable... No foreign network will beam signals straight into Indian phones without rules.

Good. I was against the approval of starlink for natsec reasons since the beginning. Even Gen 1 must be stopped.

https://x.com/MeghUpdates/status/2016970706995859670
@MeghUpdates
BREAKING: PRICELESS STOLEN INDIAN ART TO BE RETURNED BACK!

Smithsonian's National Museum of Asian Art to return 3 priceless Chola-era bronze sculptures — including a stunning ~990 AD Shiva Nataraja — to India after provenance research confirmed they were illegally removed from Tamil Nadu temples decades ago and stolen.

One masterpiece (Shiva Nataraja) will stay on long-term loan for display in the US.

uddu wrote: 30 Jan 2026 11:29 https://x.com/i/status/2016910380690493652
@_TheTathya
India Blocks Starlink’s Direct-to-Phone Ambition: Gen-2 Satellite Signals Halted...

<snip.,,

FWIW some comments:
This isn’t really “India blocking Starlink” as much as India saying: Gen-2 ≠ Gen-1, and the law isn’t ready yet.

Gen-2’s direct-to-phone model is a fundamentally different beast and from a regulator’s perspective, that’s not a routine approval — it’s a new category.

What’s telling is that India did approve Gen-1 under the same framework used for OneWeb and others.
This means - NOT anti-satellite per se -just unwilling to green-light a tech that jumps ahead of the regulatory stack

Note: India has explicitly said it’s working on a Direct-to-Device (D2D) framework. Once that exists, everyone (Starlink included) will be evaluated under the same rules.

So this is less about blocking ambition, and more about sequencing - infrastructure → law → spectrum → D2D.
Satellite-to-phone sovereignty is non-negotiable... No foreign network will beam signals straight into Indian phones without rules.
Second point above, the sentiment is valid, but, IMO, the phrasing is stronger than what India has explicitly said.

Valid: India’s position ( across DoT / TRAI / NSCS discussions, is broadly )
-Any network that delivers signals directly to devices in India must be regulatable
(spectrum assignment, lawful interception, national security oversight etc)
- D2D satellite links cannot bypass Indian jurisdiction, even if the satellites are foreign-owned

So this principle is absolutely mainstream and non-controversial. (US, EU, Chinaholds the same line.)

IMO it overreaches - India has not formally declared:

“Satellite-to-phone sovereignty is non-negotiable” (as a doctrinal phrase)
or “No foreign network will beam signals straight into Indian phones” (blanket ban)

What India has actually said (implicitly, via approvals and refusals) is closer to:

Direct-to-device satellite services require a separate regulatory and spectrum framework, which is not yet in place.

That’s a procedural barrier, not an ideological veto.

If I had to tweet, I would say:

India is unwilling to allow direct satellite-to-phone services that bypass domestic licensing, spectrum control, and lawful interception frameworks. Until a D2D regime exists, such services will not be permitted.

Cyrano wrote: 30 Jan 2026 12:55 Good. I was against the approval of starlink for natsec reasons since the beginning. Even Gen 1 must be stopped.
Calling for a total ban on Starlink — including Gen-1 — isn’t really a reasonable position.

If the argument is national security, then you have to show why terminal-based satcom cannot be regulated at all, even with licensed gateways, Indian ground stations, lawful interception, data-localisation rules, and kill-switch controls. Just saying “foreign company = natsec risk” is not a policy argument.

India already allows satcom under strict conditions. That’s not naïveté — it’s risk management.

Gen-2 is different because direct-to-phone bypasses telcos, spectrum licensing, and interception frameworks entirely. Pausing that until a D2D regime exists makes sense. Stopping Gen-1 as well would mean rejecting all regulated satellite broadband, which is a much bigger—and largely self-defeating—claim.

The current approach is cautious, not weak:
allow what can be regulated, pause what cannot (yet)

(Not quoting anyone or revealing off-record conversations. Just saying this matches the general technocratic mindset I’ve seen — cautious, sequencing-first, not anti-technology.)

Also: operators pay thousands of crores as spectrum licence fees to the government. Why should someone get to use the spectrum for free just because it’s using a satellite? Any D2D venture will have to go through a similar auction or fee payment exercise before it will be allowed. Not to mention LI requirements.

Having said that Musk has a worrying tendency to think American laws apply everywhere, so just because it’s an American sat doesn’t mean he can dictate his laws around LI, which he will try for sure.

Anyone called VFS Global for any consular services? I called them to enquire about taking a pet with me to India. Their 800 said the call is chargeable after 7 minutes @ $2:45/minute. They wanted my CC no to begin the call. Also the free time is only once every 7 days. First I thought it is scam no I called. But I double checked. 800 320 9625.

saip wrote: 31 Jan 2026 04:18 Anyone called VFS Global for any consular services? I called them to enquire about taking a pet with me to India. Their 800 said the call is chargeable after 7 minutes @ $2:45/minute. They wanted my CC no to begin the call. Also the free time is only once every 7 days. First I thought it is scam no I called. But I double checked. 800 320 9625.
I have had cause to use them. They pretty much have a monopoly on these services I think. They are brutal about their fees and charges; for me its was their way or get stranded on the highway, but on the flip side they did not disppaoint me. A very successful business founded and owned by a desi bawa-ji if I am, correct. I could be wrong.

Sharing - A memorable frame. Prime Minister's leadership and vision in strengthening India–EU research and innovation cooperation alongside the historic India–EU trade deal.

India-EU Summit PM,Shri Narendra Modi ji, Mr. António Costa ( President of the European Council),Ms. Ursula von der Leyen ,( President of the European Commission!) and DST Secretary Dr. Abhay Karandikar

https://x.com/i/status/2017298571645854165
@sidhant
Venezuela Prez Delcy Rodriguez says she had 'dialogue of deep human and spiritual connection' with Indian PM Modi earlier today

Venezuela readout

I had a fraternal telephone conversation with the Prime Minister of the Republic of India, Mr. Narendra Modi, in a dialogue of deep human and spiritual connection, in which we agreed to deepen and expand our bilateral partnership in all areas.

I thanked the supportive support of the Government and people of India to our country. Prime Minister Modi reiterated his willingness to accompany the Venezuelan people in defending their peace, sovereignty and independence.

We address strategic cooperation in energy, agriculture, science and technology, pharmaceutical industry, mining, automotive sector and tourism; and agreed to advance a common roadmap to relaunch our relations in 2026.

Video of court arguments
https://x.com/i/status/2017111461756358704
@DikshaKandpal8
So ragging was not even defined under the new UGC Guidelines. No provisions for ragging complaints. It used to be there in the old regulations, and conveniently removed from the new guidelines. Why? Why this deliberate removal of such a critical safeguard?

https://x.com/i/status/2017219961685745865
@JethmalaniM
@Jairam_Ramesh I understand your frustration. You have no lived memory of a Prime Minister who worked relentlessly for the country rather than for a coterie. For decades, your party specialised in PMs who were corrupt, comatose, or compulsively saying “Yes, Madam.”

So when you see a Prime Minister like @narendramodi who sets the agenda, drives legislation, answers to the people directly, and treats Parliament as a place of accountability and worship - it feels alien. Work ethic can be unsettling if you’ve never encountered it.

@Jairam_Ramesh
He will not convene and chair all-party meetings to take the Opposition into confidence on national issues.

He will suddenly have Bills introduced at the last minute and bulldozed through Parliament without the necessary legislative scrutiny.

He will not sit in Parliament and respond to the concerns of Opposition Leaders, and will instead make election rally speeches in both Houses.

Before the beginning of each session he will give his usual hypocrisy-laden ‘desh ke naam sandesh’ with Parliament as his backdrop. Today’s performance is part of this series.

Starlink is an invented need. It seems the iranians have jammed it with chinese help during the latest attempt at a revolution. Bharat doesn't need to prove anything to anyone. We must have our own stringent natsec requirements, and it's up to the vendor to prove that their tech is compliant.

The Russians are masters at it. They are fitting Starlink anetenna on drones and launching it on Ukrainian targets. And starlink works fine in Ukraine.
Russia is using Starlink to make its killer drones fly farther
https://edition.cnn.com/2026/01/29/euro ... ink-drones

The only sensible thing for Bharat to do is to allow a few terminals to understand the tech and prepare our own jamming capabilities and reverse engineer all possible elements and learn until we have our own satellite network at some point of time in future.

Budget may see money purse opened for foreign purchases. But will there be something to fix the long pending requirements of our research and development needs?
https://x.com/Rethik_D/status/2017492086078177353
@Rethik_D
Speaking of Test facility, This is what DRDL is asking for Currently!

https://x.com/MEAIndia/status/2017625609493745846
@MEAIndia
Statement by the Official Spokesperson to clarify certain reports:

We have seen reports of an email message from the so-called Epstein files that has a reference to the Prime Minister and his visit to Israel. Beyond the fact of the Prime Minister’s official visit to Israel in July 2017, the rest of the allusions in the email are little more than trashy ruminations by a convicted criminal, which deserve to be dismissed with the utmost contempt.

https://x.com/i/status/2017621069558157632
@Mrsinha
1) The email is NOT about PM Modi.
The discussion is about Qatar and how it could improve relations with the West amid terrorism-financing allegations in 2017.
2) PM Modi is cited only as an example of strategic diplomacy, balancing ties with the USA and Israel.
3) PM Modi met Donald Trump on June 24, 2017, and visited Israel from July 3-6, 2017.
The email dated July 9, 2017 perfectly fits this timeline.
The phrase “danced and sang” is slang, used in casual, sloppy language, it simply means visible diplomatic outreach, not anything literal.

4) The mail does NOT say Modi took advice from Jeffrey Epstein.
“Modi took advice”, from whom?
No name is mentioned. That claim is invented.

5) The sender was a lobbyist. Lobbyists often exaggerate their influence to appear important. That does not make it true.

Try something better...!!!!

Congress as usual.
https://x.com/INCIndia/status/2017606087365824569
@INCIndia
Extremely shameful!!

Narendra Modi’s name has surfaced in the Epstein files. America’s serial rapist, child sex offender, and human trafficker Jeffrey Epstein wrote in an email on July 9, 2017:

“The Indian Prime Minister Modi took advice and danced and sang in Israel for the benefit of the US President. They had met a few weeks ago. IT WORKED!”

Epstein clearly states that Modi took advice from him and went to Israel, where he danced and sang for the benefit of the US President. He also said that it worked.

PM Modi was on a visit to Israel from July 4 to 6, 2017. Epstein wrote this email just three days later.

Just before the Israel visit, on June 25–26, 2017, Modi had met US President Donald Trump in America.

Connecting the dots in Jeffrey Epstein’s emails reveals that Modi went to America in June 2017 and took advice from Epstein there.

One week later (July 4 to 6, 2017), Modi arrived in Israel and, as per that advice, danced and sang there, and it WORKED!

Now it is clear that Prime Minister Modi has a very deep and long-standing connection with Jeffrey Epstein, which is shameful for India.

This is a matter of national dignity and international reputation, for which Prime Minister Modi must answer.

What kind of advice was Narendra Modi taking from Jeffrey Epstein?
Why was Modi dancing and singing in Israel? How did Trump benefit from it?
Epstein wrote, “IT WORKED!” So what does that mean?

PM Modi, the nation wants to know: What is your relationship with Jeffrey Epstein?

Link to the document on US Department of Justice Website:

Budget 2026: In a first, Nirmala Sitharaman to spotlight Part B as reform roadmap
https://www.indiatoday.in/business/budg ... 2026-01-31
Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman's ninth Union Budget marks a strategic shift by emphasising Part B to outline India's economic vision and reform agenda.

Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman’s ninth consecutive Union Budget is set to break with long-standing convention, with Part B of her Budget speech emerging as the main platform for outlining India’s economic vision and reform agenda, according to government sources.

https://www.indiabudget.gov.in/
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

Cyrano wrote: 31 Jan 2026 16:09 The only sensible thing for Bharat to do is to allow a few terminals to understand the tech and prepare our own jamming capabilities and reverse engineer all possible elements and learn until we have our own satellite network at some point of time in future.
no need to allow ., the terminals and electronics are available off market ., for understanding how to jam / intercept , need to study starlink satellites , not sure they can hop frequencies

direct to phone is same as a satellite phone, which is banned in india for unlicensed users

drnayar wrote: 31 Jan 2026 23:17
Cyrano wrote: 31 Jan 2026 16:09 The only sensible thing for Bharat to do is to allow a few terminals to understand the tech and prepare our own jamming capabilities and reverse engineer all possible elements and learn until we have our own satellite network at some point of time in future.
no need to allow ., the terminals and electronics are available off market ., for understanding how to jam / intercept , need to study starlink satellites , not sure they can hop frequencies

direct to phone is same as a satellite phone, which is banned in india for unlicensed users
I think, people are mixing up two very different things: learning the tech and allowing commercial rollout.

India doesn’t need to approve consumer Starlink terminals to study the system, spectrum behaviour, or security risks. That’s already a sovereign capability and is done off-market.

Granting retail access just to “understand” the tech makes no sense.
(neither useful or necessary)

Policy is about who gets to deploy at scale.

Gen-1 fits existing satcom rules: licensed gateways, interception, shutdown controls. Gen-2 D2D is effectively mass satellite telephony — different spectrum, different scale, different risk — and India doesn’t yet have a framework for that. (As DrNayar said - No satellite phone use in India, without prior approval, and even possession can be a legal risk.)

So treating Gen-1 and Gen-2 differently isn’t inconsistency or fear. It’s basic regulatory hygiene:

"Allow what can be governed, pause what can’t (yet)"

^^^ Added some technical points - to answer explicitly to be helpful - can be ignored if not interested.

@cyrano - “Allow a few terminals to learn, jam, reverse-engineer, prepare”

The intent — understand the technology before deciding long-term policy — is sensible and we routinely do controlled pilots, testbeds, and evaluations of new comms tech. Also building defensive awareness (spectrum behavior, resilience, failure modes) is legitimate. But “allow terminals so we can jam / reverse engineer” is not how states actually do this. India does not need commercial approval to study a foreign systems.

India does this via defence labs, spectrum agencies, and space command structures, not retail terminals.

- “Reverse engineering” via civilian deployment looks legally messy, operationally unnecessary and rhetorically alarming.

Controlled Technical evaluation by state agencies is useful. Commercial rollout is not required for that.

DrNayar - “No need to allow anything; terminals are off-market; study satellites; D2P = satellite phone”

This is well said and I agree.
- You don’t need commercial permission to understand the tech at a sovereign level.
- Studying space-segment behavior matters more than consumer terminals.
- India already treats satellite phones as licensed-only — so D2P being tightly controlled is consistent with precedent.

What I think is a little oversimplification:
-Saying “D2P is the same as satellite phones” is policy-useful but technically incomplete. (D2P targets mass consumer devices, not niche handsets with different spectrum coordination and interference implications)

-- In short

India’s real choice is not: allow terminals vs ban terminals or learn vs not learn

It’s:
Commercial consumer deployment is a policy decision.
Technical understanding is a sovereign capability and does not require market access.

Study quietly, License cautiously and delay mass-market changes until law + spectrum + security frameworks exist. (And i think at present with Modi's leadership and good technical ministers we are at a good spot :idea: )